Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+ Banjo Reviews

Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+
submitted 2/12/2014

Submitter

Mitch1 (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Banjoteacher.com

Year Purchased

2014

Price Paid

1990 ($US)

Sound


Excellent

Sound Rating

10

Setup


Excelllent

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


Excellent

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


Excellent

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


Excellent

Customer Service

10

Components


Exceptional Quality

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


I recently received my new banjo (a Gold Tone OB 250+)from Ross Nickerson at BanjoTeacher.com.After months ofshopping around, I knew what banjo I wanted, and who I wantedto buy it from. Ross's level of service was exceptional with quick response and excellent advice which made the process and decision very easy for me. Also I should mention he had the best price. I love my new banjo and I could not be happier.

Overall Rating

10


Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+
submitted 7/27/2011

Submitter

bobbytraylor (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Ebay

Year Purchased

2011

Price Paid

975 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound


I am amazed at how much sound Gold Tone offers for the money. This is a 2005 Gold Tone OB250 plus which is basically new. It came with 10-13-16-24w-10 strings on it. According to the factory in Titusville, FL Korea delivers it this way so it will play better longer on the shelf of the music store. I put 10-11-12-20-10s on and it sounds great. Action is low, slop and pop is super, true up the frets, feels like a more expensive banjo. I actually like it more than my Gold Star gf-100 hf which I always thought was a little harsh or something. Has the same thin pre-war type neck as my Huber Truetone (a $5000. banjo) and I'd probably take happily take this to a gig to make sure the Huber didn't get stolen.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


Set up with low action, heavy strings. Changed the strings and action got slightly lower but still no buzzing and true up the neck. Lows and highs great. Again, I'm amazed at how much banjo they pack into this thing for the money. Very satisfying playing experience. Can play this for hours with great satisfaction.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


First class inlays, wood, finish. No flaws at all.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


Hardware seems like it will last. I've called the factory twice asking about string gauges and they've been very responsive. I get they really care about this product.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


Banjo is out of warranty. I believe it's five years? Factory where instruments are set up very helpful.

Customer Service

10

Components


Components seem first rate to me. No cheap banjo goings on with this unit.

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


I can't believe the quality sound that comes out of this thing along with super low action and overall feel of a more expensive unit. I immediately bonded with the sound of this. That great pre-war type sloppy poppy fifth string and raspy lows with full highs all the way up the neck. And true up the neck. I use this as a backup to my Huber Truetone and happily play it in any professional situation. My ratings are "for the money" of course. I wasn't aware this level of satisfaction in playing was available on this type of budget.

Overall Rating

10


Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+
submitted 6/27/2010

Submitter

kamensm (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Banjo.com

Year Purchased

2010

Price Paid

1500.00 ($US)

Sound


Compared to several other Banjos I tried, this OB-250+ sounds amazing in this price range. I have no complaints.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


The guys at Banjo.com really backup their promise on personnally setting every banjo up. I received the banjo in perfect shape, everything was tight, bridge was the right height and positioned perfectly. I haven't done anything to the setup.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


It is maple with beautiful inlays that were perfectly finished. I examined this banjo from top to bottom and it was perfect in everyway. The finish was amazing.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


The banjo's hardware looks and feels solid. I would be shocked if the finish wore off but I wipe down and polish frequently. I would definitely use it on a gig and even several people who played it were impressed. Playing any instrument for a living without a backup doesn't sound like a good idea.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


Well 1st I emailed Good Time and asked several questions which were answered within a few hours by the owner. Anyone I've ever dealt with that responds that quickly tends to backup their products. Banjo.com is where I bought it and this was my second purchase. They are the best - provided me with honest expert advice. The setup on both banjos I bought was perfect - they ship fast. What really impressed me was that everyone who answers the phone plays and knows what they are talking about.

Customer Service

10

Components


To me everything stood out as the best but I'm not that experienced to want any upgrades.

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


This is one beautiful banjo. I played 30 years ago and decided I wanted to pick it up again. I like nice instruments and feel that this was a wise choice based on quality and price. If I had to replace it, I would definitely buy it again.

Overall Rating

10


Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+
submitted 2/15/2010

Submitter

candkath (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

goldtone

Year Purchased

2008

Price Paid

Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


Scruggs style. I have a 50 some model raised head Mastertone and was looking for a flat head and wanted to try the graphite neck. Had to do a lot of adjusting but it sounds good to me and get a lot of compliments about the tone.

Sound Rating

8

Setup


Banjo was shipped from Gold Tone by Fed EX. The neck was loose, the bridge not right and the tail piece loose. Not being a banjo mechanic and no one here in Tucson Az that knew anything about banjos I had to learn how to fix and set up my banjo. After lots of trial and error, changing the tail piece to a Fults and after a lot of different bridges I finallly settled on the one that came with the banjo. Figured out how to tighten and adjust the neck from all the helpful websites that can be found. The head needs to be tightened periodically because it tends to loosen up. Will replace it with a good Remo head shortly. Put on a pair of Schaller DTuners that work very well.

Setup Rating

3

Appearance


Finish is ok No faults

Appearance Rating

8

Reliability


Overall the banjo seems like it will last. Good solid instrument.

Reliability Rating

8

Customer Service


Havent delt with Gold Tone. Whats the use they are in Florida Im in Arizona.

Customer Service

not rated

Components


Didnt like the tail piece and the head seems weak.

Components Rating

7

Overall Comments


Good banjo for the price. I wanted to try the graphite neck after reading lots of good commets about it. The neck is about 2/16 of an inch wider at the nut and the playing surface is flat. The back of the neck is smooth with no finish so it makes moving up and down the neck very smooth and easy. I really like the graphite neck and would recommend it to anyone.

Overall Rating

8


Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+
submitted 10/5/2008

Submitter

Dubz (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

banjoteacher.com

Year Purchased

2008

Price Paid

Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


Sound is fantastic! This IS THE BEST sounding banjo in its price category. My banjo teacher, who has been playing for many years, was stunned with the sound for the price of this banjo, and I was too. Great!

Sound Rating

10

Setup


My banjo came straight from the gold tone factory to my house in Australia, and the set up was good.

Setup Rating

9

Appearance


I choose the natural finish with my OB250+ just to go with something a little different from the somewhat standard dark colour and I like it a lot, its great on the eyes. The only thing I can complain about with regards to appearance is there is a small chip in front of one of the frets on the fretboard, but this does not affect playability so I am not really fussed cos you have to look close to see it. Another thing (a petty thing really) is that it seems to me that the nickel might be lower quality than some other banjo's, but in this price range thats kinda acceptable.

Appearance Rating

8

Reliability


I've only had mine about 2 months but there have not been any issues. Think this one will last a LONG time.

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


Have not had to deal with them so no comment here.

Customer Service

9

Components


Only thing I don't like here are the tuners, they seem a bit stiff, I adjusted them and now they are fine. The tailpiece is a bit cheap so i replaced it with a Fults 1934.

Components Rating

9

Overall Comments


I love this banjo and would never sell it. Becoming quite a common thing to say but if it was stolen i would buy another one. I'm a huge fan of gold tone and would love to buy the OB-500. I recommend this banjo to anyone. Overall it gets a 10 in my books cos you wont beat it for the price.

Overall Rating

10


Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+
submitted 10/6/2007

Submitter

NOLScgp (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

BHO memeber

Year Purchased

2007

Price Paid

930 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound


This banjo had a decent top end when I got it and the bottom was ok, I tried tightening the head up to an Ab from a G and the bottom completely disappeared. Once I replaced the stock tail-piece and the bridge and it improved it greatly and I was able to tune up the head without losing anything, it mellowed out the highs of the banjo and boosted the lows, overall it normalized the banjo's sound and made it ring like a bell and the neck vibrate much more also. It is a maple banjo in all sense of the word, it roars like a lion but with some coaxing will purr like a kitten. The new Snuffy Smith bridge really lets it ring much more than the stock bridge

Sound Rating

8

Setup


Change the original tail-piece!!! It will make an amazing difference. Change the bridge too, I put on a Snuffy Smith, it's awesome. The action was a little high, but nothing a little truss rod adjustment couldn't fix. The tuners are ample, I put on 2 Keith D-Tuners and will probably replace the other two at some point, but they are functional, just not as precise as I would like

Setup Rating

7

Appearance


This banjo is a beauty, the back of the neck is tiger striped, the fretboard inlays are nearly perfect, the headstock and finish are excellent, I wish it was a true "Golden" Gold Tone, but the Nickel finish is still really nice.

Appearance Rating

9

Reliability


I've only had the banjo for 2 months, but it seems rock solid to me and I would use it without a backup.

Reliability Rating

8

Customer Service


I haven't dealt with Gold Tone at all but it is interesting to see that they have a lifetime warranty for the original owner and a secondary warranty that is for five years for a second owner if you sell it.

Customer Service

9

Components


The upgraded tone ring is really nice in this banjo as well as the 3-ply rim, these are the standout parts. The original tail-piece is junk, it was bending when I took it off the banjo, it should definitely be replaced, I put on a Fults Cumberland and it greatly improved the sound of the banjo. The original tuners are ok, but they feel a little cheap to me.

Components Rating

6

Overall Comments


The TKL case it comes with is excellent. For the price I paid I would recommend this banjo to anyone. If this banjo was stolen, I'm not sure if I would buy another, I would probably save up for an American made banjo or try a RK or ODE, but for a Pacific Rim banjo assembled in the US, it's an amazing banjo for the money, I hope to have it for a few years to come and play it often. I played a Gold Star GF-200 before this and they both seem to have the same flaws, I was just able to get this one for about $400 less than the GF-200

Overall Rating

8


Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+
submitted 3/12/2007

Submitter

TONUP (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Banjo Works, Kent

Year Purchased

Feb, 2007

Price Paid

945.00 (UK Sterling) historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


Crisp bright sounding, just what I had hoped for

Sound Rating

8

Setup


Andy Perkins at the Banjo Works in Kent has set this banjo up really well, the action is nice and low and the strings can be fretted with the lightest touch. To start off with I found the bridge a bit on the high side, but I'm getting used to it now.

Setup Rating

9

Appearance


I have the blonde model and everything seems wel finished and put together

Appearance Rating

7

Reliability


The hardware all seems to be pretty good quality, at the moment I 've no reason to doubt that it will give good service.

Reliability Rating

7

Customer Service


I emailed Gold Tone with my query regarding the bridge hieght and received a response the next day from the company president, Wayne Rogers. That's pretty good service in my opinion. Also Andy Perkins at the Banjo Works in Kent was really helpful and patient when I visited his premises to try and buy the banjo.

Customer Service

9

Components


I've come from a much cheaper banjo so everything feels a lot better. The only thing I would like to add eventually is a set of Scruggs tuners.

Components Rating

9

Overall Comments


I've played it everyday since I bought it and I am very pleased with my purchase so far. I haven't had a lot of opportunity to play it with other instruments yet, but I dont doubt that it will be able come up to the mark without any trouble. It's said that if you are looking for a top line banjo without spending a fortune Gold Tone are the best for under a grand. Seems accurate so far.

Overall Rating

8


Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+
submitted 8/30/2006

Submitter

jackbarb (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Janet Davis Music

Year Purchased

06

Price Paid

Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


Bright and Loud.Sings like a bird.I'm a Scruggs style picker.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


Beautiful set-up.I'm a lefty

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


No flaws,she's a throughbred race horse.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


I would use it anywhere any time.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


I havn't needed service.

Customer Service

not rated

Components


No cheap parts.I believe I'll leave her the way she is for now.

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


I would buy another in a heart beat.

Overall Rating

10


Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+
submitted 1/12/2005

Submitter

hammer (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

JDMC

Year Purchased

2005

Price Paid

1300 ($US)

Sound


Bluegrass is my style and it sounds great both on the lower five and up the neck. Not hollow sounding. Great note sustain and clarity. This will allow me to improve my skill set with style.

Sound Rating

9

Setup


Set up from JDMC was excellent. I just had to tweak her into tune and off I went.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


Very easy on the eyes. Stained Maple with figure - sweeet! Flawless finish. Inlay work was very good and attractive. All metal (nickel plated) parts are smooth and free from scratches. The sunburst on the back resonator is very pretty. Even the case is special.

Appearance Rating

9

Reliability


Time will tell, but I have the feeling she'll be around a while.

Reliability Rating

not rated

Customer Service


JDMC - Top shelf company. Great service.
Gold Tone - haven't had to contact them.

Customer Service

not rated

Components


Everything looks and sounds great. No changes are needed by me.

Components Rating

9

Overall Comments


"I Love this banjo!" sounds corny - only an object. However, it delivers wonderful sounds and gives me pleasure to pick and slide and hammer on up and down the neck. This new instrument will assist me in reaching as high as I care to in the musical realm of Bluegrass Sound.
I highly recommend this banjo for those of us who WANT the legendary Gibson but can't afford to go there. This baby will satisfy your wallet and give you the great sound you crave.

Overall Rating

9


Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+
submitted 8/2/2004

Submitter

banjoluv (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Music Villa, Bozeman, MT

Year Purchased

2004

Price Paid

1300 ($US)

Sound


The OB 250+ suites bluegrass style very well. I can picture it in my head that the sound from this instrument could work very well in a number of different types of music, jazz, country, jug-band, etc. I will go further into my set-up in the next catagory, but I changed the set-up considerably. The JLS tone ring is unmatched for balanced sound.

Sound Rating

9

Setup


The set-up from the store (I bought this sight-unseen, my buddy said it was beautiful) was terrible. Sounded like wet duck farts in a rain storm. I added a 5-star frosted head, several bridges did their auditions. I finally settled on the Cotton Mill, Sosobee (SP?) Medium strings also helped. Just recently had Greg Cahill give me advice on set-up with putting on a higher bridge and lowering neck angle with the dreaded actuator rod adjustment!! Yikes! Nice action now, tho.

Setup Rating

4

Appearance


The appreaance was absolutely stunning with it's glossy finish over that gorgeous maple!! WOW! Fit ofr parts was excellent. Tremendous value for the purchase price!

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


The workmanship in both material, design, and factory production is unequaled in any other banjo in this price range. The people in Titusville reall do a perfection-trip putting these together too.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


Just got the lifetime warranty signed in not long ago. Good 'nuff for me.

Customer Service

9

Components


Of course, the JLS tone ring. It seems way more balanced between highs and lows production that any others I am familier with. The neck is lean and fast but also very accurate. The only "cheaper" thing on it is the arm rest. I plan to replace this soon. It's just too flimsy.

Components Rating

8

Overall Comments


I bought this because I needed a workhorse instrument to play in my band Cotton Wood and get my 77 Gibson RB-800 off the stage and out of harm's way. That axe was made by God, or Earle, or somebody like that. The Gold Tone OB 250+ is doing a tremendous job as a workhorse. As I said, for the money it is untouchable by anyone else. That is why I give it a ten. My RB-800 would get a 25. The OB 250+ is a tremendous banjo in any price range.

Overall Rating

10


Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+
submitted 5/11/2004

Submitter

arras (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Janet Davis

Year Purchased

2004

Price Paid

Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


Suit my Bluegrass style perfect.
Janet Davis did the set up for me, very good!
Love the way you can play it soft or harder as you wish with great sound both ways!!

Sound Rating

10

Setup


It was set up perfect!! only needed a little tuning, thats all!!!

Setup Rating

9

Appearance


wooow!!! was the first thing I said when i opened the case!!! It`s lovely, dark brown body and neck and fancy MOP inlays!!

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


It looks very reliable to me!! it looks like the best, and with the feeling of power and weight when you hold it in your hands- there can be no doubt!!

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


JDMC are wonderful people , and Janet herself is as helpful and friendly as I`ve always have heard about her!!
lifetime warranty on the banjo!!

Customer Service

10

Components


Nothing here that looks weak or cheap to me! I feel like this banjo`s components are as on those 2000-3000$ banjos!!

Components Rating

not rated

Overall Comments


I recommend it highly to everyone who wants to upgrade to a `pro banjo. If it was stolen I would save enogh to buy a new one again!
I love it, especially the sound and the feeling of the best quality when you pick it or look at it!!!

Overall Rating

10


Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+
submitted 5/11/2004

Submitter

Unknown

Where Purchased

Acoustic Music Works

Year Purchased

2004

Price Paid

1350 ($US)

Sound


I play bluegrass banjo. I think that this banjo is the absolute best banjo you can get in this price range. Because of the JLS Tone Ring it has very rich, full sound. The maple neck and resonator make it bright too. It has very good bass and it sounds very nice when played up the neck. The OB-250+ has good volume. Tubby, pretty clear up the neck.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


The setup was very good including low action. The bridge was slighty out of place but very easily corrected.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


I think that its appearance is very good. The Hearts and Flowers MOP inlay and the sunburst finish make it a very good looking banjo. If you wish, (although mine is not) you can get it gold plated.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


Other owners and myself feel that this is a banjo that can last you a lifetime. It comes with a lifetime warrenty. Everything is very nice on this banjo.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


Although I have not dealt with them yet due to any problems, I am behind their products 100%. I feel that they make the best banjos under $1400. Every model that I play (resonator and open-back) all have excellent sound for their price and they have very nice necks.

Customer Service

10

Components


One of the nicest features of this banjo is the JLS Tone Ring which gives that nice tubby sound. It has planetary tuners, and a straitline tailpiece. I could not find anything wrong with this banjo. The workmanship is great and so are the parts.

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


I would definitely recommend this banjo. If it were stolen I would be extremely upset. I would probably go out and buy a new one. I absolutely love this banjo. It is absolutley incredible for the price. You should compare it to banjos the same price as it and even some twice as much, and it holds its own. You can't beat this banjo for the price.
Note: The ratings are based on a scale for the price range, not Hubers, Gibsons, etc.

Overall Rating

10


Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+
submitted 1/3/2004

Submitter

cjtoo69 (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

ZEPP

Year Purchased

2003

Price Paid

860 ($US) (bought USED)

Sound


Got this banjo for a musically talented family member learning three-finger style. Instrument is loud, and bright with good sustain. This banjo plays well, up and down the neck without intonation.

Sound Rating

9

Setup


Setup was good, tuning with minor tailpiece adjustment.

Setup Rating

8

Appearance


This is a very attractive instrument, nicely grained maple, with carved peghead and neck. The fingerboard and inlays are well done, as are the frets. The finish is shiny, and the metal is chromed.

Appearance Rating

9

Reliability


Too early to comment regarding reliability, but judging from the overall quality, fit, and finish of the instrument, I doubt there will be any reliability problems with this instrument.

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


No opportunity for customer service.

Customer Service

not rated

Components


The rim and tone ring are top drawer, all of the components are of good professional quality. No corners cut on this instrument. Nice TKL hardshell case.

Components Rating

9

Overall Comments


Overall this is a good, inexpensive, professional grade banjo. It is a heavy, well-made instrument with excellent sound and outstanding tonal quality. In my opinion it beats 85% of the RB 250s Ive played, and favorably compares to many of the finest instruments. I am no fan of imports, but the OB-250+ cannot be beaten for the price.

Overall Rating

9


Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+
submitted 10/7/2003

Submitter

Unknown

Where Purchased

Janet Davis

Year Purchased

2003

Price Paid

Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


I play traditional 3 finger style and really like the sound of this banjo. The tone is crisp with good sustain. The sound seems to emanate from deep within the banjo. The quality parts used in it's construction are very apparent.

Sound Rating

8

Setup


The setup was not too bad, I adjusted the tailpiece closer to the head to get more bite. I think the head still needs to be snugged up a bit to get the exact sound I want out of this banjo

Setup Rating

8

Appearance


I really like the looks of this banjo. The nickel plating is very nice as is the inlay on the ebony fretboard. The back of the peghead is carved as is the heel of the neck. The wood is highly figured and nicely finished. There were some plating problems with the armrest and tailpiece, but Gold Tone sent me out replacement parts right away when this was brought to their attention.

Appearance Rating

not rated

Reliability


This is a very solid banjo. It is very well made and should last a long time with the proper care. It feels very solid and I have found no problems with it at all.

Reliability Rating

8

Customer Service


This is the second banjo I have owned from Gold Tone and they have been very responsive and quick to please with any problems. I was sent replacement parts right away to correct some plating problems on this banjo.

Customer Service

9

Components


This banjo uses top notch parts and is a professional level banjo. The JLS tone ring has a great sound and along with the 3 ply maple rim, give this bajo a wonderful tone. This banjo even comes with a TKL arch top case!

Components Rating

8

Overall Comments


This banjo is very hard to beat in its class and price range. It comes with components that would cost much more on comparable brand banjos. I would absolutely replace it if stolen with another OB-250+.

Overall Rating

8


Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+
submitted 5/16/2003

Submitter

Unknown

Where Purchased

Janet Davis Music

Year Purchased

2003

Price Paid

1172 historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


Big loud sound with a good bit of sustain to it. Bluegrass cannon is I guess what they call it. It will take some technique changes not to be overbearing on this one. I would say this is an

Sound Rating

9

Setup


Setup was fine; in tune on delivery. I have no thoughts of tinkering with it. Head may need some tightening along the way since it's new.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


If there is a prettier sight for a nickel plated banjo I haven't seen it. You can't find an appearance flaw anywhere. My suggestion would be to scale down the size of the hearts and flowers as they go virtually fret to fret.

Appearance Rating

9

Reliability


Entirely top quality. If it doesn't hold up it will be my fault.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


No contact with Gold Tone. Janet Davis and Co. were very good to me. I've never heard anything but praise there. Gold Tone warrents for the life of original buyer.

Customer Service

10

Components


Mr. Rogers has incorporated the best ideas in ealier issues into his instruments. Price style tailpiece is easily strung with loop end strings and has a proven track record. Tone ring upgrade in this model to JLS no.12 also known as a

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


I bought this one so I wouldn't be pining for it three months after buying another. Price to quality hard to match. After 20 yrs on an aluminum pot I am what you would say most happy and wouldn't stray if I had to replace it.

Overall Rating

10


Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+
submitted 10/25/2002

Submitter

Retropicker (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Janet Davis

Year Purchased

2002

Price Paid

1100+- ($US)

Sound


I moved up from a Deering Intermediat that I've had since 1986. It's a marked improvement. You really need to get it outside to get the real feel of it. She really pops.
My preference is the pop of a Gibson Granada vs a driving Stelling. That is what I was looking for.
If you go to the Folk of the Wood web site you can compare the tone of this instrument vs the Gibsons and other top shelf professional banjos.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


Janet Davis' shop did the setup and it was ready to go when received. Even in tune!. I had them install spikes for me.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


Very nicely finished on the exterior. Beutiful neck. Inside the resonator is pretty sloppy.

Appearance Rating

9

Reliability


See components comments.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


There was some shipping damage to the resonator. Janet personally called to set things right.
I was considering several other local and online vendors (I like to support the local folks) but they never returned calls. I highly recommended JD's shop.

Customer Service

10

Components


I chose the 250+ because of the upgraded components, tone ring, tailpiece, ebony fingerboard, etc. It's a horse. I forsee no problems. The tuning pegs are pretty basic. The 250+ comes with a great arched top hard case included in the price.

Components Rating

9

Overall Comments


Unless I should turn pro and must have a prewar Granada, this is a keeper.
I think its the best buy out there. I researched it for a long time. My budget was ~$500 less but this banjo justified the additional cost. I'll have no reason for upgrading. Goldtone set a new standard for

Overall Rating

10


Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+
submitted 5/6/2002

Submitter

Unknown

Where Purchased

Janet Davis Music

Year Purchased

2002

Price Paid

$1150 historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


A loud, slightly dark sounding bluegrass instrument that loves to be played hard. An incredible step up from my last (aluminum pot) banjo.

Sound Rating

9

Setup


Janet Davis did a great job setting up the banjo. The head was tightened just right, bridge placed perfectly, and the action somewhat low to suit my playing ability. The tailpiece was loose, but after tightening it up and tuning, it was ready to play.

Setup Rating

9

Appearance


Goldtone does an incredible job on these banjos. The maple neck is gorgeous and the sunburst finished resonator is prettier than I expected. The ebony fingerboard is inlayed with simple but atttractive hearts & flowers. My banjo had no visible flaws of any kind.

Appearance Rating

9

Reliability


Seems reliable enough. I'll let you know......

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


Several e-mails to Goldtone requesting assistance have gone unanswered. I hope this isn't a measure of what they think of customer service. Dealing with Janet Davis was a pleasure. I did wait about 5 weeks for the banjo, after being told it'd take 2 or 3 weeks, but apparently Goldtone was swamped with recent orders. Ms. Davis kept me up to date. Her shop did a great job installing the 5th string spikes. Thanks Janet.

Customer Service

5

Components


I believe Goldtone keeps their prices down by using foreign made hardware in their banjos. The quality however, seems first rate.

Components Rating

8

Overall Comments


For a banjo at any price, I think the OB plus is top notch. At a price that hovers a little over a grand, (for the banjo & a hardshell case) I think it's an incredible bargain. Before I decided to go with the OB plus, I read the numerous reviews posted on this site. I have to say that those reviews turned out to be accurate. I'm very pleased with my Goldtone. I only wish customer service wasn't so spotty.

Overall Rating

9


Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+
submitted 2/28/2002

Submitter

Unknown

Where Purchased

EZFolk online store (Richard Hefner)

Year Purchased

2002

Price Paid

$1200 ($US)

Sound


The instrument sounds great. This is my first banjo and I was blown away by the tone produced. To me it is very hard to distinguish from high priced Deerings and Gibsons

Sound Rating

9

Setup


The banjo was playable right out of the case. I had someone experienced play it before I bought it, and he detected no setup problems.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


Beautiful instrument. Simple yet nice inlays. Sunburst pattern on back of resonator. (go to goldtone.com to check it out.) No flaws of any kind.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


The hardware seems strong and sturdy. As long as I am cautious with the handling of it, I would seldom be worried about a hardware failure.

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


I bought the banjo from Richard Hefner, who runs ezfolk.com. He is a suberb dealer; he kept me updated while it was being ordered, allowed me to come pick it up at his house, played it for me. Plus his prices were better than any store I found, online or otherwise.

Customer Service

10

Components


all components seem good, better strings make a difference though.

Components Rating

9

Overall Comments


I would recommend this banjo to anyone looking for a good instrument to start playing on. The better your first instrument, the easier it plays and the more likely you are to not quit. This banjo is a great bargain and a beautiful looking and sounding instrument

Overall Rating

10


Gold Tone Orange Blossom OB-250+
submitted 2/20/2002

Submitter

Unknown

Where Purchased

Bluegrass Music Shop Columbus, OH

Year Purchased

2002

Price Paid

Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


Near the neck Rich/Full sound and back by bridge it is very bright. This IS a QUALITY instrument! No doubt about it. Built very well, easy to fret and very pretty to look at.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


Tightened the head and raised the tailpiece. However, the banjo was definately playable when picked up.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


Very easy on the eyes. Description of woods can be found on their web site. Beautiful finish and inlay work. No flaws whatsoever in any area of craftmanship or materials used. Absolutely outstanding! I highly recommend Gold Tone.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


As far as reliability, I have no doubts that it will be reliable. I intend to do my part and take very good care of it. I believe it will take care of me.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


I have e-mailed the company with questions prior to acquiring my banjo. Each time they were very courteous.

Customer Service

10

Components


I am well pleased. I believe that all components used in this are of top quality.

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


I would and DO recommend this banjo. I feel it is worth more than I paid. If it were stolen I would feel as though I lost a family member. I love it. It is definately quality in every aspect. I did my research before buying. It paid off, excellent choice,satisfied. Top of their line and IS TOP QUALITY 100%

Overall Rating

10


You are not logged in.
Log In


Not a member? Create an Account (FREE!)



1612 BANJO LOVERS ONLINE

HOME | FORUMS | MEMBERS | MEDIA ARCHIVE | TABS & LESSONS | CLASSIFIEDS | REVIEWS | LINKS | CALENDAR | STORE | TERMS OF USE