%>
Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

97
Banjo Lovers Online


Blogs

Page 3 of 5 - First | Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next | Last

Scales in the drive through. Mnemonic crutches for intervals.

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 @11:42:20 AM

I've got a light, inexpensive, tough practice banjo in the passenger seat of my car.  When I'm warming up the car, or stopped at a long light, or in the drive through, I pick it up and practice scales.  Every bit of practice helps.


When I'm not playing scales, I'm still listening to the "Two Note Intervals" ear training series on the car stereo.  I found fourths and fifths pretty easy, probably because I have trained on those using the app on my phone.  Tritones are new to me, but not difficult.  I've never trained on sixth intervals before, so that's the first lesson I'm doing where I don't benefit from any prior training.  As might be expected, that one is more work.

I am using popular songs as mnemonics to remember the various intervals.  For example, an ascending M2 (major 2nd) interval is the first two notes in "Frère Jacques.".  An ascending m6 (minor sixth) interval is the first two notes in the Beatle's "Because."  I suspect that with more training, the mnemonics won't be needed--I'll just hear an interval and know what it is.  That's what I hope, anyhow.  But for now, the mnemonics work.  I hear an interval, I think "Good Night Ladies," and then I know it's a descending perfect fourth.  Or if you want me to sing a descending perfect fourth, I'm first going to think of the song "Good Night Ladies," and from that know the sound of it.

Remembering the mnemonic songs is the hardest part.  Before listening to the course, or in the shower, or whenever I feel like it, I drill myself on the mnemonics to see that I remember what interval is what song.  As long as I can remember the mnemonics, I can do the exercises fine.  But I do hope to get to where I don't need the mnemonic crutch.  It seems limiting.  The instructor of the course says that "many students use popular songs...," which makes it sounds like the usual or expected course is for one to no longer need the songs.  That'll be good.

2 comments

Ear training while driving

Friday, March 2, 2018 @9:25:49 AM 11 comments

3-chord jamming

Tuesday, February 27, 2018 @10:31:07 AM 1 comment

Solo band practice

Tuesday, February 20, 2018 @9:22:16 AM 3 comments

Let It Be

Tuesday, February 13, 2018 @6:15:02 AM 9 comments

Stealing practice time to do scales

Tuesday, January 30, 2018 @4:54:28 PM 11 comments

The value of sloppy playing

Sunday, January 28, 2018 @12:27:14 AM 4 comments

Groovy lessons

Friday, January 26, 2018 @9:01:53 AM 12 comments

Frozen rolls

Wednesday, January 24, 2018 @10:44:47 AM 4 comments

Keeping the music alive

Friday, January 19, 2018 @9:04:44 AM 4 comments

Are You Lonesome Tonight

Tuesday, January 16, 2018 @7:08:05 AM 4 comments

A 4th is an inverted 5th

Saturday, January 13, 2018 @4:08:19 PM 5 comments

Syncope

Tuesday, January 9, 2018 @9:06:13 PM 5 comments

You Have to Look Sometimes

Monday, January 8, 2018 @1:27:15 PM 1 comment

Sick scales

Saturday, January 6, 2018 @5:03:38 PM 10 comments

Condensed tunings

Friday, December 29, 2017 @6:41:18 PM 5 comments

Practicing chords for "Crazy"

Tuesday, December 26, 2017 @12:09:15 PM Add Comment

Recording as a means of practicing

Thursday, December 21, 2017 @10:14:49 AM 6 comments

Practicing instead of sleeping

Wednesday, December 20, 2017 @3:33:46 AM 10 comments
Page 3 of 5 - First | Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next | Last
Hide these ads: join the Players Union!

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.1879883