Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

473
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

6909 reviews in the archive.

Ron Coleman Luthier Reviews

Submitted by plars (see all reviews from this person) on 3/7/2018

Overall Comments

Ron has built 2 banjos for me in the last couple years and both of them are in a league of their own. They were both built around Yates ring/rims but Ron did the neck build, fit/finish, assembly, and resonator. He was very communicative from the first conversation and timely with the build.

I have owned all the major builders banjos (Huber, Hatfield, Heartland, Neat, Deering, Stelling, OME, ect) and Ron's belong in the same conversation as far as quality. He passes along savings and his prices are substantially less than the above mentioned builders. For any other future builds, I'll absolutely be reaching out to Ron Coleman.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by chief71 (see all reviews from this person) on 9/26/2016

Overall Comments

Ron recently did a neck set on my '26 style 3 conversion,  he did a great job and was easy to work with.  He does fast work but more importantly he did a good quality job.  I would highly recommend him to anybody needing any work done.  

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Gary S (see all reviews from this person) on 12/23/2015

Overall Comments

Ron built a 50's Style Bow Tie banjo for me using a custom neck he created and a resonator stained to match.  Great result all the way around - looks, sound and playability.  I'm very pleased with the result and recommend Ron's work highly.


http://www.banjohangout.org/myhangout/photos.asp?id=85489&albumid=10038

 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Quinn Jacobusse (see all reviews from this person) on 11/8/2014

Overall Comments

I found this guy Ron Colemam on Banjo Hangout, i was in need of a Luther badly.  My Gibson Earl Scruggs neck had been broken in several places. deciding to just have a new neck built I chose Ron Coleman.  It was the best choice i could have ever made.  Ron kept me in the loop on everything that was going on with building the new neck, sending updated pics, he actually built my new neck my way.  I wanted a Earl Scruggs neck with a fiddle peg head and Ron made it happen.  It is just a beautiful piece of work . Thanks Ron for everything

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by jimdefied (see all reviews from this person) on 10/13/2014

Overall Comments

I wanted to share one of the best buying experiences I have ever had as a musician.   I ordered a custom neck from Ron Coleman of Outlaw Banjos and I couldn't be happier with the end result of his work and collaboration with me to build me my 'perfect' banjo neck.

From the beginning, Ron was very detailed oriented and was very good about communication (good and bad news along with pictures at each step of the way).  

I ordered a old growth mahogany neck with an ebony 14" radius fretboard with the 'double cut' headstock and finally chose the 'bernie mac' inlays ( Might have the name wrong here..).   To add to this order, I also requested that Ron complete the banjo I had been putting together (pot I put together with a lot of help from Lou Bourbon also on BHO) and Wow!  Other than some minor adjustments to suit my preferences on arrival of the completed banjo, it was out of the box perfect!

 

I couldn't be happier with my second experience of being a client of Mr. Ron Coleman.   I have every intention of doing more with him in the future.  He is officially my "banjo guy".

 

Jim Adams

www.banjojim.net

www.jimdefied.com

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Jim Shank (see all reviews from this person) on 9/22/2014

Overall Comments

I had Ron re-fret an old 60's Gibson RB100 neck and also fit it to my 1963 TB-100 pot. He did everything as requested very quickly and at a great price. I am very satisfied with the banjo and love to play it every day. Great work Ron. More will be coming your way soon!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by KenD (see all reviews from this person) on 9/16/2014

Overall Comments

I purchased a style 3 neck from Ron that he advertised here on the Hangout. This neck was for another customer and for unforeseen circumstances had to cancel. This neck is absolutely the smoothest I have ever play the finish matched perfectly. After my first conversation with Ron I felt like we were long time friends. Ron went above and beyond what we original agreed upon he touched up my resonator, he ordered parts that I wanted and included them with my resonator when he sent it back so I would not have to pay shipping.This deal took all of 2 weeks and at a price was unbelievable. If you need neck Ron is definitely THE MAN!!!

 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by stanleypicker91 (see all reviews from this person) on 9/6/2014

Overall Comments

Ron Coleman is the man to call if anyone needs a neck for a project or conversion. I just got my neck back from him and all I have to say is that its perfect! He got the shape of the neck exactly the way I wanted it plus he went though the extra effort of getting the action set to my specs. Ron also did an excellent job of staining the neck to  match the color of my resonator. Ron talked me into using the stainless steel frets and I am sure glad he did. The stainless steel frets play so much better than nickel frets plus they don't wear out as quick. I would also have to say that Ron did one of the best fret jobs that I have ever seen! As for the inlay work, well it is dang near perfect! I would have to say that I am 110% satisfied with the job that he did! I rated him at a 10 which is the best rating for a review but he deserves a 12!!! Highly recommend!!!   

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Luvmoochine (see all reviews from this person) on 6/22/2014

Overall Comments

I had Ron do a very austere mahogany neck and finish a RK resonator to match for a "budget" banjo that I could take to jams and not worry too much about. We used a Sullivan pot assembly and a mixture of other parts. The neck has a nice slim profile. The frets are straight and level. The heel to pot assembly is very solid.

Overall the project came out very well. Ron genuinely wants you to be happy with what you get. Tell him exactly what you want and he will do his very best to deliver.  The project was completed in a reasonable amount of time at a very reasonable price. Ron was always available via phone or email for questions and opinions. He regularly sent photos of important milestones during the work.

Ron is a great guy to deal with and will treat you like an old friend. I am very happy with the finished product.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by banjoman 1 (see all reviews from this person) on 6/5/2014

Overall Comments

 

Ron recently built a new  Gibson replacement neck for me. His work is virtually flawless, and he did the work at a reasonable price...He even made the binding look vintage. You could almost swear that the neck was vintage............ There are many great luthiers out there but Ron Coleman is my luthier of choice...........Lynn Williams

 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by banjoman 1 (see all reviews from this person) on 6/4/2014

Overall Comments

Ron  just built me a replacement neck for my  banjo.................. His work is perfect.  I will always use him to do my luthier work.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by TOMCAT (see all reviews from this person) on 5/26/2014

Overall Comments

Ever once in a while you find a person or product that delivers what they claim. Ron Coleman is that person with that product! He built me a new neck at a very affordable price . The neck was perfect in form function and appearance. Ron was like dealing with a life long friend in every way. Thanks Ron for the super cool neck.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by vlawson (see all reviews from this person) on 10/21/2013

Overall Comments

A few months ago I was posted a add to find a decent used banjo. I got a lot of emails from members wanting to sell me there banjo. But one email got my attention most of all. It said YOU NEED TO CALL ME !!!. It was Ron Coleman. He said Virgil  let me run this idea by you. For what you would pay for a decent banjo I could build you a neck . And build you a banjo to fit your playing style. And he gave me a price. So I ask him about a custom neck. At that time I had no Idea about what was to become. He told me about some other custom work He and Randall was collaborating on. He told me if I wanted a custom neck just email him some Ideas of what I wanted. So I sat down with my pen to draw out some Ideas. When I finished he said He would talk to Randall to get me a price on the inlay work. A couple of days later Ron got back with me with a price. It was to good to pass up. Ron kept me involved every step of the way with my custom build. with every email I was getting more excited. In only a couple of month's my neck was coming home. When I opened the box all I could say was WOW!!! It was 10 times better then looking at a picture. He even used stainless steel fret's. I took it out of the box it was shipped in and it felt so good in my hands. Ron is a great craftsman. I highly recommend him for any banjo project you have period. His prices can't be beat

Virgil

 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by 1banjomic (see all reviews from this person) on 8/10/2013

Overall Comments

Ron has done several projects for me and all have been top notch. I have quite a few banjos (my wife says...too many, but we all know there is no such thing as too many banjos!) but have always hoped to own a "checker board" some day. Well, I found a nice partially shaped checker board neck here on the hangout a while back. I asked Ron for advise/help and he got started immediately. He did an amazing job finalizing the neck and coordinated the acquisition of all the parts. Thanks to Ron, I now have a fantastic checker board banjo! If you need a conversion or just a neck or a complete banjo, contact Ron!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Jason Wilkerson (see all reviews from this person) on 7/26/2013

Overall Comments

10 out of 10 is for real. Ron was a SUPER guy to work with. He made a neck to fit my rim. I've never had a luthier to begin a project so quickly. Mine was a neck with some special requests, and Ron went above and beyond to produce what I asked for. He sent over pictures at every phase of the project. Plus his prices were very reasonable. You've got a return customer!!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by asmcsgac (see all reviews from this person) on 7/26/2013

Overall Comments

Had to jump in and leave my comments. Not only is he a nice guy, great luthier, and super to work with, he's fast on the turn around. The fast part may change if we keep beating the drum.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Society Hill (see all reviews from this person) on 7/7/2013

Overall Comments

I have had an opportunity to buy a banjo and a neck from Ron. The banjo was excellent, just as described and the price was more than fair. I also bought one of Ron's necks that he built. The neck is the best that I have had on one of my banjos, the finish work excellent, and the fit to the pot is perfect. I will be keeping this instrument without a doubt. Anything else is a step down. I highly recommend his work and have enjoyed making a new friend in the banjo world.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by banjoman_18 (see all reviews from this person) on 5/13/2013

Overall Comments

I had Ron refret my old rb100 with new wire. And, man it made a huge differance. I have lost all my buzing issues and my note are a lot clearer. Ron has been my go to guy whenecer I have questions in general as well. He does outstanding work and I highily recomend him to anyone. The best part he will explain what does to your things to make you are getting what you want. He is a down to eath person and I will be going back to him in the future.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Banjophobic (see all reviews from this person) on 3/13/2013

Overall Comments

Ron helped a customer out of mine who was completing his first "build". He assembled some great parts and wanted a partially completed neck to try and complete himself. He asked me to build it but I was just too covered up and didn't want to make him wait a long time for me to finally get to it (which has happened occasionally with other customers).
I recommended Ron to him and gave Ron a call with all the details about the neck and what the customer wanted. Ron jumped on the job quickly and everything was done exactly as specified. The neck looked great and the guy was thrilled to get it so quickly.
Ron's work is first rate. Its nice to have a fellow professional luthier who will help out like this and is willing to take on such custom projects. I highly recommend him to anyone needing quality work at good prices, with great customer service.
The guy is now playing the banjo and is really tickled with the neck. He's not a BHO member, so I send this for him (and me).

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by JIMMY bell (see all reviews from this person) on 1/15/2013

Overall Comments

I just received my new walnut FL-5 Banjo neck from Ron Coleman. Ron and I have been talking for a while about making this full length neck. It has a Cocabola finger board, flying eagle inlay and Bell's peg head with a Bell's logo on it. It strings up like a guitar, but plays just as a Banjo usually plays. It takes a little getting used to-the 3rd,4th, and 5th string tuners being in a different place. What I like about it is when capoing it's just like a guitar. No 5th string to spike or no 5th tuner to getting in the way, means less tuning and faster playing. recommend to everyone to give Ron a chance to make you one of these necks. You won't be disappointed. Thanks, Ron for an awesome neck! Jimmy Bell, Tupelo, MS

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Guzz1 (see all reviews from this person) on 1/13/2013

Overall Comments

I had a Great experience dealing with Ron Coleman Who Just recently Built me a really nice banjo To my spec and price range . Ron did everything to the letter that he said he would do. Timeline and Budget , Ron put together a banjo that I will have for a liftime . All the parts were high end didn't skimp one bit . Ron is a great builder and a man of his word , He's the real deal Folks . Thank you Ron for a great Job .

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by banjoman 1 (see all reviews from this person) on 10/6/2012

Overall Comments

Ron Coleman is a highly skilled banjo builder........he can make you any kind of custom or traditional pattern neck that you want. His prices are reasonable and his work is flawless. He is the owner of Outlaw banjos. I recently hired him to build a custom made banjo with a gamblers theme neck and he did one heck of a great job on it. I highly recommend him to anyone interested in a custom made instruments or in his famous Colt model banjos. I couldn't be happier with my banjo.It has a lot of kick to it and I have a hard time setting it down. Lynn williams

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.078125