Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premiere Sponsors

422
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

6626 reviews in the archive.

Huber  Lexington  Banjo Reviews

Submitted by wkb28791 (see all reviews from this person) on 5/24/2012

Where Purchased: Huber

Year Purchased: 2005
Price Paid: 4500 ($US)

Sound

I've had it now for 7 years...been to two different setup people. Dead is all I can say.

Sound Rating: 2

Setup

Set up was decent when it first arrived

Setup Rating: 7

Appearance

Maple, speed neck, everything else was standard for the Lexington

Appearance Rating: 8

Reliability

Hardware seems good enough. I have a Samick that sounds better. The Lexington is religated to the closet until I can do something with it.

Reliability Rating: 2

Customer Service

Didn't bother to take it back to Huber.....Did purchase the "Killer Tone" DVD to try to get it to wake up myself after taking it to two different setup people.

Customer Service: not rated

Components

Gonna have to upgrade to the HR30 system to get decent tone out of it.

Components Rating: 4

Overall Comments

Kinda aggravated that in order to get decent tone out of the banjo, I'll have to spend an additional $1300 after paying a premium price to begin with.
Some of them are great.......this one is just a dog.....it happens I guess

Overall Rating: 3

Submitted by sundance (see all reviews from this person) on 1/7/2009

Where Purchased: Gryphon Strings

Year Purchased: 2009
Price Paid: 4025 ($US)

Sound

Rich and full of low end repsonse. I'm surprised by the bass that pours out from the 4th string on this banjo. Yet it is very bright and clear all the way up the neck. Can be very loud if wanted..would be great on stage. Veyr typical of a maple bluegrass banjo.....yeah....it has the sound!

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

Banjo came all the way from Palo Alto, CA to West Virginia. Wen I unpacked it, took it out of the case..it rocked right from the start and it was IN TUNE! I particularly like Steve Hubers choice of string gauges. No changes made, none recommended.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

Beautiful flamed maple neck, sunburst flamed resonator with Vintage metal finish, no gold. It gives this banjo a unique look, and I found it appealing from the pics on Gryphons website. I was sold. Looked even better when I got it.

No flaws at all. I looked, inspected, and can't find one single, even minute flaw. Steve Hubers craftsmanship is right up there with Stelling...the best of the best.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

Hardware seems solid quality, looks great. I like the tailpiece on this banjo. I've read posts by Gibson owners that buy hugh end banjos and the tail piece seems cheap, not so with Huber. Not even remotely considering changing anything. Looks, great. performs great, if it ain't broke....you know.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

No worrys here. Huber will be around. I've only used Hubers customer service once, with regard to my Huber Jim Mills, and they responded adequately, Friendly people...that will back their product.

Customer Service: 10

Components

Nothing weak on this banjo. Standout.....the whole banjo is such an example of Huber quality, its like asking waht part on a Ferrari would you change? Nah...Huber knows there product and they take no shortcuts.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

Awesome banjo. I also have a Huber Jim Mills. This lexington is my favorite. It has that Early Bluegrass sound, very bright sounding with a boomin' bass. Compare it to other banjo's....I can't knock any of them. I love the Gibsons sound. Love Stelling's workmanship. Hubers are Stelling workmaship with Gibson sound.; Just can't beat that. I'll own these banjos ....forever. I faithful to Huber....try one...and you will be too.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Huber Flatheads Rule (see all reviews from this person) on 7/11/2008

Where Purchased: Steve Huber's Shop

Year Purchased: 2008
Price Paid: Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

The banjo is so clear and crisp and yet has great warmth as well. I have yet to find a “dead spot” anywhere up the neck.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

The banjo was setup great when I bought it. The action is like butter in your hands. You can almost look at the neck and it frets itself. The neck set was a perfect fit. The head was tuned to "G" I prefer "A" or "Ab". So no big deal.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

Excellent quality of materials and workmanship. The flame on the neck is some of the best I have ever seen. The engraving is very detailed looks great. I found no flaws whatsoever!

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

The hardware looks great right now but like any gold plated model I am sure that over time it will show some wear. The upgraded clamshell tail piece is a perfect fit with the engraving.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

About a year later I had the opportunity of meeting Steve Huber at SPGMA. He must have had 20 or so new banjos there and I sat in his room and played them all several times. I was blown away. Everybody knows that you can pick through 5 or 6 Gibson’s and maybe only 1 or 2 of them will really sound like what you are looking for and have the feel that you are looking for. But honestly there wasn’t a banjo there that I wouldn’t have gotten right on stage with and performed without changing a thing. Far above the craftsmanship the chord that struck home with me most was the way that he treated the customer. It made no difference if you owned a Huber or not he treated everyone that came through there with respect (and not all of them were perspective customers). I also noticed several people coming through (in the few days I was there) that had bought a banjo from Steve. He remembered everyone’s name and which model they had purchased and played everyone that came through just to check them out. Any little detail dealing with setup was taken care of on the spot. That’s when I knew that I had to have one.

Customer Service: 10

Components

I really like the inlay and the color of the fret board. I hate a light colored wood for a fret board and this is a darker color and the inlay goes great with it. The only fault that I have is the case. There is nothing really "wrong" with the case but it isn't anything special. I like a case to sort of grab the attention of people before they even see what is inside.

Components Rating: 9

Overall Comments

If anyone out there is looking to add another to the collection, I would recommend a Huber. With the quality, sound and service that I have witnessed first hand I know there is not another company out there today that can come close to what Steve is putting out there.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by speedocoolguy (see all reviews from this person) on 10/22/2007

Where Purchased: Huber Banjos

Year Purchased: 2007
Price Paid: $4600 ($US)

Sound

I love my Huber it's the best new banjo i've ever heard. It sounds as close to a pre-war as you can get without buying one. IT'S FANTASTIC!!!!...............If these wonderful banjos sound this good now think how good they'll sound in 75 years!! ..... My way of thinking is the Huber's sound almost as good as a pre-war does now so the old Gibson's must not have sounded as good as a Huber straight off the line!! MY OPINION THESE ARE THE FINEST SOUNDING BANJOS EVER PRODUCED!!! Wouldn't trade it for nothin.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

OF COURSE THE SETUP WAS PERFECT IT WAS DONE BY STEVE HUBER !! Im convinced that Steve Huber knows more about pre-war banjos and banjo setup than any human being on the earth!!! NOT ONLY IS STEVE HUBER A AWESOME BANJO MAN BUT HE'S ALSO A VERY GOOD INDIVIDUAL PERSON ....ONE OF THE NICEST MEN I'VE EVER SPOKE TOO!! And it means a lot when you call a large company like this and speak directly to the owner.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

This banjo is very nice looking, the triple gold plating and beatiful maple wood with sunburst finish is absolutly amazing!! This banjo is by far the prettiest banjo i've ever seen!!! (not just beacause it's mine)

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

I believe these banjos are the finest out there... i believe the hardware on these banjos will last just as long as the gibsons or longer.. And even if it doesn't Steve Huber will fix whatevers wrong

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

I delt with Steve himself, the service he gave me was the best, he made me feel like we had known each other for a lifetime, we were on a first name bases with each other. I went to Huber in Nashville to get It and he met us there on a saturday to talk with us and show us around....the service is excellent and i believe huber will stand behind his product

Customer Service: 10

Components

The componets on this banjo are only the finest... And i love my speed neck... it's the greatest thing ever put on a banjo... Huber's strings are also very high quality and all the other accessories he put's out

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

These are the finest banjos on the market i think the prices are good for what you get i reccomend this banjo to any player who is ready to move to a pro level banjo....these are the best banjos made! Overall these banjos except for a true pre-war Gibson are the BEST YOU CAN BUY!!!!!!!!! ......... The only thing i can't say i was completly satisfied with is the case.. i think these high quality instruments deserve a PRICE or CALTON fiberglass case ... which i bought one of not long after i purchased my Huber... I think Huber should look into getting a contract with CALTON or PRICE so he could market his banjos being sold with one of those high quality cases!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by schaumannk (see all reviews from this person) on 3/26/2007

Where Purchased: Tejon Street Music

Year Purchased: 2007
Price Paid: Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

I have heard and played many Hubers. I was always impressed, all great banjos, but never "in love" until I heard this particular Lexington. The banjo has a very even sound like all the strings have been perfectly balanced. A little more decay, bit more note seperation and a little more punch than my other fine banjos. I was not in the market for another maple banjo but when I picked this one up, I knew if I did not buy it, the next person who picked it up would.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

Steve Huber apparantly knows exactly what he is doing. The action is perfect. If the banjo has a flaw it is that the first string is a little close to the edge of the fretboard. This is something that you adjust to as you play it awhile. I intend to make no changes and have ordered Huber strings to make sure the sound says as close as possible to the way it is now.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

Probably the prettiest banjo I own. the gold plating seems to be better than what I have seen on other high end banjos. Maybe the triple gold plating really does make a difference. This maple banjo has a matte finish and a speed neck. Inlays are tasteful and perfectly cut. I am glad they are not flying eagle or hearts and flowers. The Lexington deserves to be more than a copy of another famous banjo.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

Best gold plating I have seen. I think it will last. I don't do gigs but my instructor would have played it at his a few hours after he first tried it if it had d tuners on it.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

Don't know yet. I hope there are never any issues. I trust the man I bought it from, John Ramsey. His word is always good enough for me, and I have had perfect deals with him for years now.

Customer Service: 10

Components

No inferior parts on this banjo.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

You know a lot of people claim these banjos are over priced. I might have agreed until I picked up this banjo and realized that for me it was "the one" I guess if this one was stolen, I would have to go sit in Steve's shop and wait for him to turn out another one that sounded like this one does. Considering that I would probably have to quit my job to do it, this might end up being one expensive replacement. I don't want to have to replace it. I have four excellent bluegrass banjos. Right now this one would be the last one sold and it could end up being the last one I buy. I can't see how I could find a better banjo for the money.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by dpeacock1 (see all reviews from this person) on 5/21/2004

Where Purchased: private owner

Year Purchased:
Price Paid: Don't Remember (bought USED) historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

good

Sound Rating: 7

Setup

good

Setup Rating: 7

Appearance

good

Appearance Rating: 7

Reliability

good

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

Even though used, John Lawless gave the banjo a complete setup.

Customer Service: 10

Components

all parts top quality

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

would recommend any banjo backed by John Lawless.
banjo itself I'd rate an 8 on sound
John's customer service a 10.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Unknown on 1/14/2004

Where Purchased: Acutab/Huber

Year Purchased: 2003
Price Paid: 4268 ($US)

Sound

This is a bluegrass banjo extraordinaire! Wonderful prewar era sound. I played a true prewar the same day I got this one ... very close in sound! The action was set by Steve Huber ... perhaps a whisker on the low side for what I was used to. The banjo rings nice and loud in a big jam, and then you can move away from bridge to get a nice, mellow tone.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

The only thing I might do is get a slightly higher bridge. I tend to bump the thumbpick into the head a tiny bit when playing in the Y position away from bridge. I keep the head tuned to G <-> G# range ... it keeps stretching a bit from this pitch -- typical for new banjos.

Setup Rating: 9

Appearance

Banjo is elegant and perhaps understated. The gold finish and engraving are subtle in their beauty. Mine has basically stock features, with only a speed neck and D-tuners as non-standard items. There are a couple very minor cosmetic issues with it, and Huber banjos has committed to take care of them down the road under warranty.

Appearance Rating: 9

Reliability

I think the hardware is solid. I'm used to the hardware on a $700 range banjo, so this was quite a step up. I've never had a gold-finished banjo before, but it looks like it's an extremely high quality finish.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

Steve Huber, John Lawless and the Huber team are all first class! No repairs to date. Warranty is lifetime, I believe, to original owner.

Customer Service: 10

Components

Standout component -- the sound! One nitpick -- the handles for the Keith D-tuners are different from the other tuners (Waverly). It would be nice if they were matched on the original banjo.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

Yes, I would recommend a Huber. I'd order another if this one were stolen. I love the sound, and I love the energy that resonates through the banjo when its played. Tailpiece style is different from what I'm familiar with ... be nice to know how this one gets adjusted, although I'm figuring it out.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by djwizill (see all reviews from this person) on 11/10/2003

Where Purchased: John Lawless @ Huber Banjos.com

Year Purchased: 2002
Price Paid: Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

For Scruggs style bluegrass its great. It has an amazingly clear sound, and rings like a church bell for days. Its really birght with a Snuffy Smith III bridge with a little less umph on the fourth, but the upper end really makes up for it. You can also use the Huber bridge. It really makes the fourth string stand out more and gives it that Huber

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

It came setup great. With the Snuffy Smith 5/16, the string were just were i wanted them. The head need to be retightened after a few weeks when it settled in a little, and I also rechecked it a few more times over the last couple of months. Besides that, everything else was fine.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

Its a strickingly beautiful banjo. The rosewood fingerboard is very unusual in the way that the stain took to it. Its almost a choclate color with a small streak of cream running through it. The inlays are very cleanly cut and seem to be of great quality. The curly maple is awesome, expecially with the nice finish. You can choose engraving or no engraving, but anyway you go you cant lose.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

I dont think I would ever have to buy another banjo as long as I lived.

Reliability Rating: not rated

Customer Service

Dealing with John Lawless was a pleasure. He is extremely knowledgeable and always happy to help in any way that he can. There arnt that many good business men left in the world. But you'll get plenty of chances to talk to him over the nice 9 month wait!

Customer Service: not rated

Components

Its got to be the Huber rim, ring, and radiused fingerboard. The rim and ring together sound beautiful. It gets better sounding everyday. I thought it was good after only two months, but it hasnt stopped surprising me yet.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

The price you are going to pay for a Huber is nothing more than you are going to pay for anything else on the market today. A good comparable Gibson will run approximatly the same price ( average models) as Huber. The only thing really better would be to have Jim MIlls origional flathead five-string. In my opinion this was the best deal for me. I looked at many banjos and when I compared sound/money/quality I didnt think I could find anything better.

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories