Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

463
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

6920 reviews in the archive.

Bedford Banjo Shop Music Store Reviews

Submitted by violinoldbanjonew (see all reviews from this person) on 11/24/2017

Overall Comments

Mike was amazing.  I showed up saying I have a bad neck and that I needed a tiny banjo because I'm tiny.  So, he put together a lady's banjo that was waiting for repair, and then slowly and systematically encouraged me to play on all of his banjos, least expensive to most.  I ended up with an Aria Pro 2, a big ole thing that rings to kingdom come.  Half the price, makes me smile every time I play it.  I made a 3 1/2 hour pilgrimage to go play his banjos and would encourage anyone to do the same and more if you have any idea that you want to buy a banjo.  Thank you Mike!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Bluegrouse (see all reviews from this person) on 5/19/2017

Overall Comments

I had decided that my Vega (Martin) 1972 banjo needed to be sold.  Sound and action were just dull and sluggish.  I took it to Mike at Bedford Banjo Shop and he worked magic.  It looks great and I didn't know it was capable of such great sound.  He is a patient craftsman who provides the best service you will ever find.  While he worked on my instrument he recommended a great NY style pizza shop around the corner.  Banjos and pizza!  what a great day!  thanks Mike.  

 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by SJMcVaugh (see all reviews from this person) on 5/20/2016

Overall Comments

The owner of Bedford Banjo Shop is knowledgeable and honest. While talking on the phone with him, he was courteous and helpful answering my many questions. The instruments I purchased were as described and packed with great care. I highly recommend this shop and look forward to visiting it when I travel to western Pennsylvania!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by russinpa (see all reviews from this person) on 3/12/2016

Overall Comments

Mike the owner not only did a world class job setting up two old banjos that i rescued but he also took the time to teach me about them. When I picked them up I was so shocked at how much better they sounded I almost couldn't believe  they where the same ones I took down.  His skill and knowledge are far above anything I would have expected. I would without any doubt recommend him to anyone else looking for repairs or a new banjo.  

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by gaucho (see all reviews from this person) on 1/12/2016

Overall Comments

Excellent communication over the ocean, fast shipment, banjo packed like hell but thanks to that it arrived without any damage. Very good shop, I do recommend it.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by nohio (see all reviews from this person) on 4/20/2015

Overall Comments

Just purchased a used banjo through them online. Excellent experience. Had a nice conversation with the owner on the phone. All emails were answered quickly and politely. Went above and beyond to make sure everything was right. Highly recommended.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by James Alan (see all reviews from this person) on 4/17/2015

Overall Comments

I recently purchased an instrument form the Bedford Banjo Shop, and found them to be very professional, timely, and great to deal with.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by James Abrams (see all reviews from this person) on 4/11/2015

Overall Comments

The Bedford Banjo Shop is an unexpected gem of a specialty business in the picturesque town of Bedford, PA.  If you're in the region, the town of Bedford itself is worth the drive.  If you're interested in acoustic instruments in general and banjos in particular you owe it to yourself to check out Mike and Karla Amato's shop.  Mike has changed the head on my '27 Tubaphone a couple of times, tweaked various parts to get the instrument sounding just right.  Mike's prices are fair and, most importantly, I trust he'll do any repair work with expertise and care.  Plus, the shop sells an interesting array of banjo-related books and accessories.  Highly recommended.          

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Landcrab (see all reviews from this person) on 4/9/2015

Overall Comments

Great Service.  Mike answered all questions promptly and accurately, gave me options for shipping and packaged the banjo up safe as can be for a cross-continent trip.  Would not hesitate to deal with them in future.

 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by tnhach (see all reviews from this person) on 3/9/2015

Overall Comments

Wonderful friendly honest seller. Played banjo over the phone for me. Packed instrument very securely and shipped lightning fast. Couldn't be happier! Would totally recommend. thanks again! 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by South Hills (see all reviews from this person) on 5/25/2014

Overall Comments

Visited the store in Bedford, Pennsylvania for the first time yesterday.  Bedford is a quaint little town north of Cumberland, Maryland.  Beautiful area; people are very friendly.  The Bedford Banjo Shop is a nice little store in the downtown. It is a family owned business.  Mike Amato is very friendly, customer oriented and knowledgeable about vintage instruments.  Store also stocks new instruments and accessories.  Prices very reasonable and negotiable on used/vintage items.  Also has very cool tee-shirts.  They have a website that is updated regularly at http://www.bedfordbanjoshop.com/ 

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.09375