Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

455
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

6919 reviews in the archive.

Deering  Eagle ll Banjo Reviews

Submitted by crazyace (see all reviews from this person) on 8/11/2018

Where Purchased: Eagle Music Shop

Year Purchased: 2018
Price Paid: £1800 (British pounds) historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

This 19 fret tenor is nice and loud for Irish sessions and the tone is nice, sweet and mellow, therefore ideal for gigs

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

This is the second banjo I have had from the Eagle music shop the first was a Goodtime II and both were set up by them to perfection. I didn't have to adjust either of them.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

This banjo is solid with a nice dark red high gloss finish, very attractive inlays on an ebony fretboard and a lovely peghead design, One of the reasons I chose it over the Sierra.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

The chromework is of good quality. I can see this lasting my life out without any loss of finish. I use it in gigs and session and I feel confident it will still look good in years to come.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

I have met the Deering family when they were over in the UK a few times, Greg himself is very helpfull, Eagle music shop over here, is who I deal with for my banjos and accessories, and they too are helpful on the rare occasion you might have a problem, Deering give their banjos a lifetime warranty though I doubt that it will be needed.

Customer Service: 10

Components

The Eagle II to my mind is outstanding in itself with the wonderful tone that comes from the 20-10 tone ring, the ease of playing and overall appearance. I have not found anything that needs improving on this banjo so far and I have owned four banjos before this, and this is the best so far.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

I started with a Copeland bottle top banjo, then upgraded to a Goodtime II Which was very good, I have had a Tanglewood ITB Cove Creek and a Barnes & Mullins Empress, both bought for the bling. But this Deering Eagle II is the complete package for any Tenor Banjo Player and one I will never part with.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by doryman (see all reviews from this person) on 5/20/2018

Where Purchased:

Year Purchased: 2018
Price Paid: Don't Remember (bought USED) historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

I was looking specifically for a resonator/tone ringed banjo that sounded good playing clawhammer style AND sounded good playing Scruggs style. In fact, it plays very, very good for both styles. A pure clawhammer player might think it too loud and not woodsy enough. A pure Scruggs player might think it too sweet and mellow. Regardless, the sound is sweet, pure and clear.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

I personally like the standard Deering set-up. It's an easy banjo to play with a fast neck (not too wide) and good action, and the banjo is made such that you get an easy banjo to play without much fussing. For this reason I rank it a 10. If you try to make this banjo something it's not, I can imagine one would rank it lower.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

It's a beautiful banjo. I don't go for overly ornate banjos, preferring simple, understated elegance. In fact, this banjo has the most bling I've had on any of my banjos, but it's not over the top.

Appearance Rating: 9

Reliability

This banjo is rock solid and high quality. I bought it specifically for gigging.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

I had a few questions about the banjo when I purchased it and the folks from Deering answered my email the very next day.

Customer Service: 10

Components

There's nothing I would want to add or change other than perhaps the bridge, but that's just because I like to mess around with different bridges on all my banjos. It's an easy and cheap way to make a banjo sound different. In fact, one of my favorite bridges is the Deering 5/8, which I use on most of my banjos.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

I first played a Deering Eagle during a wonderful afternoon at Elderly Instruments, where I had a chance to play probably 50 different high-quality banjos of all makes. The Deering Eagle instantly stood out, which surprised me because it was one of the lower priced options. I almost bought it on the spot, but I was traveling and I didn't want to risk flying back home with it.  I couldn't get it out of my mind though and eventually, I found a used one to buy.  It's a great, sweet sounding, versatile banjo. I've heard others say that it's one of Deering's entry level professional banjos but, for me, I can't imagine needing more. 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by SouthCreek (see all reviews from this person) on 9/13/2016

Where Purchased: Deering Suplier Australia

Year Purchased: 2016
Price Paid: 5,200 (AUS) historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

At the timeof writing, I've had this banjo for about 6 months. I spent two years deciding between the Deering Sierra and the Deering Eagle II. I eventually decided on the Eagle due to the tonal properties of the thicker woodrim and Twenty-Ten Tonering. The highs are less pronounced due to the thicker woodrim, but fretting up the neck produces extrodinarily vibrant highs with beautifully balanced, subtle overtones. I find this much easier to listen to than the Sierra. The brass tonering softens the properties of the maple and produces a warmer, sweeter tone. It is similar to a mahogany banjo in that sense, but the maple produces clearner note separation. So we get the best of both worlds.

When playing bluegrass the sound is reminicent of Terry Baucoms hard driving midrange. With head tension set to 91 all around, this banjo produces some serious crackle. When playing something more along the lines of Jens Krugger or Steve Martin, I set this banjo up for maximum sutain. I've never heard another banjo sustain like it.

The playability is fantastic - I love that Deering slender neck design.

Like any Scruggs fanatic, I added Keith D Tuners. The D tuners are great fun and this banjo sounds sweet in D tuning because the lows and midrange are so powerful. However, I encountered intonatio issues in D tuning and after a long process of deductionI decided the Deering TrueTone tailpiece had to go. I replaced it with a Fults34Parallel Lite with XYZ 20mount (size 1). . All fixed! In fact, the Fults brought out the quaities of the banjo like nothing I ever thought possible. And this thing is loud....very loud. I can't imagine needing more bass,midrange or highs. The note sepearation is brilliant - even in the face of all that sustain. However, the prevalence of higher frequency harmonics can beover powering if not setup properly, or using too lite a bridge (i.e., the stock Deering bridge). I corrected this by adding a Sampson 5/8 Maple Compensated Bridge (see my reviewon the Sampson for further details).

Overall, this is a very versatile banjo, capable of any genre - required one takes advantage of setup knowledge. The TrueTone tailpiece is ok, but if you want to hear what this banjo is really capable of, definitely consider a Fults.



Sound Rating: 10

Setup

The head tension was a little on the low side for me (around 89-90). I increased the tension to 91 using an accurate digitial drumdial. This increased the height of the action, but I don't mind it.

The Eagle II came with action set for light gauge strings. I only use medium gauge and had to re-adjust the action accordingly.

The addition of 2nd/3d string Keith D Tuners was really simple: the peg holes are a match.

All changes were easy to make and banjo easy to take appart.

Setup Rating: 9

Appearance

The stained maple is really beautiful.The wood is high quality - I saw no blemishs or imperfections and the finish is spectacular. The pearl inlays are also fantastic. This is a beautiful banjo. Would not change a thing.

I recently ordered a Deering pearl trussrod cover with custom script and that will complete the look.

The hardware is fine.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

This banjo is built solid - it will outlast a jail-house. There are no cheap feeling components or rattly bits.

The fretboard seems to need re-oiling after 3months,but that may be because I play quite a lot.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

Never dealt with Deering directly.The Aussie supplier forgot to put frets on and I had to send it back for another week.

Customer Service: 10

Components

The banjo stands out as a whole. It's difficult to pick on any component.

I only reccomend upgrading the tailpiece - not because there's anything wrong with the TrueTone, but because a sturdier talipiece could bring out the banjos qualities even more. I bought a Fults 34Parallel Lite with XYZ 20mount (size 1) and that suited my needs. But I suggest anybody looking for that pre-war sound to go for the full weight 1934Parallel.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

This is an amazing banjo. Powerful,versatile, responsive (if set up correctly) and beautiful. I will keep this banjo for life. 

This is the kind of banjo which gets better with age. 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by jcimino (see all reviews from this person) on 2/16/2016

Where Purchased: Instrument Alley

Year Purchased: 2016
Price Paid: 1799.00 ($US)

Sound

I like a banjo that is bright and loud, this is both. It has an amazing sound compared to my other banjo and it playes very easy with that great sound up and down the neck.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

The banjo came set up very nice. I did not need to do anything but tune it. There may be some things that could make it sound even better, but for now I like it just the way it is.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

I looked it over pretty good and I can't find any flaws. The finish work is exceptional. The only problem I saw was a slight tear in the case which I am sure happened at the store.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

Everything on this banjo seems heavy duty and should last a long time. This banjo weighs a lot more than my other banjo.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

Have not dealt with customer service.

Customer Service: not rated

Components

I like the neck shape, it is thin and easy to play. The tuners seem to work very well and the inlays are beutiful.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

I have not been playing banjos for very long, but I have played guitar for almost 50 years and appreciate the difference between cheap instruments and quality instruments.  This is a quality instrument! The banjo I had been playing sells new for around $700 and this one is around $1800 and up.  I can feel and hear the difference right out of the box. The new tone ring design is unique and I like it a lot.  I have always looked at the way manufacturers design their instruments and like to see them try new things vs just building them they way they always did.  I know the build of an instrument will affect it sound and if you want a specific classical sound, they you may need an old design, I don't think this would fit the bill.  I am not sure what sound I am looking for in a banjo yet, but I do like what I hear from this one. And one last bonus...it is made in the USA.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by rudykizuty (see all reviews from this person) on 5/4/2014

Where Purchased: Banjo Studio

Year Purchased: 2014
Price Paid: $1995 historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

I play plectrum style and predominantly trad jazz from the 1920's and 30's. I am surprised that although the sound is being advertised as "new", it has a very vintage sound to my ear. It reminds me of a Vega in terms of it's tone, which I guess shouldn't be a surprise. I believe the "Twenty-Ten" tone ring is a simple brass hoop with skirt design, same as the old Vega Little Wonder banjos.

Update: See Setup.

Sound Rating: 8

Setup

The setup was perfect right out of the box. Couldn't ask for better action/string height with a 5/8" bridge which is the most desirable height for tone. I may experiment with some higher end bridges (my normal MO) such as Farquhar or Snuffy Smith just to see if there is any room for improvement.

After closer examination, the bridge has an angle to it like the old Snuffy Smith bridges have. I wonder.

Update: I swapped out the original strings with a set of GHS 190 Plectrum riding on a Farquhar 5/8" bridge with taqua nuts. This was a huge improvement. This went from a nice sounding banjo to a great sounding banjo.

Setup Rating: 9

Appearance

It is absolutely stunning in terms of fit, finish and appearance. You can see the attractive vintage banjo influences in the design. The red mahogany stain on the maple is reminiscent of the coloring in some pre-war Mastertones I've seen, while the inlays in the peghead and fingerboard have a Victorian motif much like the old Vegas built during the early 20th century. I cannot find a single flaw in the finish. It is absolutely beautiful.

Appearance Rating: 9

Reliability

I do not expect that there will be any issues with the hardware or finish as it is all top notch. Backup? What's a backup? PS the lifetime warranty on materials and workmanship helped my buying decision immensely.

Update. I've played the banjo perhaps 6-7 times since I've received it. The arm rest is tarnishing to the point where I can already see that it will brass through prematurely. This is despite my efforts to keep it clean after each use.

Reliability Rating: 9

Customer Service

I have had no direct dealing with Deering, however I am fully aware that Janet has a presence here on BHO. That is nice to know. Also, David Bandrowski of the Banjo Studio still works for Deering as their Marketing Director. My experience in working with him was par excellence. Super nice guy too.

Customer Service: 9

Components

It feels like a very solid and substantial banjo, definitely a professional grade instrument. I have never seen cleaner inlay work on ANY banjo. I special ordered the neck to have a Richlite fingerboard in place of the ebony. I know that is a bit of a controversial point in certain circles, but time will tell. Nothing cheap feeling or looking to my eye.

Components Rating: 8

Overall Comments

I have been collecting and playing vintage plectrum banjos for over 35 years, including many examples of my first love, the B&D Silver Bell. I had always had this dream of having a new banjo made just for myself and the Eagle II is what I chose, as I was also doing this on a budget. I am very happy with it. If you're in the market for a new banjo to call your own, you won't regret going with the Eagle II. 

 

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by jon1litty (see all reviews from this person) on 10/28/2013

Where Purchased: Fret House

Year Purchased: 2013
Price Paid: 1995.00 ($US)

Sound

Has a rich full sound with good tones. Also very crisp.

Sound Rating: 9

Setup

Setup was prefect. The Fret House is the best.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

In prefect conditon great inlay work. Very attractive. No flaws

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

It seems very sturdy like all Deering Banjos I have owned. This is number four for me. I use it all time without a backup at gigs.

Reliability Rating: 9

Customer Service

Have dealt with Deering on several occasions. Always great service. With a freindly tone.

Customer Service: 10

Components

Changed the bridge, maybe an upgrade at the factory would help.

Components Rating: 9

Overall Comments

I love this Banjo and would recommend it for any level player.

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by jswkingsfield (see all reviews from this person) on 4/13/2012

Where Purchased: The Folkstore (Seattle, WA, no longer in business)

Year Purchased: 2011
Price Paid: 2000.00 ($US)

Sound

Bright, clear sound, good bass range, good sustain, accurately advertised by Deering for its "vibrant highs". The sound in its original stock set-up probably was more like an "8" at first, because the sustain dropped off a bit at the very high end. Good bluegrass sound, best to my personal taste for "newgrass" and classical-inspired music. I was told the resonator and flange could be removed to convert it for clawhammer, as the flange is not bolted to the rim (it's a shoe & bracket design), but I never tried that. However, as noted below, when the set-up got upgraded, the sound improved significantly. Also, the brightness mellowed a little after a couple of months, as the instrument settled.

Sound Rating: 8

Setup

It was a good-sounding instrument when I bought it, I enjoyed how it sounded brighter and clearer than the Deering Deluxe and Deering Sierra (in both mahogany and maple) that I tried out at about the same time. Tuners needed tightening. Upgraded with a KatEyz bridge, which brought up the sound quality quite a bit, made the tone fuller, rounder, without losing brightness. Later, swapped the "True Tone" Deering tailpiece for a Kershner, which really amped up the sound into a real cutter. I rank the original set-up at an "8" only because the changes needed to take the instrument to its maximum potential (at least to my taste), but once the bridge and tailpiece were changed, it was at least a 9.

Setup Rating: 8

Appearance

Beautiful Italian pearloid inlays, overall a lovely banjo. Mahogany stained maple looked great (although I personally prefer a lighter stain for maple), ebony fretboard felt like quality. Minor appearance quibbles: the small shiny side dots on a glossy black ebony finish were difficult to see, and the white binding at the resonator was a tad plain. I would have enjoyed some binding up & down the neck along the fretboard, but that would have added to the cost.

Appearance Rating: 9

Reliability

No problems at all with the hardware and/or finish during the year I kept this banjo, looked solid through and through. Neck bow required correction at the one-year mark, looked like normal settling.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

Excellent customer service. Got a nice letter when Deering received my warranty card. Limited lifetime warranty for original owner, never needed any warranty work. The company separately sent the Deering Maintenance Manual and an ownership card. Also, they included some time on Tony Trischka's teaching site, and updates from their website are fun.

Customer Service: 10

Components

The slim profile neck is smooth and easy to play. No problems with the frets or head. If you're looking for a bright, clear sound, this instrument's bronze "Twenty Ten" tone ring (named, I think, because it was released in 2010) delivers. As a smallish gal, I appreciated having a professional grade instrument at 10 pounds (weight saved from the flange design and low profile ring).

As noted above, I recommend upgrading the bridge and tailpiece to maximize the instrument's potential. Also, the small side dot markers are a minus, but a very small minus.

Components Rating: 8

Overall Comments

I kept this banjo for a little over a year, and enjoyed tinkering with it to get it to its maximum bright, clear potential with good sustain & resonance. This was my first quality banjo, I put about 450 hours of intermediate-learning play into it over a 10-month period and was very happy with it. It was a huge leap beyond the starter bottlecap Fender I had prior to this instrument. I still feel that at a 2011 list of $2399 (generally found new for around $1900-$2000), this is the best new banjo for the money, a high quality build. I would have kept it, except a 2004 Gibson RB-4 came into my life, and it turned out I preferred the more traditional BG tone.

2014 update:  In the two years since I originally wrote this review, I have gone completely bluegrass and own or have owned several different banjos, and have had the opportunity to try other current/recent bluegrass instruments.  I have adjusted the sound and components ratings down slightly, mostly because of the tailpiece, now that I've experienced banjos and parts built by Huber, AMB, Robin Smith, Fults, and others.  If you seek the classic full, slightly tubby Gibson type of sound, the Eagle II is not made to produce that sound, although bluegrass does sound good with this instrument.  If you want to upgrade from a starter banjo, I stand by the opinion that for the price class (currently at a 2014 list of $2549, generally found new for ~$2100) it is an excellent choice to obtain a new, quality American-made instrument with a really nice neck that is good for exploring a variety of playing styles.  I found this banjo to be an excellent intermediate step from a starter, with which to gain enough pleasurable playing experience to branch off into a particular tonal style.  The overall "9" rating is meant to rate the banjo within what I believe is its target market: an entry-level professional grade banjo for under $2200.  It is a good banjo, but if you want to focus on a particular sound, you may be happier with a different, likely more expensive instrument. 

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by EricJ (see all reviews from this person) on 2/9/2012

Where Purchased: Winter Sound, Gloucester, VA

Year Purchased: 2011
Price Paid: 1575 ($US)

Sound

Kind of mellow near the neck, very crisp by the bridge. Nice sustain. Haven't played enough high end banjos to say more, but lots more mid-low oomph and more listenable highs than, say, a Recording King. I like that my guitar-playing friends think it's too loud. Turnabout, finally!

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

I think the head may have been a little tight, but otherwise great.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

I like instruments where the money is spent on sound. The great inlay work on the neck is just gravy, in this case! Fit and finish is beautiful.

Appearance Rating: not rated

Reliability

Built like a tank.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

Lifetime warranty. Never say never, but I can't see needing it. Have not dealt with the company.

Customer Service: not rated

Components

Fingerboard and neck are awesome--just the right thickness on the neck. I have big hands and hate overly thin necks. Fingerboard inlays are really, really pretty and incredibly well done. Tiny cuts and no sign of filler anywhere. I like the simple, unbound look on fingerboard and peghead.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

Scale my review by my comparison banjo: I had a Deering Basic in 1980 as my previous banjo. Guitar pegs, skinny neck, aluminum tone ring. It was fine--never more than changing strings for 10 years, but the sound on the Eagle--the chimey sustain--is just unbelievable in comparison.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Hoh-Jo (see all reviews from this person) on 12/29/2011

Where Purchased: The String Shoppe

Year Purchased: 2011
Price Paid: 1549.00 ($US)

Sound

This banjo has a beautiful crisp sound for bluegrass. I am able to get the watery tones I like for some gospel tunes. It holds tune very well. She works with me!!!

Sound Rating: 9

Setup

Factory set up is perfect. Will be adding fifth string tacks as soon as I get the courage.

Setup Rating: 9

Appearance

Gorgeous finish and inlays. I wouldn't change a thing.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

Haven't had it long enough to know for sure. Everyone I've talked to speaks so highly of deering I know I will be able to depend on it forever.

Reliability Rating: 9

Customer Service

Customer Service: not rated

Components

Components Rating: not rated

Overall Comments

Excellent entry level professional banjo that won't break the bank.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Forrest Schuster (see all reviews from this person) on 11/1/2011

Where Purchased: Dorsey Music

Year Purchased: 2011
Price Paid: $1995.00 ($US)

Sound

The sound is what initially drew me to this banjo. I have tried several Deering models and this one seemed to suit my taste the best.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

Everything was set up perfectly from the factory for my playing style.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

Very easy on the eyes. Not extremely fancy, but to the extent that people will know it is a quality instument. Love the fit and finish, and the inlays are the best I've seen for this price range.

Appearance Rating: not rated

Reliability

All of the hardware is top notch, and I do not anticipate having to replace anything but wires in the future.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

Deering has an excellent warranty, however I doubt it will ever be needed. Customer service is excellent also, at least when it comes to ordering other things on-line.

Customer Service: 10

Components

The fit and finish are the best I've seen, and I have not really had it long enough to be able to test the life of the various parts.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

All I can say, is to go and try one yourself. I was really wanting to buy a Gibson, and had some of the money saved for one. After playing the Deering, I told myself that for the price, the Deering had everything I was looking for, so I bought it instead. Used Gibson? or new Deering? I'm happy with my choice.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by markohio1349 (see all reviews from this person) on 5/27/2011

Where Purchased: Elderly Instruments

Year Purchased: 2011
Price Paid: 1995 ($US)

Sound

Very well balanced tone overall, not ringing wet with overtones but very distinct and clear. Will try a variety of bridges just for fun, but the stock Deering bridge is good. I can't give this banjo a 10 for sound because tone is too subjective but it does sound great for its price class.

Sound Rating: 9

Setup

Very nice setup stock. 2.5mm at the 12th for string height. Nut was cut very nice and stock bridge had the perfect fall off for a clean string break over the bridge.

Setup Rating: 9

Appearance

Flawless finish overall.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

Hardware is as good as it gets. There were no corners cut here.

Reliability Rating: 9

Customer Service

Customer Service: not rated

Components

All good.

Components Rating: 9

Overall Comments

What attracted me to this banjo at first was the cost. I have played some of the higher end imports from various mfg's and have been disappointed in the quality close up. Deering has the best most stable neck that would rival my double carbon fiber reinforced neck on my best electric guitar. Their wood and finish work is top notch.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Zosobonzo44 (see all reviews from this person) on 3/8/2011

Where Purchased: Banjo.com

Year Purchased: 2011
Price Paid: 1995 ($US)

Sound

Excellent. This banjo was advertised as a unique sound, it meets that expectation. Not sure how to describe it. Classical sounds outstanding on it.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

Setup was good, but I had to change it. Setup is so personal you can't expect it to come the way you like it.

Setup Rating: 9

Appearance

Perfect.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

Perfect.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

Outstanding. I had to call them a couple times and they were very nice.

Customer Service: 10

Components

It's Deering so everything is high quality.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

Perfect.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by firemx220 (see all reviews from this person) on 12/31/2010

Where Purchased: Zepp Music

Year Purchased: 2010
Price Paid: Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

sound is amazing! I play bluegrass and was blown away by the sound. it has a very clean and bright sound.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

the banjo was setup perfect right out of the box. The guys at Zepp Music did a great job. also had rail road spikes installed.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

This is a beautiful maple banjo and very well built. no flaws

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

Very well built banjo! Looks like it will be around a long time! Wouldn't need a backup.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

Never dealt with Deering, but Janet is on the hangout answering any questions people have. She is very nice. Lifetime warranty to the original owner.

Customer Service: 10

Components

Everything on this banjo is made extremely well! There is no need to upgrade anything.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

Would recommend The Deering Eagle II to anybody. I love this banjo!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Rob MacKillop (see all reviews from this person) on 12/12/2010

Where Purchased: Eagle Music, England

Year Purchased: 2010
Price Paid: £1399 (£) historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

I bought it for the new Deering Twenty-Ten tone ring, which has a warm bass, strong mids, and crystal-clear highs. Although a five-string, I play it mainly as a Plectrum banjo, and I view it as a Plectrum banjo which allows me to play bluegrass when the mood arises.
As a bluegrass banjo it has a modern sound - not Earl, but something new . It also lends itself to clawhammer, so I'm told, but I don't do much of that.
So, a tone ring with variety to it.
In short, a stunning warm sound.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

I'm playing it exactly as set up at Eagle Music - the best place to buy Deering banjos in the UK. They ensure a great set up.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

Looks beautiful. Don't tell Deering, but I think it looks more beautiful than more expensive models they have. The inlay is the best I've seen.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

I would definitely use it at gigs, and I can't imagine ever needing a backup. Should 'see me out', as they say.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

VERY helpful company, and very helpful dealer.

Customer Service: 10

Components

The neck is the best I've played. Every note sings without effort. The tone ring is new - still patent-pending - and is set to become a classic.
I honeslty can't fault it.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

This is a banjo for the new era. A great, warm-sounding tone ring that lends itself to all styles of music from bluegrass to Bach, from clawhammer to jazz. Everything I play on it sounds just right.
I hope they will use the tone ring on Tenor and Plectrum banjos in the near future.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by wallyk14 (see all reviews from this person) on 8/18/2010

Where Purchased: Janet Davis Music Company

Year Purchased: 2010
Price Paid: 1995 ($US)

Sound

Sounds Great. Designed for mid range tone which it does exceptionally well.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

Janet Davis is the best. Set up perfectly.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

It is a piece of art. You want to hang it on the wall

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

Deering doesn't make anything that won't last longer than you will.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

The folks at both Janet Davis Music and at Deering are the best. Very helpful and patient.

Customer Service: 10

Components

Deering has a lifetime warranty which I do not expect to ever have to use.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

I am extremely happy with the instrument. I have a great deal of difficulty in putting the thing down. My practice time has gone over the top.

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.078125