Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

190
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

6840 reviews in the archive.

Acoustic Corner

Submitted by BlowingRockNC on 12/26/2014

Overall Comments

Not that my view counts for much, but my wife and I stopped by on our way through Black Mountain today. I've seen it before, but never paid a lot of attention. Anyway, it's really out of the way, but in a cool sort of way. The folks there were nice and helpful, and the atmosphere was really nice. I was very surprised, though, by the relatively lower quality of the banjos they sold. Their guitars were also not top of the line. Gold Tone was their most numerous make of banjos and guitars, which again surprised me. I'm not kicking Gold Tone at all, and they have very few instruments on consignment, which also surprised me a tad. Anyway, it's a really nice place to visit, with nice folks working there. Just staying, for what's it's worth.

Overall Rating: 7

CAPOS MUSIC

Submitted by BlowingRockNC on 12/26/2014

Overall Comments

These folks are located in Abingdon, VA, which is a really cool town in western VA. They get a great rating because I drove an hour each way to leave a really nice banjo for them to sell on consignment, and they sold it. I thought enough of them to leave them one of my good tenor guitars and a rough mountain banjo (which is actually really cool). As for the store, it has a lot of instruments and extras to offer. They had a really fine collection of vintage consignment instruments, which is why I drove so far to work with them. Everyone there is nice as can be, plus they seem to really know their stuff. By the way, they have a nice jam there every Saturday night. I haven't been yet, but I've heard about it, and I hope to go one day soon when my wife and I make a trip to Abingdon to see another play at the Barter Theater, which is great. That's it.

Overall Rating: 9

Heads: Remo Fiberskyn3 head

Submitted by BlowingRockNC on 7/4/2014

Where Purchased: Local Luthier

Overall Comments

I have used hide heads for quite a long time, but I tore a head recently, so I had to get a new one. I decided that it might be a good idea to have at least one banjo with something other than natural hide. I had a Fiberskyn3 put on this week, and it sounds great, possibly better than the hide head, but at least as good. I'm not a total convert yet, but the Fiberskyn3 has shown me that there are options for those of us who prefer the OT-type sound.

Overall Rating: 8

Carl Arcand

Submitted by BlowingRockNC on 5/29/2014

Overall Comments

Well, I just got my third banjo from Carl. It's a real beauty, and it plays great. I don't know what Carl uses for his secret sauce, but he really knows how to bring life back into vintage banjos. I just hope I can stop buying more banjos, because I've got more than enough right now. Any doubts, just ask my wife. Anyone has a chance to buy a banjo from Carl should do so, because they won't be disappointed.

Overall Rating: 10

Capos: Perfect Pitch Capo

Submitted by BlowingRockNC on 4/23/2014

Where Purchased: Manufacturer

Overall Comments

Junk, but what do I know.

Overall Rating: 1

Tuners: Snark Super Tight

Submitted by BlowingRockNC on 2/5/2014

Where Purchased:

Overall Comments

Great tuner, just plain great.

Overall Rating: 9

Three Head Tuning Wrench: MyBanjo Wrench

Submitted by BlowingRockNC on 2/4/2014

Where Purchased:

Overall Comments

This is the three-head wrench that you see at most online sites. It has three different size wrenches for adjusting the nuts on the brackets of a banjo. It really is a nifty thing to have around when you need it. Doesn't cost much, but it really makes life easier when you have vintage banjos that long ago lost their wrenches.

Overall Rating: 9

Cases (Soft, Gig Bags): Access Stage-3 OB Banjo

Submitted by BlowingRockNC on 1/25/2014

Where Purchased: Elderly

Overall Comments

I bought this bag from Elderly, along with a few other items. I could not believe how fast it arrived at my door. Anyway, the Access Stage-3 bag is probably better than all but the very top line "flight ready" hardshell bags. The Stage-3 is really something to behold. It's nothing like conventional gig bags...very heavy duty materials and components used in the construction, plus great neck support inside the bag. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because the backpack straps aren't easily stored in the pockets or inside the bag, but that's no biggie for me. I'll either use them or leave them at home, depending on the circumstances. I highly recommend this product. It's expensive, but worth it if you have a decent banjo, particularly an expensive banjo, plus I already have several hardshell cases, and I wanted a top quality soft bag for use when necessary.

Overall Rating: 9

BanjoTeacher.Com

Submitted by BlowingRockNC on 1/9/2014

Overall Comments

I just got a 5-string Cello Banjo from Ross. The entire transaction went perfectly. The banjo looks great, sounds great, is great. It isn't a masterpiece instrument at the price point, but it's a solidly good banjo, no question about it. It plays a whole lot easier than I thought it would. Ross is a keeper.

Overall Rating: 10

Carl Arcand

Submitted by BlowingRockNC on 1/3/2014

Overall Comments

I've purchased two banjos from Carl over the last several months. The best banjos I've ever seen or played, no BS at all. He's a master at what he does. I might even get him to do a fretless for me, but my budget for banjos is a little exhausted right now, since I also got a cello banjo from Ross this morning. Bottom line: When dealing with true quality, I deal with Carl. He knows his stuff.

Overall Rating: 10

Straps: Neotech Super banjo strap

Submitted by BlowingRockNC on 11/16/2013

Where Purchased:

Overall Comments

This is the worst looking thing I've ever seen when it comes to banjo straps. I tried several leather ones, but I ended up buying a Neotech just to see if it's better. Well, it is, period. It's ugly as sin, but it works great. I don't know why they don't make one completely out of leather, because I don't see any reason why they couldn't do it. It still would look a little odd, but nowhere near as ugly. I'm glad I got mine.

Overall Rating: 9

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.1875