Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

503
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

7063 reviews in the archive.

Harold Streeter Teacher Reviews

Submitted by single malt (see all reviews from this person) on 2/29/2008

Overall Comments

I learned more in one month (Beginner'^s Banjo Course) than in the first three years by myself. As in Europe there are almost no teachers , Harold was the best choice I could have.
The arrangements are very demanding but the course guarantees banjo proficiency very quickly.
On the top, Harold is extremely friendly.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by tgospodnetich (see all reviews from this person) on 2/4/2008

Overall Comments

Harold Streeter has an extraordinary gift for teaching banjo, guitar and mandolin. He individualizes his instruction to suit each student in private lessons and group sessions. Harold eases the learner into the driver's seat and provides guidance toward the student's objectives. A gentle coach with a big heart and delightful humor, Harold recognizes and applauds his student's accomplishments. With his vast and varied collection of graduated tab arrangements, he helps his students to develop as independent learners. For students who live outside the North Idaho area, get in touch with Harold at www. lewalt.com.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Majkaj (see all reviews from this person) on 12/22/2007

Overall Comments

Harold Streeter is one of those rare musicians who can, at the highest level, both play AND teach. I have been fortunate to have taken banjo lessons from Harold. He has always been patient yet gently urging me to improve my playing abilities. He seems to know when to teach theory and when to show you technique. If you are in Northern Idaho/Eastern Washington, lessons with Harold would be time well spent. I have also taken, and recommend, Harold's Beginner Banjo Course ( http://www.lewalt.com/bluegrass_beg.html ).

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by jmlhm (see all reviews from this person) on 12/18/2007

Overall Comments

For years I struggled, trying to teach myself how to play guitar based on lessons I took many years ago. I finally decided to take lessons again and I asked someone at a local music store if they could recommend someone. They highly recommended Harold. I don't know if it was luck or providence, but, Harold and I attend the same Church. So, I met him and was able to start lessons. From the first visit, he made learning so easy. All the tricks and techniques he taught me made me a better player in a very short time. His patience, encouragement, and skill made lessons very enjoyable. Harold has a wealth of musical knowledge and skill and can help anyone improve their playing, no matter what their level of talent, beginner or expert.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Mitch Finley (see all reviews from this person) on 12/13/2007

Overall Comments

The other reviewers have about said it all, but as one who has been learning from Harold for about five years now I will say this: If you're within driving distance of Harold Streeter, and you want to take banjo, guitar, or mandolin lessons from someone who is not only a master at playing these instruments but who knows how to really and truly help others learn, too, then you can't do better than Harold Streeter. Period.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by C Wylie (see all reviews from this person) on 11/24/2007

Overall Comments

Harold is the best music instructor I've ever had. He's also a fantastic performer. My first introduction to Harold was watching him play for a cowboy supper club called "The Rockin' B Ranch" and I remember being awed by his talent. When I found out that he gave private lessons I was excited as well as pretty nervous, but from my first lesson he made me feel comfortable and at ease. I started taking guitar lessons from him in 2004 and in 2006 decided to try the banjo. Since then I've been juggling both instruments and having so much fun! I've left every lesson feeling encouraged and motivated to continue on my journey toward becoming a better musician. In 2005 I joined the New Horizons Bluegrass Band of which Harold is the instructor. In this group I've grown in confidence to play with and in front of others. Through Harold's encouragement and instruction I'm learning to play at a level that I'd never dreamed would be possible.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by ljnewby (see all reviews from this person) on 11/23/2007

Overall Comments

When I first got my banjo as a Christmas present in 2006, I knew I needed lessons to play it properly. I was told that Harold was the best and if I had the opportunity to take lessons from him I should. From the first lesson I knew I had made the right decision. He made me feel right at home, and his friendly manner make the lessons something to look forward to. Although I have only been taking lessons for less than a year, I believe I have learned so much more than I would have from most other teachers, and certainly more than I could have on my own. He doesn’t just teach “what” to play, he teaches “how” and “why”. I intend to take lessons from Harold as long as I can, and I would whole-heartedly recommend him to anyone who is looking for a good instructor.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Joe Beckett (see all reviews from this person) on 11/21/2007

Overall Comments

Up here in the Inland Empire most students looking for the best end up with Harold. He is an accomplished musician in his own right. However he has demonstrated time and again his devotion to helping others develop and learn. If it isn't private lessons, it's his role in developing the New Horizons Bluegrass Band, a venue to develop the skills to play with others and perform. Despite the Jimmie Carter voice, and his lack of flashy DVD's ( a reference to comments in Banjo Hangout on his Banjo II Course}, this man puts his pants on one leg at a time. I've seen the stick figured directions on his wall at home.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Pete Clemens (see all reviews from this person) on 11/21/2007

Overall Comments

First let me say something about myself which should hit home with many others who want to learn an instrument and have had difficulty making that first call to talk with an instructor. Nobody and I mean nobody struggled with the anxiety of making that first call more than I did. Boy was I lucky when Harold answered his phone and within two minutes I was at ease and knew right then he was my new Banjo teacher. I was very comfortable from the very first which is a skill Harold has developed from 40 years of teaching and playing at a professional level. You might want to check out his complete Biography at his web site to get a better understanding of this mans life work. I was priviledged to take private Banjo lessons for two years and continue now with his Banjo II course. Upon completion I will return for additional lessons to an advanced rating. If your reading this review with a serious interest in learning the Banjo, Guitar, Mandolin or Dobro then Harold Streeter is someone you need to talk with. He has changed my life in many ways and I will be eternally grateful.

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.09375