Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

354
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

6910 reviews in the archive.

First Quality Music Supply Music Store Reviews

Submitted by Bigger Al (see all reviews from this person) on 2/24/2017

Overall Comments

Well, I almost feel guilty writing this review after looking at all the others here, but, I purchased a roasted maple bridge from them on 2/16.  After not hearing from them in a couple of days after placing the order I sent an email requesting to know when they expected to ship.  No response for two days so sent another.  No response again.  Called, and whoever answered the phone got nasty after I said that no one responds to emails and said "I've got them right here, you only sent two, I'm busy."  I would expect that woman to respond after the first email, not collect them and not reply to them.  That was on 2/22.  After being told it would ship that day (which at this point was only because I was interrupting her busy work schedule), I hung up after thanking her and telling her "that's all I wanted to know in the first place."  Well, it's now 2/24 and the item has finally found its' way to the PO in Louisville.  Well, I guess next time around, I'll just have to be too "busy" to waste my time with FQMS.

Overall Rating: 3

Submitted by cecil36 (see all reviews from this person) on 11/1/2011

Overall Comments

Ordered Janet Davis Back-Up Banjo from First Quality cost of book and shipping less than cost of book at Janet Davis Music Price, and two days later it was at my frount door. Great people

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by 7M4 (see all reviews from this person) on 10/23/2011

Overall Comments

I refuse to shop anywhere else. If they don't have it, I'm not buying it. I called the other day to place an order and was remembered by name, type of banjo I have, etc. GREAT PEOPLE!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by billcopeland (see all reviews from this person) on 11/2/2009

Overall Comments

Hi my name is Billy Copeland i get all my music needs throw First Quality Music.I just got the best sounding banjo and the first of it's kind a Vintage 35 Sullivan banjo an man there a great banjo.You will find a great buch of people at First Quality Music thats there to help in all your music needs.So stop in see them one more thing ask Jeff to take you to the show room and work shop it's a great walk throw.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by travisccook (see all reviews from this person) on 2/6/2009

Overall Comments

Couldn't be happier with my experiences at First Quality. JC, Murrel, Eric & Co. have always treated me right when I stop by. I'm a poor college student, and thusly can't exactly buy the Instruments I'd love to have, but the first time I walked in JC sat me down in 'The Vault' and let me play the guitar of my dreams. Thats just the tip of the iceburg in the friendly nature and amazing service offered by First Quality. I'm now the proud owner of an RK-80 purchased from First Quality (Name is on the wall in what I call the 'Martin Room'), with all intentions of making my future Instrument purchases there. Murrel's setup of my RK-80 was excellent, and since I was just starting to learn banjo he helped me pick through what I needed. 5th string spikes were installed, and Cory helped me resolve a string buzz issue on my guitar while I was pondering my Banjo purchase.

Trust me when I say that you just can't go wrong with stopping by First Quality. I was blessed enough to have visited before the death of Bill Sullivan, the store's founder, and it's obvious to me that his legacy lives on with the fine folks at FQMS.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by sangrej (see all reviews from this person) on 1/19/2009

Overall Comments

The following is an excerpt from my post on Banjo Hangout about First Quality Music Service on Trade Port Road in Louisville, KY.

I bought a hardshell case from Bill Sullivan in 1997 when the shop was still in their basement; then in 2006 I bought a Sullivan Festival Deluxe Banjo. I'm just a "bum" banjo picker who picks well in my garage but doesn't play out all that often and doesn't earn a dime doing it. I mean, I'm not a pro but I can recognize quality workmanship and customer service. Vitually no one would recognize me or know my name as a banjo-picker. Nevertheless, Murrell, JC, Jeff, Eric, et al, treat me like JD Crowe when I walk into the place. They always call me by name, whether on the phone or in person, and I always receive the (standard) FQMS white-gloves treatment. The last time I was there, Eric brought me back to the shop, worked on my banjo for 45 minutes; and didn't charge me a cent. The mail order service is outstanding, and although occasionally things have been back-ordered, I generally get merchandise I buy online within 2-3 business days. I could go on and on, but I think you get the drift.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Joe Larson (see all reviews from this person) on 1/15/2009

Overall Comments

I've been dealing with First Quality since the 70s, when I don't even think it was called First Quality. Bill was running it out of his house. I was upgrading an Alvarez and he was selling parts and he couldn't have been more helpful.

I haven't been back since he passed but I'm sure I could walk in and get the same great service and attitude that has always been part of this terrific family business.

Well, since I wrote that one of my band mates had a not so great experience with FQMS. He ordered strings and a tuner on the internet and didn't hear from them for a couple of weeks. When he called they said "Oh we had to back ordered that tuner" They never bothered to call or apologize for the delay. He told them to forget the order. I don't think that would have happened when Bill was a alive.
j

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by jeremy blankenship (see all reviews from this person) on 1/15/2009

Overall Comments

I have been active in a forum about how FQMS has changed since bill's passing. I think that they are as good now as ever. I have been ordering from FQMS since I was a teenager, and have never had more than great things to say about there service. All my strings and accessories for the most part come from FQMS. Abosultely top notch all the time. Easy ordering, fair prices and great service. Thats a hard thing to find now a days. If theres any problems eric and jeff try very hard to make it right. I reccomend FQMS all the time. No better in the business period!!!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by rgire (see all reviews from this person) on 1/2/2009

Overall Comments

I decided to drive 2 hours down to visit First Quality Music in Louisville today and was pleasantly surprised by what I found. The shop is divided into several "rooms". Some with guitars, some with mandolins, etc. I found the banjo room and sat down and began playing the 3 tunes I have learned recently. As I was walking around, one of the owners (believe it was jeff Sullivan) offered to show me around their shop. I saw where they repair and make banjos. That's right. They MAKE their own line of banjos, named after their late father. I got to try a few out and they sound great!

First quality know their way around a banjo. They make necks and tome rings for Gibson at the moment.

A great place with very friendly and helpful people!

try to visit if you can. They know how to help you.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Woolpersteve (see all reviews from this person) on 7/12/2008

Overall Comments

First Quality Music in Louisville , Ky continues to be the best for quality and customer satisfaction.They just re-fretted my Ome Gold Juggernaut and did a beautiful job.
The great tradition Bill Sullivan started continues on without fail.
I always look forward to a visit , which normally lasts a good half day once enter the front door. I feel like I live there as they allow me to roam anywhere and invite me to pick anything ( they have a Prototype 2 banjo which you need to play if you drop by)
Everyone there is helpful .If you cant drop by and need anything ,phone orders are processed before your phone receiver is cold.
I am lucky to live 80 miles up the road.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by txpick65 (see all reviews from this person) on 1/4/2008

Overall Comments

I recently had to return a bridge and Merle treated me absolutely fantastic. Took care of my exchange and received my new bridge in 2 days. Always the same great service with no hassels.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Kevin B (see all reviews from this person) on 10/14/2007

Overall Comments

I've dealt with FQMS since 1981. They have done repair and setup work on my banjo. I've bought many parts and an instrument from them. It really is "First Quality." I've never been disappointed with any aspect of this excellent company. Wonderful, helpful, friendly folks to deal with too.

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

8.007813E-02