Visit FreeBanjoVideos.com

Mastercraft Classic  Banjo Reviews

Mastercraft Classic
submitted 7/28/2011

Submitter

Kennyj (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Private party

Year Purchased

2010

Price Paid

380.00 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound


Compared to some of the other beginner/low end banjos I've played around with, I think this one sounds great (for the price). I have the burled maple and it sounds bright and has some volume.

Sound Rating

8

Setup


The banjo was setup by the banjohut. I bought it used, but it was unplayed. The action was set very low/fast. After about 2 months, I started to get string buzz which I got fixed for about $18 (truss rod adjustment). I found it easy to play/learn on.

Setup Rating

8

Appearance


It's a nice looking banjo. Mine's the burled maple and it has a nice finish. Personally, I think it has a look and feel of some of the more expensive banjos I've played with at shops.

Appearance Rating

8

Reliability


Everything seems well-built.

Reliability Rating

8

Customer Service


N/A

Customer Service

8

Components


It all seems nice a sturdy to me. Nothing feels too cheap.

Components Rating

8

Overall Comments


For the price, this is a great banjo. If you want an entry level resonator banjo, the price and quality are hard to beat.

Overall Rating

8


Mastercraft Classic
submitted 1/5/2011

Submitter

arlemaster (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Banjo Hut

Year Purchased

2010

Price Paid

429 ($US)

Sound


The sound is great right out of the box. Just had to do some minor tuning. The only reason, I didn't give this rating a 10 is due to the "Up the Neck" sound. From frets 1-8, the sound is perfect, but above that it just doesn't sound right to me, especially while bending the strings. I'm new to banjo's, so this is just my personal preference. I just bought a few high end sets of strings and a high end bridge to play with the sound some. I will post the results after I've had some time to experiment.

Sound Rating

8

Setup


The banjo setup was great right out of the box. I live in California and was pleasantly surprised that after the long transit the banjo just required a 5 minute minor tuning to start playing. The action is perfect. Based on my dissatisfaction with the higher fret sounds, I would recommend high quality strings and bridge.

Setup Rating

9

Appearance


I purchased the Classic Maple and it is beautiful! I love the quality of the woodwork, the inlay, and the finish, it was all of great quality to me. This is a beautiful instrument that I'm quite proud of. You will not find a more beautiful instrument in this price range.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


This banjo is a lot more reliable than I expected. I had expected to re-tune it before each playing session, but I don't. I have rarely had to actually tune it. I often check it just to make sure, but this banjo is solid and always stays in tune; very dependable.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


I have only dealt with the company via the internet. I purchased this banjo through the banjohut.com and have never had to deal with the company. I am very happy with the product and have had no problems with it and never had to have it repaired. This is a solid instrument.

Customer Service

10

Components


Everything from the peg head to the tail piece is beautiful and solid. I think for the price, you will not find a better instrument. As stated earlier, the stock strings and bridge should be changed out for higher quality. I replaced mine with GHS J.D. Crowe strings and Snuffy bridge, and now I have a banjo I only paid $400 for that is worth $1000's.

Components Rating

9

Overall Comments


I love this banjo. I also play the guitar, but it gets neglected because it is so much more fun to play this banjo. I love it! (I think my wife is getting jealous)

Overall Rating

10


Mastercraft Classic
submitted 10/10/2010

Submitter

paulac7 (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Banjohut.com

Year Purchased

2010

Price Paid

450 ($US)

Sound


This actually *sounds* like a bluegrass banjo, even though it doesn't have a tone ring--just the dreaded 'tone hoop'. Nevertheless, when I go to informal jams, I have no problem being heard. Maybe because I got the Maple version, which has a little brighter tone?? But on the plus side--that cuts the weight down a little, which is an issue for me, as I have shoulder problems to begin with, and don't really need to add more......

Seems to stay reasonably in tune, even up the neck using a junk capo.

Oh, almost forgot to add--I upgraded to the Cannon bridge and strings that were suggested on the site, so I can't tell you what a 'stock' Mastercraft sounds like

Sound Rating

10

Setup


One of the reasons I bought from banjohut (need to do separate review on them) is that their banjo's come already set up. I also did my homework by reading MANY reviews here on the BHO before I decided what and where to purchase.

Banjo has been played hard for the past few months, and I think I might need to tighten the head a bit, but other than that, haven't had to 'dinker' with it at all.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


Everywhere I take this banjo I get compliments on it. I like it because it is 'classic' looking. (guess that's why they call it the Classic Maple, no?). I made my own strap using an old braided leather belt, and it just looks 'right' on this banjo.

No appearance flaws that I can detect--just a nice, simple-looking banjo

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


Only had it a few months, but I get the impression it's like a Timex--will take a licking and keep on ticking........

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


The people at the banjohut were super to deal with--very friendly and helpful. The banjo has a limited lifetime warranty, I believe.

No repair issues as of yet.

Customer Service

10

Components


My only complaint is the 'knife blade' armrest. Other than that the pieces parts seem to be of decent quality--a major plus for a banjo in this price range is the geared 5th--*so* much less irritating than the friction 5th on my last 'jo. Also only 1 truss (coordinator?) rod, but I can live with that.

For the price, I don't think you could do much better than this banjo--especially as it came with hard case, picks, tuner (which I upgraded for a nominal charge), and book.

The action is nice and low, which is nice for a beginner like me.

Components Rating

9

Overall Comments


I can see me having this banjo for a really long time, as it serves the purpose of what I need it for.

My only regret is that I didn't wait a little longer, as there is now a Classic version that is basically an upgrade of this one, but I'm still quite happy with this one.

I just wish I would have bought this banjo first, instead of wasting $$$ on the other one I had, but if it wouldn't have been for my last 'jo I probably would have set it back in the closet for another 4 years. So it served it's purpose to get me back playing--now I go to 2 jams a week and loving every minute of it!!

I would recommend this banjo as a first banjo, or even an intermediate banjo--it's a very good value for the money

Overall Rating

10


Mastercraft Classic
submitted 8/24/2010

Submitter

Gonzoso (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Banjohut

Year Purchased

2010

Price Paid

429 ($US)

Sound


I got this as my first banjo. I am learning to play bluegrass. It is a great starter banjo in my opinion. It is pretty loud and has a bright sound to it.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


The banjo played great right out of the case. Banjohut was true to their word and set it up perfectly. Since having it I have replaced the strings twice and the bridge and messed up the set-up. It frustrated me fixing it but I learned how to adjust a few things. Had the banjo been set up poorly when I got it I would not have learned as much as I did. A new player ought to have a banjo that sounds good without having to fiddle with it.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


Appearance Rating

not rated

Reliability


This banjo is beautiful. The wood is pretty, the finish is flawless. The only ugliness I see on it some sloppy gluing on the fret board. Some of the frets have some exposed glue on the ends of the frets. Not a big deal though. The rest of the banjo is good and seems durable. No problems yet. The bridge came with a little nick next to the 5th string notch. It got messed up and eventually developed a buzz, so I installed a new bridge.

Reliability Rating

not rated

Customer Service


Have not dealt with them, but they shipped it pretty quick.

Customer Service

10

Components


The case is great. I love the case it came in. Thanks to the case my banjo looks exactly like it did the day I got it. No scratches, dings, or dents. Every banjo ought to have a hard case. I throw it in the back of my jeep, take it to work, whatever and it still looks pretty. The tuner is good. The lesson book is kind of weak.

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


Good quality package for pretty reasonable, especially with the case. The lesson book is a little bit weak though. It only teaches Blackberry Blossom, Bile dem cabbage down, and cripple creek. You will outgrow the lesson book in like 2 weeks and need a more advanced one. The lesson book was thorough on what it did teach though.

Overall Rating

10


Mastercraft Classic
submitted 2/19/2010

Submitter

lilcowdog (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

banjohut.com

Year Purchased

2010

Price Paid

Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


I have the maple model. The BanjoHut had an audio of it and I really like the sound. This may have been the deciding factor on pruchasing this model. Along with limiting the amount of money to spend.

Sound Rating

9

Setup


The banjo was set up ready to play out of the box.

Setup Rating

9

Appearance


I see no flaws and it is very good looking.

Appearance Rating

8

Reliability


Seems like this one will last a long time.

Reliability Rating

8

Customer Service


I have not dealt with customer service.

Customer Service

not rated

Components


The components and assembly are very nice. It is a step up from the cheap beginner models, and well worth it, but it is definitely not in the "professional" category.

Components Rating

7

Overall Comments


I am a beginner and wanted to buy a banjo that i would not "outgrow" too quickly. i think the Mastercraft Classic Maple fits the bill for me.

Overall Rating

8


Mastercraft Classic
submitted 2/18/2010

Submitter

Old n In The Way (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

The Banjo Hut

Year Purchased

2010

Price Paid

429.00 ($US)

Sound


I bought the Mastercraft Classic Mahogany.

This is my first banjo so I have nothing to compare it to but I do know something about guitars. What I love about this banjo is that it has a great tone and the notes ring loud and clear.

I don't know if it is normal for a banjo to be able to produce harmonics but this one does that very well. I have been able to get some serious sounds out of this instrument and lots of sustain.

I will thoroughly enjoy learning on this banjo.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


Banjo Hut set this up for me. It was perfect right out of the box.

The neck is nice and wide and the action is perfect. I am able to play every note on every string from open to the 22nd fret with ease and there is no buzzing or flat spots.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


For this price range this is one beautiful instrument. The Mahogany has a deep rich tone and the neck has mother of pearl inlays.

It's real pretty.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


The tuners appear to be lower end but they are planetary tuners which I understand to be a big upgrade in this price range. Top quality tuners could run the price of the banjo itself so I'm not complaining. You get what you pay for and overall I would say you get a lot for the price with this banjo.

The nickel plated flange and armrest are high quality.

Overall this is a solid well built instrument.



Reliability Rating

8

Customer Service


I highly recommend the Banjo Hut. These guys are the bomb.

I called them 4 times before I made my purchase and asked a lot of questions. They were very friendly and helpful.

Customer Service

10

Components


The only concern is that if the banjo were to fall it looks like the tuners could snap. Of course I suppose that is the risk for any banjo if you mistreat it. I will make sure that doesn't happen and they should be fine.

Components Rating

8

Overall Comments


I know that I will love playing this banjo for a long time. As I said it is my first banjo and I did a lot of research. I believe I made the right choice for what I was looking for.

I am giving it an overall 10 despite my comments about the tuners. I am expecting too much to get high end tuners at this price.

Overall Rating

10


Mastercraft Classic
submitted 2/1/2010

Submitter

Barney78 (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Banjohut.com

Year Purchased

2010

Price Paid

460 ($US)

Sound


I upgraded to Mastercrafts Cannon Bridge and Bluegrass Strings and this thing is really loud, sounds awesome.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


I believe Paul at BanjoHut set this up for me and I didnt even have to tune it when I opened it. I hooked up the included tuner and all strings where perfect.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


Mahogany wood, shiny finish, some small blemishes on the binding around the resonator but I think thats what makes it mine. Has Hearts and Flowers inlayed on fretboard and flower on the peghead.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


This thing seems heavy duty, weighs about 8lbs, nickel plating, super finish, this Banjo is more then I thought it was going to be.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


I haven't had any issues with it, however the Factory gives a lifetime warranty on it.

Customer Service

10

Components


The tuners look kinda cheap but good enough to pass for the price considering the high end tuners cost as much as the banjo did.

Components Rating

9

Overall Comments


I was blown away by this Banjo, definately worth getting over the cheaper Mastercrafts, being a beginner myself Im glad I got this upgraded model. I did alot of research for left handed models, and these imports seem to be very worthwhile and its important to have a good staff back them up such as Banjo Hut.

Overall Rating

10


Mastercraft Classic
submitted 8/30/2007

Submitter

huddy905 (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Banjo Hut

Year Purchased

2007

Price Paid

Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


This is my first banjo, the sound is very impressive. I didn't want anything that sounded like a "beginner" banjo. I believe I'll be satisified with this banjo for a long time.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


The Banjo Hut had offered excellent packaging/shipping...only 4 days to Toronto. The set up was perfect, although some minor tuning had to be done (as anticipated). The banjo arrived along with the "starter kit" which I found very helpful as a beginner.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


I am very impressed with the appearance, this is truly a beautiful banjo. The finish was flawless.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


It appears to be a quality item, I have no doubt that I'll enjoy it for years to come.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


I simply ordered through the Banjo Hut website and received notifcation of sihpping immediately. I believe that they will stand behind their product as everything I've read convinced me of their solid reputation prior to purchase.

Customer Service

10

Components


The appearance and the sound.

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


I'm very pleased with the quality banjo I received given the modest price. I don't have any experience for comparison, but I've played piano for years and know when I hear quality tones.

Overall Rating

10


Mastercraft Classic
submitted 5/6/2007

Submitter

dpbaker (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

The Banjo Hut

Year Purchased

2007

Price Paid

419 ($US)

Sound


This is my first banjo. I wanted something decent to start with but I didn't want to sink a lot of money into the instrument. The sound is really good. Of course, this is the opinion of a new banjo player. However, it has a very nice bluegrass sound. Bright, clean and powerful.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


The reason I purchased from The Banjo Hut was because they offered setup. The banjo arrived and was playable right out of the box. I tuned it up and started playing. Action was perfect.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


For the money, I think the appearance is great. All hardware looks great and there isn't an imperfection in the wood anywhere. It has one of those almost plastic looking finishes that I really don't care for all that much. However, it is a nicely finished instrument with attractive inlay.

Appearance Rating

9

Reliability


No experience here. The Mastercraft company does warrant the instrument for a lifetime.

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


No experience here either. However, The Banjo Hut gets pretty high marks in this area from purchasers. That was one reason that I bought from them.

Customer Service

9

Components


Components seem pretty solid for a banjo in the $400 price range.

Components Rating

9

Overall Comments


Overall, I love the instrument. Sounds great and I think it is a perfect starter instrument.

Overall Rating

10


Mastercraft Classic
submitted 2/21/2007

Submitter

Phoetus (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Banjo Hut

Year Purchased

2007

Price Paid

409 ($US)

Sound


Sound Rating

not rated

Setup


Setup makes all the difference and Banjo Hut gets this.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


This is a beautiful instrument that is obviously well-made. The inlay work is perfect and the lamination is flawless in every regard. You can get a banjo with engraving or more inlay, but I have never seen an instrument that is more perfectly assembled.

Appearance Rating

9

Reliability


It's the bomb. You can spend more money for a fancier banjo, but you will not get more solid gear, with the possible exception of the tuners (see below).

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


I spoke with Banjo Hut for about half an hour before purchasing and they were great; they gave me a real education. I suspect that they would be good to work with if I had a problem, but I haven't come to that point yet and I hope I never do.

Customer Service

10

Components


I know guitars, but I am new to banjos. The ratio on the tuners seems very strange - that is, a little turn on the knob moves the post a lot, compared to a guitar. Maybe this is the norm for banjos because the tuners are built differently. Othe rthan that, the banjo is as solid as a rock.

Components Rating

8

Overall Comments


I can't believe that you can buy this banjo for this price. I definitely recommend spending the extra $130 to get this model compared to the Bluegrass as it really seems like a step up. The next banjo up was over $300 more.

Overall Rating

8


Mastercraft Classic
submitted 2/3/2007

Submitter

old al (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Banjo Hut

Year Purchased

2007

Price Paid

419.00 ($US)

Sound


Beautiful sound with good sustain for plqaying bluegrass Scruggs style. Set up head for rich full sound. Bass and treble notes very well balanced. Not too punchy.

Sound Rating

9

Setup


Action set low with no buzzes. Bridge placement and intonation were perfect. Head bolts were loose on one side of head, but I tightened them to match the other side. Great sound after that. Armrest was loose on the banjo. I later got a Drum Dial, tuned the head to between a G and G# and evened off the tension. This really brought out the sound and minimized wolf notes.

Setup Rating

7

Appearance


Finish was beautiful . Mahogany rim and resonator had no flaws that I can see. Hearts and Flowera neck inlays look fine.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


It seems like a beautifully crafted Korean banjo that should be reliable for years. Armrest is nickel plated. Banjo made of quality parts.

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


Paul was great at Banjo Hut. Took back another model that I didn't like and exchanged for the Classic no questions asked. Will probably buy from him again when I upgrade.

Customer Service

10

Components


Banjo came with rolled brass tone ring and one piece fllange. The neck and headstock were inlaid with Hearts & Fllowers . Resonator,was bound with white trim. Briidge appears to be rosewood tipped maple(I might be wrong.). I might replace it with a maple-ebony tipped bridge, but the rosewood sounds wonderful for now. Planetary tuners work well. On 2/12 replaced bridge with Snuffy Smith Type 1 and put on medium guage strings, Tone and punch are dramatically improved. One thing about banjo I don't like is that it only has a single coordinator rod which is a cheap setup and makes it more difficult to adjust the neck if necessary (this one's right on).

Components Rating

9

Overall Comments


For a complete starter package with hard shell case, tuner, picks, etc it fits the bill perfectly. If it were stolen I wouldn't hesitate to buy another one. Great banjo to learn on as well as intermediate and advanced skill levels.

Overall Rating

9


Mastercraft Classic
submitted 5/26/2006

Submitter

sandiegobluesman (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Banjo Hut

Year Purchased

2003

Price Paid

429.00 ($US)

Sound


I am a professional guitar player that decided to take up the banjo. I have many top of the line guitars and i knew i wanted a decent instrument that wouldnt work against me as i learned. since this is my first banjo i cant really judge the tone quality but its very loud and sounds like a banjo!

Sound Rating

8

Setup


seemed to be set up properly, action seems pretty nice. i may try to have the head tightened as others mention this improves sound.

Setup Rating

9

Appearance


very nice fit and finish for a lower priced instrument.

Appearance Rating

9

Reliability


finish seems consistent with lower end instruments, chrome parts seem pretty heavily and evenly chromed.

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


great service, very nice and helpful people.

Customer Service

10

Components


tuners are pretty jumpy, but then im used to the most expensive grovers on all my guitars. i may try a better bridge as this seems to be a major component in other reviews.

Components Rating

7

Overall Comments


all the makers of lower priced banjos-johnson, washburn, gold tone...seemed pretty bunched up and similar in construction and price. they each make banjos better than this mastercraft, but at 2-300 bucks more. with free shipping and a hard case, electronic tuner, all maple construction and a rolled brass tone ring, this is an outstanding value and a decent instrument. if i take to playing banjo i would buy another mastercraft top of the line model. i suspect they are as good as instruments costing much much more. the people at banjo hut are great, so you can order without fear. banjo came fast all the way to california, packed really well, tuned right up and i learned a song in an hour off the free CD.

Overall Rating

10


Mastercraft Classic
submitted 5/23/2006

Submitter

mtnpckr (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

The Banjo & Mandolin Hut

Year Purchased

2006

Price Paid

399.00 ($US)

Sound


Sound is full for a rolled brass tone ring, not as loud as needed for jamming perhaps but greatly appreciated by my wife when i practice. She can still watch tv 30ft away in the family room, while I pick away in my office/hideaway. I think this is an ideal beginners banjo. Just checked & tightened head after 4 weeks of light playing, volume increased twofold!

Sound Rating

9

Setup


Banjo was setup very well and only needed to tune strings before playing. Action is set very low, which is good for beginners. I plan to put GHS light strings on it when I change, but this is a personal preference. I also plan to try out some different bridges, again for personal preference.

Setup Rating

9

Appearance


I was surprised & pleased with the fit & finish on this banjo. It has a great luster on the wood and the hardware is bright & shiny. No flaws or marred finish that I can see. Inlays are crisp and look very good. frets are even and smooth on the edges. Resonator & neck are well fitted.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


I believe that this banjo will outlast me ( course i'm pushing 60). I doubt that I will ever play a gig but I would have to do something to increase volume first. But for a play at home, or practice unit, I think the hardware is fine.

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


The Banjo Hut supplied this banjo to the Hangout as the free drawing prize for March 2006, and delivery was within 2 days of receiving notice that I had won. Packaging was superb, it would have protected this banjo from all but a direct missile strike. I am amazed at the quality of the case offered with this outfit. It is attractive, strong, well padded and looks quite durable.

Customer Service

10

Components


Overall this is an excellent package, and is superior to any other banjo that I have looked at in this price range. I have owned several used (eBay specials) banjos; Gretsch OB student, Aria alum. rim, & a Harmony Bakelite, and a new Deering Goodtime II ( which I upgraded with a rolled Brass tone ring), and this pkg is much better than any of them. The Goodtime played very well but I never got use to the bland appearance, it just didn't look right to me.

Components Rating

9

Overall Comments


For a beginner or as a carry around banjo, I would highly recommend this pkg, although the maple unit may appeal more to others. I think the mahogony is a warmer, plunkier sound which I prefer ( course i'm pretty hearing impaired) and its really a matter of individual taste. I would obviously highly recommend The Banjo & Mandolin Hut, not just because they gave the banjo to me but I was also well pleased with the setup, shipping & packaging and especially with the great friendly response I received. Very good people to deal with! This pkg came complete with strap, case, picks, tuner, wrench/screwsriver combo, banjo & Vega strings J. Davis "How to Play Banjo Book" & DVD; a great bargain for the price.

I WISH TO GIVE MY HEARTFELT THANKS TO ERIC @ THE BANJO HANGOUT AND TO KATHY & PAUL AT THE BANJO & MANDOLIN HUT FOR MAKING THIS BANJO AVAILABLE TO ME.

Overall Rating

10


Mastercraft Classic
submitted 2/8/2006

Submitter

Unknown

Where Purchased

Banjo Hut

Year Purchased

2005

Price Paid

399 ($US)

Sound


Has a great bluegrass sound

Sound Rating

10

Setup


The banjo was setup and almost in tune when I received it.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


It has a beautiful mahogany gloss finish. No flaws. Nice inlays.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


Hardware looks like it should last a long time. It is very dependable.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


It has a lifetime warranty. I talked with a person at the company before my purachase and he was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Customer Service

10

Components


As far as I can tell it has top qualilty parts. When the strings need to be changed, I might go from the light ones to medium.

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


This is a beautiful banjo, has a great sound with the rolled brass tone ring, and came completely setup. The pack for $399 included a nice hardshell case, chromatic tuner, songbook, and strap. A real bargain for such a good quality instrument. I love to play this banjo and highly recomment it. I gave the Washburn B-10 to my grandson and now we are both pickin and a grinin. If anything ever happened to this banjo I would ask my wife to save up enough money to buy me another just like it.

Overall Rating

10


Mastercraft Classic
submitted 10/13/2005

Submitter

Geno7 (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Banjo Hut

Year Purchased

2005

Price Paid

400.00 ($US)

Sound


Banjo sounds good. I replaced the stock bridge with a Desert Rose and this made a massive change. Banjo sounds and plays wonderfully.

Sound Rating

8

Setup


The Banjo Hut set the banjo up very good and answered many of my questions over the phone. I ordered it and received it the next day packaged very well. Bridge placement was exact and was almost in tune.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


Banjo looks great.

Appearance Rating

9

Reliability


Well made instrument... The tuners maybe could be replaced and the bridge should be replaced with a little better quality bridge.

Reliability Rating

7

Customer Service


Great customer service. They offer a 30 day money back return.

Customer Service

9

Components


The tuners maybe could be replaced and the bridge should be replaced with a little better quality bridge.

Components Rating

8

Overall Comments


Well worth the $400.00 I paid...

Overall Rating

9


Mastercraft Classic
submitted 9/16/2005

Submitter

Unknown

Where Purchased

the banjo hut

Year Purchased

2005

Price Paid

400 ($US)

Sound


very nice tone plenty of volume good sustain lots of punch for bluegrass

Sound Rating

10

Setup


yes the head was tight the bridge placed in the proper position the action was very close and no buzz

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


a very pretty banjo all very fine finished mahogony iveroid binding on resonater and neck nice inlays on head and neck no flaws at all first class workmanship througout nickel plated armrest

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


yes the hardware looks like it will hold up for a long time and i plan to keep it polished and protected beautifull finish very dependable no backup needed with this banjo

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


company very knowledgeable about banjo banjo owners and players themselves hav not needed any repairs yet lifetime warranty

Customer Service

10

Components


it has planatary tuners geared fith string tuner nickel plated armrest waverly style tailpiece and the bridge seems to be better than normally found in a banjo in this price range the neck is nice and thin and slippery nice inlays nice binding brass tone ring and flange

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


i searched a long time for a banjo like this in a price i could afford im just a working man not much money i looked at epiphone gold tone fender washburn and several others but nothing came even close in this price range! it plays like a dream any closer action and it would play itself if it were stolen i would replace it with another mastercraft from the banjo hut good knowledgeable people banjo players themselves fast service carfully packed for shipping and a very solid 5 latch lockable custom fitted case

Overall Rating

10


You are not logged in.
Log In


Not a member? Create an Account (FREE!)



2556 BANJO LOVERS ONLINE

HOME | FORUMS | MEMBERS | MEDIA ARCHIVE | TABS & LESSONS | CLASSIFIEDS | REVIEWS | LINKS | CALENDAR | STORE | TERMS OF USE