Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

150
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

6776 reviews in the archive.

Bridges  Tim Purcell Banjo Bridge Banjo Part/Accessory Reviews

Submitted by foxontherun (see all reviews from this person) on 9/14/2015

Where Purchased: Tim Purcell

Overall Comments

I have a very nice Nechville banjo that was very well set up but just shy of everything that it could deliver in the tone/sound department.  A friend of mine recommended that I try a Purcell bridge, which led me to send Tim an email on a late Saturday night/early Sunday morning. By 07:00 on Sunday morning, Tim had responded to my email with his recommendation based on the tone/sound I was after.  We exchanged a couple of more emails where TIm was very generous with his time in responding to all of my questions.  RIght out of the gate, I was very impressed with TIm's customer service even though this 'customer' had yet to order anything.

I ended up ordering a Wurlitzer organ wood bridge (double radius, compensated, Crowe spacing) and I'm very happy with the result.  The bridge is well designed/built and looks great.  My Nechville now has the clarity, strong 4th and up the neck power that I knew was there to be uncovered.

A big thanks to Tim for the fine bridge.  I highly recommend Tim for his great customer service and excellent product.

 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by deestexas (see all reviews from this person) on 3/23/2015

Where Purchased: BHO drawing

Overall Comments

I was lucky to win a drawing of one of Tim's new Town and Country bridges.  It was 11/16, with Crowe spacing and 2.1 grams weight.  It noticeably increased the volume and clarified the tone of a parts banjo.  After a couple of days, I am a fan.    Craftsmanship is excellent.  I highly recommend it. 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by CodeSmith (see all reviews from this person) on 9/27/2014

Where Purchased: http://www.purcell-banjo-bridges.com

Overall Comments

I was curious about the sound characteristics of "roasted" maple bridges after reading some of the posts back in August. However, i've been really happy with the setup on my banjos and the bridges on them for the last couple years ( also made by Tim, see my other reviews), I didn't give it further thought for a while. But just happened that in middle of finishing up mail, a few weeks ago I decided to ping Tim about his thoughts about roasted maple and based on his comments, I fired off a order for his roasted red maple bridges. His thoughts, (check out the wood description on his website) about the wood matched with what I look for in tone, good balance and volume, not as sustaining and a darker tone.

 I had these bridges on two of my banjos for a couple of weeks now and I 'm very happy with them. I've found (to my ears), in addition to what Tim described, is that the roasted maple gives more clarity, not brighter but more color or depth of tone. It's subtle but very noticeable improvement over the previous bridge (Purcell piano wood, a very fine bridge as well!)  I found that as others have mentioned, you should allowed the roasted maple bridge to settle in for at least a day or so before making adjustments or judgements. As others reviewers have said, Tim's a great craftsman and stands behinds his product. You can see and hear the difference in his bridges. A great person to work with, highly recommended for any of his bridges.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by jscourt (see all reviews from this person) on 1/29/2014

Where Purchased: from Tim directly

Overall Comments

I have been playing with Tim's Ambrosia Red Maple bridge for a couple months now.  It is on my Nechville Galaxy Custom job with tunneled 5th string.  To my ear it is the best bridge I have had on the banjo & I have tried several.  It is a single 12" radiused bridge, 5/8" high.  The banjo has the cocobolo wood tone ring with titanium top.  The tone is clear and even from trebles to basses across the strings.  I play melodically and the sustain is just right for me.  I keep the head tight using the 10" ruler/coin method of measurement.  I recommend Tim's bridges.

Jerry Courtney

Rockport, TX

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Rizo (see all reviews from this person) on 4/28/2013

Where Purchased: From Tim

Overall Comments

I emailed Tim about making me a custom bridge. I know he mostly makes bridges for bluegrass/resonator instruments, but I'm a clawhammer player and the banjo Tim's bridge went on is an open back with an aluminum pot made from a Buick torque converter. I had built the banjo meaning to use a 3/4" bridge, but when I got it together the action was too low for my liking.

After discussing different tones, options and the type of banjo I'm playing, Tim made me a locust bridge with an ebony cap in 7/8" height. It worked out great. The action is a little high, just like I like, and the banjo sounds very nice. Tim couldn't have been better to deal with. I think I emailed him about making me a bridge on Monday night and he had it in the mail on Wednesday morning. It was on my banjo by Friday night.

The tone is percussive and has quick decay. Note seperation is very good, and there's a nice woodiness to the sound. The bass response is full and the high end sounds pretty good too. Pretty much exactly what I wanted for accompanying fiddle tunes.

In short, if you're looking for a bridge, I highly recommend getting one from Tim. The product is great and the customer service is even better, all at a reasonable price. Can't ask for more than that.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Banjophobic (see all reviews from this person) on 2/8/2013

Where Purchased: Tim Purcell

Overall Comments

I've reviewed Tim's bridges once before, but I had to send in another one. I am a luthier /repairman by trade, and try to keep as many great bridges in stock as I can afford to.
Tim's bridges are very high on my list. But sometimes I forget to re-order them when I run out (as he well knows..lol). This happened again recently and there were a coupe of set-up jobs coming up and I needed these bridges asap.
I contacted Tim and he jumped on the job and made two bridges for me and I had them the next day. That's service you cannot beat with a stick! The bridges are great but the customer service ranks right up there with the quality of the work. Thanks Tim

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by OSCAR82AA (see all reviews from this person) on 12/28/2012

Where Purchased: Direct From Tim Purcell

Overall Comments

I have two of Tim's bridges. One is made from Arkansas Maple and the other is made from Ambrosia Red Maple. The workmanship is excellent. You can tell these bridges are made from someone who takes pride in their work.
I have a small shoe box of bridges for use and right now the Ambrosia Maple is on my banjo.Really brought back my fourth string slide from 2-5. And overall tone is just fantastic. I highly recommend Tim Purcell's bridges. And shipment is fast and Tim can easily be contacted to help with your expectations and what you are looking for with a bridge.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by CodeSmith (see all reviews from this person) on 12/24/2012

Where Purchased: http://www.purcell-banjo-bridges.com

Overall Comments

I'm very happy with the radiused red maple bridges Tim made for me. I was looking to solve a setup problem on a 78 Goldstar that was eluding me for a while. Working with Tim was easy, I communicated with him about my banjo, setup info, preferences and what I was looking to achieve. The bridges were finely crafted and have a wonderful balance of clarity, separation and decay. Good clean lows and highs, no muddiness. I have had equally good results with his old piano wood bridges. Recommended!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by dcraft (see all reviews from this person) on 10/24/2012

Where Purchased: Direct from Tim

Overall Comments

Excellent craftsmanship. It produces a noticeable difference in the banjo's sound, for the better. It is installed on an RK35. I would recommend this bridge to all who are shopping for one.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by pickalot (see all reviews from this person) on 10/23/2012

Where Purchased: Tim Purcell

Overall Comments

Like most banjo players I am always searching for the best sound I can get, and as we all know........the best banjo in the world is a dud with the wrong bridge.
After hearing so much about Purcell bridges I decided to try a couple of them. I went to www.purcell-banjo-bridges.com and sent Tim an email asking for a call to talk bridges. He responded quickly. After some discussion he sent 3 bridges, all .656, standard spacing........a Piano #2, a Submerged Birch and a Red Maple. When they came in I immediately noticed the beautiful and consistant quality of his workmanship. I tried and liked all 3 but the Red Maple bridge brought out the balance and great sound quality that my banjo was capable of. The birch was a very close second and was also very, very good with the way my banjo is currently set up.
Long story short........the Red Maple Purcell Bridge not only gives me the best growling, stomach-buzzing sound I have ever had on my archtop, it also gives a great hand response for both right and left hand when playing. The following day our band had 2 jobs and I ended up playing about 7 hours total. I do not think I have ever played better........even my fellow band members noticed increased dynamics, volume and clarity.
I ordered another Red Maple Purcell bridge as a spare and have the Submerged Birch Bridge as a back-up,
Also. Tim is a great banjo player and you can hear his sound bites on his web site as he demonstrates his bridges. He is also very friendly and great to talk to on the phone. Besides that, he is my neighbor.......he only lives about 45 miles from me!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by siemionet (see all reviews from this person) on 10/11/2012

Where Purchased: Tim Purcell

Overall Comments

I just bought Red Maple bridge form Mr Tim Purcell. It's not compensated at all however I'm surprised how much it changed in sound of my Deering Goodtime banjo. It's like turning from basic to semi-pro. All parts are original apart of this bridge. Sound is even in high positions, mellow, thicker, fuller. I'd say "more calm" than it was. When I look at its design this bridge is a bit different than original Deering basic bridge. Of course it is five times more expensive but hahaha it's only 25$ as Deering costs 5$ :)
I would recommend it to anyone who wants to change sound of his/her banjo.
Well Done!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Big I (see all reviews from this person) on 9/11/2012

Where Purchased: Hangout member

Overall Comments

I tried a lot of different bridges on my RB-4 copy but was never satisfied with the tone. That was until I put Tim purcel's Dogwood bridge on. This bridge gave my banjo the growl I had been searching for.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by banjobeat63 (see all reviews from this person) on 5/9/2012

Where Purchased: Tim Purcell

Overall Comments

The Old Piano Hard Maple Bridge confident by exceptional strong volume and clear reproduction even the neck up. as usual perfect processing by tim! highly recommended!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by erikforgod (see all reviews from this person) on 3/25/2012

Where Purchased: Directly from Tims shop

Overall Comments

For my Goodtime Crow banjo, this is my second Tim Purcell banjo bridge that I have ordered from Tim after having such excellent results with the .656 bridge that he crafted for my Classic Goodtime scooped neck banjo. This banjo bridge is a standard 5/8s size and is also made from the curly maple Tim harvested from an old turn of the cenrtury Milton piano. The bridge like, my other one, is ebony capped and also has the "G" string slightly compensated. The result with regards too response, sustain and clarity and volume is... as expected..."phenomenal!" With my Goodtime Crow...it was like night and day when compared to the Deering stock bridge that came with my banjo. There is no doubt that whatever banjo I have will immediately be fitted with one of Tims finely crafted bridges. In actuality Tim made me three bridges, but the first one was lost in shipment on its way here to Argentina. When I mentioned this to Tim he kindly, without hesitation, tooled up and assmebled me another bridge and promptly mailed it to me...no questions asked!! Customer service just doesnt get any friendlier than that. If you are needing a new bridge for your banjo, I recommend you email or call Mr Purcell in North Carolina...you wont regret it!

http://www.purcell-banjo-bridges.com/

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by big_al (see all reviews from this person) on 2/20/2012

Where Purchased: Bridge giveaway prize

Overall Comments

I won a bridge from Tim here on the hangout. Even though I live in New Zealand, he was quite happy to post it to me free of charge. His customer service is fantastic. Even though the bridge was a prize, he custom made it to my required specs and made sure it arrived. And lo and behold, it sounds great. Thanks Tim.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by jbanjoist (see all reviews from this person) on 2/12/2012

Where Purchased: Tim Purcell

Overall Comments

Tim's bridges are excellent and he will work hard to get you the banjo sound you are looking for.
From custom sound to custom design Tim will fix you right up at a good price and with a great turnaround time on orders.
Thanks Tim!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by erikforgod (see all reviews from this person) on 2/2/2012

Where Purchased: Purcell Banjo Bridges

Overall Comments

This bridge is extremely well made with a nice ebony "cap" with the "g" string compensated. I had an issue with some buzzing on my new Goodtime Classic scooped neck banjo. I exchanged emails with Tim and he quickly and kindly recommended to me a size .656 custom bridge for my banjo. I chose the "piano" maple cut bridge with the ebony cap. My banjo neck now tracks perfectly, no buzzing whatsoever and I have noticed increased sustain in clarity of notes and volume. Tim treated me with good ole "North Carolina" hospitality, and his service was prompt and professional...I personally recommend his fine bridges to anyone!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Banjophobic (see all reviews from this person) on 1/9/2012

Where Purchased: Tim Purcell

Overall Comments

Tim sent me this 5/8 "piano wood" bridge, with ebony top. This wood is recovered from old pianos and is the first one of Tim's bridges I've used in the shop, or on my personal banjos. There have been great things said about his bridges so I decided to add a few of them to my shop stock.
Let me say first that the overall craftsmanship is first rate, from the look, cut of the wood and notches for the strings. My first impressions after trying it on the customers' banjo in the shop was always that the bridge was very consistently solid sounding with excellent volume and separation of notes. The tone is very deep, full, with good hollowness and 'dry' sounding (no bad overtones). It sounded excellent on about every banjo, imparting that dry old sound most Scruggs players desire.
Then, I decided to put it on my prewar tenor flat head conversion 'jo. Let me say that I've used/use many great quality bridges on this banjo over the years. But this Piano bridge is THE best sounding bridge for this old Mastertone that I have ever used,period. The only words I can use to express the tone is dry,full,deep, but with exceptional power up the neck and amazing clarity of notes. The note separation is also phenomenal. The bridge has now had a full day of hard playing and it has settled in to be a killer bridge.
Im not one to go on and on so much about something like a bridge, but this one deserves it.
If you own a flat head banjo and want to give it that older sounding pop and clarity, but keep the depth too, this could very well be that bridge. Tim also has excellent customer service. I Highly recommend this bridge.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by banjobeat63 (see all reviews from this person) on 12/28/2011

Where Purchased: Tim Purcell WebSite

Overall Comments

One more time! The best bridges, magnificent extraordinary craftsmanship!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by banjobeat63 (see all reviews from this person) on 11/10/2011

Where Purchased: Tium Purcell

Overall Comments

Precise manufactured bridge, which produce a fantastic sound! The bridges have ordered online and received very quickly!
Thank you Tim

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by dpeacock1 (see all reviews from this person) on 4/14/2010

Where Purchased: direct from Tim Purcell

Overall Comments

Dealing with Tim couldn't have been better. After sending Tim and inquiry about his brides, I immediately received a questionnaire that gave him the specifics I was looking for(height/string spacing/wood).
My bridge arrived a few days later with the weight in grams listed on the underside of one of the feet along with height and string spacing.
Very impressive.
No invoice was included, so I sent Tom an email. His comment was to try it first to make sure I was satisfied. I gladly mailed Tim a money order this week.
The next time I'm in need of a bridge, I'll be contacting Tim Purcell first.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by D.W. (see all reviews from this person) on 1/7/2010

Where Purchased: Directly From Tim Purcell via the Banjo Hangout

Overall Comments

When I was looking for a banjo bridge I had a very specific set of requirements in mind. I needed a radiused bridge, and it had to have a specific thickness- or lack thereoff. My then current bridge was to thick.

I sent an email to Tim Purcell in response to an advert he had placed here on the BHO. He answered my questions - his answers were helpful- and he listened to what it was that I thought I needed.

He was very helpful and sent me 2 sample bridges to try out. Turned out that one of those bridges was exactly what I was looking for and worked out perfectly. So I sent him payment for that bridge and returned the one that I was not going to use.

I would definitely purchase from him again.

Overall Rating: 9

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.09375