Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

1495
Banjo Lovers Online


Blogs

The Red Fox

Friday, June 22, 2012 @1:48:11 PM

It finally arrived!   I'm now the proud owner of a Stelling Red Fox :).  I must say the craftmanship of this banjo is incredible.   The Red Fox has a very simple inlay design which suits me (I was a sucker for the abalone fox inlay).  I only have one negative so far, and it deals with the finish of the hardware.  I chose the cheap route and got the basic nickel plating (which is very good by the way).  Unfortunately, here in Florida it is a bit warm, and sweat does not do well with nickel plating.  I fogged the first armrest up in a couple of weeks.  So I got on the horn to Stelling and ordered another engraved  armrest.  I also got one of the plexiglass armrest protectors from Banjo.com.  It's working so far.... 

If you get a chance, listen to Tin Roof that I recently posted (under forum topic Tin Roof Again).  I recorded the new maple Stelling on one channel and the 31 year old mahogany Gold Star on the other.  For straight Bluegrass, I must say I still prefer the Gold Star, but I really like the tone of the Stelling when playing melodic type fiddle tunes.

I'm sure most of you can tell which one is which, but if you can't, take a guess and Ill identify them in a few weeks.  Happy Picking!

 

1 comment

Ramblings

Tuesday, March 13, 2012 @12:46:15 PM Add Comment

Season's Greetings

Friday, December 9, 2011 @7:04:00 AM 3 comments

BHO Meet Travel Log

Saturday, October 15, 2011 @5:10:36 PM 4 comments

Disaster Recovery

Friday, October 7, 2011 @10:23:46 AM 4 comments

Random Ramblings

Monday, September 26, 2011 @7:41:34 AM 3 comments

With Age Goes Memory

Thursday, September 8, 2011 @1:19:07 PM Add Comment

See how easy that was...

Friday, August 26, 2011 @3:39:01 PM Add Comment

Zen Den Update

Tuesday, August 16, 2011 @12:20:14 PM 1 comment

The Zen Den

Tuesday, August 9, 2011 @6:47:50 AM Add Comment

Into the Fire

Tuesday, August 2, 2011 @11:50:16 AM 1 comment

Whiskey Before Breakfast

Wednesday, July 20, 2011 @9:04:53 PM Add Comment

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.28125