Visit Deering Banjos

Morgan Monroe Rocky Top MNB 2 Banjo Reviews

Morgan Monroe Rocky Top MNB 2
submitted 11/18/2006

Submitter

travis_towle (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Midwestern Music - Topeka, Kansas

Year Purchased

2004

Price Paid

900.00 ($US)

Sound


Great - best sound for the Price... Very professioinal looking and playing!

Sound Rating

10

Setup


Little high on the action down by the head - I had to lower strings on the front by adjusting the rods inside. I had to finsih a fine set up and then re-tune it. I have found that you have to do that with every banjo you own. Now it is GREAT.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


Nice - very nice.

MNB-2 Professional 24 Bracket 5-string Nickel Banjo:

Rim: 3-ply solid blocked mahogany rim
Tone Ring: 24 hole diecast bell brass tone ring
Flange Assembly: 2 piece tube and flange
Tuners: 10 to 1 gear ratio Ashton Bailey planetary tuners
Resonator: 14" Curly Maple Resonator
Inlay Pattern: Abalone Wreath Pattern Inlay
Fretboard: Rosewood
Bridge Wood: Rosewood Tipped Maple Bridge
Frets: 22 Nickel Silver
Head: Frosted Remo
Hardware: Nickel

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


Only problem so far - I play a lot and have noticed that the nickle frets are wearing down on me were I fret the most, and I also am wearing the stain off of the frets in those same areas. But everything is expected as HARD and often I play this thing. The hardware nickle is still looking GREAT but needs to be cleaned all the time... That is nickle - but it looks richer then CHROME!

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


no idea yet

Customer Service

5

Components


Only problem with the componets was the tuning pegs - they are plastic and crack. I have had them replaced with newer better ones. No problems now. No big deal!

Components Rating

8

Overall Comments


This is a very great 2nd banjo after your learning jo. This is a nice sounding jo and is better then the mgb-1's by FAR in looks and sound.

If you can find a mnb-2 with the nickle like this one BUY IT because they stoped making this one. Great sounding for the money! Very pro looking and playing too!!!

Overall Rating

10


Morgan Monroe Rocky Top MNB 2
submitted 7/21/2006

Submitter

krkintex (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Private Owner

Year Purchased

2005

Price Paid

400 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound


I bought this as my beginner banjo and it was a great buy for me. The banjo sounded good when I purchased it but I wanted more "twang" so I changed out the bridge to a very thin (custom thinned) Sosebee, lowered the action and tightened the head. Sounds real good now. The changes did brighten the sound for me.

Sound Rating

8

Setup


I'm the third owner and I was told it was set up professionally but I lowered the action and changed the bridge out.

Setup Rating

8

Appearance


This is a beautiful looking banjo. I love the finish on the wood. The looks were part of what sold me on it. Workmanship seems to be good.

Appearance Rating

9

Reliability


Hardware and finish seems like it will last. I would have no problem with using this on a gig (if I ever get that good).

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


Haven't dealt with the company. Have owned the banjo for a year exactly and have not had to contact the company about anything.

Customer Service

not rated

Components


Like I said earlier, I changed out the bridge and lowered the action. The tone ring really rings out. I may try changing the tailpiece later to experiment, but I'm pretty happy with the sound (and factory tailpiece) for now.

Components Rating

8

Overall Comments


I would highly recommend this banjo to someone starting out (like me) and on up to an intermediate player. If it was stolen, I would try to find another, even though they aren't being made anymore. Update 7/25/2011 - I've had this banjo 6 years now and I will never sell it. It's my practice banjo, camp banjo, travel banjo, etc. The sound coming from it sounds as good (to me) as some of the high priced banjos out there. Yes, I have a second banjo (Sullivan Greenbriar Archtop) that is my main jammin' banjo, but I'll be keeping my MNB-2.

Overall Rating

9


Morgan Monroe Rocky Top MNB 2
submitted 10/21/2005

Submitter

Unknown

Where Purchased

Banjo.Com

Year Purchased

2004

Price Paid

$589 ($US)

Sound


Sound Is Great, Very Clear

Sound Rating

10

Setup


Banjo Was Perfect...Awsome.
I Put On A Fultz Tail PIece And A KatEyz Bridge,
Sound Is Much Crisper And Brighter

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


This Thing Is Beautifull, A Must See

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


So Far So Good

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


Warrenty Is A Life Time , The Service Has Been Awsome.
I will Always Shop @ Banjo .com

Customer Service

10

Components


They Should Replace The Tail Piece With A Better One,
And Also A Better Bridge..

Components Rating

9

Overall Comments


Over All I Love This Banjo, Plays Awsome, Looks Great

Overall Rating

10


Morgan Monroe Rocky Top MNB 2
submitted 6/23/2005

Submitter

Unknown

Where Purchased

Meguire Music

Year Purchased

2004

Price Paid

$699 ($US)

Sound


The sound seem to be great. I played several and for the money this seemed like a great buy. I live out in the country my neighbor about a half mile away can hear me when i'm out pick'n on the porch.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


Set up was not too bad. I made a few adjustment and put on a Cotton Mill bridge.

Setup Rating

9

Appearance


No problems here. The finish was great no dings nicks or rough metal.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


The only problem I've had is after 4 months the turners loosened up and I retighten them. After a year the tailpiece cut the head. The Price tailpiece brought this one to life night and day difference.

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


None needed on the banjo. The music store however is top noch if you purchase from them they will take care of you.

Customer Service

10

Components


Did not like the strings but as mentioned above Meguires gave me two new sets to try.

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


I would recommend this banjo highly. I like the feel of the neck and the sound. For the price its hard to beat.

Overall Rating

10


Morgan Monroe Rocky Top MNB 2
submitted 1/18/2005

Submitter

bigdaddymedic (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

morrell music, bristol tn

Year Purchased

2004

Price Paid

585 ($US)

Sound


i looked at a bunch, the cheap ones sound cheap and i didn' t have the money for the high dollar ones

Sound Rating

9

Setup


music store was not much help, they did not sell me any picks, dude said i didn' t need any becaue the mm mnb-2 was loud. friend/mentor at work did the set-up.

Setup Rating

5

Appearance


looks, sounds and plays great. no problems with fit and finish

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


so far so good

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


morrell music in johnscity tn was of no help, the bristol store so/so, the folks at music outlet in pigion forge tn are really good (i found them after buying my mongan monroe)

Customer Service

2

Components


life time warrantee

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


for the price, i am very happy. now if i could just play!

Overall Rating

9


Morgan Monroe Rocky Top MNB 2
submitted 3/25/2004

Submitter

jcuempire (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Appalachian Bluegrass

Year Purchased

2003

Price Paid

Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


This is my first banjo, but I think it sounds great. Except when I'm playing it.

Sound Rating

9

Setup


The setup was good. I have found some flaws since I have gotten more info about banjos. I hope to send it to Kyle Smith for setup. He told me that he could make it sing. I believe him

Setup Rating

8

Appearance


Very good looking. no doubt about it

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


Seems like a quality instrument. Others have told me that it is very nice

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


NA

Customer Service

not rated

Components


I want to replace the head and the bridge. I am getting rr spikes installed and D- tuners

Components Rating

9

Overall Comments


Absolutely. Without hesitation. If you don't have $1000, this is your banjo

Overall Rating

10


Morgan Monroe Rocky Top MNB 2
submitted 3/25/2004

Submitter

jcuempire (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Appalachian Bluegrass

Year Purchased

2003

Price Paid

599 ($US)

Sound


This is my first banjo, but I think it sounds great. Except when I'm playing it.

Sound Rating

9

Setup


The setup was good. I have found some flaws since I have gotten more info about banjos. I hope to send it to Kyle Smith for setup. He told me that he could make it sing. I believe him

Setup Rating

8

Appearance


Very good looking. no doubt about it

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


Seems like a quality instrument. Others have told me that it is very nice

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


NA

Customer Service

not rated

Components


I want to replace the head and the bridge. I am getting rr spikes installed and D- tuners

Components Rating

9

Overall Comments


Absolutely. Without hesitation. If you don't have $1000, this is your banjo

Overall Rating

10


Morgan Monroe Rocky Top MNB 2
submitted 10/2/2003

Submitter

Robert lloyd (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Music Madness,Pickens S/C

Year Purchased

2003

Price Paid

$500.00 ($US)

Sound


Learning Scruggs style, ist banjo was a (K) so can not compare the two. But to me it sounds great. Teacher said that his next banjo will be a Morgan Monroe after playing mine.

Sound Rating

8

Setup


Purchased at Music Madness in Pickens S/C.
Dont believe it is set up properly, head not level ect.
Going to have Kyle Smith look at it next week.

Setup Rating

5

Appearance


Looks as good as most of the other banjos that I looked at. And better than the ones in this price range.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


Store advised that the 4th string tuner was slipping when they received it. They contacted Morgan Monroe and a new tuner was shiped the same day.
Easy to tune and seems to stay in tune.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


New tuner sent same day as Morgan Monroe was advised of the defect.

Customer Service

10

Components


Only had the banjo for about two months so hard to say. 5th string tuner seems a little large but not in the way.
Case that came with it is good looking and very sturdy.

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


For the money $500.00, banjo, case, tax and all I would recommend it to all beginners and intermediate players.

Overall Rating

10


You are not logged in.
Log In


Not a member? Create an Account (FREE!)



2296 BANJO LOVERS ONLINE

HOME | FORUMS | MEMBERS | MEDIA ARCHIVE | TABS & LESSONS | CLASSIFIEDS | REVIEWS | LINKS | CALENDAR | STORE | TERMS OF USE