Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

1044
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

7193 reviews in the archive.

Drum Dials  Drum Dial Banjo Part/Accessory Reviews

Submitted by lucas73b (see all reviews from this person) on 10/24/2014

Where Purchased: Muziekcentrum Oostendorp

Overall Comments

The DrumDial is a fine precision tool, well made and easy to use. With the help of the DD it took me only little time to tune the heads of both of my banjos and they sound better than they ever did before. Also, I found the instruction video on DrumDial's website very useful.

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by Thirsty (see all reviews from this person) on 5/15/2014

Where Purchased:

Overall Comments

I'm a complete novice.  The drum dial allowed me to  tighten the head uniformly to "G", without any prior experience.  No guess work, great tool.  

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by prestg1 (see all reviews from this person) on 7/15/2013

Where Purchased: First Quality Music

Overall Comments

As it says on the box: this is a precision instrument; it's well made, and reassuringly heavy.

So why the low rating? Well, I don't think you really need it. If you follow the head tuning guidelines of luthiers such as Steve Huber, you'll realise that your ear is an even finer instrument.

Being a relative novice to the instrument, I was not confident enough to believe my ears, so bought the tuner after reading the successes of others; however, it merely confirmed that which I already knew - that the head was pretty even all round.

BTW - it won't tell you what note the skin is tuned to: you'll still have to divine that using the tap test, anyway.

The asking price for such a tool is not bad (considering the price of a Blue Chip thumb pick, say), but on reflection I think that money could have been better spent elsewhere.

Overall Rating: 5

Submitted by Crusty (see all reviews from this person) on 4/4/2013

Where Purchased: Ebay

Overall Comments

I thought I was reasonably good at setting head tension by feel and sound but I was convinced by others to get a DD and man am I glad I did. It took all of 1 hour to evenly tension the heads on both of my banjos and neither has ever sounded this good before. What a timesaver and it really takes the hit or miss element out of tensioning a head.

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by Dave 13 (see all reviews from this person) on 12/7/2012

Where Purchased: online

Overall Comments

This dial indicator works very well for tuning a banjo head.
Easy to operate and easy to get proper tension
Must have for any serious Banjoist

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by banjobeat63 (see all reviews from this person) on 5/8/2011

Where Purchased: Amazon

Overall Comments

Today I Drumdial the first time applied and tested! It is a very good tool to measure head tension. You have to spend some money but it is a good investment!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by ronald trotta (see all reviews from this person) on 3/17/2011

Where Purchased: Janet Davis

Overall Comments

Works very well .Well made tool should last forever if properly cared for.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by kmangelos (see all reviews from this person) on 10/18/2010

Where Purchased: Janet Davis

Overall Comments

Tried tap tuning and using torque wrench only and was never able to get a consistent tension until using the dial. Works great and is very reproducible when changing heads.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Banjowen (see all reviews from this person) on 11/4/2008

Where Purchased: United Kingdom

Overall Comments

Having tried tap tuning for years with poor and varied results and fooling myself into believing that I could hear the note, I decided to try a Drum Dial,.. By setting the Dial at a recommended 90/91 I first of all found that the tension around the head was very uneven, It took me just minutes to get the head perfectly even and my banjo sounded great.

Overall Rating: 10

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Privacy Consent
Copyright 2024 Banjo Hangout. All Rights Reserved.





Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.0625