Visit The Murphy Method

John Boulding Luthier Reviews

John Boulding
submitted 4/19/2017

Submitter

coach8910 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I picked up a very nice Recording King RK25 here in the classifieds. When I got the banjo it sounded pretty good. I decided to send it to John to have a real professional set it up properly. When I received it back, WOW what a major difference. John was/is extremely patient with all questions, answering thoroughly going over every detail of what he was going to do to the banjo to get it to sound the very best it possibly could. Top communication the whole time. Extremely fast turn around. And very fair pricing. I highly recommend John Boulding for any repair or professional setup needs.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 4/1/2017

Submitter

MikeR231 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I took John my RK36 for his full setup treatment. He tore it down and went through it completely making adjustments or changes where needed. Wow! Amazing improvement and sound this thing produces now! I honestly didn't know such a change was possible! Quick turn around and very easy to work with. Also very good communication and even takes the time to thoroughly explain changes he performed and what they do for the banjo. I couldn't be more pleased with his work and the outcome. I will certainly be going to him for any future work that I need! Thank you John!

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 3/31/2017

Submitter

dougcossin (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I sent Mr. Boulding a severely delaminated rim from a prewar TB-1.  He conducted business very professionally.  The repair was top notch and was completed in a timely fashion.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 1/18/2017

Submitter

jgbryant (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John did a re-fret on my Ode Model C banjo and he was able to widen the string spacing by modifying the binding and extending the frets to the edge of the fingerboard.  I was a little skeptical at first, but he did a great job.  The banjo plays and sounds better than ever.  The fret and binding work was very well done considering the age and condition of the banjo. 

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 1/8/2017

Submitter

1luckysob (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I recently had john install a custom neck and new resonator on my fb-59. he did a fantastic job was with great communication and turn around. I would highly recommend. Thank you.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 12/4/2016

Submitter

Peanutscreams (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Very pleased with the work John did on my Deering Maple Blossom. Also very happy with the turn around time.Excellent communication in reference to answering questions, recommendations, advice and encouragement.  Thank you.

Butch B.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 11/7/2016

Submitter

saulsmanb (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John repaired a resonator sidewall from a banjo of mine that was damaged during shipment. The work required him to do a structural repair, and then match the stain and finish of the rest of the banjo. John spent a great deal of time making sure that the repair was essentially invisible to the eye. It was obvious in dealing with John that he is personally invested in properly repairing the instruments in his care. It was also very important to him that I was pleased with the resulting repair, which I most definitely was. Since I live essentially across the country from his shop, it was very reassuring to have someone working on my banjo that I could trust to do a professional job. I would recommend his work without reservation. Thanks, John!

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 11/3/2016

Submitter

texasbanjos (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I sent John a vintage Gold Star banjo that needed some serious attention. Boy, am I glad that I did. His work, attention to detail, and communication were all first rate. I highly recommend him to anyone. This guy really knows his stuff. Even though it took a bit longer than I anticipated, it was more than worth the wait. Trust me.  :^)

He even took the time to make a short video of the banjo in action! Oh yeah, he's a great picker too!

Simply put, I couldn't be happier with the experience.  Two thumbs up for John Boulding!

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 11/2/2016

Submitter

PKM (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I sent my mahogany banjo neck to John to do a speed neck on. the price was more than reasonable, he was fast, thorough and just a wonderful guy to deal with.  I am particular about the esthetics of my banjo and did not like the looks of most of the speed neck I had seen. John assured me that he could feather into the finish, re-stain to match and it would look very nice.  The job he did was absolutely beautiful and the neck plays so much more smoothly and like butter.  I haven't stopped playing it since it arrived and I reassembled it this morning.  In the future, I will use John for any, and all of my banjo luthier work.     Thank you, John

 

 

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 10/12/2016

Submitter

awol13 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John recently did some more work for me and to tell the truth I did not think anyone could do much with this 80+ year old resonator which had a really rough life. I was really overwhelmed to see what this man did with this project it turned out beautiful. He is the only one I would consider to work on my banjos. Thanks John 

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 9/26/2016

Submitter

Jeff Whittington (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John Boulding just re-fretted 2 banjos, a guitar and a mountain dulcimer for me. Quick turnaround and great prices.

Don't miss him if you need repairs. He is my go to Luthier from here on out.

Thanks John, Jeff Whittington

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 9/9/2016

Submitter

myersvince74 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Took my 2008 Sullivan Greenbriar to John for a pro set up. John re-cut the heel and turned the wood rim for a perfect tone ring and flange fit. When I picked the banjo up, I was blown away by the volume and tone he was able to get out of the banjo. Don't get me wrong, the banjo is a good one to start with but John truly brought the HOSS out of it. I strongly recommend John Boulding for all your banjo needs. John also works on most other bluegrass instruments, but I don't play any of those lol. Look on YouTube and find a video of Hazy Ridge Bluegrass Band to hear this banjo in action. Make sure to click a video from 9-10-16 or newer. Thanks John Boulding for a job well done.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 7/29/2016

Submitter

dixonjb (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John does a great job and is very personable. I have an original Greg Rich Recording King from 1997 ID'd as #001 I purchased from David Schenck at Dogwood Designs in 2001.  It has always played great.  Knowing John from his YouTube videos, I thought I would take it to him for setup.  

John made a number of adjustments, however, in the process it became apparent that the neck was slightly twisted and disallowed the ability to get my desired action.  John suggested that I contact Greg and see how to get a replacement neck for his #001 RK.  After making contact with Greg, he was able to help me get a replacement neck and matching resonator (Thanks Greg!!). I took it back to John and he did an excellent job fitting and replacing the neck.  I had to call him in from his fishing trip, but he dropped his bait and came to my rescue.  He did a great job, and it plays and looks great!  He is currently working to straighten the original neck, so I can keep the original for posterity.

Thanks John for your expert work!

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 7/27/2016

Submitter

MMcDougal (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I sent my RK35 up to John to get it completely reworked. He took it apart and did a tone ring fit, cut the neck to better fit the pot, dressed and polished the frets, adjusted the tail piece, adjusted the truss rod and more. This banjo left sounding pretty decent and returned sounding like a tone monster. It plays and sounds VERY good, shockingly good actually and its all because of John. He takes pride in his work and it shows in his workmanship. Thank you so much again John, I will not hesitate to use you for banjo work in the future.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 7/12/2016

Submitter

nograss5150 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I recently sent John an older neck with a finish issue.  John handled the problem and the neck now looks like new. Superb workmanship and very happy with the results.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 7/7/2016

Submitter

banjoglen (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I recently had John do some setup and refinish work on my banjo, when i got it back it didn't look or sound like the same banjo, his work was flawless and very reasonably priced, i highly recommend

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 6/27/2016

Submitter

awol13 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John has done some great work for me and h is a really good guy so it makes for a good and knowledgeable work conversation. I highly recommend him. Jesse Miller

 

 

 

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 6/17/2016

Submitter

6394Whit (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Took my Granada to John for some resonator work and setup. I am extremely pleased with the quality of his work. John did exactly as he said he would do, communicated with me regularly and is very fair in pricing. Deserves a 10 rating because everything was professionally done and surpassed my expectations.  Thank you John Boulding!!!!

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 5/12/2016

Submitter

nashvillebanjo (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John does the best work! I have had him do numerous fret jobs for my banjo necks his work is superb!! and hes also a nice guy

thanks John for the great work.

 

Todd Taylor

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 5/12/2016

Submitter

89red1500 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John installed new  stainless  steel frets on my  neck,   he did a great job  and in a very short  time.. He also took care of  my spike  problems      ,   and  polished the whole  neck .    The banjo plays  very well now  .   The final cost  was  what  he said it would be.  Dont hesitate to use  john for   for any banjo repair.

Overall Rating

9


John Boulding
submitted 5/8/2016

Submitter

32 Dallas (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 4/30/2016

Submitter

rjaykay62 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I was given an old (1920s) May-Bell tenor banjo that was in pretty rough shape. Still had I believe the original skin head. I took it to John to convert it to a 5-string. He really did a nice job on this. He made a beautiful curled maple neck and fingerboard, matches the original pot. He also had the May-Bell graphics copied and placed on the peghead. And as I understand it after it was finished and ready for shipping back to me, the original dowel broke under pressure. Apparently was rotted inside and couldn't been detected. So he then made a new dowel, did a great set-up and now this May-Bell looks, plays and sounds mighty fine. Like John says, "it plays like butter". He shipped it back to me, I pulled it out of the box and with a little tuning I was pickin' and grinnin'. Sweet..I love this banjer. Thanks John Boulding! 

 

 

 

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 4/11/2016

Submitter

TNCarl (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I'm a beginner (8 months in now), and I started out playing a Washburn.  As soon as I knew that I would stick with it, I started thinking about buying a better quality banjo. By reading John's posts and watching his LOTW videos, I felt confident that John could give me some good advice on buying a quality banjo, so I contacted him about four weeks ago to see what he might advise me to get.  

Well, after asking me several questions, John told me that soon he would be getting in a very good Hopkins Mahogany to check out the set-up for a customer who wanted to sell it, but wanted to make sure it was in top condition before the sale.  John agreed to act as the middle man and further said he'd send me pictures and an audio clip whenever he received the banjo and worked some of his magic (my words, not his) on it.

It turned out that not a lot needed doing anyway, but John still made sure it was in great shape before sending me the pictures and audio clip.  Since I didn't trust my own beginner's ears, I had asked my teacher (who is also a luthier) to listen to the sound bite, and to pass judgment to assure that I was getting a good quality instrument.  My teacher had previously advised me not to buy a banjo until he had a chance to check it out and pass judgment.

When my teacher and I heard John's recording, we mutually agreed that it likely was a very good quality banjo.  My teacher asked if I would ask John for a 48 hour "trial period" in order for him to "check it out", and John agreed.

When I received the banjo, I was amazed at how well John had packed the banjo. That package probably could have gone around the world and back without the contents being damaged in the least.

I took it to my teacher the day I got it, and he was able to fully inspect it.  He said, "You better buy this one" (and my teacher, who owns some very expensive banjos, including a true pre-war Gibson, is not that easy to please when selecting banjos).

The whole process went as smoothly as could be.  John proved to be very trustworthy and a man of his word, and he followed through with everything he promised to do.  I would highly recommend John to be a person of high integrity, and I would certainly do business with him again if/when I should need his services.

 

 

 

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 2/15/2016

Submitter

mojack163 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Had a bit of work I needed done......called on John and no different than before, excellent work!

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 2/9/2016

Submitter

jchipps_1 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I recently had some luthier work done by John Boulding, on a 1980's Japanese master-clone banjo.

The list of work he performed was fairly long, which included:

Finishing and installing a new Cox rim, Final fitting of the tone ring, Neck re-set and installation, Complete re-fret, Speed neck, Repair of stripped truss cover screws, Installation of new pip, Nut reshape and adjustment, RR spikes installed, 5 New tuners installed, Reassembled with a new head, new strings and a full set-up.

John was very good about keeping me informed through email, as to when the banjo arrived, his progress during the entire time he had the banjo, and also when it was ready for shipping back to me.

After completing all the work, John kept the banjo for several additional days, letting everything settle in while tweaking and fine tuning the set-up and also trying various bridges etc., to get the banjo sounding the best it could be.

When I originally called John to discuss doing this work, we were on the phone for what seemed an hour, discussing the repairs, the costs, and various options I had, and also answering many of my other questions. John was very pleasant and personable to talk with, and didn't make me feel as if he was in a rush.

I was very pleased with the quality of his work, and felt the costs of his services were very reasonable.

Johns love of the Banjo in general is quite evident, and I feel that he certainly puts some of that love to work on every banjo he touches, just as if it were his own. 

I gave an over-all rating of (8) rather than (10) only because I feel there's always room for 'anyone' to improve, so to me a perfect 10 comes across as somewhat fake or unrealistic.

The Bottom Line - If you need any type of luthier work done, don't hesitate to give John a call.

I'm sure you'll come away very satisfied.

 

 

 

 

 

Overall Rating

8


John Boulding
submitted 1/19/2016

Submitter

Dan Mountjoy (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I drove the very-worthwhile 90 minutes up to Mt.Airy to have John do the setup work on my new banjo.  He took lots of time to make sure the tone ring was fitting just right, adjusted the action a bit, and installed 4 spikes.  It's always nice to have the chance to sit and watch (and learn) while he does the work, and he couldn't be more courteous.  John does great, meticulous work...and his playing is top notch, so you can at least hear what your banjo "CAN" sound like when he's finished!  I highly recommend John for any of your banjo setup needs.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 12/30/2015

Submitter

raverys12 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I had sent my Deering Maple Blossom to John to see if he could resolve an intonation problem I was having. He was very helpful in resolving the problems I was having. He took the initiative to look at the entire banjo and resolve other issues as well. He was always willing to correspond on a regular basis to keep me up to date on his progress. When my banjo was returned it played and sounded like never before. John knows his stuff. I really enjoy playing now and don't get as frustrated trying to play a banjo that just didn't sound right. Thanks John for your everything. 

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 12/23/2015

Submitter

910banjo1 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


 

I sent a banjo to John to have some minor work done and set-up.  Now, the banjo looks nice and sounds great. He was patient and quick to respond to e-mails.  His work is reasonably priced.  I would recommend John as an experienced luthier.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 11/24/2015

Submitter

byrdman (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


To all that may be looking to re-fret... I took both my banjos to John Boulding in Mt Airy N.C.

what a Great guy.  He took the time to answer all my questions and concerns...

He welcomed me into his home/shop and even showed me the potential of what my banjos could 

and should sound like. Man what a picker

Very reasonable on price and great was the work done... I chose to go with the Bow-tie fret size in stainless on both banjos and what a difference.. Plays so much easier. I highly recommend John's work !!!     

Thanks John for a great job

D.Byrd

aka byrdman

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 9/8/2015

Submitter

recording king (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Shipped my Recording King RK-36 banjo to John to have some neck work done on it.  He reshaped the neck, put a speed finish on it, and took about 50 percent off the binding.  He also done a complete setup and changed out my bridge.  It looks and sounds great.  The neck plays so much easier.  This is the 2nd time I've had John work on my banjo.  He does great work at a very reasonable price and he's also a great guy.  Thanks John

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 8/28/2015

Submitter

tomt1948 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Was able to drop my Deering off to John for replacement of frets.  not only did he turn it around in the same day he buffed it up and polished it had it looking like new... price was very reasonable.. I would definitely take it back to John when it needs additional service... Man what a difference without the fret buzz... sounds great.

 

Tom T

Overall Rating

9


John Boulding
submitted 8/18/2015

Submitter

LarryD1 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Dropped my 1996 Granada off to John while I was attending the Old Fiddler's Convention in Galax a couple of weeks ago. I had some buzzes and just wasn't happy with my setup.  He did a complete setup and corrected the buzz problems. In the process of the setup, he cleaned and buffed the wood and metal. Not only does it sound good, I've gotten a lot of compliments on its appearance. Price was fair and reasonable for all he did which included 7 new frets, a new bridge, and dressing of the fingerboard.

Thanks John
 

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 7/11/2015

Submitter

urlkonig (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I contacted John about an old Vega tenor conversion that belongs to my Father-in-law.  The banjo had a lot of play in the neck/dowel stick attachments and needed a good general set-up as well.  

John quickly diagnosed the issues, gave me a very reasonable quote to address them, and turned around all the repairs within a week.  Very happy with the work, and may be sending him another project shortly...

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 4/28/2015

Submitter

HuberTone (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I took my Huber Lancaster prototype to John so he could install a new neck from another Lancaster I own. 

John is a fairly local guy (about 30 minutes away), and has done tremendous banjo setup jobs for me in the past, but this was the first time I had him do any major surgery on one of my 'jos. 
 
Lemme tell you, he took everything good from that neck and put it into that banjo, and somehow made it even better!! it's smooth, 100% true of the neck, and has all of the "splatter" tone I could ask for, and then some. being a phenomenal picture of himself, John understands what banjo players want in a banjo tone, and delivers.
 
I've had the banjo back for about two days, and it gets better every time I pick it up!! 
 
John's prices were very reasonable, and he even offered impressive follow-up the day after I got it back, telling me how to maintain the sound I wanted. 
 
Highest recommendation!! 
 
(Btw, check out John's YouTube page  for great tips and picking lessons!)

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 4/9/2015

Submitter

BarnyardMonkey (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John did some work on an 84 Goldstar for me that was in rough shape. i sent some photo's through Email and got a quote, and the price stayed exactly as promised.

 

I shipped it out, and Got the banjo back in around a week, and it looked great.

Great guy and Luthier. 

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 3/30/2015

Submitter

32 Dallas (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 3/11/2015

Submitter

banjoman717 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I had my 1981 Gold Star worked on by John. A complete set up, the neck repaired with a speed finish, and a new inlay put in the peg head. He did a great job. The banjo looks, plays, and sounds better than it has in 30 years!!! 

Thanks John!

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 2/11/2015

Submitter

CarolinaPicker (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I had a banjo that was buzzing on the 4th string when it was fretted at the 2nd fret. I called John and told him about the issue I was having. John told me to send him the banjo and he would look it over. John called me and let me know what adjustments were needed and an estimate to do the work. John made some adjustments to some high frets, dressed the frets, and made a head adjustment. Then he did an overall setup on the banjo. When I received the banjo back the action was perfect and the banjo sounded and played great. John is a very knowledgeable luthier and a great fellow to do business with. I would highly recommend John.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 11/23/2014

Submitter

MarkAnderson (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I asked John to make a conversion neck for my 26 BB and make it period correct and distressed to match the rest of the instrument.  I also added the challenge of not harvesting the original neck for its inlays.  The job turned out excellent and I'm very happy with it.  John does great work and stands behind it. 

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 2/3/2014

Submitter

Cloudbreakbanjo (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I recently had John reset the neck on my Scruggs model banjo. His craftsmanship was excellent. He told me up front what he thought it would cost to fix it, and that is what he charged. I am very satisfied with the work John did for me. I would recommend him to others without any reservation.  

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 1/13/2014

Submitter

jbgreen (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Can't say enough good things about John and his work.  I took a rather unimpressive RB-250 to him to see what he could do with it.   John got everything out of the banjo that there was to get.  When he got done with his setup, it sounded like a new banjo.

 John is a top-notch luthier and is very knowledgeable about all things banjo.  I highly recommend him.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 10/20/2013

Submitter

banjohopeful (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Just a quick note to confirm what everyone here says about John. John replaced some frets on my Osborne Chief and done a complete setup on my RB3. The difference in the RB3 is amazing. John took the time to completely disassemble and reassemble the banjo. The sound is now great. A few weeks ago I was considering letting the banjo go. John does great work and you won't find a better person to deal with. Excellent work at a modest price. I could not be happier. If you need work done do not hesitate to give John a call.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 9/2/2013

Submitter

John Steele (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John did a very tricky job for me - adding the "mastertone" pearl lettering on the peghead of a ball bearing banjo - and did a great job. During the shipping home the neck was badly damaged by the shipper, and John spent many hours making it right. To me that's not only a testament to his great workmanship but also his character. I'm very happy. Thanks John !

Overall Rating

9


John Boulding
submitted 8/25/2013

Submitter

ChuckCloer (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I bought an RB800 used almost 35 years ago and have been very happy with it. John was recommended to me when I was looking for someone to lower the action, check out the frets, and just generally look it over as it had never been to a luthier before. John completely disassembled the banjo to check it out and gave me my options and his recommendations. Although I had been happy with the banjo before taking it to John, I was ecstatic after he worked on it. It was like getting a brand new banjo at a fraction of the cost of a new one. I was very impressed with John's knowledge, skills, craftsmanship and integrity. He also looked at my son's Octave Banjo that was giving him problems. Turns out there was no problem. John recommended simply using heavier gauge 3rd and 4th strings, and didn't charge for the advice. I will definitely make the trip to John's shop anytime I need work done.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 7/31/2013

Submitter

Big I (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I just bought a new neck and resonator for banjo. The neck had some buzzing problems and did not fit exactly right. I took it to John and he fixed me right up. He got the neck fit just right and leveled the frets. He also sprayed my rim to match the new neck and reso. The reso had a satin finish on it but the neck had had a gloss finish. I was going to get him to spray the reso also with a high gloss. He said, wait one second. He went and polished the reso and came back with a gloss finish showing. Apparently whoever made the reso did not do the final polish. I had no way of knowing this. John did this for me at no charge. Sure it only took him a few minutes to polish it but it shows he is a straight up guy. His overall price for all the work was very reasonable. Very satisfied customer.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 7/3/2013

Submitter

TN banjo (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I took my banjo to John for some heel fitting and a lag bolt that was pulled out. I am more than happy with the work John did. My action is finally where I wanted it and the fit is great. John is a craftsman and a great guy to boot.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 6/8/2013

Submitter

Wes Lassiter (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I recently had John convert a TB 1926 BB for me and the conversion he did was amazing. The banjo has great tone due to his knowledge of how to build the neck for the banjo to have great tone. He harvested old inlays from a tenor neck and did a masterful job in matching it up with that old Ball Bearing Pot. The banjo plays so easy and sounds so nice. It has that old world sound with a bit of snap but dry like a fine Cabernet. I so appreciate folks like John whose whole life is dedicated to excellence. As Spinoza said. "All things excellent are as difficult as they are rare". John certainly encompasses that statement.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 2/23/2013

Submitter

Williamsr (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 2/23/2013

Submitter

Williamsr (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John you did a beautiful job repairing the Banjo neck on my Deering Golden era II Thanks ever so much it looks just like brand new
Bill Scutt

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 2/20/2013

Submitter

1935tb-11 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


was having a little trouble getting my old banjo back to sounding right again,, i tinkered with it and it just wasn't there.. so i dropped it off at johns and told him to go through it and do what he could,,, i could not believe how much better it was after he did his thing. it was back to its old self and sounding great again.. i would highly reccommend him to anyone needing a set up or any kind of work done,, he is very reasonable and knows his stuff. and a great guy to boot!

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 2/11/2013

Submitter

Kilby88 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


On Saturday, February 9, 2013 I made a trip to visit John Boulding to have him set-up my Gibson rb 75 banjo. I began by contacting John through his web site at note-ablerepair.com to schedule a time in which I could come. He replied back to me on that same day and proceeded to schedule a time to meet. I live about 2-1/2 hours away and drove to his shop on Saturday. Upon arrival, I immediately knew I had made the right choice. John is not only a professional luthier, but a person who cares about his work and wants to see his customers fully satisfied. My banjo had never been set-up by a professional luthier and the work that John completed is second to none. I was having trouble with my third string buzzing and the sound I was getting from my banjo was not what I thought it could be. John performed a complete set-up by doing adjustments to the tone ring fit, setting my rods to neutral, trimming the heel on my neck to lower the action, adjusting the truss rod, setting the bridge placement, setting the head and tailpiece tension, and re-orienting the 5th capo spike. He also corrected my nut slots which were to deep by filling those. After all of this work was completed, my banjo sounded better than it ever has. Not only did he fix all of these problems, he also explained step-by-step on what he was doing and showed me how to make adjustments myself in order to keep my banjo sounding great. If any of you are having similar problems that I had and need help, you should definitely contact John. If I ever need any additional help or banjo set-up work, John will be the first and only man I call for the job. I want to thank John for all of the work he did and for walking me through each step, he is a first class guy.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 1/9/2013

Submitter

Shawnee (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John Boulding is my luither of choise as he has completed a set up and some fret repairs for me on my 1990 Granada. Even though there were 1000 mile distance between him and I he kept me informed as to issues concerning the repairs and set up. I detected immediate overall sound quaility as well as enhanced playability right out of the case when UPS got it back to me . I will not hesitate to send the Granada OR, for that matter, any of my other high-end guitars to Mr John Boulding for repairs/issues. Lowell Hurt ( Shawnee )

Overall Rating

9


John Boulding
submitted 1/8/2013

Submitter

captainjko (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Awesome guy to work on your banjo. He took the time to explain a lot of things to me while he worked on mine. Changed the nut and set it up so I could play it easier... I highly recommend him!!

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 12/22/2012

Submitter

Goldstarman (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Excellent does not describe what he did for me, great work. He removed the board and eplaced the truss rod, yu could not tell.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 11/6/2012

Submitter

banjobud (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John just did a re-fret job and installed spikes for me on a Gibson neck. Once again, his work is excellent and his prices are more than reasonable. When I got the neck back, I thought it was a mistake because he had polished it up so well. I would highly recommend him to anyone who needs quality work on their pride and joy.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 8/31/2012

Submitter

thumbpick11 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 8/4/2012

Submitter

SamCy (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I recently had an old Ome Juggernaut refretted and the nut reslotted for wider string spacing by John Boulding. As was typical of that day, the original frets terminated at the inner edge of the binding, reducing the effective fretboard width. I wanted smaller fretwire and the frets extended over the binding. I had gotten a price from a local luthier but it was high and he wanted to plane the fretboard as part of the job. With all the fancy inlays on a Juggernaut, I wasn’t comfortable with that idea.

As it turns out, John and I are both also Dobro players, and planned on attending the annual Gathering of Resonateurs in Wilkesboro NC, near his home in Mt. Airy. John volunteered to pick up and deliver the banjo in Wilkesboro, saving us trips to his shop. He completed the refret, finishing the fret ends for maximum useable surface, and salvaged the original nut, allowing it to be shimmed and reslotted. Ome’s design required removal of the fifth string nut to level the new fifth fret, but it had been epoxied in. This took extra time but John was able to remove and salvage it with no damage. All of the work was completed overnight at a very reasonable price, and the banjo was delivered the next day. By the way, John is a fine Dobro player as well as banjo player.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 7/31/2012

Submitter

MTBanjo (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I had an old Gold Star shipped to me, and the neck broke at the peghead. I shipped it to John, even though I'm in Montana, because his price qoute was at least $100 less than the people I talked to locally, who I don't think have the level of skill John does. The break is invisible, and the peghead actually looks better than it did before I sent it to him (not just because it's no longer broken :) , he cleaned up some sloppy glue work the original factory worker had done).

Overall Rating

9


John Boulding
submitted 7/18/2012

Submitter

Hector (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Well what else can I say about Mr. John Boulding. On my privies review (04/23/12) I wrote that I was going to send him my RK85, well got it back a couple of weeks ago. I shipped the banjo and a box of parts. He had 2 rims 2 sets hardware and 3 tone rings to come up with the best sounding combo. Before he shipped it back he told me what he did and said he gave it a prewar tone. I got back a cannon of a banjo with a prewar sound. I'm very happy with his work and prices. John will be my set-up guy from now on. I'm now a true believer that we should let a pro set it up. It's ok for the average guy to maintain his own banjo but the set-up should be done by a pro like John. Thanks again John for a great job!

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 6/25/2012

Submitter

Picken Charlie (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John did a great job setting up my Flinthill Banjo. Sounds so much better. Great job at a fair price

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 5/24/2012

Submitter

Oalbrets (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I had my 1932 RB1 original five string banjo sent to John Bouding for some neck repair and set up work and I can't tell you what a fine job John did on this banjo. The neck is perfect and the sound is so good I almost fainted when I picked it. Thanks John for a wonderful job and I will play this banjo for the rest of my life.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 5/21/2012

Submitter

pickNgrin (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I took a couple of banjos to John for some fret work. One is a 1926 TB1, and the other is a Goldtone OB250. I had worn out the second fret on both of them right under the 3rd string, causing a bad buzz. John leveled and dressed the frets while I waited, and also did some other minor work on the TB1. Both of them are playing great now. And his fee was very reasonable.

I would not hesitate to go to John for banjo repair work. He is a skilled repair man, a great banjo player, and a nice guy.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 4/23/2012

Submitter

Hector (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I send John a old Fender banjo (67-68) that I had just purchased. The action was way to low and it just didn't sound good at all. John fitted the neck ,changed the head and tailpiece and did a fantastic set up on it. He emailed me and kept me up dated threw the process. I got the banjo back and it turned out better than I could have hope for. I would highly recommend John. He is a great person to deal with and a true gentleman. His prices were more than fair. I was so happy with his work that I will be shipping him my other banjo for a set up in a few days.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 3/18/2012

Submitter

chrisward5 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I took both of my banjos to John for setup and fret work. He was very knowledgeable and explained his work before he proceeded to do it. The fret work was amazing, he properly fitted the tone ring, and was able to achieve the best sound my banjos had ever had. I highly recommend John and he is my go to guy from here on out.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 2/17/2012

Submitter

Wes Lassiter (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Last summer, I started to collect together old prewar parts for a banjo I wanted to build as my banjo for life to take with me everywhere and not have to worry as much about someone stealing it. I love the prewar sound for my own personal reasons. At the time, I was working with another luthier who was very capable but was so overloaded with responsibility it seemed the patience with me was not there, I wanted someone to build a neck for this banjo put it together with skill, patience and caring. John Boulding after working on a couple of my other valuable prewars, proved to me he was the person I was seeking in this process. It turns out the banjo he put together is something I will treasure deeply for the rest of my life. The neck he made for this banjo was the most perfect piece of craftsmanship I have ever seen. On top of that he made it to fit me for I have larger hands he made the neck slightly wider. This banjo plays far better any other banjo I have ever owned, and I have owned a bunch of them. He told me it would take time to make it so I never bugged him until he called me about three months later to let me know it was getting close. The result of his patience caring and skill is something I would be proud for anyone to play and show it off to. Thank you John Boulding for making the best neck I have ever seen and thank you for your patience and understanding of what I specifically needed. I have found my lifetime banjo as a result. Only one problem, I am really nervous about is someone stealing this banjo. That is the one problem that got worse. A good problem to have.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 12/29/2011

Submitter

banjobud (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 12/29/2011

Submitter

banjobud (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


For some reason my other comments did not show. So here we go again. I had a 1925 Gibson Ball bearing rim that someone had cut too much to fit a standard sized tonering and a resonator that looked like someone had taken a knife to the checked back and removed several chunks. John was able to add wood to the rim and resonator so it would fit my flange and beautifully restore the resonator without changing the prewar patina. He wasn't satisfied until it met his standards which apparently are very high. All this for a very reasonable cost. I now have a great sounding banjo with a Arthur Hatfield neck, Jim Burlile tonering, prewar rim and resonator all fitted with those superb First Quality parts. Like they say here on the Hangout. It's a Hoss. I highly recommend John to anyone having a banjo needing restoration, repair or setup. He is definately an expert.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 12/28/2011

Submitter

gospelman97 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Another great review for John. It was amazing to see him take apart a banjo and identify the parts and the time periods they were from. He showed me several tips about setup including tap tuning the head. Also, John went above and beyond by transporting me and my banjos to the local car dealership while my car was being serviced. Who can beat curbside service?

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 12/15/2011

Submitter

Dan Mountjoy (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


My RK80 had some intonation and action problems, so I took a drive to see John. While there, I decided to have him check the tone ring fit. Before I left, he had hand-shaved a couple hairs off the rim, adjusted the truss rod, "neutralized" the co-rods, shimmed the neck just a bit, and helped me choose another bridge. The banjo is alive and kicking better than ever. As others have said, he's as friendly and helpful in person as he is here on the hangout -- highly recommended!

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 10/30/2011

Submitter

Yard Onion (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I sent John a custom maple Frank Neat banjo (which is a GREAT banjo) that I felt the tone and volume had dramatically decreased over a short time period. I was unsure why, and after sending it to John he discovered the rim had delaminated/separated and wedged into the tone ring. He was able to separate the rim and ring and then repair the rim. He also tried different tone rings (it had a Blaylock) and finally settled on a JLS ring. Finally he adjusted the banjo and lowered the action a bit. The end result is like having a new banjo. Its got a killer tone down low and up the neck. I'm very happy with John's work. I have sent him banjos for "tune-ups" in the past and his work never disappoints me. His prices are VERY reasonable as well. I would highly recommend him.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 10/24/2011

Submitter

chaosfrailer (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John just re-fretted my banjo and fixed a problem with the neck that was causing a real bad buzz, and he did an excellent job. My banjo is playing and sounding better than ever.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 10/20/2011

Submitter

Wes Lassiter (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Well all the reviews about John are correct. He worked on two of my pre-war banjos and was exceptional with the work he did. He really listened to what you wanted and was able to far exceed my expectations. John cares about his work deeply and has great patience which I appreciate when it comes to my banjos. I really do not see using anyone else. It is well worth the 400 mile trip I have to make. It is rare to meet such a warm friendly person as well. A complete pleasure to deal with in all ways.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 10/3/2011

Submitter

Marshall Gray (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Like most instrument owners, I am "picky" about who I let work on my cherished instruments. John is simply someone I trust to produce quality work, get the best tone, set up, and ease of doing business with. He recently performed a fret job and neck repair on my '26 TB-4 conversion. I then gave John my '85 Stelling Whiteflower for a fret job that had only previously been taken to Geoff Stelling for work (told you I'm picky!). John said it didn't need frets yet and was able to dress the existing ones and saved me some money. Moreover, he arranged pick-up and delivery (to my house - plus one exchange on the side of the interstate - looked like a drug deal!) as he was passing through the area. You can't go wrong with John's work quality, expertise, prices, integrity, or ease to work with - on top of all of that he's a really nice guy!

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 7/12/2011

Submitter

Jason Wilkerson (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John did a basic setup. I was also having some trouble with the neck width of my Huber. John suggested a repair that not only worked great, it was less expensive than I would have expected. He did the work in very quick fashion, and even met me with the banjo on his way to a show, saving me another drive to his shop. I'm completely happy, and will definitely use him again.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 7/1/2011

Submitter

banjerman (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I sent John my early 70's R.L. Givens mandolin for a brand new sunburst stain and lacquer finish. John reserched the look of the Givens line and did a really nice job of duplicating it. Pricing was fair and the work was done in a very timely fashion.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 6/13/2011

Submitter

Couchie (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John has done work on two of my instruments. In both cases he has done expert quality work. John makes intellegent decisions on the methods he uses and is an artist in the truest sense of the word. He is someone I can trust with a valuable instrument and know that it will be respected and properly cared for. I am proud to know him as a fellow musician and friend.
Thanks John.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 4/16/2011

Submitter

mojack163 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Had just purchased a new banjo that was somewhat of a basket case out of the box. I had several opinions on what was needed and finally found John. After some adjustments on the neck and an overall setup......sounded great and playability had improved 100%. Very professional, knowledgeable and great workmanship.....I could trust John with any repair regardless of the extent. Thank you.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 3/29/2011

Submitter

BanjoFlyboy (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


Recently I shipped John my Gibson neck that had been broken at the heel. In just over a week the neck was back in my hands looking better than ever. The break is virtually invisible. John loves what he does, and does it well!

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 3/8/2011

Submitter

bluegrass girl (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


A few weeks ago I took my new banjo to Mt. Airy to have John set it up and I am so impressed with his work! He took the time to show me everything he was fixing/adjusting and told me the reason for doing it. Before I left he had me play it several different times to be sure I was happy with the set up. The customer service was awesome. :) And my banjo sounds great!
If I ever need anything done to my banjo again, I know where to take it. :)

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 1/10/2011

Submitter

Possom (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I had John convert a 26 Gibson TB1 to a flathead 5. He cut the rim for a ring and one piece flange, installled all new hardware and a 5 string neck. The banjo turned out awesome to say the least. We talked a great deal about what sound i was looking for and he gave me suggestions on what i should use. His suggestions were right on the money! His attention to details are what really stand out to me. These are small unimportant things but stuff like the original Gibson label. Everyone ive ever seen has the label cut. John worked my rim down from the bottom and just trued up the top a little so he could save my label, im talking a full oval Gibson label, he didnt even nick the edge of it! He also filled all the bracket holes and touched up where the brakcet bolt went through the original label and filled in the missing "I" in "Michigan". The refinishing of the outside of the rim was a perfect match. Fitting of parts to each other is perfect! We tried different bridges out on it to get the best sound and the one he picked for me is the same one i picked. He knows what sounds correct and he knows how to make it sound that way and for a fair price. 10 out of 10 for Note-Able Repair and owner John Boulding. For Luthier needs or lessons do not hesitate at all to call him. A Great Picker, Luthier, Teacher and Friend.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 12/1/2010

Submitter

gsoscott (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


We all know how John gives his time, help, and advice here at the Hangout via his LOTW and the forums. I can now attest that John is just as helpful in person.
I am home from India for a couple weeks and wanted John to install some spikes and look at some problems that I had with my very inexpensive Lotus banjo. I drove up to John's shop from High Point, NC and was welcomed in like I was an old friend though John and I only knew each other from here at the Hangout. John looked over my banjo, took it apart, adjusted the neck which had gotten a little loose, tweaked the single adjusting rod, tightened the head, raised the nut slightly to remove a buzz, and added several spikes. Along the way, he explained to my clueless brain what he was doing and why it could help and how different components act to change the sound. Unlike many craftsmen or mechanics, he didn't seem to mind my hovering over him and watching his every move.
Having pronounced my banjo as healthy as possible given it's quality, we spent another half hour discussing which banjos on the market would be a next logical step for me. John charged me $50 for spikes, setup, and 2.5 hrs of his time. It was an afternoon well-spent with good company. I feel like I've made a good friend who will always be willing to help as I progress in this effort to learn the banjo, and music.
Upon my return to High Point, I went to my computer and ordered my Christmas present to myself... a new RKR-35 "Madison" from the Banjohut.com. Thanks John for your time and help.... I enjoyed my day at the "Home of the LOTW".

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 11/29/2010

Submitter

HappyAppy (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


My Sullivan Festival Deluxe was starting to sound a little sickly. I took it to John for a professional set up. Wow what a difference it made. I had no idea it could sound that good.

John took the time to go completely through the banjo and check every component. He raised the action and replaced the bridge which improved it up the neck.

I would recommend taking your banjo to a professional to have them set it up. If you can get it to Mt. Airy John will take care of you.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 6/12/2010

Submitter

chaosfrailer (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I had John reset the neck and do a set-up on a "Masterclone" banjo I had put together a while ago, and I never could get it to note true up the neck. John did an excellent job, and the banjo is sounding and playing better than I ever could have hoped for. Highly recomend his services.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 6/5/2010

Submitter

Big I (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I took my RK-80 to john to have it set up. He kept it a couple of days and when I picked it up it finally had the growl I was looking for. But the true test was when I took it to a jam session and played right beside an Earl Scruggs model. The RK held its on beside the three times more expensive banjo. What else can I say. And his price was super. Anybody that can make it to Mt. Airy NC needs to go see john.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 5/23/2010

Submitter

kris_rasnake (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


A piece broke out of the flange on my beloved prewar conversion, I was completely heart broke. I had talked to several people I knew know about OPFs, many telling that it would be very difficult to fix without changing the sound of my banjo.

Along with several referrals from past customers, I had heard John speak about instrument repair in the chat room; so I felt very comfortable leaving my banjo in his care.

After calling John up and telling him my situation, he said he believed he could do the repair. He was very honest about the repair, telling me that there was a chance that the repair might not hold or could possibly change the sound of my banjo some; but the procedure he would use was the best possible repair he was aware of for this type of metal.

I dropped the banjo off and was able to pick it up only a few days later, repaired, looking great, and still sounding as good as before the repair. I was very surprised at my cost also; I will only say that I was prepared and would have been happy to pay more 3 times the cost for the repair.

John was great to deal with, very open and honest about what I could expect, and done a great repair on my banjo at a very reasonable price. I will highly recommend John Boulding to anyone in need of instrument repair work!

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 4/19/2010

Submitter

J e f f (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I had John do some work on my mandolin.
High quality work, prompt service, great price. Can't ask for more.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 12/17/2009

Submitter

cripplecreeker (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I asked John to do a binding repair and neck re-set on my banjo and he not only did everything I asked and in most excellent form - he loaded the banjo in his vehicle when he was playing a gig closer to my residence (we live a couple hours apart) and basically delivered it to me. Not only is John's work excellent - his communication and commitment to his customer was noted.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 9/10/2009

Submitter

acoustuck (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I was banjagnostic: unconvinced that it was possible to achieve "that tone" on a limited budget. Then John showed me THE WAY. I found an old rim and he custom built a great-sounding banjo around it.
John is a phenomenal banjo player, and his luthiery reflects his passion. He'll listen to your concerns and patiently tweak the setup to assist you on your journey to obsession satisfaction.
Go see him!

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 6/4/2009

Submitter

stevieg (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I recently asked John Boulding to build a new "H & F" neck for my 1960's Gibson Mastertone. I just received the banjo with the new neck and I am absolutely delighted with it. It is perfect and exceeds my every expectation!! John also set it up and it sounds great. I would add that dealing with John was a pleasure. He is clearly a Master Craftsman. We discussed all issues, including the pros and cons of all choices that I needed to make, and he provided thoughtful and knowledgeable advice. He also provided an estimate with all terms clearly articulated, including the estimated time. John did all he said he would do to perfection in a timely manner and within budget. He kept me updated throughout so that there were no surprises. I find his work to be incredibly beautiful, timely and reasonably priced. I couldn't be more satisfied and I would strongly recommend John without reservation.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 5/15/2009

Submitter

divingsailingdoug (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I was fortunate enough to aquire a great old pot through the Banjo Hangout. John helped me date it to pre or early civil war. I then turned to John to make me a neck suitable to the circa. John helped me keep the original look while making some great sugesstions for modernizing. when I got the neck it was everything I had hoped for! I would recommend John to anyone! His work is both thoughtful and careful. John is a man that obviously LOVES his work and it shows!

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 5/13/2009

Submitter

LarryD1 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John just replaced the binding on my 1974 Gibson RB 250 resonator. The binding was cracked and crumbling away. I shipped it to John from SC. He made the repair and shipped it back. I'm very pleased with the way it turned out and the quality of John's work. I was concerned about the new binding not matching the original neck binding, but John antiqued the binding the same color as the old that had yellowed over the years. I definitely recommend his work.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 4/28/2009

Submitter

kwlawson1 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John just finished a set up and speed neck for my new Gold Star GF85. It was a good banjo before but now it is a great banjo. I knew that it had more to give, it just needed some one to find it and John did. My friend who plays a 1937 Top Tension Gibson was blown away with the old sound that my banjo now produces. The playability is now awesome and the speed neck had a great feel to it.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 3/1/2009

Submitter

Yard Onion (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I had John do a full setup on my banjo. Over the years I felt I just wasn't getting the full potential out of it. John tried different tone rings and bridges, and even shimmed the neck. When I got it back I could immediately feel and hear the improvements. I appreciated the amount of time he spent on my banjo, and he communicated well with me during the process. I would highly recommend his services to anyone.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 11/12/2008

Submitter

Turbo (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I have used John as my set up technician for years. His service and work has always been A+. Being a full time musician this is especially important but he treats everyone w/ the same respect. The latest job he's done for me is to install a new neck on my banjo (the airlines broke). Not only is the set up perfect, but so is the work he did to refit the neck to the pot, etc. I highly recommend him!

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 8/30/2008

Submitter

MoTomCat (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I had John level and refret a banjo neck for me. He completed the work in record time, doing a fantastic job, and even beveled the frets a little different like I had asked him to do. His charges were very reasonable and I am very happy with the work he did. I would not hesitate to have John work on any instrument that required attention.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 8/27/2008

Submitter

budbennett (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I took two banjos to John for adjusting and setting up. I found him to be professional, helpful, friendly and straight forward, and the work he did was helpful and exactly what my banjos needed.

John's shop is clean, interesting to look at, and easy to find. I sat with him while he worked and we chatted and I felt welcome and happy to be there. I felt that John listened to what I had to say and did for my banjos what *I* needed for him to do. My banjos might have been fine for someone else, but I needed a few specific things done and he did them and did them well. Should I ever need any of my instruments worked on again, I'm going to John.

John is in Mount Airy NC by the way.

Overall Rating

10


You are not logged in.
Log In


Not a member? Create an Account (FREE!)



3851 BANJO LOVERS ONLINE

HOME | FORUMS | MEMBERS | MEDIA ARCHIVE | TABS & LESSONS | CLASSIFIEDS | REVIEWS | LINKS | CALENDAR | STORE | TERMS OF USE
Viewing desktop version - switch to mobile version