Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

593
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

6990 reviews in the archive.

Capos: Bic Pen Cap-o

Submitted by pinenut on 6/30/2010

Where Purchased: Stolen from the delivery guy

Overall Comments

I like the bic pen cap-o. However when playing clawhammer the thumb action on the fifth string can occasionally cause the cap-o to go thwing out of place. Excellent on the spot/lowdough choice. Everybody should have several.

Overall Rating: 8

Picks: Atomic frailing pick

Submitted by pinenut on 12/2/2008

Where Purchased: janetdavismusic

Overall Comments

size medium. Finally no more fake glue on fingernails. No more bending and figiting a bluegrass pick to sort of work. This pick is the best for clawhammer. If you know of anything better or equal tell me. I love this pick even more nearly a year later. If I lost my pick and couldn't get another I might (choke) switch to three finger.

Overall Rating: 10

Rickard: cherry tubaphone

Submitted by pinenut on 12/2/2008

Where Purchased: Bill Rickard

Year Purchased: 2008
Price Paid: Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

It's a twelve inch tubaphone with an amber head. Good clean sound

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

Nice low action. Set-up is great

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

I ordered mine simple and elegant. Spot on

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

Forever, everything is very accurately built.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

It was a privilege to deal with Bill.

Customer Service: 10

Components

I really like the laser cut flange. It is a stand out change that looks good.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

I love it. If you want a great openback get it from Bill Rickard.

Overall Rating: 10

Gold Tone: Plucky

Submitted by pinenut on 2/2/2008

Where Purchased: janetdavismusic.com

Year Purchased: 2008
Price Paid: Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

undecided

Sound Rating: not rated

Setup

working on it

Setup Rating: not rated

Appearance

ok

Appearance Rating: 7

Reliability

working on it

Reliability Rating: not rated

Customer Service

Gold Tone

Customer Service: 7

Components

moved 5th string tuner to the head(existing friction tuner removed and plugged) used guitar style from a goodtime. big improvement

Components Rating: 6

Overall Comments

ONE POUND FOUR OUNCES This is the best option I've seen for a trail-worthy instrument. Some improvements and changes need to be made for reliable playability. So far so good. I give it a thumb-up.

Overall Rating: 7

Picks: Atomic frailing pick

Submitted by pinenut on 2/2/2008

Where Purchased: janetdavismusic.com

Overall Comments

size medium. Finally no more fake glue on fingernails. No more bending and figiting a bluegrass pick to sort of work. This pick is the best for clawhammer. If you know of anything better or equal tell me.

Overall Rating: 10

The Mandolinstore

Submitted by pinenut on 1/2/2008

Overall Comments

Dennis at themandolinstore.com took very good care of me. His advice concerning choice of madolins is excellent. Shipping was prompt.

Overall Rating: 10

Banjo Teacher.Com

Submitted by pinenut on 1/2/2008

Overall Comments

Ross Nickerson is very helpful and cares about what he does and sells. Shipping was fast. Ordering easy.

Overall Rating: 10

Gold Tone: Cripple Creek CC-Mini

Submitted by pinenut on 1/2/2008

Where Purchased: banjo-teacher.com

Year Purchased: 2007
Price Paid: Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

Its a little high with an echo. a fiberskin or amber head might fix it. those are unavailable (to my knowledge) in the 8" size. I would like to see a 10" pot on this neck (move bridge away from edge toward center). volume is good in car. I use it for traveling.

Sound Rating: 6

Setup

set-up was fine.

Setup Rating: 9

Appearance

looks good very nice. simple with nice binding

Appearance Rating: 8

Reliability

built sturdy. this is a practice-travel-childrens-banjo

Reliability Rating: 9

Customer Service

Customer Service: 7

Components

Parts and components are good

Components Rating: 8

Overall Comments

It is not light enough for backpacking. The size is good for playing in the car. If stolen or lost or broken I would replace it with another 20" scale but with a 10-11" pot. Maybe another cc-mini. I like this banjo.

Overall Rating: 8

Deering: Goodtime

Submitted by pinenut on 1/2/2008

Where Purchased: pawn shop

Year Purchased: 2006
Price Paid: Don't Remember (bought USED) historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

skin head sounds good. changed to amber and it sounds great

Sound Rating: 8

Setup

non-existant as purchased. its good now

Setup Rating: 1

Appearance

this is an old goodtime the pot has curl all around inside and out

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

built tough

Reliability Rating: 7

Customer Service

does not apply. Deering builds a product worth standing behind

Customer Service: 8

Components

CHANGE OUT THE GUITAR TUNERS THAT WORK FINE AND LOOK BAD for some geared banjo tuners. warning: must enlarge holes.

Components Rating: 7

Overall Comments

Good starter banjo. I do love it. plays true action ok

Overall Rating: 8

Tuners: Intelli MT500

Submitted by pinenut on 1/2/2008

Where Purchased: Janet Davis Music

Overall Comments

Janet Davis was easy. This is the most convenient tuner I have used and the price is right.

Overall Rating: 8

Janet Davis Music

Submitted by pinenut on 1/2/2008

Overall Comments

These people are great. shipping is prompt. service is friendly and helpful.

Overall Rating: 8

Nechville: Banjovie

Submitted by pinenut on 1/2/2008

Where Purchased: Janet Davis Music

Year Purchased: 2007
Price Paid: Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

so so for a small banjo. two and a half months later after sitting unplayed in the closet the head sank. (this head is not adjustable) sounds out of tune when it's in tune. higher tunings help but do not remedy situation.

Sound Rating: 1

Setup

setup is ok

Setup Rating: 6

Appearance

dipped, ok for the price

Appearance Rating: 4

Reliability

tuners ok, wood neck ok, pot is paper, head not adjustable

Reliability Rating: 2

Customer Service

ordered from a dealer.

Customer Service: 10

Components

cannot upgrade without puchasing a different banjo

Components Rating: 4

Overall Comments

I would not recommend this banjo

Overall Rating: 1

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.0625