Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

201
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

6910 reviews in the archive.

Clancy Mullins Luthier Reviews

Submitted by ricksnapp (see all reviews from this person) on 11/23/2016

Overall Comments

I asked Clancy to make a new neck for a 1927 TB conversion that had an unplayable neck on it.  The resonator was in pretty rough shape as well.  He make a gorgeous and very nice curly maple neck with gull-wing inlays and refinished the resonator as well.  The result exceeded my expectations and I really love it!  I really liked the sound of the banjo before putting a new neck on it.  I'm sure that the new neck will and refinished resonator make me love it even more.

Clancy is an excellent craftsman and a pleasure to deal with.  I really like the feel and profile of the necks he makes.  They fit my hand well and are very playable.  In fact, one of my other favorites is a 1950 TB conversion that has a Mullins neck on it.

Thanks so much for the great job....

Rick Snapp

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by afrevele (see all reviews from this person) on 2/1/2016

Overall Comments

      I bought a TB-00 rim and had a ring I wanted fitted. I heard about Clancy through the BHO and contacted him. He put a maple ply inside the rim and cut it for the ring. His prices were reasonable and he does a first class job! Stained and drilled for the co-rods. At the same time he had a neck i purchased from him to go with the pot. Well, everything was great and he posted them off to me just before Snowmageddon '16. They were scheduled to be delivered the Thursday before the snow but everything got buggered up! Clancy was great through the whole thing, he dealt with going to the post office and trying to find out what the hold up was and my frantic phone calls too. When the pot got delivered and the neck was still in limbo somewhere, Clancy said "If it doesn't come tomorrow I'll just send you another, I almost have one ready". Nice to see a man with Integrity and willing to go the extra mile to make his customers happy. Thanks Clancy!!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by JohnWaters (see all reviews from this person) on 7/12/2014

Overall Comments

Clancy reskinned and refinished a 1928 TB-1 resonator for me in mahogany. He also refinished and put a speed neck on a mahogany neck. I've always felt mahogany is the least attractive (most boring) tone wood, but I love the sound of a mahogany neck.

The work that Clancy did really surprised me. He brought out the grains beautifully. The staining, finishing and binding are excellent. And again --- wow! I love how he brought out the grain. Wonderful work by a very skilled and personable man.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Tim Rouse (see all reviews from this person) on 5/7/2014

Overall Comments

I purchased a Mullins Buccaneer in October 2013 and Mr. Mullins couldn't have been nicer or more gracious. I met him while he did work for me on another banjo and was COMPLETELY impressed with his shop and craftsmanship. Mr. Mullins is a great guy and a true music lover. 

 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by banjo-joe (see all reviews from this person) on 6/25/2013

Overall Comments

I just picked up a new Style 7 neck that I had Clancy to make for a Top Tension pot that I bought. He completed the new neck, in a short time, and did a super fantastic job, all the way down to the exact finish, spikes and truss rod cover. Put it together and set it up,
ready to play. I am lucky to have him only 15 miles down the road, and with prices and first class luthier work comparible to the best in the business. Thanks Clancy, for a job well done! Joe Hawks.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by johnybanjoll (see all reviews from this person) on 6/16/2013

Overall Comments

hi pickers i asked clancy if he could make a neck and resonator in walnut for me well what an great luthier they were absolutely perfect in every way and nothing was any trouble i live in the uk so i had to trust the person who recomended clancy also he.s prices are very reasonable i have just asked him to make another neck and reso johny

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by vlawson (see all reviews from this person) on 9/29/2011

Overall Comments

I traded Clancy a Cole Clark fat lady 3 for a gibson copy banjo.And all I can say is that the banjo is awsome I Liked mahogony banjos before I got this maple from Clancy .He does very very good work and he's also a great man just to talk to.When I first met him I didn't want to leave . He's very passionate about building banjos.And like I said a class act.

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.0625