Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

210
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

6773 reviews in the archive.

Deering: Old Tyme Wonder

Submitted by nyartist on 4/16/2017

Where Purchased: Smakula

Year Purchased: 2017
Price Paid: Don't Remember (bought USED) historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

Totally blown away! I did not expect the power and volume of this banjo. It came with the Fiberskyn head so I expected a mellow muted town but I love what I'm hearing. It's a cross between mellow and bright - not sure how else to describe it. Volume and resonance is outstanding. Compares to any other 11" banjo I've owned and I've had banjos by most of the American makers over the years.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

Smakula is great to work with.. My favorite go to seller by far. Action was good. I thought I would need to change the Deering tuners for Gotoh but don't need to at all. Same with the Deering bridge.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

Looks really nice. Nothing fancy. Pretty ordinary actually but the wood and the worksmanship is perfect. Maybe I would have liked just one fancy do-dad on it but when I pick it up and play it that never occurs to me.

Appearance Rating: 9

Reliability

I feel I could depend on it but I just play it in my own home and won't be taking it anywhere anytime soon. Closet pickers pick in the closet.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

No need to contact Deering. I've owned their Goodtime banjos and this is worlds better.... No comparison.

Customer Service: 10

Components

Like I said no need to change the tuners or bridge. In most banjos I've purchased I always swap out the tuners it comes with for Gotoh. But not now. These hold the tune really well.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

I'm pleasantly amazed I will say that. I was concerned the the fiberskyn head would need to be changed but no way. The banjo looks ordinary but plays anything but... This is the Vega Old Tyme Wonder. Vega is stamped on the peghead. It's a tad longer than some other 26 1/2" banjos but that hasn't deterred me. Haven't even noticed it. Kudos to Deering for this babe.

Overall Rating: 10

Zachary Hoyt: #30

Submitted by nyartist on 12/17/2016

Where Purchased: from Zach

Year Purchased: 2016
Price Paid: Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

This is my second banjo Zach built for me. The first was 11" and this is 12" because I wanted a banjo with a sound that was complementary to the first one .This is it: I was very pleased with the woody, open and subtle sound of this banjo. I sold a 12" banjo from a well known maker to buy this one and haven't regretted it for a minute.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

Set up was fine. This time I just changed bridges but not sure it really made any noticeable difference. Banjo seems to sound good no matter what bridge I put on. Action was perfect for me - distance of the strings to the scoop.

Setup Rating: 9

Appearance

A beautful banjo: brass tuners and hardware, mohogany pot and neck, no tone ring, bone nut and pip - that s scoop I love for aesthetic reasons as well as functionality. Everything looks as if Zach took super care of every step in the process of building it.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

Great hardware and Gotoh tuners..

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

There is no better maker to deal with than Zach. Responsive to emails immediately.

Customer Service: not rated

Components

Everything is top notch. There is nothing I would do to upgrade.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

The 11" banjo I have from Zach gives a brighter tone that I would call 'upbeat'.. This is exactly the sound I was hoping for in a 12" banjo. They both hang from my wall and I take turns with different songs..

Overall Rating: 10

Zachary Hoyt: #23

Submitted by nyartist on 11/4/2016

Where Purchased: Direct from Zachary

Year Purchased: 2016
Price Paid: 680 ($US)

Sound

I play only clawhammer. It's got bright and lively sound. It came with Zachary's own bridge but because I had never seen a bridge like that I tried a Moon bridge and Kat Eyz but found it best with the bridge he sent. I give this a 9 rather than 10 because I generally prefer the sound of a 12" banjo so next one I get from him will be that.

Sound Rating: 9

Setup

Everything was set up just fine.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

Gorgeous! Great craftsmanship and attention to detail. The pot is great, the neck and fret board too. That S scoop is my favorite touch.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

Hardware all looks good. No complaints or issues.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

Zach was great to deal with. He probably doesn't remember that I contacted him many months earlier and hassled him with questions. This time I just made up my mind to go for it.

Customer Service: 10

Components

I love Gotoh tuners and that's what this banjo has.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

Kind of hard to believe he's selling an instrument like this for the price that he is. I've owned just about every makers instrument over the years. I don't think I missed anyone. I had instruments custom made for me as well. These could be selling for a heck of a lot more.. Look at his website and understand what principles guide him and you will understand.

Overall Rating: 10

Smakula Fretted Intruments

Submitted by nyartist on 12/31/2015

Overall Comments

I have no idea why Smakula isn't listed on the list of music stores. I've bought from Elderly, Mandolin Bros, Janet Davis, Capos Music Store.. just about everyone and for my money Bob at Smakula is among the very best. I've purchased banjos and banjo accessories from him for a number of years and have always been MORE than satisfied. As an example, he sells a relatively new openback from Gold Tone, the Carlin CC. Well others sell that as well, but Bob is the only one who includes a huge upgrade to the Gotoh tuners from those silly looking guitar tuners--at no additional cost!

Overall Rating: 10

Deering: Goodtime Classic Scooped neck open back

Submitted by nyartist on 10/27/2015

Where Purchased: Capos Music Store

Year Purchased: 2015
Price Paid: 399 ($US)

Sound

I've shied away from the older Goodtimes. Never did like those guitar tuners and lack of scoop. I play clawhammer and gave this a try. Capos was great to work with and I'm finding the sound suits me: not too loud not too muted.

Sound Rating: 8

Setup

Capos did a great job: changed out the tuners for planets, added a spike.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

Very nice to look at. Beautiful light blond maple neck and pot.

Appearance Rating: 9

Reliability

I didn't expect to find high end hardware on the banjo.. and like I said the guitar tuners were replaced with planetary tuners that hold the tune well.

Reliability Rating: not rated

Customer Service

They were great to deal with: changed the tuners to the ones I sent them and didn't charge for that. nor did the spike cost me.

Customer Service: 10

Components

The tuners are what I replaced and would recommend that.

Components Rating: 7

Overall Comments

What I love most is the weight. Half of what my Recording king and Ramsey weigh. Makes a difference considering I've had numerous rotator cuff surgeries and find this banjo to be most comfortable to hold for extended periods of time.

Overall Rating: 9

CAPOS MUSIC

Submitted by nyartist on 9/24/2015

Overall Comments

I found Capos through a for sale ad they had on the Hangout and thought I would look them up. I've dealt with other banjo places and really knew nothing about Capos. I already own two nice openback banjos but both were too heavy to keep on my back during all the traveling I do. I looked for a lighter weight instrument and contacted Emory at Capos. They had a deal on a Goodtime openback with a frailing scoop that had guitar style tuners. I do not like them at all, so I sent Emory a set of nice planet tuners I had lying around to install for me. Not only did he do a great job on swapping them out for me but didn't charge to do it. He also installed a couple of spikes and again, no charge. Banjo came today and it looks great. I was never fond of the Goodtime banjos but this has changed my mind. I wouldn't hesitate doing business with them again.

Overall Rating: 10

Gretsch: 9455

Submitted by nyartist on 5/31/2015

Where Purchased: Amazon

Year Purchased: 2015
Price Paid: Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

A very satisfactory sound for me needs being a clawhammer player who sings and plays.

Sound Rating: 8

Setup

No problem with the setup. I had to place the special bridge I had and used harmonics to do it. But the head tension and everything else was fine.

Setup Rating: 8

Appearance

Love the way it looks. Good finish. I was surprise how well this banjo is put together.

Appearance Rating: 9

Reliability

I replace their stock tuners with some 5 stars I had lying around and it makes a difference. Their tuners work ok but I'm pretty particular about that.

Reliability Rating: 7

Customer Service

Never dealt with them and see no reason to start. The banjo arrived looking great.

Customer Service: 8

Components

The wood is of surprisingly good quality for a banjo at this price range. Compares totally favorably to the Gold Tones out there. I've played Gold Tone banjos for years but I will say I am one pleasanty surprised dude. The tuners can be upgraded but everything else is super.

Components Rating: 8

Overall Comments

I love this and agree with the folks who say that Gretsch doesn't get the love it deserves. Add me to that list! My main banjo is a Ramsey and that has more volume and punch and resonance than this... but I do love this one and it's now my official travel banjer.

Overall Rating: 9

Pisgah: 12" Walnut Possum

Submitted by nyartist on 8/6/2014

Where Purchased: Pisgah

Year Purchased: 2014
Price Paid: Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

The right sound for clawhammer.. I play a simple rhythm to back up my singing and this banjo is ideal for that. It's plunky but with some brightness too.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

I asked Patrick to raise the action a 1/16th of an inch to suit my style and he did..Of course the banjo came with the bridge lying down so I added a heavy Moon bridge and set it using harmonics.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

it's gorgeous... it's a 25 1/2" scale, vintage peghead, S scoop and the brass hardware. But the wood is just absolutely gorgeous - a work of art as I told Patick.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

Hardware looks great. I got a brass wire arm rest to go with the brass hardware and the whole thing looks great. I don't see any problems down the road with that brass wearing out.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

Well, if you've dealt with Patrick you know how responsive he is. Lots of emails passed between us and he always responded in a timely way. I also appreciate how he asked me about the action and told me what they tend to set it at. Then I measured on my other banjo and realized I needed another 1/16".. that's the way it arrived.

Customer Service: 10

Components

Those Gotoh tuners have always been my favorites. To me they hold a tune better than any others. I don't see any need to change those.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

My goal as a banjo player as I mentioned is really to use it as backup for my singing. I'm sure someone else with better banjo chops would appreciate this banjo even more than I do.

Overall Rating: 10

Enoch: Tradesman

Submitted by nyartist on 12/22/2013

Where Purchased: BJO member

Year Purchased: 2013
Price Paid: 1070 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound

This is great for clawhammer which is all that I do. I find enough volume and plenty of woody mellowness whch I value above all else.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

I bought it from a BJO member and it took a while for me to set the bridge, but I did not find the action too high as some have said.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

In the past I prefered a peghead that looked more elaborate and decorative. now I could care less. I really like the look of this banjo and the walnut neck.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

The finish and the hardware all look good. no compaints there.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

Well, I made a nuisance of myself emailing Kevin to ask questions but he always answered them in a timely manner anyway.

Customer Service: 10

Components

I prefer these Gotoh tuners. They hold very well for me. A pleasure to use.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

this is the second time I had one of these. I did a review back in 2009 but since then have tried lots of banjos and have become more knowledgeable about what I like and want in a banjo. I sold a very high end banjo to buy this one and as soon as I started playing it everything changed for me. I found myself having a renewed interest in playing. I started playing some tunes I hadn't practiced in years and it was such a pleasure. I just love the tone that comes from this 12" pot and really appreciated the care that Kevin puts into making these.

Overall Rating: 10

Oscar Schmidt: OB 3

Submitted by nyartist on 8/14/2013

Where Purchased: Amazon

Year Purchased: 2013
Price Paid: Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

Definitely surprised me. I wasn't expecting much for a $135 banjo that I just wanted for travel purposes not caring if it ever got smashed in my travels. It was louder and a bit less bright - more mellow than I expected. This is an openback banjo.

Sound Rating: 7

Setup

Banjo was not set up and came with those ugly guitar style tuners. I took them off, drilled out the holes rather imperfectly and put in a spare set of planet tuners I had.

Setup Rating: 7

Appearance

Wood looks nice - no issues there.

Appearance Rating: 8

Reliability

I replaced the hardware so I know I can rely on it. But I don't do gigs - just travel with it so I can't answer if I would use in on a gig.

Reliability Rating: 8

Customer Service

Amazon is great...

Customer Service: 10

Components

The wood is nice as I said. I also like that there's no brass tone ring. Just a wood pot going all the way to the head. Makes it a bit mellower I believe. Never did like the look of guitar tuners so out they went.

Components Rating: 6

Overall Comments

As I said - surprised by the quality and sound. I happen to own a Chuck Lee Chalk Mountain 12" banjo - and have owned other high end ones. I am not comparing them of course to the Oscar Schmidt, but I do like playing this cheapie.

Overall Rating: 8

Gold Tone: BC 350+

Submitted by nyartist on 11/20/2010

Where Purchased: Tony Hatton

Year Purchased: 2010
Price Paid: 850 ($US)

Sound

I was very surprised at the volume even with the obligatory foam placed in the pot to muffle the overtones. I love the sound and can compare it favorably to banjos costing 2 x as much - banjos that I have owned. I really prefer this slightly wider fretboard. I find it so much easier to play than the narrower one.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

Set up was just as I like it. I did finally remove the armrest as I found it more comfortable to just rest my arm on the rim.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

Looks beautiful... I sold a custom built banjo and bought this one and haven't regretted it at all.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

The tuners are GT planets but I always like to fiddle around and upgrade components so I bought Waverly tuners to replace them. Did I need to? Not really. I just like messing around and experimenting.

Reliability Rating: 9

Customer Service

I've dealt with Wayne and Gold Tone for years and find them to be responsive, available and helpful. They fit a great niche in the world's banjo marketplace.

Customer Service: 10

Components

I mentioned the tuners. I do NOT find that they're slipping - they're doing well. It's just that I love tinkering wherever and whenever I can. It's part of my fun. I might add a wire arm rest but as of now I'm comfortable just playing the banjo with no armrest at all.

Components Rating: 9

Overall Comments

Since the banjo came I've not wanted to put it down. My practices are longer and more fun than ever before. This banjo just works for me. I've owned Reiter, Chanterelle and Ome openback banjos and the custom built one but this one just seems perfectly suited to me. Kind of like lucking out with an on-line dating service!

Overall Rating: 10

Other: Gold Tone Clip-on Tuner

Submitted by nyartist on 8/4/2010

Where Purchased: Mark Horowitz at Banjo Camp

Overall Comments

Just the best...period! I play outdoors 1/2 the week and could never see the display of a particular clip on tuner I've had. I had to get up, go inside where it was dark and then tune up. I tried the Gold Tone clip on tuner at the Metro Banjo Camp last weekend and it is a beauty! No problem seeing the display in strong natural light.

Overall Rating: 10

Jason Burns: Open Back

Submitted by nyartist on 8/3/2010

Where Purchased: from Jason

Year Purchased: 2010
Price Paid: 2075 ($US)

Sound

I absolutely love everything about this banjo. Jason and I worked together through emails and the phone ( I counted 45 emails) to get exactly what I wanted in a banjo. From the wood to the inlay to the components he gave me choices and sent photo samples of each of those choices. I finally settled on a tubaphone tone ring.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

Never had to change a thing. Action was perfect, bridge was set just right.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

The banjo is walnut with a red mahogany stain, ebony tuning buttons, raw brass hardware, Waverly tuners, 25 1/2" scale, Burns peghead, 12" pot, elegant 5th string carving, specially designed mother of pearl artists palette inlay over the scoop.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

I totally think I can depend on it.. But this banjo is NOT leaving the house. I'll take another one to jams. This is more than a banjo, it's a work of art.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

I've mentioned the 45 emails, photos sent of the progress at each step, willingness to make changes on the fly. I don't know many people who do business this way.

Customer Service: 10

Components

All of the components are are standout. I have no desire to change anything.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

I've never really played a tubaphone tone ring banjo before but I'm getting to love it the more I play it. It rings loud yet there's a warmth to it as well. Sometimes if I put a cloth in the back it knocks out the overtones and sounds really beautiful. I got that idea from Mark Horowitz with his Fielding banjo and I liked the way that sounded. Just a gorgeous instrument and such a pleasure to pick up and play every day.

Overall Rating: 10

Gold Tone: White Ladye WL-250

Submitted by nyartist on 6/15/2009

Where Purchased: banjo Hangout Classified

Year Purchased: 2009
Price Paid: Don't Remember (bought USED) historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

I play clawhammer and already had two wonderful banjos: Bart Reiter Round Peak and an Ome Jubilee - both with 12" pots. I wasn't expecting lots from this banjo but I have fallen in love! The sound surprised me. I play it outdoors in a setting surrounded by water yet there is more volume than I expected. Sounds great to me.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

The set up was right on. The seller suggested using a Moon Bridge which I did and couldn't be happier with the results.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

It looks great to me. It also smells great and feels great.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

I like the hardware = the tone ring seems seated perfectly well, the tuners are fine. It definitely is a durable instrument and if I lost my Reiter and Ome I would be content to play only this.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

I've dealt with Wayne before at Gold Tone and have nothing but positive experiences.

Customer Service: 10

Components

Others have mentioned the tuners. I found that after one week of leaving the banjo at this place I described that's surrounded by water the banjo was still in tune. I thought I would change them to 5 Star tuners but right now see no reason.

Components Rating: 9

Overall Comments

I would absolutely recommend it. I owned one of these WL 250's about 2 years ago but couldn't appreciate at that time its qualities. Now that I'm a better player I can be a better judge of good quality.

Overall Rating: 10

Ome: Jubilee

Submitted by nyartist on 5/9/2009

Where Purchased: Elderly

Year Purchased: 2009
Price Paid: 1225 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound

I have a Bart Reiter Round Peak and now this Ome Jubliee - both with 12" pots and both wonderful banjos. The Reiter has more 'snap' but the Ome is a little more woody. Volume is good. I switch off during my practice sessions and alternate playing both. I don't know yet which is my favorite. It's like having two wonderful mistresses.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

Set up was just right as I've come to expect from Elderly. Action was perfect, head tight, nice Snuffy Smith bridge. No buzzes whatsoever.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

Looks great to me. But I'm partial in that I've always wanted to own and Ome. That comes from my 20+ years living in and around Boulder where Ome is made.

Appearance Rating: 9

Reliability

hardware seems like it'll last. I wasn't sure what the tuners were but the folks at Ome told me they were probably Schaller Tuners. I thought Schaller only made D tuners but who knows. I only know they hold the tune and don't slip.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

There are none finer than Elderly. Who else (other than Zepp) will let you try out an instrument and return it if it doesn't suit you?

Customer Service: 10

Components

Like I said, tuners are fine. Nothing needs to be replaced or upgraded. Some day I might throw on a Kat Eyz bridge to see what happens.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

I love it. I love the Reiter too and finally have two banjos that are real pleasures to look at and play. I've tried so many and am content for the first time in a while.

Overall Rating: 10

Enoch: Tradesman

Submitted by nyartist on 4/22/2009

Where Purchased: Elderly

Year Purchased: 2009
Price Paid: 925 ($US)

Sound

I would have to agree with many of the other reviews that putting a small cloth in the back really does a good job. I love the sound that way.

Sound Rating: 9

Setup

Elderly always does a fine job wit the set up. Of course they ship the banjo with the bridge lying flat as i would want them to. It was pretty easy setting it using harmonics.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

Very easy on the eyes. Nothing fancy but simplicity is what I wanted.

Appearance Rating: 9

Reliability

I like it all. I would disagree with some of the other reviews about the tuners. the Gotoh tuners are really good and I see no need to swap them out.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

Elderly is always good to deal with and Kevin responded to my three email questions and comments within one day.

Customer Service: 10

Components

I was all ready to change the Gotoh tuners to 5 star tuners I had lying around. I thought I would need to to that based on other reviews but after playing around and tuning and re-tuning I decided against changing them. They work just fine for me.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

I really like it. I see it as the little brother to my Bart Reiter Round Peak. They're hanging side by side: one tuned to G and the other tuned to double C. The Reiter is heavier and more elegant in ways, but the Enoch is totally enjoyable to play. I would recommend this banjo without hesitation.

Overall Rating: 9

Bart Reiter: Round Peak

Submitted by nyartist on 2/18/2009

Where Purchased: Zepp Music

Year Purchased: 2009
Price Paid: 995 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound

I just love the sound of this played over the scoop. Seems like the more the practice progresses the better it sounds. Could be my imagination but it really is happening every day I pick it up to play.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

Zepp did a fine job with the set up. I just replaced the bridge with a 5/8" Kat Eyz that I had lying around. Head was tight- no problems with the set up.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

It sure is easy on the eyes. Bart has a reputation of being a meticulous craftsman and it's a well deserved reputation. I owned a different Reiter banjo a bout a year ago but as I become a better player I seem to be appreciating what he builds more and more. Nothing fancy. I tried fancy before and I'm happier how with less bells and whistles.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

Beautiful finish. I expect it to get better with time, not to wear thin. Like I said the more I play it the better it sounds.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

I emailed Bart with a question about putting on a calf skin head and he dissuaded me from doing that. He responded within one day of my email. Mark at Zepp's was great to deal with. I actually put in the order for the banjo when I was traveling in Buenos Aires!

Customer Service: 10

Components

I must say that I love the tuners. I had a Chanterelle recently and it seemed I was always tweaking the tuners. I never could find out what tuners he used. These are 5 star and just perfect.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

I've owned a bunch of banjos and as I grow as a player I find more to appreciate about all of them. At this point in time I couldn't be happier. If it was stolen I'd call my boys in Brooklyn and have them look for the thief. Seriously though - if it was stolen I'd look for another one.

Overall Rating: 10

Mutes: Mike's Banjo Mute

Submitted by nyartist on 9/12/2008

Where Purchased: Mike

Overall Comments

Very very nice! Hands down the best mute around and I've tried at least three others over the years. Each had issues and problems but this one is just perfect!
So easy to put on and take of and does the job.

Overall Rating: 10

Epiphone: MB-100

Submitted by nyartist on 9/7/2008

Where Purchased: not yet purchased

Year Purchased:
Price Paid: Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

This was truly surprising to me. I went to Guitar City not to buy but to try out thinking this could be a good travel banjo. Not expensive and no great loss if damaged in travel.

Sound Rating: 7

Setup

not bad.... I would replace the bridge but the action was at a height I like, the head was tight - no great issues with set up

Setup Rating: 7

Appearance

Pretty decent. Not as nice looking as my Gold Tone Cripple Creek, but I did install planetary tuners on the Gold Tone so that looks nicer than the guitar tuners.

Appearance Rating: 7

Reliability

Hardware is decent and I believe will last. But you must remember that we're talking about a banjo that sells for $179 or less. Can't expect the same qualities as I have on my Chanterelle!

Reliability Rating: 7

Customer Service

Guitar City does a nice job as far as I can tell of supporting after sale.

Customer Service: 7

Components

Components are nothing to write home about but they sure as heck surprised me. I played that banjo hard in the store and kept checking the tuning. They (the tuners) did a good job of holding the tune and felt smooth and comfortable.

Components Rating: 7

Overall Comments

Like I said - totally surprised and will definitely buy one for travel. I like my Cripple Creek with the rolled brass tone ring better but I like this better than the Rover I had a couple of years ago.

Overall Rating: 7

Hohner: HOB200

Submitted by nyartist on 1/10/2008

Where Purchased: Elderly Instruments

Year Purchased: 2007
Price Paid: Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

I love the sound having owned a few other top rated openbacks and finding everything about this banjo more than I imagined.

Sound Rating: 9

Setup

Elderly does a great job - no adjustments necessary.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

Gorgeous instrument - no two ways about it.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

I can find no issues with the reliability.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

Elderly is the best for my money regarding service and being responsive.

Customer Service: 10

Components

Great components - the tuners are sweet. As good or better than the higher rated and more expensive banjos I've owned. No need to mention them because they're great too and I'm not interested in putting them down.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

I just love it... I use a Gold Tone Cripple Creek for traveling but this babe is my stay at home babe.

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.09375