Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

355
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

6910 reviews in the archive.

Janet Davis Music Music Store Reviews

Submitted by kris_rasnake (see all reviews from this person) on 8/17/2015

Overall Comments

I just wanted to take a minute to share what a great experience I had doing business with Robby Boone and the folks at Janet Davis Music this past week. What a top tier business; if you're looking to purchase an instrument I can't recommend them enough! They will treat you fair, promptly respond to any questions, and go out of their way to satisfy.

Thanks again to Robby, Jake & everyone at JDMC!

 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Glen5 (see all reviews from this person) on 1/12/2013

Overall Comments

Bought a Yates RS from jdm and had a wonderful experience. Tom went out of his way to make me comfortable with purchase and great set up. Packaging was great and condition of banjo accurate when arrived. Tom went extra mile by calling to see how I liked the Yates a couple days after I got it. Highly recommend and will buy again from them.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by thepowderriverfarrier (see all reviews from this person) on 11/14/2012

Overall Comments

Bought three banjos and one of them was from Janet Davis Music. They were the only ones within a reasonable distance that had a Deering Eagle II in stock and ready to ship. Other shops were out of them; were unprofessional; or, would only do an in store pickup. Apart from a problem with getting an email address correct the service was pleasant and helpful. Talking with the staff on the phone made things easier. The banjo arrrived well packed and cushioned with no blemmishes. All that was necessary was to tune it. To their credit the staff did respond quickly on a follow up email to them after the package arrived. No problem with the idea of doing business again with them.

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by donata5 (see all reviews from this person) on 1/30/2012

Overall Comments

The other reviews were correct. Janet Davis ignored my email also

Overall Rating: 4

Submitted by thomasyermack (see all reviews from this person) on 12/22/2011

Overall Comments

I just received my Deering Golden Era banjo from Janet Davis music. I can't put the thing down! It is beautiful and has a tone to match. Let me say though, when I ordered the instrument they went as far as to put Janet Davis herself on the phone with me. We spoke about how I would like the banjo to be set up. She even made suggestions for the setup and offered to include a better bridge that she uses on her own banjos. The attention to detail as well as the expressed concern about the set up really made me feel like I mattered to them. I would recommend this music store to anyone looking to purchase a high quality instrument. Thank you again to all at JDMC!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Poplarsap (see all reviews from this person) on 11/15/2011

Overall Comments

I ordered a Sullivan V-35 through the store and received excellent service through the process. Tom was fantastic about updating me on the status of the banjo and notifying me of any date changes that occured and did a great job setting up the banjo. The order was well packed ensuring it made it to me without any issues.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Tcross (see all reviews from this person) on 7/14/2010

Overall Comments

I ordered the new Gold Tone Clip on tuner on line from JDM. I was trying to order it from Gold tone directly but I work with the U.S. Air Force in Germany and their site doesn’t allow for APO address to be entered. I have ordered from JDM before and they have always provided great service. The folks at JDM didn’t let me down, I got my order in less than a week, I don’t even get letters from the States that fast. The order was well packed and a few dollars cheaper.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by mountiepicker (see all reviews from this person) on 8/22/2009

Overall Comments

Great service. I have ordered several things online from Janet Davis Music. Prompt Shipping. Quality products. Great prices.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by david64 (see all reviews from this person) on 3/12/2009

Overall Comments

After my last review of this company I thought that maybe I was a little harsh so I gave them a second chance.
Well, after placing a second order it took them 7 days to actually ship the IN STOCK items. On their website they say to expect you order in 7 to 10 business days but they fail to tell you that it actually takes them at least 7 days to actually ship the item which doubles the shipping time.
Well, I should have learned from the first order but you be sure there won't be a third order from there!!

Overall Rating: 2

Submitted by Lyn B (see all reviews from this person) on 2/14/2009

Overall Comments

Janet Davis Music is fabulous! I ordered when their area had a major ice storm, but I still received my banjo and accessories faster than I have with Musician's Friend. My Banjo was set up perfectly and in spanky new shape. It was also very well packed for shipping. I'd been looking for a certain guitar, and decided to order from them, as well. All in all, an excellent experience. They'll be first on my list of sellers if they have what I need.

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by david64 (see all reviews from this person) on 2/11/2009

Overall Comments

I placed an order then three days after I ordered online I was notified that one item was out of stock and would be backordered. Finally after a month I received the backordered item but I never received any answers to my e-mails inquiring about this item.

Overall Rating: 6

Submitted by Philsweep (see all reviews from this person) on 2/10/2009

Overall Comments

I bought banjo back in 2000 and service was excellent and have bought many books accessories since then. Then last year I was looking for a dobro. I called left a message and received no return call. I emailed nothing. I called back a few days later and talked to a man who was basically not helpful at all. The dobro I was interested was not in stock, he had no idea when it would be in and kept trying to sell me one I was not interested in. I could also order this dobro online no problem even when they didn't have it in stock. What do they do take my money and then just send me the instrument whenever it comes in? I ended up going to the local music store, getting a better price and a timeframe when the instrument would be in. So things have change for the worse over the last 10 years.

Overall Rating: 3

Submitted by prwpt (see all reviews from this person) on 12/5/2008

Overall Comments

I've purchased a guitar, strings and other accessories, instruction books, banjo parts, etc., from them over the years and they have always been A # 1 with me. I've gotten good advice from their staff, and everything always comes well packaged. Good people!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by BvilleDon (see all reviews from this person) on 5/13/2008

Overall Comments

I have had MANY dealings with JDMC in the last year. Janet is very busy, but if you can get her on the phone and describe the sound you are looking for, she can match you with the banjo you are meant to have. Tom is an excellent set up person. I have read on different sites that JDMC might not answer an email. This can be true. I have asked them for assistance when product descriptions made comparisons difficult. Lord, knows, they just honestly did not have time to investigate and address all of the questions I had. I also like Janet very much as a person and have made clear not to bother answering emails when she does not have time. HOWEVER, whenever I have had a serious question or concern about a product I have purchased, Janet and her staff have always been very responsive, supportive and informative.
UPDATE: I found an error on an old invoice. The error was most likely caused due to my language problems since my stroke. When it was brought to the attention of JDMC, practically everyone in the place did everything possible to make it right, even though the fault was my own. Outstanding service. I wish I could give them more than a "10".

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by wabbanjo (see all reviews from this person) on 3/27/2008

Overall Comments

Purchased a Gibson es std and some additional accessories from JDM. Quality, shipping, prices, and service is outstanding. Great store would recommend for all your musical needs.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by pinenut (see all reviews from this person) on 1/2/2008

Overall Comments

These people are great. shipping is prompt. service is friendly and helpful.

Overall Rating: 8

Submitted by curt (see all reviews from this person) on 11/26/2007

Overall Comments

Janet Davis Music has never come short of satisfying All my music needs! top Quality service.. helpful and friendly staff... Not to mention the Very Competitive Prices!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Kevin B (see all reviews from this person) on 10/14/2007

Overall Comments

My dealings with JDMS have always been great. Good merchandise, fast shipping, courteous staff, fair prices. Big thumbs up!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by DennyK (see all reviews from this person) on 9/26/2007

Overall Comments

An absolute pleasure to deal with. Ordered a Gold Tone WL-250 last week and received it today in perfect condition. Banjo and case were packed very well in a sturdy box. Everyone at Janet Davis Music was courteous and helpful and made my purchase a pleasant one. Three cheers for Janet Davis Music!!!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by erstokke (see all reviews from this person) on 9/22/2007

Overall Comments

I sent them an email about a sub $1000 banjo and they never answered. I guess I could have phoned, but never did.

All the banjo accessories I have ordered from them, has been completely satifactory.

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by schlange (see all reviews from this person) on 9/19/2007

Overall Comments

Every interaction I've had with JDMC has been awesome--I highly recommend!

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.0625