Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

Banjo Lovers Online

Page: 1  2   Last Page (2) 

Aug 22, 2021 - 2:41:56 PM
34 posts since 3/14/2020

Greetings,
I am very new to playing Banjo. I started out using a book and tried to teach my self. But it was a complete failure. I am now learning via Artistworks with Noam Pikelney. I am really enjoying. Yet I have struggled with many things. Some of it, such as timing, I can attribute to my total lack of any musical background.

There is one thing that I have not been able to figure out until recently. The way that Artistwork works is that students submit videos to the teacher and then the teacher will respond with a video critique. I practice songs over and over again until I am sure that I have it down, make a video, and then submit. The most recent video I submitted was Dink's Song at 55 bpm. So, a fairly slow speed, I should have heard any mistakes. The song has a pinch in the beginning. I played 2 pinches in the video, and Noam said I reversed some of the rolls and added or missed chords.

I have done this almost every time that I have submitted the videos of songs the first time, and do not notice the mistakes at all. I am not sure, kind of, how I practiced a song dozens, if not hundreds, of times, without noticing that I was adding a pinch.

Back up a year ago, my mother reveals to me that I have dyslexia. She thought that I always knew. Obviously it is not severe. But, when I looked back, it made a lot of sense.

After I was really frustrated when Noam pointed out all of the mistakes that I had made, I asked my wife, who is a special needs teacher, if my dyslexia could be the cause of my mistakes, her response was, "of course."

So, I am wondering if anybody, on here is dealing with the same issue, and how they have dealt with it.

Aug 22, 2021 - 3:01:20 PM
like this

965 posts since 10/31/2007

Hi Peter,