Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

184
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

6773 reviews in the archive.

Bridges: David Cunningham bridges

Submitted by Big I on 1/19/2014

Where Purchased: David Cunningham

Overall Comments

A friend of mine let me borrow a Zebra bridge to try out. It is a powerful bridge with lots of snap crackle and pop. If your looking for the Stanley tone then you need to try one of the Zebra bridges. So some how I found out he was making some walnut bridges with a Katalox top. So I contacted him and he sent me one to try. I have made some myself out of walnut and love the darker tones of walnut but mine always were lacking a little something. So anyway I put his on my banjo and am very happy with the tone it produces. Its a sweeter tone than maple. More resonance. If your looking for a slightly darker, sweeter tone, give this bridge a try.

Overall Rating: 10

John Boulding

Submitted by Big I on 7/31/2013

Overall Comments

I just bought a new neck and resonator for banjo. The neck had some buzzing problems and did not fit exactly right. I took it to John and he fixed me right up. He got the neck fit just right and leveled the frets. He also sprayed my rim to match the new neck and reso. The reso had a satin finish on it but the neck had had a gloss finish. I was going to get him to spray the reso also with a high gloss. He said, wait one second. He went and polished the reso and came back with a gloss finish showing. Apparently whoever made the reso did not do the final polish. I had no way of knowing this. John did this for me at no charge. Sure it only took him a few minutes to polish it but it shows he is a straight up guy. His overall price for all the work was very reasonable. Very satisfied customer.

Overall Rating: 10

Bridges: Tim Purcell Banjo Bridge

Submitted by Big I on 9/11/2012

Where Purchased: Hangout member

Overall Comments

I tried a lot of different bridges on my RB-4 copy but was never satisfied with the tone. That was until I put Tim purcel's Dogwood bridge on. This bridge gave my banjo the growl I had been searching for.

Overall Rating: 10

Bridges: Tim Purcell Piano Bridge

Submitted by Big I on 6/23/2012

Where Purchased: From Tim Purcell

Overall Comments

This bridge is Awesome. Powerful and clear. Great lows and highs. What else do you need.

Overall Rating: 10

Picks: Little Maggie Picks

Submitted by Big I on 6/23/2012

Where Purchased: Little Maggie picks

Overall Comments

I have been using Judy's Original German Nickel picks for a few months now and love them. I recently received her new German Nickel silver Old 97 picks. These have a longer blade and wider band. I like these even better. The longer blade will work great for folks with larger fingers. For me it allows me to put the bands behind my fingernails and still have enough blade to wrap my finger and go above my finger nail, which makes them the most comfortable picks I have ever used. They have a great bell like tone with plenty of volume. And the price is excellent.

Overall Rating: 10

Picks: Little Maggie Picks

Submitted by Big I on 2/18/2012

Where Purchased: Judysmountain

Overall Comments

These picks are my favorite so far. I have been using the BP colbolts and they are great picks also. But these are much more comfortable and have great tone. I first ordered the ACN finish picks which have a bassier tone than the BP's. Then I ordered the original German Nickel Silver picks. These have a brighter tone and more volume. Just buy them both and you cant go wrong. I think the ACN's would sound better in a recording but the original's would sound better at a jam because they would cut through more. Great price also.

Overall Rating: 10

Mel Bay: Banjo Chord Chart

Submitted by Big I on 1/19/2011

Where Purchased: Janet Davis Music

Overall Comments

This chart has it all. It show you every Chord. It also show you a banjo neck with the note at ever fret. And it goes over the circle of fifths. Very valuable info on one chart.

Overall Rating: 10

The SteelDrivers: Reckless

Submitted by Big I on 10/17/2010

Where Purchased: Local Store

Overall Comments

Well, It was a tall order to try and match their first album. After listening to it thru a few times, I can say it is a great album with some phenominal songs such as Where rainbows never die, good corn liquor and The reckless side of me. I would say so far it is 99.9999 percent as good as the first. After listening a little longer I may like it even better than the first. Richard bailey absolutely kills it on every song. He makes his banjo sing. Just buy this album you won't be disappointed.

Overall Rating: 10

John Boulding

Submitted by Big I on 6/5/2010

Overall Comments

I took my RK-80 to john to have it set up. He kept it a couple of days and when I picked it up it finally had the growl I was looking for. But the true test was when I took it to a jam session and played right beside an Earl Scruggs model. The RK held its on beside the three times more expensive banjo. What else can I say. And his price was super. Anybody that can make it to Mt. Airy NC needs to go see john.

Overall Rating: 10

Other: BanjoMate Nickle Plated

Submitted by Big I on 4/2/2010

Where Purchased: Little moutain music

Overall Comments

I put this thing in my Rk-80 and hoped for the best. I started playing and noticed improved tone, clarity and note seperation. I thought maybe it could be placebo hoping it was real. Plus I had just tightened my head which i should not have done but anyway So I took it off and on several times and there was a definate improvement. Kinda like when your trying to find a radio station and it is a tad fuzzy then you hit it perfect and it becomes crystal clear. I then put it in a friends aluminum pot blueridge banjo and there was an even greater improvement. After I took it off his for the last time I put his resonater back on and started playing and immediatly looked down to see if I had put the resonator on because there was such a huge difference. Overall the tone enhancer does exactly what it says.

Overall Rating: 10

Mutes: Mike's Banjo Mute

Submitted by Big I on 12/18/2009

Where Purchased: mikesbanjomute.com

Overall Comments

I love it when a product lives up to its reputation. I had heard good things about mikes mute and it was just as expected. Super quite, and sounds great. Quality product, worth the money. I can now play anytime, anywhere.

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.078125