Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

302
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

6910 reviews in the archive.

Banjo Teacher.Com Music Store Reviews

Submitted by salmoneer (see all reviews from this person) on 9/4/2019

Overall Comments

My purchase of a Rk 76 Elite

I bought a RK 76 from Ross Nickerson at Banjoteacher.com I cannot recommend Ross and Banjoteaher highly enough.  First  off Ross spent sometime with me on the phone talking about Banjos,  what kind of player I was etc,  instead of just talking my order. As a result I have the banjo I wanted, set up the way I wanted it ! My banjo arrived in Excellant condition And after tuning it was completely playable right out the case. I have had it almost 2 weeks now and as it settles it sound better and better to me everyday. The experience of buying from Banjo Teacher.com was also Excellant I was keep informed by email as to when it shipped etc. I can’t say enough good things about my Rk76 and Banjo Teacher.com If anybody reading this is thinking of purchasing a banjo give Ross a call. You won’t disappointed ! 

 

Recommended to buy: Yes

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by HodjePodje (see all reviews from this person) on 6/25/2019

Overall Comments

I highly recommend Ross Nickerson and BanjoTeacher.com! He has been super helpful! I work at Renaissaince Faires and the Gold Tone banjola uniquely fits into that world, letting me play my banjo 200 years out of time.  I have a Pat Cloud edition banjola (pickups a must) and after 9 years of playing it's getting a bit worn. A couple of weeks back I noticed on the Gold Tone website that the Pat Cloud Banjola had been discontinued so I called Ross to see if he could help. Not only did he call Gold Tone and find me a banjola tucked back in a warehouse somewhere, he also helped me get Gold Tone to customize it in several ways for me there at their shop. The best part? Three days!!! I expected to wait at least a week with the extras I had asked for. Three days later it arrived at my door. It is pristine, beautiful, and every bell and whistle I asked for is there, professionally installed. This is the third banjola that I've gotten from Ross and the service has been excellent every time. This time though, i felt he really went above and beyond to help me get exactly the instrument that I needed at a fraction of what i thought all the customizations would cost. And so fast! Thank you so much Ross! It has been an absolute pleasure to work with you!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Kevin B (see all reviews from this person) on 2/4/2016

Overall Comments

Ordered the Snark SN8 and JT's Pix Tuner Bracket combo from Banjo Teacher.com.  I couldn't be happier.  Fast service, competitive price.  I would shop here in a heart beat.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by jvilenski (see all reviews from this person) on 1/1/2016

Overall Comments

Ross' service is terrific.  He answered all of my questions promptly and clearly.  Once I placed my order (Gold Tone OB 250) everything arrived as promised. It included customizations (rail road spikes and zero glide nut).

In addition, I ordered a couple of additional items (a wooden arm wrest and a custom leather strap). Both are perfect. With the order, he throws in a handful of banjo DVDs. I can't wait to try them.  

Great price and service. I would absolutely recommend banjoteacher.com for future purchases. 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by bradsea (see all reviews from this person) on 4/8/2014

Overall Comments

I just received the RK-R36 Madison that I purchased via Banjoteacher.com. Ross was great to work with during this process. I was most impressed with how quickly he responded to my questions via email and returned my phone calls. I was equally impressed with the set-up work done by Mike Munford! The banjo came out of the case ready to play and sounding great.


 

I will definitely be making future purchases here!

 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Ragtimejoe (see all reviews from this person) on 3/20/2014

Overall Comments

I purchased a Gold Tone White Lady OT banjo through Ross. I spoke with him on the phone because I was using 2 different credit cards to pay. The transaction was very smooth. The banjo arrived within a week in perfect condition.

Thank you Ross

 

 

 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Randypresley (see all reviews from this person) on 3/7/2014

Overall Comments

Ross was extremely helpful and great to do business with.

I purchased a Gold Tone BC350+ from him with railroad spikes and Zero Glide installed.

The banjo shipped earlier than promised and arrived set up and ready to play.

In all ways it was a pleasant buying experience and I highly recommend him if you are considering anything he may be selling.

He'll give you a square deal.

I will be a repeat customer and he will be my go to source.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Hudson (see all reviews from this person) on 8/7/2013

Overall Comments

Ross Nickerson has a first class business.His product knowledge and service is without equal.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by fumblefingers4me (see all reviews from this person) on 6/27/2013

Overall Comments

Ross,

I just received my Gold Tone BC120. Your help in deciding which extras to include was invaluable. I did not have an opportunity to "test drive" the BC120 before purchase. I must tell you that I am totally impressed with the tone and playability of this beautiful banjo.

I called Gold Tone to get some additional information and they acknowledged their confidence in your site as a trustworthy and informative source. After dealing with them and you I must totally agree. I've invested in other instruments in this price range in the past but I have never been as impressed with the quality and value I experienced with the purchase of this Gold Tone banjo. If anyone asks me I will recommend Banjoteacher.com as a valuable information and purchasing source. Thanks for your help.

Bob

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by MattyB26 (see all reviews from this person) on 4/23/2013

Overall Comments

Ordered an ABS pickup to be delivered to my hotel while on holiday from UK in Florida. Only had a few days for order to be delivered before my return home and was unsure if it would arrive in time so I made contact with them before placing. Ross and Kathy were extremely helpful in advising and arranging a prompt delivery of my order. Placed Saturday morning, arrived Monday morning.
Great, personable service and a pleasure to deal with. Do not hesitate to buy from these guys.



Matty W

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by dcraft (see all reviews from this person) on 10/24/2012

Overall Comments

Very nice people to work with. Professional in every way.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Paranoia In B Flat Major (see all reviews from this person) on 12/16/2011

Overall Comments

Very fast service! Emailed questions are answered almost instantly! I highly recommend!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by bgdc11 (see all reviews from this person) on 8/26/2011

Overall Comments

I've purchased a number of books and DVDs from Ross. Not only is the quality of his products outstanding, but customer service is top notch. Emails are returned within a few hours, if not sooner - sometimes by Ross himself. I've never bought a banjo from him but I would imagine that the experience would be equally good.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by AlpacaLips (see all reviews from this person) on 8/24/2011

Overall Comments

Ross Nickerson offers great packages at unbeatable prices. There were a few defects with my banjo, about which he was very apologetic and worked to resolve. Only because of his efforts did I get satisfaction from Gold Tone, who didn't seem interested in making sure I was a satisfied customer. I will happily order from http://www.banjoteacher.com again if he carries brands other than Gold Tone.

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by drefoss (see all reviews from this person) on 2/24/2011

Overall Comments

Ordered my banjo through Ross at The Banjo Teacher.com, excellent service and response time to phone calls or emails beats all other sites hands down. Very friendly to deal with just like an old friend your talking to, he cares about his customers to respond so quickly, plus the little extras you get when you order through him is great, would definately recommend him to everyone.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by walkingblues (see all reviews from this person) on 7/27/2010

Overall Comments

Ordered a banjo from Ross @ BanjoTeacher.com, and he phoned the next day that it was out of stock. He offered alternatives and advice (as well as great prices). Incredible service and attention. He didn't have the banjo I wanted, but WOW, this guy is good. Use him.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by pinenut (see all reviews from this person) on 1/2/2008

Overall Comments

Ross Nickerson is very helpful and cares about what he does and sells. Shipping was fast. Ordering easy.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by TONUP (see all reviews from this person) on 10/16/2007

Overall Comments

Purchased Banjola from this company and was very impressed with the high level of care and attention taken in responding to my email enquiries.
Instrument arrived (US to UK) in perfect condition, with free gift arriving shortly afterwards.

Superb service. Very Highly Recommended!!

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.09375