Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

228
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

6909 reviews in the archive.

Banjo.com Music Store Reviews

Submitted by banjoec (see all reviews from this person) on 12/26/2019

Overall Comments

A banjo should fit a case without room to knock around inside the case. I was very pleased with the banjo but not the fit of the case. Now I take some of the blame because I ordered the case thinking a Gaurdian case for a resonator banjo should fit a Goodtime 2. But it didn't. There was only 1 neck support, not 2 as in better fitting cases. The neck and headstock had room to move from side to side knocking the tuners against the side of the case. Every time you picked up the case you heard a clunk. 

I give only a 5 rating because of the lack of effort to correct this. It was expected I pay $30 shipping for both the return of the case and another $30 shipping on its replacement. $60 shipping on an $80 case. I just kept the case, donated it to my local music store who has banjo students and ordered another case from another dealer who offers free shipping.

 

Overall Rating: 5

Submitted by Banjonewguy (see all reviews from this person) on 12/16/2019

Overall Comments

I ordered a Recording King RK-35 from Banjo.com a couple of weeks ago. The site says that they ship all banjos Priority Express, but mine was shipped UPS ground. The banjo was in a hard case and the case was well packed in the shipping box.
The site also says that they set up every banjo prior to shipping so it's ready to play right out of the box. When I got mine it had an annoying ringing/tinny sound when the 1st string was played. I've only been playing a couple of months and really don't know what to look for, but when I checked the bridge it was a bit off and I had to adjust it to get the harmonics right over the 12th fret. I also found that two of the resonator screws were loose, no big deal. The ringing was still there so I took the resonator off to check out the other hardware. One of the retaining nuts on the upper coordinator rod was loose enough to spin with a finger and the tailpiece retaining nut was so loose I could tighten it with my fingers. This doesn't scream professional set-up prior to shipping.
The ringing is a little better but it still sounds tinny so I'm going to take it and have someone look it over and make sure it's set up properly.
The Good: They had a good price on the banjo, installed railroad spikes and gave me a case and starter pack.
The Bad: The reality of shipping and set-up didn't match up with the promises on the site.

Overall Rating: 5

Submitted by Robbie McKee (see all reviews from this person) on 7/21/2019

Overall Comments

I won’t go into all the details. But the biggest issues here are the fact that customer service, at least communication wise isn’t there. I had to contact them for everything there was never no updates or anything close to it and when I finally got information it was not very quick and like I said I had to go out of my way to get any info. With that being said all the communication with banjo.com was polite and curtious. I just think there needs to be some work done on the business end and the customer service. The other thing that bothered me is the site wasn’t up to date so a banjo that said was in stock ended not being in stock and I understand that at that point I don’t have to place the order but I do wish the site would have been updated a little more diligently. Again very nice people but no communication that wasnt forced on my part.

Overall Rating: 4

Submitted by DENNISNDODIE (see all reviews from this person) on 6/5/2015

Overall Comments

I've bought a couple banjos from banjo.com my experience has been good except an issue with a kershner tailpiece, which I understand is due to the dock strike/ ships from China not being unloaded. I also know that after 5 months there competitors have gotten there shipments in and Im still waiting.

Overall Rating: 7

Submitted by billowens (see all reviews from this person) on 5/19/2015

Overall Comments

I bought a Deering deluxe banjo a couple of months ago from banjo.com and was completely impressed with these guys. Stephen was not only very helpful but was great guy to talk to. I am completely happy with my purchase and the experience I had with banjo.com.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by billowens (see all reviews from this person) on 5/19/2015

Overall Comments

I bought a Deering deluxe banjo a couple of months ago from banjo.com and was completely impressed with these guys. Stephen was not only very helpful but was great guy to talk to. I am completely happy with my purchase and the experience I had with banjo.com.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by mandomee (see all reviews from this person) on 3/17/2015

Overall Comments

These people are people are wonderful to deal with, I have made several purchases big and small and they have been very quick to ship. Have spoken many times on the phone with them and they have freely and patiently answered all my questions. They are real honest and down to earth people and it is a pleasure doing business with them.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Loud_Inn (see all reviews from this person) on 7/23/2014

Overall Comments

The customer service at banjo.com is stellar. I recently ordered a banjo and wanted to request spikes in the 7th and 9th fret but forgot to do so at checkout. I immediately sent them an email requesting the spikes, in less than 24 hours I received an email from Mark stating that they added the spikes and the order had shipped. They made an internet purchase personal, like visiting your local shop. I highly recommend this vendor and will do businesses with them in the future.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Ragtimejoe (see all reviews from this person) on 6/28/2014

Overall Comments

I ordered a Dogwood Designs banjo strap on line on Thursday and had it on Friday. That's customer service. I know they can't control the Post Office but it does indicate how quickly the get an order out the door.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by SinisterFingers (see all reviews from this person) on 2/20/2014

Overall Comments

Placed an order and it was still listed as pending after 20 days, so I sent an email late at night inquiring whether there were any issues. Received a call the very next morning. The holdup was due to some strings I had ordered which were expected in the shop but didn't arrive. They recommended a switch to another brand of string and threw in an extra set for the wait.  I wasn't about to extend my wait for a $4 set of strings, so I accepted their gracious suggestion and extra strings. Within a couple hours I received an email "order shipped" notice with the tracking number. Great customer service save by Banjo.com and I would be a repeat customer based on this interaction.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by xinunix (see all reviews from this person) on 12/11/2012

Overall Comments

Recently ordered my first banjo (Recording King RK-35) from Banjo.com. I decided to use Banjo.com based on the stellar reviews from the members of BanjoHangout.org. Had a minor issue with my initial shipment, contacted their support and Mark Bramlett immediately reached out to me directly and worked with me to resolve the issue. Based on the outstanding customer service and support I highly recommend Banjo.com to any newbie like me that is looking for a trusted source to make their first purchase.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by RCordell (see all reviews from this person) on 12/5/2012

Overall Comments

I am fortunate to live within driving distance of their store. They are as nice in person - even better I think - as they are on the phone. Super helpful. I'd have to stay up late thinking and lie like a rug to say anything bad about them.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by kb2dhg (see all reviews from this person) on 11/5/2012

Overall Comments

I have dealth with several on line music shops BUT the one that has served me the VERY BEST is Banjo.com. I purchased my Banjo from them and was very happy with their service. I just recetly purchased an accessory item from them and there was a problem with the product when received. Banjo.com was GERAT in resolving the problem FASTand helped me with great professional service. From now on I shall only use BANJO.COM for all my Musical needs! THANK YOU John Drummond

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by thisoldman (see all reviews from this person) on 5/15/2012

Overall Comments

Emailed Wednesday morning to see if the banjo I wanted was in stock. Got an email later that morning saying it was. Made the buy Wednesday evening. Banjo was in the mail Thursday afternoon and arrived in the Midwest by Monday. Banjo set up nicely and took only a few minutes to tune up. Fair price, great communication, great service. I''m a happy customer.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by banjobeat63 (see all reviews from this person) on 2/21/2012

Overall Comments

An order is not received in full by me! Mark Bramlett has adopted the cause and in a short time I received the rest of my order!
I can "Banjo.com" for purchasing highly recommend!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by MrHoney (see all reviews from this person) on 1/22/2012

Overall Comments

I bought online on Christmas Eve, 2011 and had to wait a couple days to talk to them, however, we kept in contact thru email. Once everyone was back to work they gave me a call and talked about the banjo (turns out he owned the banjo I was buying) and asked about the RR spikes I wanted installed. Gave me (a beginner) practical info and suggestions. Really nice people, felt good buying for them. My banjo came with a case and in a box. No damage, no fuss. Georgia to Alberta (that's far!) Good experience.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by jmoliver (see all reviews from this person) on 12/27/2011

Overall Comments

Absolutely the best experience I have ever had in selecting and purchasing a new instrument! Took all the time I needed to have questions answered ... patient with my "Him-Hawing" around. Their interest was solely on me being satisfied with my purchase and not trying to just sell me an instrument. Refreshing! Kept me informed of the status of delivery, set up of my new Sullivan V35 Maple was done exactly as I specified. Mark (General Manager) was great to deal with and helped me place a value on the Gibson RB250 I'm selling.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by kb2dhg (see all reviews from this person) on 1/26/2011

Overall Comments

Great people to deal with. Very patcent with the tons of question and emails I sent for weeks before I made my purchase. Great communication and assistance. Set up my Banjo and shipped it out fast. John was very helpful in directing me to the right Banjo for my needs...

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by kb2dhg (see all reviews from this person) on 1/26/2011

Overall Comments

Great people to deal with. Very patcent with the tons of question and emails I sent for weeks before I made my purchase. Great communication and assistance. Set up my Banjo and shipped it out fast. John was very helpful in directing me to the right Banjo for my needs...

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by walkingblues (see all reviews from this person) on 7/29/2010

Overall Comments

Ordered a Morgan Monroe Cascade on Monday; received it set up and ready to go on Thursday. From Georgia to NY. These guys are helpful, honest, and have great prices. Use them.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by cm1266 (see all reviews from this person) on 12/22/2008

Overall Comments

Super good people! John and Barry are down to earth and honest. Ive found them to be very helpfull when making a purchase! I love my new banjo! It couldnt have been set up any better!! Thanks John and Barry!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Log Cabin (see all reviews from this person) on 6/11/2008

Overall Comments

We have only good things to say about Banjo.com and all the folks that work there. We have purchased several instruments from them this year.

The man that highly recommended Banjo.com to us had only purchased through the Internet and he said they were the best.

John, Tom, Barry and Jim "Duck" and all the gang have made our introduction to Bluegrass a fun road to travel. We love to come to the Tuesday night Bluegrass pickin' when possible.

We love the friendly, down-home feel of the store. Everyone has been so helpful to us. We travel over 60 miles to shop at BANJO.COM and it is well worth the drive (even with the high price of gas).

We've visited other stores, but to us Banjo.com is #1 in service and quality.


Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Geno7 (see all reviews from this person) on 2/28/2008

Overall Comments

The best vendor I have ever dealt with. Extremely great customer service!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by jhandsfield (see all reviews from this person) on 1/5/2008

Overall Comments

Nothing but great. I purchased my Deering Vega Long Neck in September (or was it October?) when I visited the old location in the industrial park. I visited both the old location and now the mall store twice. The latest visit (today - January 5) I settled with John for the consignment sale of my Gibson RB 250.

I have little doubt that banjo.com will be the retailer I use from now on. Excellent prices, sales people who know their stuff, and absolute integrity.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Alex1757 (see all reviews from this person) on 12/14/2007

Overall Comments

John was very helpful and took care of the minor problems I was having. I can't wait to visit the store next time Im in ATL. I highly recommend shopping with banjo.com.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by YankeePicker (see all reviews from this person) on 10/18/2007

Overall Comments

Great and fast service. Always been happy with them.

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.0625