Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

755
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

7071 reviews in the archive.

Bridges  Kateyz Banjo Part/Accessory Reviews

Submitted by PeterKSiegel (see all reviews from this person) on 8/1/2017

Where Purchased: Direct from Mike Smith

Overall Comments

I have purchased two KatEyz bridges from Mike Smith. They sound great and Mike is a pleasure to work with. Highly recommended. 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by kmwaters (see all reviews from this person) on 6/29/2011

Where Purchased: Janet Davis Music

Overall Comments

I put a Kateyz Prowler on my Gibson Scruggs and got better sound than the original equipment - just a generic Gibson lightweight that actually had a slant toward the frets. Just didn't deliver the way the Kateyz does.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by 72chevy (see all reviews from this person) on 5/2/2011

Where Purchased: Mike Smith direct

Overall Comments

got a select spice, ebony topped, 2.5g, standard spaced bridge in his original design from Mike. This is a great bridge. Better than all I have tried thus far on the banjo it rests on. HIGHLY recommend.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Tim-mater (see all reviews from this person) on 9/27/2008

Where Purchased: Janet Davis

Overall Comments

The buzz is gone!!! Woo Hooo! This is a great bridge for lower head tensions. Well constructed, and sounds terrific. The engineering is very good as well. I think they call it a "no-direct-route" approach (every string's path through wood to the head is interrupted by open air). I am impressed.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Medwin Bew (see all reviews from this person) on 6/29/2008

Where Purchased: Mike Smith

Overall Comments

After trying about 3 factory made bridges on my Gold Star GF100 I was a bit cynical about how much difference a decent bridge makes to my relatively untutored ear. Boy, couldn't have been more wrong. I bought an 11/16 regular ebony topped bridge from Mike because the current bridge was giving me some annoying string buzz. The Kateyz arrived in in a neat little plastic foam lined box all marked up with serial number and specs. Looked so good there it seemed a shame to take it out and use it. The craftmanship was obvious and the string slots crisp and clean which makes a real change. I then played a few tunes with the old bridge and repeated them again with Mike's. Absolute joy. No buzz. clear, richer tones from every string and even the 4th string (which had always seemed a little lacking something in my view) seemed to come alive. Fantastic. And the bridge looks really cool as well! Going to get another for my open back. This bridge was worth every penny and I have difficulty putting the banjo down now when I ought to be getting on with the chores cos I like the sound so much. Thanks Mike; if I could give the bridge 15/10 I would, but 10 will have to suffice.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by roy.carpenter (see all reviews from this person) on 6/2/2008

Where Purchased: Janet Davis

Overall Comments

I don't have a huge amount of experience, but I've bought a grover bridge, owned a goodtime bridge, made my own, and had two beefy factory bridges, one that came with my Fender FB 58. The Kateyz 3/5 Crowe spacing is the clearly the best in terms of volume and clarity up the neck. Strangely, the Fender factory is a close second, the difference being more in pronunciation way up the neck than in volume. If you're working with a grover or Goodtime or Washburn factory issue, the Kateyz will make a huge difference. Looks cool, too.

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by wilsonHSpkr (see all reviews from this person) on 5/22/2008

Where Purchased: JDMC

Overall Comments

A great bridge, any bridge you buy will sound better over your average stock bridge. Looks great, no buzzes, a fine piece of craftsmanship.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Leigh (see all reviews from this person) on 2/21/2008

Where Purchased: Direct From Kateyz

Overall Comments

This bridge and particularly the height, (9/16") made my GF-85 explode with both great tone and fantastic action. On the plus side, Mike is a good guy to boot. Easy to deal with.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by PaulKirby (see all reviews from this person) on 9/20/2007

Where Purchased: Direct from Mike Smith in Dawson, Illinois

Overall Comments

Fantastic roundness of sound combined with great 'crack'. Mike's customer service is outstanding. He is someone who has a great ear and is willing to take the time to bring out the optimal clarity and balance in any banjo.

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

6.054688E-02