Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

656
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

7071 reviews in the archive.

Tuners  Cheat-a-keys Banjo Part/Accessory Reviews

Submitted by Clawhamr (see all reviews from this person) on 7/11/2018

Where Purchased: Banjo.com

Overall Comments

I've used Keith D-tuners since they first came out; I was handed my first set by Bill himself. While I appreciate the design goal of having an unobtrusive and elegant way to "scruggsify" one's banjo, I've always felt that the amount of adjustment needed (after choking a string, after changing a string, after looking cross-eyed at a string) was annoying in performance situations. I've never had a set of cam-operated Scruggs tuners on my banjo before, so I did some research and found the MDT tuners and the Cheat-A-Keys. Reading up thoroughly on both, I opted to send for a set of Cheat-A-Keys. They arrived thirty minutes ago, and were installed on my '63 RB-250 flathead and operating perfectly five minutes later. The ease of installation, combined with the ease of adjustment and maintenance make these D-tuners the clear choice for me. They are beautifully made of high quality materials and will certainly outlive me (I AM seventy-one...). Highly recommended

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by pastorharry (see all reviews from this person) on 9/7/2016

Where Purchased: Kitty Mcintyre

Overall Comments

After inheriting another banjo that already had these tuners added, I had to have a pair for my old Gibson RB-100. 10 minutes to install, 5 more minutes to dial in and they're set. They work, they're cool, I love 'em !! Kitty was great to deal with...just google Cheat-a -Keys and give her a call. Aloha, PH

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by impickin5 (see all reviews from this person) on 3/10/2015

Where Purchased: Used from a HO member

Overall Comments

Actually this is the 3rd set of Cheat-a-keys I've owned. With the two previous sets, I just could never get used to the fact that both tuners had to be turned in the same direction to tune up or down as I was used to Keith's and Schaller's turning in opposite directions, so I sold them. Then, with this 3rd set, it just dawned on my old brain "DUH", just look at what position the tuner buttons are in before tuning up or down, something you really can't tell with the Keith's and Schaller's tuner buttons. Highly recommended. 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by stringplayer07 (see all reviews from this person) on 3/2/2009

Where Purchased: banjoteacher.com

Overall Comments

I think that the cheat-a-keys d-tuners are great because I dont like to fiddle with the scuggs kieth tuners on stage every time I have to tune, with the cheat-a-keys I can set them once and tune when I need to and they will still be set.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by plunka5 (see all reviews from this person) on 2/5/2009

Where Purchased: used from a bho memeber

Overall Comments

I thought the tuners would take a longer period of time to get used to them turning in the same direction to de-tune. I was wrong, in a short period of time I have learned to work the tuners smoothly and efficiently. They sound great, and I can re-string without re-setting the tuners! The only thing I think I would change is the tuner pegs...I don't know if you can mount the grained ivoroid buttons...but I going to try! Great product and great price!!!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by deering-dan (see all reviews from this person) on 1/29/2009

Where Purchased: Direct from Dave Brown

Overall Comments

After talking to some of the artist using and performing with Cheat-a-keys on their banjos, I was convinced that I wanted to try a set on my banjo. I had previously owned and tried several different types of tuners manufacturers down through the years . Needless to say I wasn't pleased with any of them, nor did I feel confident enough to perform using them (there was a lot of tuning problems, just couldn't get them stable). After installing the Cheat-a Keys (which by the way was very easy to install and set up) I'm very pleased with them, and for the fact that it doesn't interfere with the tuning process of your banjo(since the tuner device is independent of you tuning keys and you don't have to drill holes in the banjo headstock). I highly recommend this D tuner, because they work very well and once you initially tweak them, their plug and play. This product gets a AAAA++++ from me.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Granadakid (see all reviews from this person) on 6/5/2008

Where Purchased:

Overall Comments

Have been playing with Dave Brown's Cheat-a-Keys for about a year now. They are wonderful. They went through a small "break-in" period though but his Cheat -a-keys are great!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by PaulKirby (see all reviews from this person) on 12/27/2007

Where Purchased: Janet Davis

Overall Comments

Love the Cheat-a-keys! It went on in 5 minutes, was super easy to tune, and it works like it's supposed to. Love it.

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.09375