Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

589
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

7063 reviews in the archive.

Bob Altschuler Teacher Reviews

Submitted by DrBillM (see all reviews from this person) on 1/29/2017

Overall Comments

Great teacher! Bob has worked with me for the 2015 and 2016 Pete Wernick Silver Bay Camps. Wouldn't go if he weren't there. He can teach to any level student and is both patient and supportive. Gives tons of teaching materials. Highly recommend!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by barry104 (see all reviews from this person) on 12/13/2012

Overall Comments

I first met him in the beginner track (I was a novice) of Banjo Camp North in Sept 2011. He was fanatastic and well prepared with lots of handouts and just made it comfortable to be in his classes. Very approachable.
I now realize how good he really was. I wish I lived closer to Albany as I could really use his help. Banjo teachers are hard to find..good ones like Bob...almost impossible.
If you have a chance to get help from him....go for it - you will not be disappointed.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by kayakjz (see all reviews from this person) on 3/8/2009

Overall Comments

I've been taking lessons with Bob for over 2 years now and I would absolutely recommend him to anyone interested in taking a beginner - advanced lesson. Bob has the patience of a saint and is never judgemental. Over the years I've taken lessons from others and have never once leared as much as I did the first time I sat down with Bob. Bob's knowledge of the banjo and musical theory combined with the patience and devotion detailed above make him an ideal teacher. He has a way of putting things into very simple terms without being condecending or arrogant.

In addition to the above, Bob teaches a course titled 'The Fretboard Roadmap' that is a must for anyone and will really help beginner/intermediate players develop their skills higher on the neck. If you have the opportunity, I strongly encourage you to take a lesson from Bob. In today's economy, it's one of the few investments out there that will actually yeild a return :-).

On a last note, if you aren't sure if you want to take a lesson with him, just sit in a jam with him sometime (that will surely convince you!). He's an absolutely great player to jam with as he will make sure that you know the chords (in a non-intimidating way) and will encourage you to play your best. He also is a treat to watch play and has a great sense of humor about things....

Feel free to PM me directly if you have any questions!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by 2finger3finger (see all reviews from this person) on 2/25/2009

Overall Comments

Bob is one of the best teachers of any kind I've ever had. Unlike the typical professional banjo player who can't teach, he is a superb evangelist for the instrument, and advocate for the student.

His emphasis is always on how you want to play, and how you want a tune to sound. Tell Bob what you are shooting for -- in my case, improved jamming skills. His focus is on how to get you there. He will throw in some ideas of his own, out of an apparently infinite storehouse - not just a better John Hardy, but a better way to find the melody or add some interesting fills. His band's sound is mostly bluegrass but brings in many other musical styles, so if there is something else you want to play, he can help you. Case in point, he plays a wicked version of Ellington's 'Caravan'.

His approach is to start with the abilities the student has, build them up, work on the weak points, and work toward a goal that is a stretch but realistic. If there were more Bob A's in the world, there would be a lot more happy, good-sounding banjo players.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by BrianBanjos (see all reviews from this person) on 2/24/2009

Overall Comments

I've taken lessons from Bob for two years and he has helped my learning curve an amazing amount. First of all I commend him for his flexibility in meeting a student at their level. I find him to be patient and adept at giving meaningful feedback.

One of the best things about learning from Bob has been that he has tought me how to play the banjo, not how to play tab. He has me arranging songs on my own and learning core concepts that I can apply to songs regardless if I'm learning from ear or from some tab. This can't be emphasized enough. Lessons can be a very expensive way to build a collection of tab and that's not what you get from Bob unless I that's what you want. Basically he'll lead you where you want to go and how you want to get there.

One other plus in my book is that my lessons are once a month and typically a bit over an hour long. How much can a person learn in a 20 minute lesson as offered by most music stores? I never understood what you could accomplish in that short of time except not much. The once a month approach works much better for me.

You should also know that Bob teaches at Banjo Camp North and is published on a regular basis by Mel Bay at banjosessions.com. Anyone in the greater New York Capital District should definately consider Bob as a teacher. He's a great picker and sincerely generous with his teaching.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by lpm50 (see all reviews from this person) on 2/23/2009

Overall Comments

It is without a second thought that I give Bob Altschuler (Delmar, NY) an overall rating of 10. I began banjo lessons at the ripe old age of 57. I had never played anything other than childhood piano. I found Bob on the internet through some great reviews that I read about him. Bob's experience with teaching is reflective through his ability to offer structruced and comprehensive lessons in combination with flexibility. At my age and experience level, it was important for me to me to find a teacher who would inspire me to continue when the going got rough. While Bob's knowledge and experience is evident, his ability to inspire and just have fun are what keeps me going back. He is a great teacher and a wonderful person. Read more entries about Bob on the "teacher of the year" blog on this site.

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.09375