Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

862
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

7071 reviews in the archive.

Bridges  DONALD NEW SPILLWAY BANJO BRIDGE Banjo Part/Accessory Reviews

Submitted by Twangle (see all reviews from this person) on 5/5/2017

Where Purchased: 10/2016

Overall Comments

The bridge is well-made and cool-looking (100 year-old barn wood).  I tried a 5/8" with Crowe spacing for the first time--felt fine, sounds great.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by roadkingjimmy (see all reviews from this person) on 4/25/2016

Where Purchased: From Don

Overall Comments

Bought a three pack of Dons bridges,one spillway dam bridge which I put on my 12" Ramsey and it has well balanced tone and his craftsmanship is top notch and Don was very easy to deal with and quick getting my order to me,also got one of his  Minstrel bridges that I put on a Woody banjo with Aquila Reds and also very happy with that bridge and how it sounds,also have a Fir but it does not have a home yet guess I need another Banjo..........Thank You Don

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by barney4954 (see all reviews from this person) on 4/14/2016

Where Purchased: online

Overall Comments

Nice workmanship.  The raised 5th string feels very natural to my LARGE hands.  I had Donald make it with 44mm spacing.  Installed it along with a set of new light strings and it sounds very nice. It arrived safe and sound thanks to very careful packaging.    

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Properpat (see all reviews from this person) on 8/4/2015

Where Purchased: BHO Directly from Don

Overall Comments

Until this point I had only ever used the stock bridges that came with my banjos.


 

I never in a million years thought that swapping the bridge on my banjo could make such a huge difference.


 

It literally is like playing a brand new (and much more expensive) instrument for the price of 12-15 bucks.


 

I bought the three pack to swap between my two  'jos and the Original Spillway has ended up on my Oscar Schmidt fretless conversion.


 

 


 

The amount of power this bridge can produce on such a cheap instrument is mind blowing. Volume literally shot through the roof on a basic wood pot fretless. Ill never go back.


 

 


 

THese are handmade by Don himself. The turnaround from my order to shipment was 2 days. 2 DAYS!!! In less than a week I had 3 new bridges to experiment with. The craftsmanship is outstanding!! They really are just cool looking bridges that are very pleasing to the eye. 


 

 


 

Do yourself a favor.... spend the very minute amount of money on these... the difference they made is priceless

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by ogrooms (see all reviews from this person) on 5/30/2014

Where Purchased: From Don

Overall Comments

Great bridge with very even tone to all strings. Great craftsmanship, and working with Don is great. A powerful bridge that brought out great tone and crisp loud attack to an already great banjo.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by DrBillM (see all reviews from this person) on 12/5/2013

Where Purchased: Directly from Don

Overall Comments

I really like the bridge. I tried it on my Deering Maple Blossom and my Goldtone CCR 100. I felt like it brought out some nice bass tones on the Deering and took out some of the tinny sound and smoothed out the Goldtone. On the Goldtone in particular, it now rings forever. What Don said about improving cheaper banjos is definitely true. I think that if I  had found these bridges sooner, I might have waited on the Maple Blossom. Well maybe not .Definitely a nice step up from a standard factory bridge. I ordered them in the evening and got an email later that night that they would be going out within a day or two. From start to finish I think the whole process was five days.

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by buddyoneski (see all reviews from this person) on 6/25/2013

Where Purchased: Through ebay

Overall Comments

love this bridge, made my rk-35 sound a lot cleaner
and the customer service was top notch

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by 5Wires (see all reviews from this person) on 10/17/2012

Where Purchased: Direct from Don

Overall Comments

I just received a 3 pack of Don's banjo bridges. I really liked that Don asked me about what banjo I played (RB3), current bridge height and so forth. He sent them out to me in Australia. Now I've been playing a Snuffy Smith 3/4" with a compensated 3rd string slot for a few years now. I had thinned it out to be .12" at the base of the feet and .09" at the string slots. So my 3 sounded bright. I've put the 100 year old barn-wood one on and I am pretty impressed. I had a student play my banjo back to me today and I liked the sound very much. Next week I am recording with the banjo and I'm going to do a few takes with all the Spillways and a couple with the Smith back on just to see how it plays back. Based on the fact that last night I was up until after 2am playing I reckon that I am liking the bridge very much. The workmanship is spot on and I can tell there has been trouble taken to get the cut of the timber just right. Can't fault 'em on any score.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by JimThorn (see all reviews from this person) on 4/19/2011

Where Purchased: From the maker

Overall Comments

I highly recommend this bridge. It reduced the overly bright tone of my Fender banjo. It is well crafted, and just looks awesome. If you're in the market for a bridge, look no further than the spillway dam style crafted by BHO member stringbean.

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.078125