Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

357
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

6910 reviews in the archive.

Andy Banjo Music Store Reviews

Submitted by JanH (see all reviews from this person) on 8/6/2014

Overall Comments

Recently bought a Rover RB22 open back from Andy and have now had it a month.

Before making the purchase I emailed a number of very detailed queries to which I received very prompt and detailed replies. I wanted to find out if the banjo could be played in different styles. In addition, I had a phone call with Andy where he could ask me what I had in mind exactly. As a result of all this, when the banjo arrived, I found that Andy had covered everything and more that I mentioned and I am delighted with the result.

 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by IAN TREVES (see all reviews from this person) on 12/16/2013

Overall Comments

Bought my first banjo from Andy Banjo and was more than pleased with the efficiency

of dealing with the purchase and the delivery.

Had no hesitation in buying my next  banjo from Andy - Goldtone OB250.

Arranged an appointment and he had six instruments in my budget range all

set out ready for me to try - this was six months ago.

Went back today for a set-up check and adjustments.

Cannot fault the service I have received.

I would recommend Andy Banjo 100%

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by manstallion (see all reviews from this person) on 7/9/2013

Overall Comments

Just purchased from Andy, my tutor mentioned his name so I thought I'd check through the feedback on here.
I was a little concerned around some of the reviews on here but there are always two sides to any dispute.....
I spoke to Andy last week, helpful and accomodating, agreed a package and ordered swiftly, banjo arrived days later in great condition, well packaged with all items as promised. Bridge removed for transport but helpful guide attached to the head. Great seller can't recommend him highly enough - love the fact that he only ships Mon - Fri so the item is not laying or being kicked around a depot over the weekend!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by thalbergmad (see all reviews from this person) on 5/27/2013

Overall Comments

I bought a few banjos off Andy when I started out. It is nice to be able to try before you buy and he has endless knowledge and patience.

Lately, he has been converting some of my E Bay purchases over to left hand and carrying out repairs where required. For a skilled luthier, I find his prices to be very reasonable.

I would be lost without him.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by mikeyb2 (see all reviews from this person) on 1/9/2013

Overall Comments

well it looks like I've had exactly the same experience as Alasdair G, only on mine there were more issues than I was prepared to take so I sent it back. It appears from my experience this seller sends out substandard goods and expects you to keep them. Once again a what do you expect for the money attitude and a refusal to accept there was anything wrong to avoid paying postal costs. Never again. I DO NOT recommend this store. Enough said.
I have rated a 1 as there is no option for 0

Overall Rating: 1

Submitted by Murphy Hewston (see all reviews from this person) on 3/21/2012

Overall Comments

Andy Banjo is the most experienced banjo specialist in the UK. If you are going to buy a banjo, buy from someone who knows the instrument, rather than a general music shop.

He gave me practical and experienced advice and will set up the banjo for you to your exact level.

I bought the my Goldtone 100 CC without playing this first. However he took time to play the banjo for me on the phone. The banjo was delivered via courier without problem.

Overall I was very impressed with his knowledge and passion for the banjo and the service

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Hawgfiddle65 (see all reviews from this person) on 3/14/2011

Overall Comments

Have used Andy a few times for banjos and parts. Supplied me with tuners to restore my late mum's old banjolin and parts for converting other banjos .Sold me my lovely Goldtone BC350 (see the review on my page) .Great unbiased,objective advice.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Alasdair G (see all reviews from this person) on 2/9/2011

Overall Comments

After providing a detailed spec I recently saught the advice of Andy Perkins and purchased from him a simple open back middle range 5 string banjo for £195 plus £40 to have planetory tuners fitted. His advice was sound and the banjo arrived ahead of time, well set-up and sounding great. So far so good... Unfortunatyely, where he had removed the old guitar style machine heads to fit the new ones he had made a very poor job of making good. There were poorly filled screw holes, filler left over the surface and no attempt had been made to remove the marks left from the base plates of the previous tuners. I immediatly contacted him by email, sending potographs and asking him what I should do. I received an abrupt, if not rude, very unhelpful and defensive response. In effect he said "... what do expect for the money". He did offer to take it back and refund my money less postage, but including return postage this would still have cost me nearly £40 - Why sould we pay that much for poor workmanship? In the end I decided to keep the banjo as it does sound and play very well, but I stiil feel and an ellement of 'buyer's remorse'. Many consumers (some of whom, like me, live in remote situations) are dependent on buying through the internet. If we get poor service we have little option other than not to use such suppliers ever again and to tell as many people as possible about our experience. There are lots of other shops and suppliers out there keen to provide a good service and can be given a chance. It's a real shame, however, that Andy Banjo is so unreceptive to constructive critisism and feed back, showing his true colours by his reponse. Bearing in mind this review is on the supplier, not the the item purchased, I am forced to give a very low rating. Meantine I shall continue to enjoy playing my new banjo, even if I try to avoid looking at it too closely.

Overall Rating: 2

Submitted by Colonel Sibthorp (see all reviews from this person) on 9/1/2010

Overall Comments

Some time ago, I bought what I thought was a beaten-up old Clifford Essex with a cracked neck and in due course sent it to Andy for his advice. After examining it, he was able to tell me everything I could possibly want to know about it (who made the pot, where the neck probably came from, what a bodge the bloke who put them together had made of the job, etc) and recommended that he fit a modern but old-looking neck and set the thing up properly. It arrived today and is better than I could have hoped for. It looks fantastic, sounds great and plays beautifully. If I had bought it for £1,000, I would have been pleased with it but he charged me less than a quarter of that for his time, expertise, advice and unsurpassed skill. I can't recommend his services too highly.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Colonel Sibthorp (see all reviews from this person) on 8/11/2010

Overall Comments

Andy Banjo has, over the years, sold me banjos, repaired them for me and built me one and I can confirm that his craftsmanship and value for money are second to none. His knowledge of the subject seems inexhaustible as does his patience and I would recommend anyone in the U.K. who wants to buy a banjo, have one repaired or restored or simply to buy a set of strings to go to him first.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by bosun (see all reviews from this person) on 1/29/2010

Overall Comments

Has been very helpful to a novice. Have just received a refurbished banjo from him. Service and advice first class would recommend

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by pmcdee (see all reviews from this person) on 8/13/2009

Overall Comments

Helpful would be an understatement. I'm just starting and now realise I should have gone to http://www.andybanjo.com/ at the start. I spoke to Andy himself. He listened to me and guided me through with useful advice and cheerful enthusiasm. Absolutely spot on!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Russ Wren (see all reviews from this person) on 1/7/2009

Overall Comments

I have recently purchased a Recording King banjo from Andy (http://www.andybanjo.com/) in the UK.
Excellent service, shipping and packaging. I could not ask for better service, or recommend any dealer more highly.

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.0625