Harmony Reviews

Harmony Reso-Tone
submitted 7/15/2013

Submitter

shane_lxi (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Craigslist

Year Purchased

2013

Price Paid

$30 (bought USED) historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


I play clawhammer, and I think this thing sounds great! Granted, I'm a bit of a beginner, and I don't have any really high-end instruments. I do have a Gold Tone CC-OT, and a CC-Traveller, and I can say this thing sounds as good if not better in my opinion. I was pleasantly surprised when I reassembled this thing and started playing it. In fact, I've been playing it more than any of my other banjos, and it was supposed to be my beater/camping banjo! I am playing it without the resonator with a Remo Renaissance head, and it does seem a bit quieter compared to my other banjos. I do not have the bracket to bolt the resonator on, so I cannot say how much it helps with volume.

Sound Rating

9

Setup


I got my banjo in pieces, so I honestly cannot say. From the look of the nut that was on the banjo, it looked like the action was very low. These have a dowel stick style neck with a round dowel instead of a square dowel, as a result, it is a bit easy for the neck to twist unless you have the dowel-stick bracket very very tight.

Setup Rating

not rated

Appearance


It's ugly. But it's fixable!! And easy too! They come with a very very ugly and quite sticky poo-brown paint on the neck, which is likely to be cracked and chipped by the time the old thing reaches your hands. I stripped mine off and underneath was a nice looking neck, poplar I think, but pretty. A little polishing, and it honestly didn't look bad at all! The stock Waverly tuners are very pretty as well! Unfortunately, mine were stripped out so I had to replace them, but I didn't want to, lol. The factory tail-piece is very plain, as is the factory dowel-stick bracket. Also, the dowel-stick is round, which is kind of different, but not necessarily ugly. I have no idea what type of wood the fretboard is... maybe oak or poplar? Mine was extremely dried out, but a little lemon oil and it brightened right up. The frets are brass, which is kind of neat. The rim is dark brown bakelite with an integrated shoe/bracket thing, and actually doesn't look bad, also makes it a bit more comfortable on your legs!

Appearance Rating

6

Reliability


There are obvious flaws with the cheap, ugly paint used on the neck. Best to strip it off to reveal the wood underneath! The tail-piece is a very crappy thin piece of tin which is likely warped already and should be replaced. The Waverly tuners I'm sure worked great when new, but are likely to be stripped, or at the very least extremely dry by now. Also the nut is plastic, but usable. Also, the 5th string tuner is a friction style tuner, which is fine, but can be annoying. On a plus, the hooks are very stout, as is the tension hoop. The dowel-stick bracket, though plain looking, is actually very ingenious and functional :D. If you don't mind changing some parts out, they can be very reliable, but I am going to give it a 5 because it's a bit questionable out-of-the-box.

Reliability Rating

5

Customer Service


Customer Service

not rated

Components


There's good and bad. The hooks are very good, the tension hoop also. The dowel stick bracket is plain, but functional and kind of a neat design. However, the tail-piece is garbage, the tuners are likely worn out (but pretty! save them if you can), and the 5th string tuner is a low-end friction style. The nut is plastic, and though usable, you might want to upgrade. Older models have a skin head, which is nice! The resonator is quickly and easily removed and re-installed on the fly with one thumb-screw. Kind of a neat feature!

Components Rating

7

Overall Comments


If you can get one of these for less than $100, buy it! These are great if you don't mind switching a few parts out for inexpensive upgrades. You can buy new guitar style tuners with a geared 5th tuner for around $20, a no-knot tail-piece is around $12, a bone nut is like $3 and paint stripper is $5 (if you don't already have it). I also put a Remo Renaissance head on mine from Smakula ($22 shipped, takes a medium 10 7/8" head), and an ebony topped maple bridge. If you don't mind putting in a little work, you will have an awesome sounding knock-around banjo! I'm extremely happy with mine!

Overall Rating

9


Harmony Long Neck "Pete Seeger" H28132
submitted 10/19/2012

Submitter

eisner (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

eBay

Year Purchased

2009

Price Paid

18 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound


I got this banjo as my second banjo, to replace a super sheep Remo I found and learned on. I knew I wanted a long neck and couldn't afford a vega. The tone on this banjo is a bit of a miracle. I've had professional musicians and producers play this banjo and shake their heads in amazement. Pete Seeger himself, a personal teacher and mentor of mine, has played this very banjo and compared it favorably to his own iconic longneck.

Sound Rating

9

Setup


The banjo was in pretty good shape when I found it. I got a family friend to tighten the head, switch out the bridge and the 5th string peg, add a armrest, and change the strings to get in great working order. Then again, I got it over 40 years after it was made.

Setup Rating

7

Appearance


I love how terrible the banjo looks. It has a very simple, understated, and utilitarian appearance that makes it the perfect folk instrument. But lets not skate around it, this banjo is ugly.

Appearance Rating

5

Reliability


I have gigged with this at barns, living rooms, hootenannies, coffee houses, open mikes, clubs, large and small concert halls, and even major festivals on headlining stages. I have never brought a backup, although one time I needed one and got to use Pete's (but that's a different story). It sounds good and stays in tune pretty well. I added a schatten pickup that captures it really well.

Reliability Rating

8

Customer Service


I don't think Harmony would honor the warranty on a 50 year old instrument.

Customer Service

5

Components


Everything was ok, but I recently replaced the bridge with a moon bridge and the tailpiece with a no knot. I like it a lot. I also am thinking on getting grover guitar tuners, but that's more out of preference than necessity.

Components Rating

9

Overall Comments


This is a wonderful folkie instrument. I got it dirt cheep and it has impressed many a legendary musician. If it got lost or stolen, I would probably replace it with a Gold Tone or something, only because you can't find these anymore. I love my instrument and it is practically an extension of my being. The low price and durability make it perfect for stringing across your back while walking around festivals, college campuses, or really anywhere. I have played this thing in downpours and it hasn't even gone out of tune. This is a miracle banjo.

Overall Rating

10


Harmony Reso-Tone
submitted 11/18/2010

Submitter

Rizo (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

local shop

Year Purchased

2010

Price Paid

100 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound


For what it is, this banjo sounds great. It's louder than one would expect with a decent old timey tone. I'm playing it clawhammer style and it works well for that. I did stuff the head with some foam to kill some sustain. The banjo came with a resonator from a different, but same model, Harmony (it's a different color) which made the banjo a little louder and ringier, though I don't use it.

Sound Rating

8

Setup


The banjo was made in the late 50's or early 60's so commenting on setup would be a little silly. That said, when I bought it, someone had installed a geared 5th string tuner and a plastic head (though I would have prefered the original skin) which was nice.

Setup Rating

8

Appearance


The neck is all one piece, meaning no seperate piece of wood for the fingerboard. It's some type of hardwood which may be maple that's been dyed on the fingerboard and painted a muddy brown color for the neck. The pot is plastic, bakelite actually, also a brown color, but warmer and darker than the neck. The non-original reso is black so it looks like a bit of a mutt, but in a way, it's so ugly it's cool.

Most Harmony banjos I've seen have a music note and "steel reinforced neck" below the name on the headstock, but this one just has the name. I don't know if that means it's a lower model, or earlier or what.

Personal I like the no-frills-cheaper-than-dirt look these 'jos have going on.

Appearance Rating

8

Reliability


The banjo's been kicking around for half a century now, so it'll probably hold up to about anything. About the only real problem I can see developing, is the pot cracking and breaking. I've heard there's no glue that'll hold bakelite, but I really don't know. I'm not sure how well the brass frets will hold up either, but time will tell I guess.

A big plus with these banjos is their ability to cope with the elements. This is a banjo that could get wet, muddy, whatever and take it because of all the synthetic materials.

Reliability Rating

7

Customer Service


Harmony (at least the Chicago produced Harmony) went belly up long ago - N/A

Customer Service

not rated

Components


Once again, the bakelite pot and brass frets have me a little concerned about reliability, but other than that the components seam sturdy. The neck has a steel rod in it, the tuners are guitar style, except for the upgraded 5th tuner, the hooks and nuts seem decent quality. The nut is a cheap plastic, and the bridge is a cheap, all-maple, two-footed unit, the tailpiece is a functional, but cheap stamped metal piece, all upgradable if one had the desire.

The paint that's on the neck and headstock isn't in the best condition, some chips and such, but seems thick and probably does offer a fair amount of protection.

Components Rating

8

Overall Comments


I bought this banjo to travel with, take camping, leave at work, etc. so I have no complaints about the quality or price, especially considering that this thing sounds good. I wish it had the original skin head, or at least the flesh hoop, but that's life. Overall, these Reso-tones make good beater banjos or started banjos for someone just learning. I don't know that I'd pay much more than 100 bucks for one, but for what they are, they're fun to have around.

Overall Rating

10


Harmony Sears and Roebuck
submitted 12/21/2008

Submitter

Banjo75 (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

wife's music teacher

Year Purchased

1993

Price Paid

70 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound


It sounds decent enough. This is the Sears and Roebuck version of the plastic harmony banjo. Given the price and the really old head that is on it, better than would be expected!

Sound Rating

8

Setup


I set it up myself and it seems fine. Plays really well. Nice and easy for the beginner. Neck might be a little thin.

Setup Rating

8

Appearance


There is nothing special about the appearance. This is meant to be a learning banjo or a campfire banjo and is very utilitarian in appearance.

Appearance Rating

5

Reliability


It's been going for years and is pretty much indestructable other than the 5th peg falling out which was easily repaired for $15 at a local music store. That was at least 10 years into it's life before that happened however.

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


Seeing how Sears kicked Roebuck out years ago and Harmony is defunct... not expecting much (LOL).

Customer Service

not rated

Components


Cheap open guitar tuners that work surprisingly well. Friction 5th grade tuner that is also fine. I actually PREFER these tuners to the ones on my SAGA SS-10. Hold the tune nicely. Wood is garbage. Plastic pot is well um, plastic. Metal has rusted and brackets and tone ring bent easily enough but it is all very playable and sounds well enough.

Components Rating

7

Overall Comments


I would buy the Rover clone if this banjo was stolen. I have become very attached to it. Plays easy and is EXTREMELY light. I can take it on vacation with me. My favorite feature is how easy it plays. For a beginner this plays very well. Get the Rover RB-20 which is essentially the same thing with a better neck. Great for a beginner or as a campfire banjo!

Overall Rating

9


Harmony Reso-Tone Long Neck
submitted 3/19/2007

Submitter

nrvstorm (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Craigslist(.org)

Year Purchased

2007

Price Paid

75r ($US) (bought USED)

Sound


My first instrument so can't say much. But I like the sound, especially the low end.

Sound Rating

7

Setup


I took it to Herb David Guitars in Ann Arbor, Michigan for some set up. It needed new strings, had a broken 5th string tuner (the plastic part was split).

Setup Rating

6

Appearance


It's plastic and much of the "chrome" plating is chipping off. But I like the look of it anyhow.

Appearance Rating

7

Reliability


I don't think anyone would play a gig with this instrument. As for the hardware it seems ok.

Reliability Rating

6

Customer Service


Customer Service

not rated

Components


The long neck is the cool part. The 5th string tuner is friction and could be replaced.

Components Rating

6

Overall Comments


This is alot of fun for my $75. I'm now doing something fun that I've always wanted to do: play the banjo!

Overall Rating

7


Harmony N/A
submitted 6/13/2005

Submitter

Al Handa (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Private party

Year Purchased

2005

Price Paid

50 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound


It suits my style fine, I pick without fingerpicks and it sounds
the way I hoped it would after setting it up. It has a bright
sound, but not piercing, great resonance, and nice overtones.
Not a "plunky" sound, which I'm still debating whether to loosen
the head a tad to get more, but I like it so far so I'm not messing
with it right now.

Sound Rating

8

Setup


Banjo was poorly set up, head was too loose on one side so
bridge was bending the head in, action too high even though
neck was straight. I tighted head, made sure tension was as
even as possible, shaved bridge down, and to get a bit more
brightness, thinned it on the treble side. It's gone from sounding
like a cheap import to a nice intermediate model, I like it's tone
better than the deering goodtime, although the volume isn't
as good, and my judgement is admittedly subjective.

Setup Rating

8

Appearance


It's a banjo that will either make you think it's corny, or cool.
Has a clear head, and an eagle on both sides of the resonator,
making it look older than it already goes. Personally, I like it's
look. The aluminum rings are OK, the pegs are guitar style
(no big deal to me, since I don't play bluegrass) but will
need upgrading.

Appearance Rating

6

Reliability


With good pegs, it should last. Finish is very good on the wood,
I wouldn't use it for a gig at this time, but it's a very heavy
banjo and solidly built for an old economy model.

Reliability Rating

7

Customer Service


Too old for that, which I wish wasn't so. Can't find information
about this particular banjo on the internet, which could be
a more standard harmony that's just been altered.

Customer Service

not rated

Components


The pegs as I've noted.

Components Rating

3

Overall Comments


At 50.00, a bargain, and it sounds to my ears, wonderful with
a great sound between old-time and bluegrass, with lots
of resonance if you play slow. It's very playable, great
balance, and set up right, I feel no need to get a goodtime.
I'll just play this one, and if I really get serious, make a
bigger jump in model.

Overall Rating

10


Harmony Long Neck "Pete Seeger" H28132
submitted 5/12/2005

Submitter

Unknown

Where Purchased

Craigslist

Year Purchased

2003

Price Paid

100 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound


The sound is pretty good. I wasn't sure what it'd be like with the Reso-tone rim so I was pleasently surprised by it's brightness. I often use a banjo mute and was even more surprised that when played with the mute, it produces a very sweet sound. I like the sound with the mute so much that I almost always leave the mute on.

Sound Rating

8

Setup


The banjo was used when I bought it and the set up was good. I have not made any changes to the set up since I bought the banjo.

Setup Rating

8

Appearance


This banjo has a nice look to it. It has a long neck (32") black laqured with a black ebony fretboard, the rim is nickle plated reso-tone (baklite) which is in great shape with almost no chipping and the head is the original Remo weatherking.

Appearance Rating

8

Reliability


Seems like a pretty reliable banjo. I was made in the late 60's and has held up pretty well. Seems to have been well taken care of by previous owners. Has all of it's original parts, including guitar style tuners) and everthing functions well.

Reliability Rating

8

Customer Service


N/A

Customer Service

not rated

Components


The rim is reso-tone (baklite) which give the banjo a rather bright sound for an open back. The peghead says the neck is steel reinforced, which makes for an exceptionally heavy banjo especially since has a long neck. I always play this banjo sitting down with someplace to rest my left arm. The tuners are guitar style and a look cheap but have held up fine and do not go out of tune.

Components Rating

7

Overall Comments


This is a nice banjo. It's fun to play has a nice sound and a good look. It's best feature is the long neck, that is what makes it interesting to play. It's a nice banjo to have but is not my primary instrument. If someone was looking for beginner banjo, I'd say get an old Harmony for cheap to learn on and then move up to something with a better sound later. However, I've meet a few people who've put Renaissance heads on their Harmony's and have made them into real keepers. The Renaissance head gives them a real nice sound. There may be hope for these old Harmony's yet.

Overall Rating

7


Harmony Harmony Marquis
submitted 3/3/2005

Submitter

Bigbike4 (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Best discount store

Year Purchased

78

Price Paid

79.00 ($US)

Sound


Nice loud bluegrass sound, I wanted to learn to play bluegrass and this was the instrument I got. I eventually sent it out to have some improvements made to it, but sound never changed, just good overall sound

Sound Rating

8

Setup


Set up-from Best? You have to be kidding. In the years I had it , I sent it out to a luthier to have the neck worked on and have the action lowered (along with getting a geared 5th string peg installed-I did the other strings pegs myself when they were changed to geared over the original friction).

Setup Rating

1

Appearance


It had a 1976 eagle decal on the inside of the resinator as well as the back and it had a clear head on it. It was then and still was when I sold it a sharp looking banjo. It had no appearance flaws except a small chunk that was missing from the aluminum pot (from the manufactor). Hardware stayed nice looking for the 25 years I owned the instrument

Appearance Rating

9

Reliability


Reliability was never an issue once the tuners were changed from friction to geared. The instrument was built to be a beater and could take a beating.

Reliability Rating

7

Customer Service


Never dealt with the company so I really don't know, but Harmony has been around as student instruments in all types of instruments for years.

Customer Service

5

Components


Friction tuners, which are never good and were upgraded by me to geared tuners.

One rod action adjuster which needs to be a 2 rod, but then again we are talking about your basic beginners instrument here.

Aluminum pot produced a good overall sound.

Components Rating

6

Overall Comments


Very nice beginers instruments and frequently available on/at auctions for very little money. Definately worth $100 or less (unless upgrades have been made and then it depends on what upgrades have been done). The instrument is fine for kids or adults that want a cheapie to see if they are really interested in learning. I would recommend having the instrument sent out and action adjusted by a pro luthier.

Overall Rating

7


Harmony Reso-Tone Long Neck
submitted 2/25/2005

Submitter

BConk (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Bernunzio's

Year Purchased

2005

Price Paid

Don't Remember (bought USED) historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


I'm pretty well amazed at how nice this banjo sounds - considering what it's made of. It has a nice "folksy" tone, reasonable volume. Without a capo it has a deep earthy tone - but I like the sound better once it's capoed even if only at the first fret. Since I put it back together, it's become one of my favorite playing banjos even though I have several other banjos including much more expensive banjos. Truth be told, I most often play it with the capo at the 3rd fret - but that's pretty much par for the course with long necks from what I understand.

Sound Rating

6

Setup


Set up is still in progress, it was an "AS IS" basket case when I bought it from Bernunzio's. I stretched a new calfskin head on it; put on new cheapo- guitar style tuners; a new geared 5th string peg; replaced the missing 5th string nut w/ a railroad spike; and replaced the original tailpiece with an old style Waverly which I have cranked down about halfway now. I first put on a 5/8 Moon bridge but the action was too low so I made a bridge out of split maple that's just shy of 3/4 inch high - perfect action for clawhammer now. I'll give her a high rating on set up 'coz I did it ;D

Setup Rating

9

Appearance


easy on the eyes??? ahem - not really, although it does have a certain utilitarian charm to it. The pot on this model is chrome plated (?) bakelite with 30 nickel plated hooks. The neck and round dowel stick are painted gloss black, the dyed pearwood (?) fingerboard has MOP dot inlays, brass frets and white paint binding. The calfskin head looks cool - ;)

Appearance Rating

4

Reliability


It lasted this long (sort of) the plating on the bakelite is flaking off in several places, the tension hoop seems OK - pretty robust - more robust than a Goodtime, brazed and machined - not spot welded. the tuners had to be replaced - the neck has a slight twist down past the 5th fret that doesn't seem to matter at all for playing. The frets held up well - but I can't say how much use they've seen.

Reliability Rating

5

Customer Service


Bernunzio's was easy to deal with - friendly. Of course I bought it "as is" so I can't really comment on their service too much

Customer Service

9

Components


replacing the 5th string tuner was a given - old friction style, cheap and cranky - the nut is plastic. The pot is bakelite. The original head is one very thin piece of calfskin (mine was torn) the flesh hoop in it is not bigger in gauge than coat hanger wire and the tension hoop fit is sloppy so it can make for dicey times when you're stretching a new skin head on. I'd have gone with a beefier flesh hoop but for the hooks which are so close to the wall of the pot that even the wire hoop bends them out a bit. The tailpiece, as I recall, was a cheap one - it was broken so I tossed it right off.

Components Rating

4

Overall Comments


If this banjo was stolen I'd laugh at the person who (hopefully) walked past the valuable banjos in my house to get to it. But I'd also miss it and look for another to fix up. I paid less then $100 for this one and I'd do that again no problemo - even more. My favorite things about this banjo are: The sound - it sounds great for a plastic banjo! The weight - it's a long neck that weighs less than 4 pounds! The playability (once you put a capo on the 3rd fret ;) it's a great practice - pick in the kitchen while supper's simmering kind of banjo- very easy and fun to play.
And the fact that it sounds as good as it does is fantastic, as far as I'm concerned . I'm glad it wasn't the banjo I started on when I was a kid in the 60's 'cause I probably wouldn't like this one as much as I do now if I had. Oh and did I mention it sounds good too? Revisited: I WAS a kid in the 60's but I didn't start playing banjos until early 2004 - just wanted to make that clear ;)

Overall Rating

7


Harmony Reso-Tone Tenor H 8000
submitted 12/20/2004

Submitter

Dude Stewart (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

eBay

Year Purchased

2004

Price Paid

$95 (bought USED) historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


The Harmony Reso-Tone banjos are amazing bargains! The Bakelite body gives them a sweeter, folkier tone. I'm a strummer, mostly. I sit around and work up some of my old favorite songs, ones that sound like they'd be fun to do on a banjo. Though I have the Harmony R 8005 Resonator that was available as an option, I prefer the sound of open-back.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


Dead simple. A very basic instrument. The steel reinforced neck is not adjustable, though it is still straight as a die forty years later.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


The Harmony Reso-Tones were plain, workmanlike beginner instruments. The Reso-Tone Bakelite is a dark brown, and the neck was painted to match. It's VERY lightweight, especially with the resonator off. For what it is, it's a beautiful little instrument.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


It's already gone 40-plus years. As anyone with kids knows, it is possible to break just about anything. But as basic and rugged as this model is, I'll bet it would stand up better than many newer instruments.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


The Harmony company is still around, but they've changed ownership a few times since they made this banjo. Warranty service is kind of a moot point on a forty-year-old instrument, but I'll give them a high rating for making it so good in the first place.

Customer Service

10

Components


Body: "Reso-Tone" Bakelite

Neck: Wood

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


I just love it! These Harmony Reso-Tones are a STEAL. If you have a fancy instrument that you don't want to take on a camping trip, pick up one of these for around $100 and take it, instead. If you don't care for it, or get tired of it, you can always sell it for what you have in it. But don't be surprised if it starts winning you over and becomes your new favorite "plunking" instrument. It's got a very mellow sound - definitely brighter than a gut-string gourd banjo, but toward that end of the spectrum, timbre-wise. I keep mine leaning against the couch, and pick it up 15 or 20 times a day. If I lost this one, I'd definitely go right on eBay and get another - there's tons of them out there, going for anywhere from $45 to $185. A beautiful little instrument, from another time! As I said in my review of the 5-string version, these old Harmony Reso-Tones are the '55 Chevy of banjos.

Overall Rating

10


Harmony Reso-Tone 5-String H 8145
submitted 12/20/2004

Submitter

Dude Stewart (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

eBay

Year Purchased

Price Paid

86 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound


A very sweet-sounding instrument. I like to play old-fashioned folk, sometimes even minstrel-style, with bare fingers. Most modern instruments (beautiful and nice as they are!) are too loud and clangy for my purposes. I couldn't afford to speculate on one of the wonderful gourd banjos that I see in the catalogs, so I had the idea of buying an inexpensive open-back banjo and putting some La Bella nylon strings on it. I bought this 5-string Harmony Reso-Tone on eBay, and loved the tone so much I never got around to trying the nylon strings on it. Very mellow - possibly too much so for some people's taste - but if you're into old-fashioned banjo, this thing is the cat's meow!

Sound Rating

10

Setup


This banjo had been knocking around for two generations in somebody's summer cabin. Kids had played with it, taken it on picnics, you name it. All I had to do was tune it when I took it out of the box. The neck is steel-reinforced, but not adjustable. It's very simple and rugged.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


I like its simplicity. It has a dark brown Bakelite "Reso-Tone" body, and a brown-painted neck. I own the optional Reso-Tone resonator (R 8005), but prefer the open back sound so I keep it off.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


It's already lasted forty-plus years, so I'm guessing it's good for at least another forty.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


Harmony is still in business, under different owners. I'm sure they're great to deal with, but I'm giving them a good rating for making something so good that it never needed repair.

Customer Service

10

Components


The body is dark-brown Bakelite. Harmony called it "Reso-Tone". The neck is wood, though I don't know what kind. It's straight and true, whatever it is. The hardware is simple and basic - 16 brackets and a tailpiece.

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


I love this banjo! I knew nothing about Reso-Tone banjos when I bought it. I was just looking for an inexpensive open-back to put some nylon strings on for an old-time banjo sound. It would be a prefectly good banjo for someone who wanted something to take camping as well, but if you're into old-time banjo, this one sounds wonderful for that stuff! Light as a feather, too! (I loved it so much I went back on eBay and bought a tenor, as well!) These old Harmony Reso-Tones are the '55 Chevy of banjos - cool old classics!

Overall Rating

10


Harmony N/A
submitted 8/16/2004

Submitter

Unknown

Where Purchased

Year Purchased

2002

Price Paid

150 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound


"ok" sound for me and what I'm trying to accomplish, right now.
It is a pleasant instrument to play, practice on, listen to from the back...
my pets seem to like it, too

Sound Rating

6

Setup


all I did was put new strings on it
didn't know about 5th string capo or model railroad spikes but once I started taking lessons, my instructor installed the rr spikes!
I did also add an armrest

Setup Rating

9

Appearance


not particularly "pretty," but it's a functional instrument

Appearance Rating

4

Reliability


my teachers says to let him know when I'm ready to sell it
having someone else want it seems to increase it's value
he described it as a "good, middle-of-the-road model, a Chevy"

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


company no longer exists
I

Customer Service

not rated

Components


Components Rating

not rated

Overall Comments


I'm delighted with my banjo - considering I had no clue when I bought it
Just a pent-up desire to learn to play the banjo
which I didn't act upon for another 2 years after that!
I have it in mind to purchase a new, Deering Goodtime and have had lots of confirmation that this would be a great choice. I really like my Harmony because it is so compact and lightweight (plastic tone ring, no resonator) oh. well, it works for me! And I decided to write this review because I saw another Harmony review in the list!

Overall Rating

10


Harmony N/A
submitted 8/9/2004

Submitter

Bluegrass Beetle (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Music Store

Year Purchased

2004

Price Paid

$200 (Cdn Dollars) historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


good sound

Sound Rating

7

Setup


it was set up will, i wish it had rr spikes or a 5th string capo thou

Setup Rating

6

Appearance


looks good, finish is coming off a little bit though

Appearance Rating

6

Reliability


very reliable ( i bump it around a lot)

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


Customer Service

not rated

Components


Components Rating

not rated

Overall Comments


i like it is is good

Overall Rating

8


Harmony Harmony Marquis
submitted 4/8/2004

Submitter

accoban (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

A Garage sale

Year Purchased

2001

Price Paid

100$ ($US) (bought USED)

Sound


A good beginner. I used it for a year until I got to good for it said my teacher so I got a Aida

Sound Rating

7

Setup


I never changed anything but the strings.

Setup Rating

8

Appearance


Its brown with a clear head and is very hard to clean of fingerprints.

Appearance Rating

5

Reliability


Like a rock. I use is as a beater banjo.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


the people at the sale were kind.

Customer Service

not rated

Components


Its pretty standard. just one rod in the head.

Components Rating

8

Overall Comments


I would recomend this banjo for a beginner.

Overall Rating

8


Harmony Harmony Marquis
submitted 2/29/2004

Submitter

laurin (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

private

Year Purchased

2004

Price Paid

200.00 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound


Good beginner. Lots of volume. Although after buying this one, I think I could have bought a better product for the same price. Used of course. To the best of my knowledge it doesn't have a tonering and it has a peg instead of a 5th string tuner. It has been sitting in the closet for 15 years and not played until I bought it.

Sound Rating

5

Setup


It is true intonation and has a great neck

Setup Rating

9

Appearance


unknown

Appearance Rating

not rated

Reliability


Very durable

Reliability Rating

7

Customer Service


unknown

Customer Service

not rated

Components


It has only 1 rod instead of 2.

Components Rating

not rated

Overall Comments


Overall Rating

not rated


Harmony N/A
submitted 9/10/2003

Submitter

stumpkicker (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Pawn Shop

Year Purchased

1973

Price Paid

100 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound


It was a great starter banjo. At the time it fit well with the Seeger book it came with. It took it to my first festival in 76 at Athens Alabama. The locals, who had never seen one were impressed by the sound.

Sound Rating

7

Setup


I was an experienced guitarist and found the action quite good. Didn't change anything but strings for 5 years.

Setup Rating

7

Appearance


Neck ws painted mud brown, brown plastic resonator.

Appearance Rating

4

Reliability


We palyed lots of Head Start classes/ church suppers, ets with never a problem.

Reliability Rating

7

Customer Service


Customer Service

not rated

Components


Components Rating

not rated

Overall Comments


I still have it and its case. With a Fyberskin head I use it for my old timey/folk banjo. 30 years with only one head replacement, strings and a few bridges. I can't complain

Overall Rating

7


Harmony Student
submitted 5/4/2002

Submitter

Unknown

Where Purchased

Pawn Shop

Year Purchased

1995

Price Paid

100 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound


This was a great beginning banjo with good action, good tone, and plenty of volume. Only problem was that the neck was about 1/4

Sound Rating

5

Setup


Setup Rating

not rated

Appearance


Appearance Rating

not rated

Reliability


Reliability Rating

not rated

Customer Service


Customer Service

not rated

Components


Components Rating

not rated

Overall Comments


Overall Rating

not rated


You are not logged in.
Log In


Not a member? Create an Account (FREE!)



2095 BANJO LOVERS ONLINE

HOME | FORUMS | MEMBERS | MEDIA ARCHIVE | TABS & LESSONS | CLASSIFIEDS | REVIEWS | LINKS | CALENDAR | STORE | TERMS OF USE