Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premiere Sponsors

471
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

6626 reviews in the archive.

Stands Reviews

Submitted by john bange (see all reviews from this person) on 4/14/2017

Where Purchased: South Mountain Woodworks

Overall Comments

this stand is a work of art.  It is furniture grade craftsmanship...spendy for a stand but if your banjo is worth it to you...

the stand comes in your choice of wood, has a magnetic locking clip that is easy to use and is very stable.  It takes about 2 weeks to get it made to your specifications and is well worth it.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Foote (see all reviews from this person) on 3/15/2015

Where Purchased: Elderly

Overall Comments

I've used this stand for the last year, both at home and at jobs, and love it.  The design has been very stable.  I leave a banjo in it at home all the time and it hasn't come close to tipping (even with a cat in the house).   This is really appreciated on stage.  Also, the banjo sits in the stand, not hangs from the head.  Lastly, it folds up and fits in a handy bag for trips to jobs.  It has been well made and very durable.  At $25 it seems a good deal.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Ohio Senator (see all reviews from this person) on 1/6/2015

Where Purchased: Uptoen Strings

Overall Comments

Been using this for a year or so and I think its great.

High quality construction and engineering, folds up very small, and sturdy.

I actually have the guitar version since they had not made a banjo version yet when I purchased it (they have one now).

I haven't had any of the issues the other reviewer had, and have used this out at numerous gigs and venues.  

It seems like it might be unstable, but its not at all, and I've never been happier with a stand that looks as good as my banjo, packs up small, and isn't as clumbsy or awkward as carrying around some of the different stands out there (and I've tried them all!).

I'd suggest bringing your banjo along if you are buying one in person so you can be sure it is what you want, though.

 

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by billlink (see all reviews from this person) on 12/4/2012

Where Purchased: Pro Audio Star

Overall Comments

A very sturdy, stable and solid stand but it doesn't work very well for a banjo. The stand is designed to "hang" the instrument in a yoke by the headstock and probably works very well for guitars but the banjo headstock hangs low enough in it that the tuners touch the yoke and it detunes the banjo.

Overall Rating: 5

Submitted by 01charles (see all reviews from this person) on 7/31/2012

Where Purchased: amazon

Overall Comments

this stand does what it says the banjo rest on two padded feet that support the pot taking all pressure off the resonator screws. leans back more in this position but is plenty stable on carpet and hard floor.havent had any sticking issues,and they supply a wrench to lock or tighten supports to taste.very well made a little lite but works great.Highly Recommend

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Douch (see all reviews from this person) on 5/1/2012

Where Purchased: Janet Davis

Overall Comments

Well...The Cooper Stand is one beautiful piece of wood. It folds together smoothly, collapses into your banjo case flawlessly, has that new car smell when you take it out of it's lovely designed carrying case. What a pretty stand. I wish it worked. Unfortunately after shelling out 40+ hard earned bucks on this wooden Edsel it was clear that, as far as holding a banjo up securely I would have been much better off just leaning it against the wall or purchasing a twelve dollar wire stand. Here is the trouble (and it may work fine with a guitar, I don't think so but I'll be open minded) once you put the banjo into the stand it never really rests comfortably. It leans a bit off center no matter what you do to right it. Also, you're not sure what "groove" to set it into as there are two grooves patterned into the stand and neither seems to hold the instrument securely, one being too erect and liable to fall forward at the slightest breeze, and the other leaning to far back in the stand and threatening to fall back, taking the stand with it. Even when you get the banjo settled into this unfortunate "stand" and do your best at getting it propped up correctly it just doesn't feel safe. If you check this by gently jostling the stand (try this with your Goodtime - not your main axe) the instrument slips and slides out of alignment scaring the bejeezus out of you. Like I said, very pretty to look at but as close to nonfunctional as can be.

Overall Rating: 1

Submitted by DerekWest (see all reviews from this person) on 10/4/2011

Where Purchased: Amazon.com

Overall Comments

Purchased this stand from amazon.com for $77.39 for use at church holding a 5-String Bass, Electric/Acoustic Guitars and Banjos. The Auto-Grab system is amazing! The stand itself is superbly crafted; the "special formula" foam is permanently attached so it can't wonder off (we've been there with other stands)... With the weight of a heavy bass, 10-lb Banjo and accoustic gutiar on this sucker she's still stable and can take a good shove. It folds really compactly for easy transport. Strong, sturdy, and stable... easy transport what more do you want?!!?

http://www.herculesstands.com/guitars/GS432B.html

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by jstranz (see all reviews from this person) on 2/15/2011

Where Purchased: Barmay )online vendor through Amazon)

Overall Comments

Following the advice of the posted review I bought this stand after having suffered through the misery of an inexpensive guitar stand. The advice in the review was spot on! This stand is great, folds down in a compact form and does not tip over easily. The best feature is the neck lock which secures the banjo and keeps it from rocking in the stand. The banjo can't tip out even with the stand securely on the floor. Now my banjo "calls" to me as I walk by, it's impossible to ignore it as if it's tucked away in it's case. Stop suffering and get one of these stands!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by mountiepicker (see all reviews from this person) on 2/12/2010

Where Purchased: Janet Davis Music

Overall Comments

Good craftsmanship. Compact and sturdy. Nice instrument stand to take places. Still a bit nervous because it doesn't stabilize the neck, but it is very well built. If you are looking for a compact stand like this, this one works. Must say it is a bit pricey but it was bought as a birthday present so I'm not complaining.

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by banjobob451 (see all reviews from this person) on 1/20/2010

Where Purchased: Elderly

Overall Comments

This seems to be well made and sturdy- there could be a little more padding in places. I would not leave a banjo on it for more than a short time; I have a very frisky and inquisitive cat; and away from high traffic areas. Anything will topple over if pushed hard enough so it's not dummie proof.

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by Ohio Senator (see all reviews from this person) on 6/6/2009

Where Purchased: Guitar Center

Overall Comments

This is a simple, heavy A frame stand. Nothing holds the neck, but it seats a banjo firmly in the stand and is a good choice when gigging out. Not too expensive, either.

Overall Rating: 8

Submitted by Brian T (see all reviews from this person) on 1/3/2009

Where Purchased: Myhre's Music/Edmonton

Overall Comments

The Ingles SA-20 (Kaman Music Corp.) is a violin/viola stand that is excellent for a banjo. Powder-coated metal, the banjo sits on two padded and curved fingers. The adjustable, telescoping neck has a padded yoke for the banjo neck. The opening of the yoke is closed with a swinging gate with a positive closure. Very low center of graviity (quite hard to tip over, the feet are flat on the floor). The top telescoping section has a bow-hook which holds the banjo strap equally well.
Instrument stand #5 for me, finally, one which works as I had always hoped.
www.inglesproducts.com

Overall Rating: 8

Submitted by Richard Dress (see all reviews from this person) on 8/27/2008

Where Purchased: Elderly Instruments

Overall Comments

Looking for a good stand since 1962. Finally found one. This is it. And it's only $9.00.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Mitch Finley (see all reviews from this person) on 4/25/2008

Where Purchased: :Manufacturer's website

Overall Comments

...this is an excellent stand, strong yet light and also small; very portable...also very stable and solid; plus, you can't beat the price...

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by eagleisland (see all reviews from this person) on 4/15/2008

Where Purchased: banjo.com

Overall Comments

I'm of the belief that a banjo should either be in its case or (preferably) in your lap - and generally, that's where mine is. But there are times when this isn't practical, and gigging is one of those times.

With that in mind, I did some research for the sturdiest, safest banjo stand available. That appeared to be the Sosebee, so I ordered one.

Unlike most stands, which are metal and collapsible, the Sosebee is more or less a sturdy wooden box about 6" high, 18" wide and 8" deep. The top is cut out to accept the shape of a resonator banjo. Inside the box is an adjustable pad, by which you can shape the angle with which the instrument sits. It serves its purpose very well.

These things aren't cheap - a little over $100 ordered through banjo.com (plus shipping). Frankly, at that price I was rather disappointed by the fit and finish of the device. It's not exactly fine furniture, and it's obvious that they're assembled quickly, with little regard for appearance.

The '8' rating is a combo. Functionality is a 10. Finish work, at this price, should be much better - I'd charitably give that a 6.

Overall Rating: 8

Submitted by Woolpersteve (see all reviews from this person) on 1/29/2008

Where Purchased: Banjo Hut

Overall Comments

After reading review in BNL they were a bit had to find, but worth searching.Very light weight , low center of gravity for banjo after placed in stand..Very stable .

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories