Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

Banjo Lovers Online

Page:  First Page   Previous Page   ...  6   7   8  9

Sep 26, 2020 - 9:50:39 AM

3012 posts since 4/29/2012

quote:
Originally posted by Edthebanjo

I'm not sure where you got the idea that those with "well-to-do parents" were the only ones getting degrees until recently...? 

I "got the idea" by actually being there and seeing that most (who said all?) of the school leavers who made it to university back then came from comfortable middle class (UK definition) backgrounds. I disagree with tuition fees but it's hard to make a case that the free tuition available when I was a student was not mostly a subsidy of the already prosperous.

Sep 26, 2020 - 10:22:39 AM

Banjo Lefty

Canada

2029 posts since 6/19/2014

I worked my way through Law School, holding down a full-time teaching job at a junior college where I managed to arrange my schedule so that my teaching hours didn't conflict with my Law classes. My grade suffered as a result, but I made it through on my teaching salary, without any parental subsidy or government loan. I'm not saying that anybody could do this -- I had some advantages growing up, but money wasn't one of them.

Sep 26, 2020 - 10:38:36 AM

1879 posts since 3/29/2008

quote:
Originally posted by AndrewD
quote:

I'm not sure where you got the idea that those with "well-to-do parents" were the only ones getting degrees until recently...? 

I "got the idea" by actually being there and seeing that most (who said all?) of the school leavers who made it to university back then came from comfortable middle class (UK definition) backgrounds. I disagree with tuition fees but it's hard to make a case that the free tuition available when I was a student was not mostly a subsidy of the already prosperous.