Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

Banjo Lovers Online

Page:  First Page   Previous Page   ...  4   5   6  7  8   9   10  ...   Next Page   Last Page (26) 

Mar 13, 2010 - 1:13:46 PM

69 posts since 12/11/2009

I would like to see you do The Beverly Hillbillies next Rob.

Mar 13, 2010 - 11:01:08 PM

360 posts since 11/7/2008

Great job Canoehat. You are almost there. Very good for such a short time playing. You'll do well.

And I really don't remember the Beverly Hillbillies that well Stony. I can fake it, but it wouldn't be a good one for me to teach until I listened to Earl again. I haven't played 5 string for 30 years, except to pull it out in the last 7 years or so every once in awhile to teach. I'm a guitarist, and really don't consider myself that good of a banjo player anymore.

I do love 5 string, but my main focus has been on feeding my family, and guitar is how I've done that. I was never much for playing tunes as they were originally written, (actually I did when I first learned) so I have to really work hard to arrange a song before I teach it, because I do it differently every time I perform it. You can't do that when you teach unfortunately because someone will say, "that's how you told me to do it last week."

So, let me see how hard it will be. I have been so busy, I haven't had a lot of time.

How many of you guys live close enough to Elderly Instruments to do a workshop? I do guitar workshops there once in awhile, but I could throw something together for banjo if there was interest. It would be the same format but I would give a personal video at the end for review.

I haven't done it, though they have talked about it. Maybe instead of a guitar workshop next time?

Edited by - Rob Bourassa on 03/13/2010 23:08:15

Mar 14, 2010 - 9:55:56 AM

gryphon

USA

101 posts since 2/28/2010

I live a few miles away from Elderly and would attend. Do you teach at Elderly?

Edited by - gryphon on 03/14/2010 09:56:37