Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

421
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

6989 reviews in the archive.

Gold Tone  Cripple Creek CC-100R Banjo Reviews

Submitted by jeffbryan (see all reviews from this person) on 3/24/2015

Where Purchased: BanjoTeacher.com

Year Purchased: 2015
Price Paid: 509 ($US)

Sound

Great bluegrass sound. Crisp and resonates well when the strings are played. Seems to hold it's tone well.

Sound Rating: 9

Setup

Was set up perfectly. Only had to make a few slight adjustments to the strings and I'm sure this is normal for just shipped intruments.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

Beautiful blond maple wood. Looks even better than the pictures. Wasn't sure how I would like it because I'm used to seeing darker mahogany or walnut banjos but the uniqueness of it's color sets it apart in a positive way!

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

Seems very durable for the price. Feels solid and looks it too. Have only had it a short time but this particular Gold Tone (CC 100 R) has been around for a while and keeps selling so it must be pretty reliable.

Reliability Rating: 9

Customer Service

Bought it from Ross Nickerson and couldn't be happier with his promptness on retuning phone calls and answering questions honestly. He was very professional and knowledgeable about his products he carries.

Customer Service: 10

Components

The whole banjo seems very solid for it being a "beginner" banjo. Was very impressed with the planetary tuners and how robust they look.They definitely standout. The tail piece also looks well built and seems like it would hold up well.

Components Rating: 9

Overall Comments

Would definitely buy again from Ross Nickerson. I shopped around for a couple of month's and found his website on Banjo Hangout so I checked out his prices and they were better than most and then add on the customer service and the packages he puts with his banjo's and you can't beat it. His "Fundamentals of Five String Banjo" is an excellent bargain. I've found it very helpful and well thought out. I had another banjo book and dvd from another well known banjo player and it was good but Ross' easier to follow and has more detail that brings you along at a quicker clip. 

I was also very pleased with Gold Tone and how the product arrived in showroom condition and played right out of the box. Overall it's been a very good experience. 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by AldoMarino (see all reviews from this person) on 3/8/2014

Where Purchased: BanjpTeacher

Year Purchased: 2011
Price Paid: 400 ($US)

Sound

Bell like, chimney, not to twangy. Very pretty sound, very sensitive to attack. The sound is the high point of this instrument.

Sound Rating: 9

Setup

It came wonderfully set up.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

This is a matter of personal preference, however, in my own eyes, the appearance of this instrument has not aged well. Maybe I just don't think banjos should be blone or butterscotch. The finish is very well done, but I simply don't care for the color scheme.

Appearance Rating: 2

Reliability

Appears to be well made. Haven't had any problems with it.

Reliability Rating: 8

Customer Service

Haven't had use this.

Customer Service: not rated

Components

What bothers me the most about this instrument is the neck. I find myself prefering short radius necks. The neck on this instrument is like playing an Ibanez Wizard guitar. Very wide radius...again, this is a matter of personal preferences. I'm sure some people would love this neck, but not me.

In fairness, in general, the banjo is well made, IMO.

Components Rating: 8

Overall Comments

Good sound.  I actually wish I liked this banjo better than I do, but the neck and the color scheme together makes me tend to reach for other instruments.

Overall Rating: 6

Submitted by irishtenor (see all reviews from this person) on 2/18/2013

Where Purchased: Long & McQuade

Year Purchased: 2013
Price Paid: Rental historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

This model is still around and going strong! Forget the Fender, Epiphone and other brands of the same price range, the Gold Tone blows them all out of the water with its maple rim and brass tone ring. Nice sound with light or medium-gauge strings. Not very powerful but very nice with crisp highs and good lower notes.

Sound Rating: 8

Setup

It was fine when I got it, I just spent a little time tweaking the bridge height, but that's just me. I did not want to mess with the adjustments rods.

Setup Rating: 9

Appearance

All maple, as other have commented, she is blonde! Looks very nice with the nickel-plated hardware.

Appearance Rating: 9

Reliability

Don't look too closely at the hardware, you will find little details like rough edges, but hey, what you get for a sub-$500 instrument is still amazing. The finish looks good and the quality and thickness of the varnish should be fine.

Reliability Rating: 7

Customer Service

N/A

Customer Service: not rated

Components

The maple rim is a winner point compared to the metal pots of other instruments. The tailpiece is fine but could be improved. The basic guitar-style tuners are fine. The fretboard can benefit from a little lemon oil once in a while, like any instrument I guess.

Components Rating: 7

Overall Comments

All in all a stunning banjo for that price range. Much better than any other Chinese-made instrument of the same or higher price range and/or brand names. Best instrument to learn to play 5-string banjo for that price. Go get one!

Overall Rating: 8

Submitted by MOUNTAIN GOAT (see all reviews from this person) on 12/1/2011

Where Purchased: Store in Alaska

Year Purchased: 2011
Price Paid: 404.00 ($US)

Sound

Scruggs style beginner. This was sitting in a store for a year, so I had to set everything up. I also made a new nut to optimizes string spacing and height. Installed new strings. Installed upgraded tuners. I can't imagine any banjo sounding any better. I guess some do, but this sound is incredible.

Sound Rating: not rated

Setup

The weather is dry in Alaska and this banjo had set in a store for a year. It needed a complete set up since it had sat from new for a year. Not a problem though. Reset the neck for lower action. Tightened the head and resonator mounts, and tail piece. Everything was loose from relaxing. Wayne at Gold Tone told me everything I needed to do to set it up and that all worked out great.

Setup Rating: not rated

Appearance

This banjo looks perfect. Not a flaw on it. Nice looking plain maple with a little figure in it. Fit and finish is perfect.

Appearance Rating: not rated

Reliability

The hardware looks great. Original tuners didn't work good, so I got upgraded ones from Gold Tone.

Reliability Rating: not rated

Customer Service

These people are great.

Customer Service: not rated

Components

The stock tuners weren't any good. The ring is not laminated, but one solid piece of maple.

Components Rating: not rated

Overall Comments

This a top quality banjo for twice the money. I am waiting to hear a banjo that sounds better. I know they must, but I am waiting to hear it. I am wondering what their top of the line sounds like, and possibly with the carbon fiber neck.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by youdye (see all reviews from this person) on 6/1/2009

Where Purchased: Craigslist

Year Purchased: 2009
Price Paid: 225 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound

It has nice low tones and crisp upper register with the perfect amount of sustain.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

It has a VERY good factory set up on it that I have been trying to maintain as closely as possible.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

It is Maple, has a "blonde" look to it with nice snowflake inlays. Simple, but tastefull and very easy on the eyes.

Appearance Rating: 9

Reliability

The hardware is standard nickel plated and has been holding up very well. The finish seems to be thick enough to hold up and I would use it on a gig.

Reliability Rating: 9

Customer Service

Wayne Rogers at Gold Tone is a very nice man. I emailed him to say I bought this banjo and really liked it. Was told even though it was used that I could still get it set up from them and they would back it 100%. Their service is outstanding!

Customer Service: 10

Components

One of the components I really like is the straightline tailpiece. It is easy to change the strings, and adjust to where you need it. It has a nice sound.

Components Rating: 9

Overall Comments

I would HIGHLY recommend this banjo for the price. If you are just getting started to intermediate this would be a nice banjo to add to your collection. I love this banjo. Thank you Gold Tone for making such a wonderful banjo at a great price.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Springman (see all reviews from this person) on 9/3/2007

Where Purchased: Banjo.com

Year Purchased: 2007
Price Paid: 389 ($US)

Sound

Good sound, easy to play. This was my third banjo and I am very happy. I've used it for playing live performances, but would prefer more volume.

Sound Rating: 7

Setup

Perhaps the only recomendation would be to leave strings long when changing as they will slide. Also, use medium strings for best sound.

Setup Rating: 7

Appearance

Excellent external finish. I have taken off the resonator and thought that sanding the internals smooth might help sound, but I've not yet attemped.

Appearance Rating: 8

Reliability

I've used it for live performances and it always works well. Very dependable and rugid.

Reliability Rating: 9

Customer Service

Warranty is excellent and vendor (banjo.com) has been a pleasure to deal with.

Customer Service: 9

Components

Need to add spikes or slide tuner for 5th string. Most players of this level of banjo cannot yet do a thumbover for the 5th string.

Components Rating: 7

Overall Comments

I would recommend this banjo as an excellent beginnr, to intermediate level banjo. This banjo will work well for 3-4 years, depending on how much to play and your purpose. When I upgrade, it will be with another Gold Tone as this is the best 'bang for the buck'..

Overall Rating: 8

Submitted by Bob Robert (see all reviews from this person) on 3/24/2007

Where Purchased: BHO

Year Purchased: 2006
Price Paid: 250 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound

This banjo sounds good to me, but this is my first (and only) banjo, and there are no others here for me to compare it with (China).

Sound Rating: not rated

Setup

The banjo was damaged in shipping, though I do not believe that was the fault of the previous owner. I put the blame on the shipping company. Two or three of the blocks inside the resonator that the bolt anchors are set in were broken off. I was able to repair the damage.

This banjo has an Elite head on it, and I like the appearance of it very much.

I have not attempted any setup work on it, other than changing the strings.

Setup Rating: 9

Appearance

I like the light wood of this banjo. It is a light maple with black trim on the edges of the resonator. The marker inlays are nice diamond shapes rather than plain dots. I think this adds a lot to the overall looks of the banjo.
Guitar style tuners, but I know that if you buy a new one from Gold Tone, you can opt for planetary tuners.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

I haven't had any problems with this banjo. I think it seems as though it is very well built and will last for many years. It also seems to stay in tune really well.

There is a very small amount of corrosion on one bracket.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

The warranty is only valid for the first owner. Therefore, I'm on my own for repairs.

Customer Service: not rated

Components

I like everything about this banjo - looks, sound, reliability. I really like the fact that it stays in tune, so I don't have to waste a lot of time retuning it. I only get to play for about an hour a day, sometimes not even that long, so the reliability is appreciated greatly.

Components Rating: 8

Overall Comments

I would HIGHLY recommend this banjo for the price I paid, or even at the new instrument price. I love playing it, and if it were stolen, I'd replace it with one exactly like it (since I still wouldn't be able to afford to upgrade.) I can't remember ever reading a negative review about the CC100-R

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Vincent52 (see all reviews from this person) on 1/19/2007

Where Purchased: Banjo Hangout Classifieds

Year Purchased: 2007
Price Paid: 249 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound

For the money, I think the CC-100R sounds great. I had borrowed a Fender FB-54 to begin learning. The Gold Tone is far superior once I set it up properly. I originally replaced the strings with d'addario J60 lights. The sound was pretty average to weak. Switched to GHS Sonny Osborne medium light PF175. That switch really gave this thing a great sound. All the pop, ring & volume a bluegrasser could ask for!

Sound Rating: 9

Setup

No. It was used and was in good, but not great condition. The action was too high to suit me. Strings were old & corroded. Fingerboard/frets needed clean & polish. Setup was pretty simple when following instructions found on web and in particular on Gold Tone site. I did play a new CC-100R in a local shop before making this purchase. It was set up very well, except the action being slightly higher than I like.

Setup Rating: 3

Appearance

Natural finish is mostly plain maple with slight amount of birdseye on resonator. Chrome hardware. Nice bound rosewood fingerboard. Curly maple headstock veneer. Not real bluegrass looking. However, I think it is attractive. (But then I always have preferred blondes!)

Appearance Rating: 8

Reliability

Reliability Rating: not rated

Customer Service

No dealings with Gold Tone other than reseaching on their site.

Customer Service: not rated

Components

All wood components seem to be well made and sound. I would expect that the tuners may not last a lifetime. They are kind of cheap. Everything else seems pretty good considering the low cost.

Components Rating: 8

Overall Comments

I would absolutely recommend this to others looking for a good quality beginner instrument. I plan to move up trough the Gold Tone line once I gain sufficient playing ability. I think they made about the best banjo that i have seen compared to the cost. I've really got my eye on the new OB-250. Sweet!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by BigSal (see all reviews from this person) on 9/21/2006

Where Purchased: Brills Music and Barber Shop

Year Purchased: 2006
Price Paid: Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

My first banjo so it sounds great to me. The volume has done well playing with others and gives a good brightness. After tightening the head after initial setup she really began to pop. Have no complaints but have nothing to campare to since it is the only one I have ever played.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

Dalton Brill of the shop I bought it from set it up fine and have no complaints. I did recently tighten the head some and really love the sound now.

Setup Rating: 9

Appearance

I nice looking no frills banjo. A nice looking blonde maple with a flat satin finish. The neck has a simple snowflake pattern for the inlays. I wish it was a little bit flashier. Over all a good looking banjo. I showed a picture of it to a coworker and she said it was very nice looking. "Traditional" is the word she used and liked it more than the fancier looking banjos. The tuners are the only thing I would change. The ends are big and goofy looking.

Appearance Rating: 8

Reliability

No problems other than the tuners. I got the planetaries. When tuning they are unresponsive until a certain point and then they over or under tune, depending on which way you are going. can be quite frustrating because it is difficult to fine tune. Besides this the banjo has been rock solid for 4 months now.

Reliability Rating: 8

Customer Service

Have not had to use.

Customer Service: not rated

Components

Tuners I think are awful in looks and function. The bridge looks cheap but don't know enough about thiem to tell if it really is or not.

Components Rating: 7

Overall Comments

I think for playability and learning on this is an awsome insturment. Except for the couple of negatives mentioed I would not get any other brand at this price point. I love my CC-100R and will be picking on it until it is time to step up in the big leagues. This banjo will be with me a long time to come and will probably be my daughter's started here in a couple of years. If you are looking into one of these and you are a beginner don't hesitate and get this one.

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by boFNjackson (see all reviews from this person) on 6/24/2006

Where Purchased: Woodwind/Brasswind

Year Purchased: 2006
Price Paid: 373.50 ($US)

Sound

I've only been playing banjo for about a year and this is my second banjo, so I don't know the best about the tonality of good banjos. Tone sounds nice and crisp, since I'm still a bit of noob when it comes to banjos, I don't know all the ways of customizing one to get different tones, but Gold Tone supplied a nice sheet that explains in detail the best ways to adjust parts and how they effect the banjo.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

It was almost practically in tuned out of the box. I had to make a slight bridge adjustment and and I lowered the tailpiece a touch. I'd like to adjust the twin coordinating rods to lower the action a little as well.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

It's Great! Clean, and simple. I play recreational so I don't need anything too flashy. The maple finish is real nice. The planetary tuners look nice too.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

The hardware is great. I've only had it for about a week but I plan on treating this banjo just right so it can last and last.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

haven't delt with any yet

Customer Service: not rated

Components

parts seem real solid. gear 5th string is a luxury for me (since my last banjo is the cheapest of the cheapest), and I enjoy the planetary tuners a lot as well. Wood seems top notch all the other parts are real secure. I love how the resonator easily pops off after just unscrewing four screws.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

I highly recommend this banjo for anyone who wants a great deal and a great banjo. it retails for $519 but WWBW is selling it for $373.50 with free shipping, which is the best deal I can find for this model brand new. If I had known I would've gotten into playing the banjo this much I would have gone for the goal and purchased this for my first banjo, insted of $129 Kay Santa Rosa off of eBay.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by rone (see all reviews from this person) on 3/5/2006

Where Purchased: E F Productions ebay

Year Purchased: 2005
Price Paid: Received as a present historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

Nice bright sound. Plenty of volume.

Sound Rating: 8

Setup

Set up was spot on when I received it. Tuned with no problems.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

I like the look of the light maple. Nice smooth maple neck. The inlays are better than the other banjos in this price range.

Appearance Rating: 9

Reliability

Very dependable and well constructed. Have not had any issues with reliability. Always in tune when I get ready to play.

Reliability Rating: 9

Customer Service

Very helpful with a 2nd string buzzing problem. They talked me through the repair.

Customer Service: 9

Components

Banjo came with planetary tuners and a nice TKL Gold Tone case. Better standard features than other banjos in this price range.

Components Rating: 9

Overall Comments

I very much would recommend this banjo for the price. I received this banjo as a gift, and have been very happy with it since the day I received it. This is an excellent starter banjo. I would replace it if something happened, but may upgrade to next model.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Dukieman (see all reviews from this person) on 11/1/2005

Where Purchased: Banjo.com

Year Purchased: 2005
Price Paid: 388 ($US)

Sound

Being a beginner I am not an expert on the banjo sound but I love the way this banjo sounds. Great highs and lows. As the add says more bang fo the buck. My neighbors can vouce for that.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

Setup is superb. No string buzz, easy to fret and holds a tunning well even with crappy playing.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

Love the plan finish. Not to flashy but that was what I was looking for.
After inspecting the hardware I was well pleased, no rough edges or bad castings.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

For what I paid I am well pleased with the hardware. The hardware looks pleanty sturdy for this banjo.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

John at Banjo.com was a pleasure to deal with. He answered all my questions and bent over backwards to please me as though I was buying a 5000 dolar banjo. When that time comes he will be the first I talk to.

Customer Service: 10

Components

I went with the planatery tuners and love them. Also like the adjustable straight line tail piece. I also got the TKL hard shell case made for gold tone well worth the money.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

If you are looking for a quality starter banjo this is the one. Looked at many other banjos in the same price range but nothing held a candle to the gold tone cc100r/p. One of the few things I have bought in a while that I am totaly pleased with.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by scooterchick (see all reviews from this person) on 9/14/2005

Where Purchased: eBay Doc Resonator

Year Purchased: 2005
Price Paid: 300 ($US)

Sound

I'm new to the banjo but I really like the sound of this: not as loud as a megaphone or as metallic/tinny as some old types (Framus) I've heard - nice and mellow with good highs and lows. A bright sound with warmth - it ought to get better as I get better at playing it and with use :)

Sound Rating: 9

Setup

Yes, this banjo was set up extremely well. Even after travelling for a couple of weeks, it sings.

Setup Rating: 9

Appearance

I love the look of this banjo: the natural wood with the rosewood fretboard. 'Elegantly understated' suits me to a 'T' and is what I wanted. :)

Finish is perfect.

I went for planetary tuners and for the price that was an option I found a bit hard to find for other makes in the same range.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

This banjo will outlast me, I think!

And I can always upgrade some of the hardware if I need to as I go along.

Reliability Rating: 9

Customer Service

Doc and Lori were a dream to deal with.

Customer Service: 10

Components

I'm not an expert but this banjo was glowingly poured over by some expert musician friends of mine and they love it!

Components Rating: 9

Overall Comments

I highly recommend this banjo for someone like myself who is just starting out. And buying it on the net (after literally dozens of hours or research), nicely set up and from someone who knows what they're doing was the best way to go for me:

I saved over $300 (!!!!) versus buying it locally here in town. Imagine that!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Unknown on 2/23/2005

Where Purchased: Banjo.com

Year Purchased: 2005
Price Paid: 350 ($US)

Sound

Compared to other banjos in the same price range the tone and volume is great. I didn't think I could get such a good sounding banjo with a tone ring for the price I paid! Not as loud as the $1000+ but for a starter level banjo both the highs and the lows are clear and poppy.

Sound Rating: 8

Setup

The banjo was bought through Banjo.com but shipped directly from Gold Tone. It came perfectly in tune with low action. I adjusted the tailpiece a little but that’s about it. Good set up overall. I have made only minor adjustments thus far but the instrument seems easy to adjust.

Setup Rating: 9

Appearance

Simple but I think it is very beautiful! Blond maple body and neck w/ snowflake inlays on the fret board. No flaws in the finish. Only downsides Are: 1)the curly maple veneer on the headstock is cheep looking up close and while it is pretty, the natural grain of the headstock would look fine too; 2) No flange- the resonator seems a bit out of place without one. These are very minor complaints.

Appearance Rating: 9

Reliability

Have not had it long enough to comment

Reliability Rating: not rated

Customer Service

My questions were answered quickly and honestly by Banjo.com when I called. They seem to not be around the phone always but there response time is quick! No experince with Gold Tone.

Customer Service: 8

Components

Positives: brass tone ring! planetary tuners ($36 upgrade)
Negatives: tension hooks seem a little cheap (time will tell), I would like to get a new bridge (Emerson powerbridge)

Overall seems sturdy and well put together with good parts (even if the parts came from Asia)

Components Rating: 8

Overall Comments

Great banjo for the price!!! If it were stolen Id get another one but in the future Id upgrade to another Gold Tone (OB or BG) or a $1000 dollar range Deering or Morgan Monroe. I looked mainly at the Deering Goodtime 2 and my cc-100r when shopping. Personally I think I made the right choice

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Catdog (see all reviews from this person) on 9/25/2003

Where Purchased: Country Strings Music

Year Purchased: 2003
Price Paid: 329.00 ($US)

Sound

I'm just a beginner, but it sounds nice & bright to me. Lacks the rich full sound I have heard on more expensive banjos, but after all this is a beginners banjo.

Sound Rating: 8

Setup

Setup was great. Action is nice & low for a beginner like me. Banjo came with planetary tuners included which I think is excellent for the price I paid. A gig bag was also included.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

Banjo looks great. Nothing fancy. It is light maple with matte finish.

Appearance Rating: 9

Reliability

Everything on the banjo seems to be pretty sturdy. Gold Tone makes a fine banjo with good quality parts.

Reliability Rating: 9

Customer Service

Ricky, the owner of Country Strings Music,was great. He gave me very helpful advice on what to purchase in order to get started. He didn't try to sell me a bunch of stuff I didn't need.

Customer Service: 10

Components

For a beginner banjo all the parts seem good quality.The planetary tuners are really a plus.

Components Rating: 9

Overall Comments

For the price I paid I don't think I could have got a better banjo. If this banjo was stolen I would move up to the Gold Tone BG-250F. That is assuming I get good at playing.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Unknown on 7/19/2003

Where Purchased: Folk of the Wood

Year Purchased: 2003
Price Paid: 279 ($US)

Sound

Nice bright sound. I used it as my beginning banjo for learning to play bluegrass style. I played it with the resonator on most of the time.

Sound Rating: 8

Setup

It was set up well upon delivery

Setup Rating: 8

Appearance

Better quality and finish that others in this price range. Don't know how it could have been better for the price.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

It held up very well for me, although I traded up to an OB250.

Reliability Rating: 9

Customer Service

Didn't need any, but my calls with questions were handled well.

Customer Service: 9

Components

Price line tailpiece and finish far surpass other banjos in this price range. The closed guitar type tuners worked wel, so I did not change to planetary tuners as I had originally planned.

Components Rating: 8

Overall Comments

Banjo was almost always in tune when I picked it up. A better instrument than most of the Asian banjos I've since played. It has a great tone, but lacks somewhat in volume if you're playing with those playing expensive heavy tone ring banjos, but that's to be expected in this price range. I purchased this instead of a Deering Goodtime, and never regretted it. It was just the nicer instrument of the two.

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by Unknown on 9/11/2002

Where Purchased: Country Strings Music

Year Purchased: 2002
Price Paid: 355 w/gig bag ($US)

Sound

Sounds pretty good for an entry level banjo. Plenty loud and seems bright to me. Remember - I'm a beginner at this!

Sound Rating: 8

Setup

Banjo was set-up, tuned and ready to play on receipt.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

Attractive maple neck and body with rosewood fretboard. Nice inlays for the price.

Appearance Rating: 8

Reliability

Seems well put together and durable. Comes with a 5 year warranty.

Reliability Rating: 9

Customer Service

No dealings with customer service.

Customer Service: not rated

Components

I was able to get planetary tuners for about the same price as a CC-100R with guitar tuners from other shops. Apparently this is about a $50 upgrade at most shops. All parts seem to be good quality.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

Definitely recommend at this price! Since this is my only banjo, I would be a little upset if it were stolen. I would probably bite the bullet and upgrade to a BG-250F.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Keltic (see all reviews from this person) on 5/29/2002

Where Purchased: ezFolk.com

Year Purchased: 2002
Price Paid: 350 ($US)

Sound

For a beginner as myself, this banjo sounds great. Not as bright as the more higher priced models - but DOES produce a great sound!

Sound Rating: 9

Setup

The banjo was not tuned in open G, but it did come direct from the manufacturer, so this was not expected. The banjo has a low action, perfect for beginners. I took it to a local music store, and got it tuned - also purchased a pitch pipe to help me with future tuning.

Setup Rating: 9

Appearance

The banjo has a light maple coloring, and has a darker inlay. Has guitar style closed tuners, which seem like good quality. Also has a geared 5th string. The banjo is not as "fancy" looking as some of the higher priced models, but for me as a beginner, my main priority was something that was easy to play, and didn't cost the earth!

Appearance Rating: 8

Reliability

The banjo is VERY well made. I have played this instrument non-stop since having it, and it has not got out of tune, or needed any major adjustments.
This is a nice little banjo.

Reliability Rating: 9

Customer Service

Richard Hefner of ezFolk was fantastic!!
I had originally ordered this banjo and hard case from folkofthewood.com. After waiting 14 days, I called them, and they told me that it could take another 14 days for delivery as they were on back-order. I cancelled there and then, and found ezFolk.com.
I emailed Richard, and to cut a long story short. The following day, he had arranged for my banjo to be sent directly from the manufacturer. I had it within 3 days!! I will definitely purchase from Richard again!
Fast response to emails, and great service.

Customer Service: 10

Components

I am a beginner, so not really sure what to look for. Although I have noticed that the tone ring makes the banjo sound a little tinny at times. I'm not sure whether it's my playing though. Maybe I'll update this review when I get more familiar with the instrument.

Components Rating: 8

Overall Comments

If you are looking to learn the banjo, then the CC-100R has everything you need, plus a little more.
It is very easy to play, sounds great, and easy to look after. At $300, you can't go wrong, especially if you don't know you are going to like learning the banjo, and worried about paying $500+. For me, it has just made me more excited about learning to play the banjo, and with a great instructor that I found at the banjo hangout, I am heading towards becoming a pretty good player (I hope)..

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.109375