Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

507
Banjo Lovers Online


Banjo Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The banjo reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

7071 reviews in the archive.

Bridges  David Cunningham bridge Banjo Part/Accessory Reviews

Submitted by littlebrother (see all reviews from this person) on 5/25/2016

Where Purchased: dc banjoworks

Overall Comments

Wow, well I've been playing around with the bridges so far and I can say he definitely recommended the right woods. Going in, I didn't know what exactly I wanted, but Daniel not only recommended which wood to use, but sent me another for free for contrast (walnut for warmth, which i wanted, and maple for brightness as a contrast). The walnut has a beautiful, warm, mellow sound with balanced volume across the strings (I guess that's the advantage of the achilles?) and is just wonderfully melodic. I absolutely love it and have it in now, but the thing that most surprised me was the maple! It adds such a direct resonance to the banjo, I can't believe how much it changes the sound! It made it sparkle and notes stood out and sustained. Honestly, I bought the walnut because I wanted a banjo to have a woody, mellow, appalachian mountain/minstrelly tone, but now I've heard the brightness from the walnut bridge and am thinking about getting another banjo just so I can appreciate both of the different tonalities offered by them. Thanks so much to Mr. Cunningham, his bridges have made me fall even more in love with the banjo.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by cottontop (see all reviews from this person) on 10/31/2015

Where Purchased: DC Banjoworks

Overall Comments

I just tried a new David Cunningham Zebra/Katalox .615 bridge on my Fender Artist. I have to say that this is a great bridge. The Height is perfect for this banjo and its set up and the sound is exactly what I want from a 40 year old banjo. This bridge has given it new life. Davis is a great craftsman and can make a bridge out of a wide selection of woods and at any height or spacing you want. His prices are great too.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by banjerpicker1 (see all reviews from this person) on 8/3/2015

Where Purchased: From David Cunningham

Overall Comments

I have had 6 bridges total from David and all have been excellent. They bring out the best tone in all the banjos I own and have sold. 4 have been zebra with katalox, 1 is hard maple with ebony, and 1 with zebra purple heart top. I have tried these against many bridges and these are absolutely the best. Try them for yourself and hear the difference. An awesome bridge!!

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by From Greylock to Bean Blossom (see all reviews from this person) on 8/31/2014

Where Purchased: DC Banjoworks

Overall Comments

I have a Zebra with Katalox bridge from David Cunningham Banjoworks. This summer (2014) I bought a new Hatfield Buck Creek and love the tone of it. I thought it sounded better with a little heavier strings than I was used to. While browsing the Hangout I saw John Boulding setting up a Buck Creek and it sounded great. The bridge on it was the Zebra Katalox. So I got one from David and found I could get the sound I loved with the light gauge strings I was used to. I have some bridges here from some of the best and liked this sound better than the others. It is a full, rich, pretty sound.

The following video shows John Boulding playing Gospelman 97 (Bryan's) Hatfield Buck Creek with the Zebra Katalox bridge. It will show you "the sound", and that is the best statement I can make for this bridge.

http://www.banjohangout.org/myhangout/videos.asp?m=d&catID=0&id=22541

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by roadkingjimmy (see all reviews from this person) on 7/1/2014

Where Purchased: DC Banjoworks

Overall Comments

Just received a new Zebra wood/Lignum Vitae bridge from David,I spoke with him and he recommended this setup for my Woody.having purchased from him before I knew what fine work he does but I have to say this...WOW! The tone of my banjo is more than I could have ever imagined it has really taken it to a different level and as always David's bridge is a beautiful piece of functional ART!

 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by Matthess (see all reviews from this person) on 5/5/2014

Where Purchased: David Cunningham

Overall Comments

I got one of the Zebra wood/ Ebony bridges. I love this bridge! It looks great and sounds great. It gives a good clean sound. I find it hard to describe sounds in words. The only way to know for sure is to try it out yourself. You won't be disappointed. Also, David Cunningham is a great guy.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by bdrop (see all reviews from this person) on 4/26/2014

Where Purchased: Directly from the Artist/Machinist

Overall Comments

Dave Cunningham bridges exceeded my expectations - by a mile.  I was doubtful because  1) I am a beginner and  2) because my hearing is not what is was.  Despite these two handicaps - the impact of Dave's bridges are huge.  No more tinny resonation, far less muddiness (even to my ears) and what service!  Can't say enough.  Now I have to live up to their potential. 

 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by JohnWaters (see all reviews from this person) on 4/12/2014

Where Purchased: David Cunningham

Overall Comments

I ordered a Zebra Wood Katalox bridge from David. I thought delivery was quite timely, but David felt like he took a day or two too long, so he also sent me a Missouri Maple and Purple Heart. They both sound great and the craftsmanship is outstanding. Given the excellent quality of his work, top-notch customer service and being a really friendly fellow, I strongly recommend him.

David Cunningham
Email: dcmachinist@att.net
Link: http://www.banjohangout.org/classified/39405
Web: http://www.dcbanjoworks.com/

 

Overall Rating: 9

Submitted by AldoMarino (see all reviews from this person) on 4/5/2014

Where Purchased: DC Banjoworks

Overall Comments

Beautiful looking bridge and well worked, but most importantly is that this bridge sounds great.  I currently have them on an RK-35 and an old Alvarez Montana.  In both cases, good clear articulation, chiming bells at treble, good bass, very sensitive to attack, works well all over the neck.  Coudn't be more satisfied.  Truly a superior product.  Will these bridges be the ones to finally end my addiction to endlessly trying out different bridges?  For now, they have a home.  I'm experimenting on the other banjos just now.

FWIW, Dave seems to be a nice fellow.
 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by R.D. Lunceford (see all reviews from this person) on 3/25/2014

Where Purchased: DC BANJOWORKS

Overall Comments

I was recently in the market for a tall bridge for my c1886 George C. Dobson banjo.  Due to the neck angle, a height of 7/8" is preferable.  This put me in the custom bridge market as 3/4" is the maximum "off-the-shelf" height.  My friend well-known luthier John Bowlin had recommended that I get in touch with David Cunningham at DC BANJOWORKS in St. Peters, Missouri.

A U.S. Army veteran, David holds a degree in Fine Art and Manufacturing Technology.  An expert in CAD/CAM/CNC, he was a toolmaker for a firm that made tooling for a Boeing supplier.  David took up the banjo in 2010.

In addition to custom bridges, DCB also performs set-up work, refretting, 5th-string spike installations, custom hardware, and also machined neck heel and flange notch cutting.  In addition, bass bridges are also offered.


I got in contact with David and found him to be very friendly, knowledgeable, and customer service oriented.  He offered much helpful input as to material and design considerations guiding me in the right direction based on my particular banjo and my playing style.   DCB provides bridges in a variety of heights and string spacings.  A wide variety of wood combinations are available.  Just a few of the woods offered are Zebra Wood, Maple, Padauk, Cherry, Rosewood, and Katalox.  After some thought, I decided on Cherry with a Rosewood top.  David indicated that he had Cherry in both Brazilian and American varieties and generously offered to make a bridge from each one for me to try out.

In short order the bridges arrived and I was impressed and pleased with the materials and precision design and workmanship.  I am a traditionalist, and David's three-foot design is classic, well-proportioned, and flawlessly executed.  The wood was beautiful, especially the Rosewood tops.  David marked each bridge with height, material, and weight (2.928 for the American Cherry, and 3.768 for the Brazilian).  Both bridges were impressive as integral elements in the overall acoustic system.  Clarity and perfect intonation were outstanding features of both bridges.  For my particular banjo, I preferred the American Cherry.  It seemed a bit more "live" to me, but just a little more so, and as noted, being an element of the overall sound producing system, the Brazilian may well have been the choice on a different banjo with a different set-up.  I would have been very pleased with either, and my comments are merely based on a comparison between these two outstanding bridges.

To sum it up, I am pleased to have met David and recommend his products without reservation.  In the event I find myself in the market for a bridge in the future, DCB can be assured of my business.

Outstanding product, good value and price, excellent customer service and response time.

Contact David Cunningham at:

www.dcbanjoworks.com      

(636) 579-3775

dcmachinist@att.net

 

 

 

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by maxclock (see all reviews from this person) on 3/13/2014

Where Purchased: David Cunningham

Overall Comments

I immediately ordered a zebra/katalox bridge from David, after having such phenomenal improvement to my Juggernaut, with a maple/katalox bridge.

First it is has a very pleasing look to it(if a bridge can be said to have such a look), but most importantly is the improvement in sound.

This one went on my '81 Gold Star GF 100, which really didn't sound too bad, but with the new bridge it just has so much more clarity and improved quality of tone, it is hard to believe.  I've even been asked if I bought a new banjo!

I can say the same things I did about the other Cunningham bridge...clear sound, wonderful tone  and absolute overall improvement to the quality of music(instrument, not picker) coming from my banjo.  Still cannot believe that a little piece of wood can make that much positive difference.

Like before, good guy.......great product.

Overall Rating: 10

Submitted by maxclock (see all reviews from this person) on 2/25/2014

Where Purchased: David Cunningham

Overall Comments

I have read with interest, many of the BHO entries about how a new bridge changes that person's banjo dramatically.  I am new to banjo and just figured the bridge, that came on the instrument was good enough. 

I was fortunate enough to get one of David's maple/katalox bridges and replaced the stock bridge on my 1980 OME Juggernaut.  The old bridge, I believe was the original, but am not sure.

After doing some warm up with the old bridge, I replaced it with the new David Cunningham bridge.  I was astounded with the improved sound.  The OME has always had plenty of volume, but the difference in the quality of tone and mostly the clarity of each note was  nothing short of amazing. This was my first venture into changing bridges and I was very skeptical about what the results would be.  I am still stunned that a little hunk of wood, can change the sound of a banjo that much.....all on the positive side.  I am now a believer!!

I have already sent an order for one of his "better" bridges, to install on my early Gold Star.  Good guy.......great product!

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

7.714844E-02