Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

790
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

7071 reviews in the archive.

Bridges  dam spillway bridge Banjo Part/Accessory Reviews

Submitted by maki66 (see all reviews from this person) on 4/15/2018

Where Purchased: Don New

Overall Comments

The Spillway Dam Bridge is a brilliant design that is masterfully crafted.Don's customer service is first rate too. He made me a custom bridge with 46mm spacing for clawhammer style picking that was the perfect height for my banjo. 

Its a joy to play,sounds great,  it looks beautiful, and I received it quickly. 

 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Properpat (see all reviews from this person) on 8/4/2015

Where Purchased: BHO Directly from Don

Overall Comments

I dont know what else to say but whoah....

 

Until this point I had only ever used the stock bridges that came with my banjos.

I never in a million years thought that swapping the bridge on my banjo could make such a huge difference.

It literally is like playing a brand new (and much more expensive) instrument for the price of 12-15 bucks.

I bought the three pack to swap between my two  'jos and the Original Spillway has ended up on my Oscar Schmidt fretless conversion.

 

The amount of power this bridge can produce on such a cheap instrument is mind blowing. Volume literally shot through the roof on a basic wood pot fretless. Ill never go back.

 

THese are handmade by Don himself. The turnaround from my order to shipment was 2 days. 2 DAYS!!! In less than a week I had 3 new bridges to experiment with. The craftsmanship is outstanding!! They really are just cool looking bridges that are very pleasing to the eye. 

 

Do yourself a favor.... spend the very minute amount of money on these... the difference they made is priceless

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by AldoMarino (see all reviews from this person) on 4/20/2014

Where Purchased: Ebay

Overall Comments

I bought the three pack.  One of the lighter colored bridges, which I'm guessing is either the pine or the fir, WOW...it turned my modest old Japanese bottlecap into a real tone monster and cannon.  Amazing. 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by bornold (see all reviews from this person) on 3/1/2014

Where Purchased: From Don

Overall Comments

I wanted some new bridges for my banjos, so I found out about the dam spillway bridge, so I ordered the combo pack of 3 for $30.  I have to say these bridges produce excellent sound.  Most sellers charge $30 for one bridge, Don will give you 3 that sound just as good for the same price!

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by Chappy0168 (see all reviews from this person) on 5/14/2013

Where Purchased: Ebay

Overall Comments

I wanted to let everyone know I am a new banjo player but I have played guitar for years. not prof. but for fun. I had been looking at banjos for a long time and decided to get a Recording King RK R20 to start with. Need less to say I am hooked! After learning to play for the past few months I noticed that my banjo sounded a little flat, so i decided to put on a new set of strings I figured that it might brighten it up again. After I installed the new strings I found that it helped but it sounded to me that my banjo sounded a little bassy. So aftering reading some reviews and getting some tips I decided to buy one of Don New's Dam spillway bridges. I got the Maple with Rosewood cap 5/8" with Crowe spacing . I installed the new bridge as soon as it came in. Man I can tell you this has brightened up the sound on my R20. It took the bassy sound down a couple of notches and brought up the high notes. I will also say it appears that the Crowe spacing on the new one has helped me with a problem I was having with my thumb pick catching 4th string. I know I don't have alot of experience playing but I know great sound when I hear it. I recommend this bridge to everyone. My little Recording King is not the most expensive on the block but I believe she sure sounds like it.
The buying experince with Don is great, if I get another banjo in the future I will definetly be getting another Dam Spillway (maybe the 3 pack) just to see what the others will do.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by nuncanunca (see all reviews from this person) on 12/28/2012

Where Purchased: Mail Order

Overall Comments

I ordered a 3 pack of the spillway dam bridges -- two with the raised 5th string. Noticed a big difference over the generic bridges I was using before. Very happy with the quality and well worth the price. Thanks Don!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by BoneDigger (see all reviews from this person) on 5/4/2011

Where Purchased: Directly from Dan

Overall Comments

I purchased a set of bridges (3) from Dan and I have to say that I was very impressed with the design and craftsmanship. I tried all three out on my two banjos (RK35 Madison and Deering Goodtime Special). For my purposes, the original worked the best for my Goodtime and the Barn Wood version worked the best for my RK. These bridges offer excellent tone for a great price.

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by teletodd (see all reviews from this person) on 2/11/2011

Where Purchased: Don New

Overall Comments

Got the 3 pack. All are great. The 100 year barn bridge alters tone the most. Best of all he sends all 3 via regular US mail for 72 cents, unlike most Banjo specialty stores that add $5.00 shipping and handling to ship one bridge.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by asandwho (see all reviews from this person) on 2/5/2010

Where Purchased: Don New

Overall Comments

I've purchased two bridges from Don. Both have been great. The second I put on my Deering Goodtime which had started to sound lifeless to me after playing my other banjos with tone rings. The bridge instantly gave the banjo more life adding a nice sparkle at both the highs and lows. Really nice guy to do business with. He sends you the bridge and if you're satisfied, you send him the funds. Totally satsified. Very reasonably priced.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by bangee boy (see all reviews from this person) on 11/18/2009

Where Purchased: stringbean45 BHO member

Overall Comments

Tried this Spillway bridge on my Earl Scruggs Gibson which had a Snuffy Smith bridge on it. I was very impressed with the overall tone it produced. Very clear and distinct notes at both high and low ends.This Dam Spillway was the model that was one piece ...no ebony or other wood across the top. It's staying on my Gibson! I'll be picking up a few more. The seller is a Five Star gentleman. Great to do business with.

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

6.298828E-02