Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

429
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

6919 reviews in the archive.

Picks: Perfect Touch

Submitted by 74rider on 4/12/2016

Where Purchased: 4/8/16

Overall Comments

At first it took a little getting used to, but wow!! This thing is great. Very little effort to get a crisp clear note and helps my clunky fingers gain a little more accuracy. I love this pick!! And their customer service is the best. If you play clawhammer, it's worth the money.

www.perfecttouchpicks.com

 

 

Overall Rating: 10

Kristiana Gregory: Across the Wide and Lonesome Prairie: The Oregon Trail Diary of Hattie Campbell

Submitted by 74rider on 12/5/2014

Where Purchased: Amazon

Overall Comments

I went looking for a book which provided some historical background to the early settlers of Oregon, in hopes of being inspired to write songs that I can play with my banjo in clawhammer style. My wife's grandma had a picture of the actual wagon the family came out to Oregon in and they settled in Independence Oregon - pretty awesome. The book is written from a 13 year old's point of view, Hattie Campbell, simple down to earth and to me, very inspiring. As I look for material to sing and play OT banjo to, this book I know will be a great source of OT spirit.

Overall Rating: 9

Leroy Troy: Son of the South

Submitted by 74rider on 11/18/2014

Where Purchased: Amazon

Overall Comments

If you like clawhammer banjo solo's, this is a good'n. It's all Leroy and his banjo singing and playing all great traditional songs by himself. If you have a desire to break out on your own, this will serve as great inspiration.

Overall Rating: 10

Chance McCoy: Chance McCoy and the Appalachian Strings

Submitted by 74rider on 10/31/2014

Where Purchased: Amazon

Overall Comments

Great Fiddle music but also some great clawhammer banjo. I liked Gospel Plow and Dance All Night the best.

Overall Rating: 9

David Holt: I got a Bullfrog

Submitted by 74rider on 7/23/2014

Where Purchased: Can't remember

Overall Comments

This is one of the best collections of old-time fun clawhammer songs with a full band. Love the sound. Ever since I saw DH on Hee Haw playing "The Cat Came Back", I was hooked.

Overall Rating: 10

David Holt: Grandfather's Greatest Hits

Submitted by 74rider on 7/23/2014

Where Purchased: Can't remember

Overall Comments

This is another 10 as far as I'm concerned. Lots of good clawhammer playing here with a full band and classic songs. Great harmonies and notable guest performances.

Overall Rating: 10

David Holt: I got a Bullfrog

Submitted by 74rider on 7/3/2014

Where Purchased: Local

Overall Comments

If you like old time music, clawhammer banjo in particular, this is a great album. In fact anything by David Holt is awesome. He's a character but truly loves the old music and its roots. Who knows, you may even "larn sumpin".

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.0625