Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

974
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

7080 reviews in the archive.

Straps: Banjo Straps, Handmade Custom Cradle or Attachment Type

Submitted by Earls 5 on 9/19/2014

Where Purchased: Direct from maker through mutual friend

Overall Comments

In all honesty and truthfulness this is without doubt the very best strap I have personally used. Ken Harper exceeded all expectations and the quality and appearance are second to NONE.

Priced more fairly and turned out in remarkable time frame. 

I do not post very many reviews on products or services, and when I do you can believe that I am beyond impressed. Everyone really should get one of these and compare the craftsmanship and price to any other strap made. I honestly believe you will agree with my statements "Best on the market at any price"

Thank you Ken Harper. And you will be getting more orders from me surely! Keep the high standard that you adhere to it is very much needed in the world today.

Overall Rating: 10

Hardware: USA Made resonator hardware

Submitted by Earls 5 on 7/19/2014

Where Purchased: American made banjo co.

Overall Comments

Absolutely the best quality resonator hardware available. Made in the USA. As with any and all parts made available by the American made banjo co. their resonator hardware is precision made. Highest quality plating be it brass or steel this is the "good stuff" !

Customer service before and after the sale is outstanding and courteous. Prompt shipping and hassle free return policy.

This is the way business is suppose to be done! Thank goodness American made parts are available so we do not have to settle for foreign made junk any longer.

Tom Mirisola has invested the time and expense to get it right - thanks Tom!

Overall Rating: 10

Rims: Wyatt RMC375 Engineered Hybrid Banjo Rim

Submitted by Earls 5 on 2/9/2014

Where Purchased: Randall Wyatt

Overall Comments

I have like many folk been trying or should I say testing several "boutique" and usually fairly expensive rims. All of which were good in their own way I suppose. From old Gibson rims pre and post war, to lost,old growth,ply and block construction, thin skirt,fat boy and even those labeled as "thin", and of coarse "engineered", hard maple ,red maple, walnut,mahogany, beech- etc. etc.

All in search- like so many other pickers, that magical partner for a good flathead tone ring. That would produce that old fat hollow tone with volume to equal the tone. Some were closer than others and surprisingly not according to price point either in some cases!

A  very good friend and of coarse fellow banjo "nut" has been doing some experimenting of his own concerning rims. Not too long ago he mentioned to me his latest positive result in his mad experiments.... He called it the RCM375 Hybrid rim. He had already come up with what I believe to be one of the best three rims I had personal experience with, in his European beech block rims. So, naturally I wanted to try one of these new Hybrid's out for myself.

At that time I was using the engineered 3 ply rim with a Hopkins TC Flat head ring. And was very close to what I really like to hear in a banjo tone. Next, I swapped the ring only out to the JBS Sloan ring with just a touch more of what I like to hear resulting. 

Then finally  in early Dec. 2013 I received the RCM375 to try out with the Sloan ring. Here we go again! Swap out time. At the very moment of laying the picks to the banjo I was sure Randall had indeed struck pay dirt with the hybrid rim. Honestly, I was skeptical right up to the last minute that it would sound any closer to the "magical" tone/volume combination I desire. But was it in my head? Or maybe an illusion that would fade after a few days? Only time would tell.

Well fast forward to present day Feb 2014. I can tell you that after just a few weeks if settling together this combo is my absolute favorite so far. By far! I have built three banjos thus far using the Sloan ring twice and the Hopkins full flat head once in tandem with Randall's RCM375 rim.

Hopefully the owners of these banjo's will find the results that I have with it ! If you are reading this review and have the same itch that I and so many others do, TRY THIS RIM !!!

 

 

Overall Rating: 10

custom banjo parts: Templates for builders or hobbiest

Submitted by Earls 5 on 8/6/2013

Where Purchased: Directly from Randall Wyatt

Overall Comments

CNC milled templates for peg heads, neck profile etc, - highest of
quality and lowest of price. Simply exact and durable enough to use over and over. Not like the paper templates that do not hold up!

Ron C.

Overall Rating: 10

Inlays: Clifford Seales

Submitted by Earls 5 on 5/29/2013

Where Purchased: Clifford Seales

Overall Comments

Absolutely the best hand cut pearl/inlay available today. When you need hand cut pearl or abalone work contact Clifford at 334-567-9787 you will be glad you did!

Overall Rating: 10

Inlays: Randall Wyatt

Submitted by Earls 5 on 5/18/2013

Where Purchased: Randall Wyatt

Overall Comments

Top notch CNC program and cut of pearl and other. Check out photo's of Randall's artistry and work on my homepage. Simply put it is professional and precise. Above and beyond willingness to tweak until you are satisfied and kindness unheard of in today"s world.

Overall Rating: 10

Tuners: tuner buttons

Submitted by Earls 5 on 8/30/2011

Where Purchased: Ron Barnes

Overall Comments

Ron Barnes makes very nice tuner buttons with or without images you provide. Excellent workmanship & service!
I highly recommend him for any custom button ideas you may
have in mind.

Overall Rating: 10

Tuners: Apollo " D " Tuners

Submitted by Earls 5 on 12/11/2009

Where Purchased: manufacturer

Overall Comments

awesome performance,low profile compared to Sonnys ugly tuners. Smooth as silk transition from key to key. After trying other d-tuners these win easily.

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.078125