Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

402
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

7071 reviews in the archive.

Tuners  Apollo " D " Tuners Banjo Part/Accessory Reviews

Submitted by Mike Cruciger (see all reviews from this person) on 12/18/2011

Where Purchased: dealer and traded

Overall Comments

These tuners really do work with NO hassle.
I have come to the conclusion that D Tuners need their own tuning keys to be most effective. The Apollo Tuners do just that without covering up any of the peg head inlay.
I can't recommend them more highly.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by scottiebeardsley (see all reviews from this person) on 9/15/2011

Where Purchased: From Bill Adams (off the Banjo Hangout Classifieds)

Overall Comments

These tuners are great and affordable. There are many great aspects about these tuners. For one, you only have to put two screws in the back of your peghead, instead of drilling holes through the peghead to install like you would with tuners like Cheat-a-Keys. Furthermore, if you don't want to put even small screw holes in your banjo, you can use double sided tape and it works just fine. I also like the range of the tuners. You can really bend those strings and drop the pitch more than a full step. Both the inventor and Bill Adams were great to work with. They shipped the tuners to me within a day after purchase. I was very impressed with their sense of customer service, answering any question I had quickly. When my package arrived, I had the tuners, the installation tools, and an instructional dvd on how to install and set-up the tuners. I also had both the inventors and Bill Adams telephone numbers just in case I had some additional question. The quality of these tuners are great and I would definately recommend these tuners to all my banjo buddies!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by jjbanjo (see all reviews from this person) on 9/6/2011

Where Purchased: From Bill Adams

Overall Comments

Can't say enough about the new Apollo "D" Tuners. Just installed a set on one of my banjos, and was amazed at their performance. I have been playing for over 50 years, and have tried every type of "D" tuning device that has ever been marketed and these are , by far, the closest thing to perfect . The service from Bill Adams was fast, the installation is easy(read the owner's manual, and follow each step), and the support from Bill and Coy are available any time.
The Apollo "D: Tuner features that I like are the full twist of the tuning knobs. On Keith type tuners one tuner may have a long throw while the other may have a short throw(usually, the G string has the short throw). The stops on the Apollo Tuners are positive, and you can't turn the tuner past the stop(a no-no with Keith style tuners). Apollo tuners are actually always ready to use, You only have to adjust the low end note if you change tunings.
I played 8 hours straight at a local Fiddler's Festival, and the Apollo tuners DID NOT FAIL ME ONCE! I simply can not say that about any other "D" tuner that has ever been on the market.
Thnks to Coy Willis for inventing the first new and improved idea in "D" Tuners for banjos, and Bill Adams for his expert marketing of those tuners.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by bryantde (see all reviews from this person) on 8/13/2011

Where Purchased: From Vendor Bill Adams @ Galax

Overall Comments

I would like to say that I have owned most all the major D tuners at some time in the past but none performed as well as the Apollos do!
Even the most well know ones require tweaking regularly to be accurate.
The gentleman that invented these must be a very intelligent guy and he has done it right!
They are very well designed and well built and they work.just as you expect them to.....period!
Don Bryant in NC

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Pre War Pyramid 9331-14 (see all reviews from this person) on 1/4/2011

Where Purchased:

Overall Comments

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Pre War Pyramid 9331-14 (see all reviews from this person) on 1/4/2011

Where Purchased: Inventor Coy Willis

Overall Comments

My name is Bill Adams from Waldorf, Maryland. Some of you may know me. I've been playing banjo and bluegrass 40 years now. For decades I've been ignoring all the great "D" tuner songs and licks because I didn't like the Keith Tuners and how they continually had to be reset and weren't always accurate or the Cam Tuners and how they had to drill giant holes in the peghead to install or the Cheata Keys and how they looked on a banjo. Well > LOOK NO FURTHER !! I stumbled on The Apollo "D" Tuners and after reviewing them and speaking at length with the inventor, Coy Willis, I bought a pair. All I can say is WOW !!! These tuners are JUST what we banjo players have been looking for. They are very sleek and attractive to look at. You don't even see them from the front. They work like Cam Tuners BUT EVEN BETTER AND SMOOTHER. They only need to be set once for the most part and they ALWAYS work accurately. As they say on TV > SET IT & FORGET IT !!! They are built like tanks and the craftsmanship and engineering is beyond belief. I RARELY get excited over a new gimmick or product but THIS IS THE REAL DEAL !! No gimmick or new fangled contraption > THIS IS THE BOMB OF "D" TUNERS !!! I will be at THE CABIN FEVER PICKIN' PARTY in Hampton, Virginia in the beginning of March 2011 and have a booth all set up for anyone to come by and see these, play them and take them for a test drive. After you've turned these just ONCE you'll discover what I did > that you need to look no further for QUALITY , ATTRACTIVE "D" TUNERS that you'll be PROUD to show off at each and every jam you attend. Come by and "Kick the Tires" and see these fine tuners plus ALL the other new cutting edge banjo products this gentleman has produced. Ask for me by name, Bill Adams, and I'll take all the time you need to try out and TAKE HOME with you something you'll TREASURE for life. We'll have them there for sale & I'll even install them for you. Call me with ANY questions you might have or just to talk. > Bill Adams 301-848-1864 cell (leave message)

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Earls 5 (see all reviews from this person) on 12/11/2009

Where Purchased: manufacturer

Overall Comments

awesome performance,low profile compared to Sonnys ugly tuners. Smooth as silk transition from key to key. After trying other d-tuners these win easily.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by lestermatt (see all reviews from this person) on 10/24/2009

Where Purchased: BHO member

Overall Comments

Absolutley fantastic. Rock solid and accurate. Quite easy to install. Set up is a little tricky but once you figure it out adjustments are easy.I did it without the tool kit supplied by the Manufacturer but it would be a good idea to order it. Besides, the deposit on it is refundable.Very discreet on the front of the peghead.I like them .LM.

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.078125