Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

Banjo Lovers Online

thinking of getting a guitar.i have been playing my banjo for some 48 years

Want to hide these Google ads? Join the Players Union!

Page:  First Page   1  2

Nov 19, 2019 - 9:27:24 AM

100 posts since 1/7/2019

Ibanez Artwood would be worth a look. Most of them have solid spruce tops. However, I don't care for the "OPN" suffix on certain model numbers, which stands for "Open Pore Finish". I played one that sounded good, just didn't like the thin satin finish. I would want to choose one in person, not buy online, unless you get a good return policy. Reason being, you want to avoid the Friday afternoon or Monday morning-made guitars, or the one with not so good intonation. This is with any brand, not only Ibanez.

My main two guitars are a Gibson J35 reissue, and an Ibanez Artwood AC-300 (000 size body). The Gibson is very nice but cost over a grand slightly used a few years back. The Ibanez AC-300 I found used in a music store for $150. Solid spruce top. I don't care so much that the back and sides are laminated. The one I found is great. Superb tone and playability.

Nov 19, 2019 - 9:59:07 AM

conic

UK

591 posts since 2/15/2014

I have owned tons of guitars over 45 years and the best one for quality, tone, feels good to hold and play as well as price is a Big Baby Taylor. try one out and dont confuse it with the smaller baby taylor which is naff.
They sell very cheap second hand

Nov 19, 2019 - 10:10:29 AM

kjcole

USA

1191 posts since 4/21/2003