Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

430
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

7071 reviews in the archive.

Tailpieces  Fults Parallel tailpiece Banjo Part/Accessory Reviews

Submitted by Jason Wilkerson (see all reviews from this person) on 8/26/2011

Where Purchased: from Fults

Overall Comments

The tailpiece is a work of art, but as far as improving the tone or harmonics, it had the opposite effect. The website assures the buyer that it will improve tone, it did not. It also assures the buyer that it eliminates retuning issues when changing to an alternate tuning, because it holds the tailpiece in place as one string is tuned. This also did not happen. When I contacted Bob, he would not take the tailpiece in return. The website does not mention either way if returns are allowable. There's a reason why there's always 3-5 Fults tailpieces for sale on the hangout classifieds. I give it '5' just because it's well-made.

Overall Rating: 5

Submitted by greenbriar (see all reviews from this person) on 10/16/2009

Where Purchased: used

Overall Comments

Best parts money that I have spent. It really helped tone on a very good banjo. I was very surprised at the increased clearity and volume from the tailpiece. It came with a Presto, I tried a Kershner. Both were fine. The Fults to my ear, has moved my Sullivan custom banjo with a historic rim into a whole different bracket as far as tone and volume.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by OSCAR82AA (see all reviews from this person) on 5/9/2009

Where Purchased: Direct from Bob Fults

Overall Comments

Very good tailpiece , really helped my 1987 Earl Scruggs Standard.
I have to admit it took awhile to get things set up right but now this banjo sounds sweet!
Nice workmanship and Bob Fults is very easy to talk to and answer all questions.
I am glad I went for it now.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by banjo-oz (see all reviews from this person) on 1/27/2008

Where Purchased: Fults, on line purchase

Overall Comments

banjo-oz
I own an Ibanez Artist banjo circa 1974. I spent a fair amount of time trying to brighten it up and gain more volume. After fitting a clear head, setting up neck etc, fiting new strings and using the best advice I could gain from articles etc it improved somewhat then the Ibanez tailpiece broke. I liked the look of the Fults 1934/presto tailpiece sent for one and fitted it. WELL what an instant difference crisp clear volume like I had not had before. I would now suggest after visiting local music stores that the Ibanaz (Japan produced) gold plated artist (a mastertone copy) with the fults and set up properly would hold it own against some of the better American brands. I might add that Fults are great to deal with very patient and helpful.

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by randyblair (see all reviews from this person) on 1/26/2008

Where Purchased: Online at Fults Banjo Tailpieces

Overall Comments

This is a fantastic tailpiece. I installed it on my 1975 Gibson RB100 and it made a huge difference! The notes ALL ring clear as a bell (up and down the neck) and there is plenty of volume and low end growl as well. I can't believe how good this banjo sounds now. I highly recomend this tailpiece...my banjo is a pure joy to play. I thought that this banjo sounded pretty good since I put a Bart Veerman bridge on it but the fults took it to a whole other level...all I can say is wow and thank you to Bob Fults!!! This tailpiece was well worth the money spent. I purchased it on the weekend and it was in my mailbox the following Friday which is pretty fast considering I live in Canada.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by dogsplus2 (see all reviews from this person) on 1/12/2008

Where Purchased: www.banjotailpiece.com (Bob Fults)

Overall Comments

I've been looking to upgrade to a quality tailpiece for a while, and it was a toss up between the standard presto or the parallel, but I liked the idea of even pressure on the strings etc so went for the parallel (straight line).

This is a serious piece of quality kit, it is extremely well made (I doff my cap to you Bob) and is solid.

The Mounting system is great, it really holds the TP in place well with no movement, and a large degree of adjustment is available for the string angle.

One slight draw back is that for some, the size of the mounting system makes fitting your strap difficult. That said, with a bit of thought, my strap fitted perfectly, and the TP is well worth the effort.

It gives a great clarity to my notes, and all strings sound even in volume. I've had clamshell and a kershner type TP's before, and this well and truly knocks them out the park. It oozes quality, and although noticeably more expensive than some others, you can see why once it is fitted.

I'll never change this TP again.

Update 23/5/08: This TP is still going strong - I absolutely love it, the aadjustability is fantastic. Bob Fults is also great, I was over eager in tightening (completely my fault too - I have hammers for hands) and broke a bit, Bob sorted me out and never even asked for payment. Thouroughly recommended.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Dan-O (see all reviews from this person) on 1/1/2008

Where Purchased: Bob Fults

Overall Comments

I chose the new parallel model over the regular 1934 tailpiece for several reasons. I wanted to replace the four-hump tailpiece on my banjo with a presto style, and this tailpiece offers the presto sound along with the sound advantages of a straightline piece. It's a solid tailpiece, mounts easily, and is adjustable. When properly adjusted for my banjo setup it offers plenty of bark, with lots of mid-range tones, and enough 4th string to make me happy.

I've done a few nice mods to my 1976 RB250: I replaced the multi-ply rim with a maple cox, the light tone ring with a Stull #4.I had it set up by Arthur Hatfield, including one of his compensating bridges. It sounded really good, but the Fults tailpiece really adds to the sound...it really kind of rounds it out...I couldn't be happier.

Bob Fults is great to work with. I accidently cross-threaded one of the mounting screws the day I got the tailpiece. I sent it back for repair, and within a week, I had it back, good as new, along with a couple of modified tension hooks for easier mounting...all at no charge. Mr. Fults is responsive, helpful, and just a real nice guy.

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.078125