Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

468
Banjo Lovers Online


View AndyW's Homepage

AndyW

You must sign into your myHangout account in order to contact AndyW.


Click for Details

AndyW commented on a blog entry 'Progress' 10 hrs

Click for Details

AndyW replied to topic 'Drone string' 10 hrs

Click for Details

AndyW commented on a blog entry 'Progress' 16 hrs

Click for Details

AndyW replied to topic 'Hit a stumbling block' 16 hrs

Click for Details

AndyW replied to topic 'Versions of tunes' 1 day

Click for Details

AndyW replied to topic 'Versions of tunes' 2 days

Click for Details

AndyW added a blog entry 'Reading List' 2 days

Click for Details

AndyW replied to topic 'Versions of tunes' 2 days

Click for Details

AndyW replied to topic 'Versions of tunes' 4 days

MyFeed

Page 1 of 6 - First | Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next | Last

Reading List

Monday, April 23, 2018

As I'm still learning Shady Grove and have nothing to post 'banjo wise'. Just to show how interaction on the hangout blog can influence habits other than just banjo, I'll take Kate Boadicea's reappearance as a cue to showcase some of what I have been reading since last September or so.  I can recommend them all except the Lucy Green book which drags on a bit.

All inspired by Kates promotion of the Practice of Practice book.

"The Practice of Practice" by Jonathan Harkum

"The Talent Code" by Daniel Coyle

"How Popular Musicians Learn" by Lucy Green

"Mindset" by Carol Dweck

"Bounce" by Matthew Syed

"Black Box Thinking" by Matthew Syed

[Current] "Peak" by Anders Ericsson and Robert Pool

Add Comment

Modal Tune 2

Thursday, April 19, 2018 5 comments

New Goals

Sunday, April 15, 2018 4 comments

Thinking about Where Next?

Thursday, April 12, 2018 Add Comment

Goal Review

Sunday, April 8, 2018 Add Comment

Big Milestone

Monday, April 2, 2018 3 comments

LOUD metronome bliss...

Sunday, April 1, 2018 Add Comment

Carrying on at 184

Thursday, March 29, 2018 2 comments

Back to double C

Saturday, March 24, 2018 Add Comment

Old Joe Clark

Thursday, March 22, 2018 1 comment

My Cripple Creek

Monday, March 19, 2018 1 comment

4 days in G

Sunday, March 18, 2018 3 comments

Another Tick Up

Tuesday, March 13, 2018 Add Comment

New Goals

Friday, March 9, 2018 5 comments

Short/Medium term goal reached!

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 3 comments

A slight tick up..

Monday, March 5, 2018 3 comments

All slow on the banjo front

Thursday, March 1, 2018 3 comments

New skin head (beater banjo)

Sunday, February 18, 2018 Add Comment

Getting near 144bpm baseline

Friday, February 16, 2018 2 comments

Pickup Notes/Rests/Anacrusis

Thursday, February 8, 2018 Add Comment

Page 1 of 6 - First | Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next | Last

Newest Videos


Cripple Creek


Soldiers Joy


Arkansas Traveller (Beginner 6 months)

 

see all >

Newest Music

AndyW's Newest Playlists

see all >

Newest Photos

see all >

Playing Since: 2017
Experience Level: Just Startin'

AndyW has made 131 recent additions to Banjo Hangout 

Gender: Male
My Instruments:
Gretsch Dixie Special Openback
JETEL ancient 'beater' banjo
Squier51electric guitar
Freshman acoustic guitar
Lee Oskar harmonica

Favorite Bands/Musicians:
From the UK and new to American Old-Time. Just listening to as much clawhammer as I can without annoying the missus.

Classified Rating: not rated
Rate this Member

Profile Info:
Visible to: Public
Created 7/4/2017
Last Visit 4/25/2018

Teaching myself clawhammer from a mix of 'Clawhammer From Scratch' and 'Rocket Science Banjo'. Play guitar to a low intermediate level. Have played many instruments to a comfort zone level of just able to play enough to keep myself happy. Determined banjo will be learned more methodically to try and attain a higher level of playing.

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.59375