Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

1496
Banjo Lovers Online


Blogs

First Gig

Saturday, June 16, 2012 @1:06:20 PM

Hoo~boy, have I had flutters in the stomach all week long thinking about this morning.  Our church had a Cowboy Breakfast for the men and I was asked to play the banjo for them.  I have never performed before a bigger audience than one (my wife at home) and this morning I took the stage by myself in front of close to a hundred people.  Having only had my banjo for five months and only two lessons with an instructor I was understandably nervous.  However, as I joked with them about how my banjo hero started out in the 20's and 30's before Earl and Snuffy and Grandpa Jones and Steve Martin, he used the banjo to sing to his sweetheart Darla, Alfalfa sang: "My Dog Has Fleas."  My stomach had settled down enough and I got through Bile Dem Cabbage, Banjo in the Hollow and Blackberry Blossom.  It was with great relief that I could stand up, put my banjo in the case and walk off the stage without my legs folding up underneath me...... LoL.  A lot of firsts this year.... all because I bought a banjo and attempted to play it.

8 comments

New Strings

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 @12:07:56 AM 3 comments

Second lesson under my belt

Monday, March 19, 2012 @7:57:28 AM 5 comments

Case as case can

Friday, March 2, 2012 @10:42:11 AM 1 comment

I took the plunge...

Thursday, February 16, 2012 @10:07:40 AM 8 comments

Another day, another dollar...

Thursday, January 26, 2012 @4:29:57 PM Add Comment

Woo~Hoo!!

Tuesday, January 10, 2012 @8:51:14 PM 3 comments

New Glasses

Friday, January 6, 2012 @4:27:37 PM 2 comments

A day in the Life-1/3/2012

Tuesday, January 3, 2012 @8:17:05 PM 4 comments

First Ever Music Lesson on Banjo at 53 years of age.

Saturday, December 31, 2011 @2:26:18 AM 6 comments

Merry Christmas, everyone.

Friday, December 23, 2011 @8:43:01 AM 6 comments
Hide these ads: join the Players Union!

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.125