Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

774
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

7071 reviews in the archive.

Picks: Blue Chip Thumb Pick

Submitted by mountiepicker on 2/12/2010

Where Purchased: http://www.bluechippick.net/

Overall Comments

Great pick. No scratching sound. Feels comfortable on my thumb. Definitely recommend trying one. If nothing else you can sell it if you don't like it. I plan on buying a second one when I get another banjo.

Highly recommend!

Overall Rating: 10

Stelling: Crusader

Submitted by mountiepicker on 2/12/2010

Where Purchased: ebay (from a hangout member)

Year Purchased: 2009
Price Paid: 2,350 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound

Great sound. It's mahogany so its not too bright. Has a very balanced sound up and down the neck. Typical Stelling sound. I am having trouble tuning up the neck but it is because I am still messing with the bridge placement.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

Purchased used so I can't speak for the normal Stelling setup.

Setup Rating: not rated

Appearance

Absolutely beautiful!! I really like the inlays.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

Very reliable. Can't imagine needing to take a second banjo anywhere out of fear this one would let me down.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

I have had no dealings with the Stelling company.

Customer Service: not rated

Components

Top notch. Professional instrument, professional components.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

Highly recommend especially if you can find one used.

Overall Rating: 10

Stands: Gruven Premier Banjo Stand

Submitted by mountiepicker on 2/12/2010

Where Purchased: Janet Davis Music

Overall Comments

Good craftsmanship. Compact and sturdy. Nice instrument stand to take places. Still a bit nervous because it doesn't stabilize the neck, but it is very well built. If you are looking for a compact stand like this, this one works. Must say it is a bit pricey but it was bought as a birthday present so I'm not complaining.

Overall Rating: 9

Homespun Video: BÉLA FLECK TEACHES BANJO PICKING STYLES

Submitted by mountiepicker on 2/12/2010

Where Purchased: 2009

Overall Comments

Great DVD. Comes with tab for the tunes covered. Anytime you can watch Bela Fleck play it is worth the money. He does a nice job of explaining patterns and even throws in a couple of practice techniques. The tunes covered span a wide variety of banjo music. Filmed in the 80's so that explains the haircut and clothes!

Highly Recommended!!!

Overall Rating: 10

Pat Cloud: Key to 5 String Banjo

Submitted by mountiepicker on 2/12/2010

Where Purchased: Janet Davis Music

Overall Comments

Pat Cloud uses a different approach to banjo. Great musician who thinks outside the box. This book contains as much text as it does tab. Thoroughly explains his concepts. Don't expect a ton of playing examples. Only a couple of songs. This book is more about ideas than songs. Gives great stuff to practice.

If you are looking for something a little different that is theory based this is the book.

Overall Rating: 10

Cases (Hard, Flight): Stelling/TKL model

Submitted by mountiepicker on 2/12/2010

Where Purchased: Janet Davis Music

Overall Comments

Overall it is well built but poorly designed. My reason for purchasing this case cover was to be able to throw the banjo over my shoulder and go. However, this case has the strap hooks in awkward places. They cross the opening so you have to unclip it every time to open it. Duel shoulder straps are an option if you order straight from Colorado cases/Small Dog. I called them to add the straps but they stated they don't add them aftermarket. I am currently having a seamstress add the other hooks and move the current one so it will fit on my back.

It's well built but needs some design improvement.

Overall Rating: 6

Janet Davis Music

Submitted by mountiepicker on 8/22/2009

Overall Comments

Great service. I have ordered several things online from Janet Davis Music. Prompt Shipping. Quality products. Great prices.

Overall Rating: 10

Dave Asti

Submitted by mountiepicker on 8/22/2009

Overall Comments

Fantastic teacher! Really has a passion for bluegrass and it's contagious! Really can relate to individual students' needs. Dave takes a vested interest in his students' progress and success. I would highly recommend Dave Asti. Heck of a nice guy too!

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.09375