Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

Banjo Lovers Online

Album Review: The Spinney Brothers - No Borders

Posted by Texasbanjo on Friday, May 9, 2014


From Nova Scotia, Canada, the Spinney Brothers band is composed of Allan Spinney , Rick Spinney, Gary Dalrymple and Darryl Hebb.

The brothers debuted their band in 1992, showcasing a tight brother duet vocal style that was immediately recognized for it’s energetic and distinctive sound.

The Spinney Brothers sound is a  traditional, southern-flavored bluegrass music. Bluegrass legends have been an important musical influence for them, but their music is also shaped by their personal lives and local heritage.  The Spinney Brothers effortlessly intertwine the past with the present.

I had only heard this band on Sirius radio as I listened while driving around town.  I liked the sound and was very pleased when I was chosen to review this CD.  

The songs are:  

  1. “Louisville Woman”, excellent breaks on this sad but peppy love song.
  2. “On That Glorious Day”, a love song about a loved one who passed away. Some good breaks on this one, too.
  3. “Grandpa’s Way Of Life”, a song about a different way of life than we have now.  Again, great breaks.
  4. “I Wish I Could Have Met Carter”, written by Dixie Hall, a tribute to Carter Stanley.
  5. “On The Road Leading Home”, title says it all.  Listen to the banjo break at the beginning!
  6. “I’m Not Over You”, sad love song.
  7. “I Want My Dog Back”, definitely my favorite.  A Tom T. Hall song.  It’s about a broken marriage and all the guy wants is his dog back.
  8. “Big Marshall”, written by Rick Spinney.  An Instrumental with fabulous breaks by all  pickers.
  9. “Mama’s Roses”, sweet, sad song about mama.
  10. “The Moon Saw Me Crying”, song about lost love, fairly fast, good beat.
  11. “Gotta Go Down”, a song about the mines.
  12. “Darlin’ Think Of What You’ve Done”, written by Carter Stanley.  Good old traditional sounding bluegrass song.  There are some excellent breaks in this song, too. Listen to the banjo backup in this one. 
  13. “He Never Went Away”, one of the sweetest, saddest love songs I’ve ever heard.  Couldn’t listen to it without getting emotional.  Great song!
  14. “Whiskey Daniels”, written by Rick Spinney.  Again, listen to the banjo breaks, so good.  It’s a song about a moonshine man. 

What a great CD.  Each and every song is definitely worth listening to.  This project will be played over and over. 

1 comment on “Album Review: The Spinney Brothers - No Borders”

Ks_5-picker Says:
Monday, February 10, 2014 @6:11:47 AM

I've heard them occasionally on the various bluegrass streams that I listen to. I always like what I hear.

You must sign into your myHangout account before you can post comments.

More posts from Texasbanjo

Newest Posts

Click for Details 'Old Molly Hare' 39 min

More >  

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories