Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

751
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

7071 reviews in the archive.

Bridges  Bart Veerman Bridge Banjo Part/Accessory Reviews

Submitted by msigwing (see all reviews from this person) on 3/18/2019

Where Purchased: Ordered Directly from Bart Veerman

Overall Comments

Needing a bridge for my Gold Tone Cello banjo CEB-5 I contacted Bart via his online request form.  Bart was familiar with the specific dimensions of the instrument and shipped the new bridge one day after I made payment.  I own two other Veerman bridges and highly recommend them to anyone wanting to improve the sound of their banjo!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by teletype1 (see all reviews from this person) on 3/4/2017

Where Purchased: Online from Bart

Overall Comments

I ordered a custom bridge from Bart for my 19-fret Deering Boston tenor.  Bart was great to work with and he pointed me to the bridge type used by other celtic-style players.  He even tweaked the string spacing for me, as the stock bridge had the strings a little too close together for me.  It sounds great and the tone is much richer than before, and the "floppy G and D" strings are gone!

Thanks so much Bart!  It's a wonderful bridge!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Doc Bob (see all reviews from this person) on 7/23/2015

Where Purchased:

Overall Comments

I have a very old Vega Folklore long neck, the cheap one with the wooden tone rim. I was becoming increasingly frustrated with the lack of sustain and general dullness of the tone.  
 
Bart's Dark Star bridge is advertised as being especially good for "woodies" so I thought, "why not?"  It has transformed the instrument! The tone is brilliant, I can play way up the neck now, and the intonation has improved tremendously. This is a GREAT banjo bridge, thank you MUCH!!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by 5stringsmrazek (see all reviews from this person) on 10/7/2014

Where Purchased: Bart's website

Overall Comments

This is the second of two great bridges I've ordered from Bart:

I chose the Dark Star on Mr. Veerman's advice for my 2011 Huber Berkshire. First off, I love the Huber bridge and the stock sound. This maple-maple banjo peels paint off walls! But there's some material I'm working on that I'd prefer with a slightly rounder tone. Until the day comes when I can welcome a high end mahogany to my collection, this bridge experiment seemed like a pretty good solution.

The Dark Star does just what I'd hoped it would. It seems to retain a great deal of the instruments projection but creates a more complex sound. (more overtones?) It's rounder, a bit woody and as I described to Bart, 'mahonganized'.

The bridge cost me under $30. Shipping was a flat, affordable rate. The bridge is expertly crafted, visually attractive and precisely made to customer specs. As well, Bart is fully confident in his workmanship, and goes to great lengths to ensure customer satisfaction. He was great to talk to on the phone and helped to come up with a very good bridge for my needs.

An easy recommendation if you're looking to try a new bridge or two!

 

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by 5stringsmrazek (see all reviews from this person) on 10/7/2014

Where Purchased: Bart's website

Overall Comments

This is the first of two great bridges I've ordered from Bart:

I chose the Teak/Ebony capped bridge on Mr. Veerman's advice for my Alabama ALB40. This is an entry level, China-made model that is to some extent, modeled after the Granada design. It is mahogany, has a tone ring, single rod, and for the price, decent workmanship & hardware. My main goal was to keep its tone--which after I did some basic adjustments, sounds very good and even through the entire range--but try to squeeze a bit more volume out of it. I'm currently playing the head just above a G#.

The original bridge is maple/ebony but is definitely open to some improvement. Instead of going with the same woods, I wanted to try the Teak. It's too soon to describe the difference well but i can say that Bart's Teak/Ebony bridge did add more projection and a bit more clang (that's the scientific term, I believe) in the midrange. I also elected to try the wider (Crowe) spacing, which so far feels great.

The bridge cost me around $25. Shipping was a flat, affordable rate. The bridge is expertly crafted, visually attractive and precisely made to customer specs. As well, Bart is fully confident in his workmanship, and goes to great lengths to ensure customer satisfaction. He was great to talk to on the phone and helped to come up with a very good bridge for my needs.

An easy recommendation if you're looking to try a new bridge or two!

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by storborg (see all reviews from this person) on 5/5/2014

Where Purchased: Banjo Bridges by Bart

Overall Comments

I purchased a 1/2" Bart Veerman (http://banjobridge.com) bridge with a 20" radius for a cheap Davison Banjo-Guitar (banjo body/guitar neck) I received for Christmas. The bridge my banjo-guitar initially came with was really tall, and it had a curved fret board, so I thought I'd try a shorter bridge with a radius curve.  Bart was incredibly helpful, he sent me all the information on how to measure and determine the appropriate radius.  The grooves for the strings were cut exactly to the string size I use, so everything fit like a glove.  

My initial order to Bart was a for a 3/8" flat bridge but it was a hair too short and I got a little buzzing on the fret board on the D and G strings.  That's when I noticed the fret board had a curve, didn't notice until then.  Bart accepted a return and worked with me to get the perfect fit.  I would absolutely recommend Bart and his custom bridges to anybody who is thinking about having one made.  The quality and care he puts into his work is absolutely noticeable.  A true professional.  Thanks Bart!

 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by geodave (see all reviews from this person) on 11/5/2013

Where Purchased: Bart's Place

Overall Comments

Well I told Bart I'd do a review on the 3 bridges he sent me so it's time I got off my kiester and did so since I've had them for probably 5-6 weeks already. I just have to say what an incredible difference an insignificant little piece of wood makes!! I should have expected it as that's how the sound gets to the banjo but ---. 

Anyhow, this fall I was looking to see if I could improve the sound of my 1978 Ibanez Artist. This is the banjo that I wisely bought after a summer of working in the bush and coming home with a wad of cash in my pocket. I says to my girlfriend at the time (still my wife believe it or not) - if you want an engagement ring pick one out. Being a practical gal she demurred and I, being a totally hedonistic impractical male, went out and spent 800 bucks on a banjo. Needless to say she was not impressed. Now that banjo ended up sitting in a corner after a few years and after a 20 year hiatus I picked it back up 3 years ago. It was kind of fun, my banjo still sounded great but I thought can it sound better?

Well here's where Bart came in. I Googled "Banjo Bridges" and a bunch of hits appeared. After looking at a few, I was quite smitten with Bart's treatise on tone, intonation, materials etc. so I sent him an email, asking him what would work for the Ibanez, he says "Mystery wood - Ebony top. So that's what I got with Crowe spacing. The difference was spectacular!! This banjo just barks, tone so nice and forward but not brash, quite sweet. I'd always had a bit of trouble with intonation up the neck as well, so I'd been using one of those stock compensated bridges by one of the big manufacturers and it helped a bit but still wasn't great. Bart's Bridge smartened that banjo right up. It plays cleanly and in tune right to the 22nd fret in all positions and all strings. I'd never been quite happy with the sound of my 3rd string "Cripple Creek" slide. All of a sudden it works!!!!!

My second banjo is an 1895 SS Stewart Orchestra 28 inch scale, that I picked up on Ebay recently.  I put Aquilla Nylgut strings on it. It has a nice old timey plunk to it, great for clawhammering. Bart and i went back and forth a bit on the string guages as Aquilla don't say much beyond light, medium ,heavy. Bart decided on a plain Mystery wood bridge, lighter weight for Stewie with slots cut specifically for the Nylgut (I ended up measuring them with a caliper) and using Crowe spacing. Again, the difference was astounding. the banjo still has a nice old timey feel to it, only the notes are clean and defined. Again intonation all over the neck is much improved.

The third is my travel banjo, a little Gold Tone CC Mini open back. 8 inch pot 17 frets, 32 inches total length. Perfect for aircraft "carry on". NIce and quiet in the hotel room etc. (if you get one ditch the guitar tuners and get some cheap planetary tuners) Anyway its a pretty cool little banjo but once I supercharged the Ibanez, I wasn't stopping!! Bart decided on Teak with Ebony top for this one, once again in Crowe spacing. ( that extra 2 mm make such a huge difference in playability) Anyway, the bridge has again improved intonation and sound, but, smaller banjo smaller differences. This is still a much improved banjo with Barts Bridge and I would do it again.

Anyway, for 75 bucks for the 3 bridges (shipping was dirt cheap) I'd say I got way more than a bargoon. Bart is a real pleasure to deal with and a genuine craftsman. I would absolutely do business with him again, I just need more banjos, I'm sure she'll let me have some if I'm nice.

DAVE

  

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by claybarron (see all reviews from this person) on 8/4/2013

Where Purchased: Bart Veerman

Overall Comments

Replaced my original Mastertone bridge with one from Bart Veerman. Much better sustain, more volume, and an overall brighter sound. Highly recommend Bart's work.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Gary W Shoe (see all reviews from this person) on 6/5/2013

Where Purchased: Bart

Overall Comments

I had Bart build me a 9/16 teak bridge for my Deering Classic Goodtime Special. The banjo came with a 5/8 and though very playable, the action was a bit high for my style. He shipped my custom order within a few days and I love the look and sound of this bridge. No buzzing and the clarity is very good.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Steve Donnelly (see all reviews from this person) on 2/6/2013

Where Purchased: Elderly Instruments

Overall Comments

B. Veerman teak.
Tone is excellent. The notes are very clear. I should have gotten one of these a long time ago.
This is a 1/2" teak, Crowe spaced on a Reiter tubaphone with tight fiberskyn head.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by rinemb (see all reviews from this person) on 3/6/2010

Where Purchased: Ordered Direct

Overall Comments

I ordered a custom bridge from Bart, for my Century-+ old Stewart banjo strung with nylguts. I recieved my two-footed thin mystery wood bridge slotted for nylgut strings and installed it. (replacing a modern 3-footed heavy bridge) This new Bart Veerman bridge brought this banjo to life with pop and volume and tone that I have never heard out of it. Thanks, Bart. Great job!

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.0625