Deering Goodtime Special  Banjo Reviews

Deering Goodtime Special
submitted 4/14/2011

Submitter

BoneDigger (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Amazon.com

Year Purchased

2011

Price Paid

560 ($US)

Sound


The Goodtime has a very nice tone that suits my needs as a bluegrass musician very well. I have owned quite a number of banjos over the years and the Special plays just as nicely as the more expensive banjos. Don't get me wrong, it does NOT have quite the projection of a true tone ring banjo, but it is fairly loud and you would have no problem being heard in a jam session. It has good intonation up and down the neck, plenty of bass and highs, and the sound is just very good for a $600-700 banjo.

Sound Rating

9

Setup


I took the banjo out of the box, tuned it, and started playing. The setup from the factory was spot on.

Setup Rating

9

Appearance


The Goodtime Special is an attractive banjo but it does not have the flash of the more expensive banjos. With that make a difference in playing? No. I would certainly call it an attractive banjo, just not flashy.

Appearance Rating

7

Reliability


This banjo seems very well made and it uses quality parts. I really don't see ever having an issue with this one. Although there is no truss rod, the neck is sturdy and I doubt I would ever have any issues.

Reliability Rating

8

Customer Service


In the few instances where I have called or e-mailed Deering I have never had an issue with the company or its representatives. I have always had quick and USEFUL responses.

Customer Service

10

Components


Standard parts for this type of banjo. Nothing seems sub-par.

Components Rating

9

Overall Comments


Have no doubt, this is a good banjo for a good price. I do not consider this to be a "beginner only" banjo and I know of at least two people that use these in a band. The projection is quite good, though it doesn't have the punch of a true tone-ring banjo. It is however, quite loud and more than enough for jam sessions or a gig that includes microphones. This banjo is lighter than most higher end banjos (8 lb versus a standard 12 lb) and that makes a huge difference in comfort. The redesign of the neck is awesome. The headstock is much m ore attractive than the old Gumby looking ones. Plus, the new neck has dot fret markers on the top of the neck where the older ones only had the inlays. Thanks Deering for a great product!

Overall Rating

10


Deering Goodtime Special
submitted 5/21/2010

Submitter

Concorde1 (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Eagle Music store

Year Purchased

2010

Price Paid

549 (GB Pounds) historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


The tone on this banjo is just what I was looking for. Clear and rings like a bell. I was considering buying a Calico, but how much better can a banjo sound than this one?

Sound Rating

10

Setup


The banjo was setup by Eagle Music and didn't even need tuning when I got it out of the box. I have had it for 2 months and just put a new set of Deering strings on and it sounds even better than when it was new.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


The banjo is made of Rock Maple which is a light coloured wood and it looks superb. The Goodtime series is known for it's no nonsense looks and at this time of my playing career I want all my money to go towards the sound that the banjo produces and not on fancy inlays. Saying that it is a nice instrument to look at.

Appearance Rating

8

Reliability


This banjo will outlive me I am sure. I do clean it after playing it most times so as to keep it in nice condition. This is because even if I do buy a top of the range model I will keep this banjo for playing in the garden or when camping etc

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


Mine came with a six year limited warranty that was not transferrable to a second owner. I have sent off the coupon to Deering but have yet to receive a reply. Eagle Music as the dealer have always been helpful when speaking to them on the phone.

Customer Service

5

Components


The quality of the workmanship is superb, you can tell it has been made properly from high quality components. Nothing looks cheap or rushed.

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


For anyone wishing to upgrade to a "proper" banjo and who hasn't just won the lottery I can't endorse this model enough. It made me a better player over night and now after 2 months I have improved a lot from when I used to play my Chinese cheapy, but we all have to start somewhere I suppose. This banjo will always be able to match your playing no matter how good you get. A wonderful musical instrument.

Overall Rating

10


Deering Goodtime Special
submitted 3/26/2009

Submitter

drewbanjowebster (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Hobgoblin Music

Year Purchased

2009

Price Paid

485.00 (Pound) historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


Good for old timey and bluegrass mix, sounds great, really lively range from deep D strings to bright lighter strings, you can get a range of sounds depending on your playing position. Quite a loud banjo considering its weight.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


Yes, good set up straight out of the box, I did find the strings that it came with far to light and giving, my fingers kept pushing the D string off the fret board, I replaced with a set of Joey Dunlop light strings (09-020-016-013-09) and these are great. Deering recommend only using Light strings (due to no truss rod) which I thought might be a problem for me as I use Mediums on my Countryman, but I am now a converted light string man, the response and brightness is very pleasing. Everything else was spot on.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


I love the pared back minimalist look, I think it will age well also.
Even the Gumby head has a simple charm, it had good comments on its first gig.
The finish and parts (including case) came very well presented, all excellent quality.
Even the box was nice!

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


It all seems very well built, solid and well finished. It should withstand some action and age well.

I use for all gig work without a backup.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


Haven't dealt with yet but have been told that they are exceptionally good.

Customer Service

not rated

Components


I think I'll keep this banjo as standard, all components good quality.

(might change the nut, being picky)...

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


I would recommend this banjo, I think the price has gone up now (585.00), but I think you'd still be hard pushed to get a banjo of this quality for less money.
I'd be seriously peeved if this got knicked, I'd weep like a school girl and sulk for at least a year.
I do love it, the only thing I don't really like is the black nut (purely cosmetic nerdy pick), would consider changing it for a bone nut in the future, but that's it really.
Before I bought this banjo, I spent a long time testing other instruments within my buget range, I did find some good looking banjos but none that compared to the playability of the Deering.

Overall Rating

10


Deering Goodtime Special
submitted 4/28/2008

Submitter

instntkrma (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Prussia Valley Dulcimers, Waverly OH

Year Purchased

2008

Price Paid

600 ($US)

Sound


Having played the Deering Goodtime 2 (available at your local Guitar-Mart) I'd sought out the Special in hopes of some bluegrass tone-ring punch, which this banjo delivers handily. Soft and sweet or loud and bright, just as described.

Sound Rating

8

Setup


The gentleman at PVDulcimers took this banjo from the wall, adjusted the bridge a bit, picked a few enviable licks and handed it over. I'd recommend shopping locally for this instrument (or any banjo, for that matter) to guarantee no accidents in shipment and to ensure it's set up as you like it.

Setup Rating

8

Appearance


With its signature unrefined natural satin finish, some people say this is an ugly banjo. Those people are jealous.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


This is a good, solid, American-made hunk of wood that could survive a two-story toss by a jealous lover, though I'd rather not test that assessment. Many online sources (including the Deering website) state that this instrument weighs 7 lbs, which I doubt. It's a good, honest weight. Not as heavy as a full on brass tone-ring, but not 7 lbs, either.

Reliability Rating

8

Customer Service


Now, this could turn out to be disappointing, but I suppose only time will tell. Upon completing the one-year warranty card, I spied a check box stating "Please Send my FREE Way to Happiness Booklet". I'd assumed this would be a bit of inoffensive religious literature, but I Googled just to be sure. As it turns out, this is a bit of Scientologist literature. I can only assume that, in order to obtain a warranty and the promised Owner's Manual, I'll have to suffer an onslaught of Scientology pamphlets as they attempt to convert my mailbox from its heathen ways. Again, only time will tell, and I would have bought the banjo anyhow, but I wish they hadn't been all sneaky about it.

Customer Service

5

Components


I've read a few complaints about the Vega-style arm rest on the Goodtime series, and I can confirm that it is much higher than one would expect an armrest to be. However, I think this benefits the beginning player, as it reinforces the proper wrist angle and encourages you to anchor a finger or two. A little discomfort is a small price to pay for good technique.

Components Rating

8

Overall Comments


The Goodtime Special is somewhat harder to get ahold of than other models in the Goodtime line, and will cost a bit more in a local store than over the Internet, but it's worth the expense in quality, tone, sustain, and style. The instrument has the sound and heft of a banjo twice its cost but comes in under $1k by eschewing the unnecessary gloss and refinements. Support your local luthier and snag one today. And unless Thetans are your thing, consider setting up a fake address for that warranty.

Overall Rating

8


Deering Goodtime Special
submitted 12/24/2007

Submitter

PaddleFaster (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Mullis Music Co.

Year Purchased

2007

Price Paid

Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


It sounds really bright and bluegrassy. It's not up there with the expensive end banjos but the sound it produces is unmistakably a bluegrass banjo. It has pop and ring to it and a mellow low D string.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


It needed some dusting but that was about it. Great setup.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


This banjo is good-looking in the respect that it is very simple. It's has the look and feel of something hand-made (which it is) rather than manufactured.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


This banjo seems like one that will last me a loooooong time. It feels so solid in my hands. The from the tailpeice to the peghead, it is well put together. The only thing that I can see that might get annoying is the tuning machines. They are geared and have some play in them, but they do hold a tune and aren't hard to tune either. The strings feel solid and with that comes the awesome sound. I can't tell you enough how solid this thing feels even though it is very light.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


Never had to deal with Deering but I've heard from friends that they are great.

Customer Service

10

Components


The tuning machines as mentioned before seem to have some play in them. Other than that, everything (head, fingerboard, metal components, strings, tailpiece) seems solid and reliable. The factory strings are every great sounding.

Components Rating

9

Overall Comments


Excellent banjo to get good on. Not too expensive to flip out if it gets a ding in it or something (although I probably would lol). It's the perfect banjo to practice and go to gigs with. I would recommend a hard case for it simply because if you are serious about banjo playing, you'll eventually want to upgrade from this banjo and you already have a hard case. Perfect beginning to intermediate banjo that sounds very bluegrass.

Overall Rating

10


Deering Goodtime Special
submitted 5/7/2007

Submitter

GW in Ohio (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

The Music Farm (eBay online store)

Year Purchased

2007

Price Paid

$489 historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


I bought this banjo to do some bluegrass picking, but didn't want a heavy, expensive bluegrass banjo (e.g., a Gold Star). The sound is just fine; it's not the exquisite sound you get from a Gold Star or a Gibson, but it's a good bluegrass sound.

Sound Rating

8

Setup


The banjo was set up well, but the sound wasn't quite right. I tightened up the head all around and adjusted the tailpiece and now it sounds a whole lot better. The arm rest that came with it dug into my right arm while I was playing, so I took it off.

Setup Rating

9

Appearance


I like the blond wood finish. It's a no-frills, unadorned instrument that suits me.

Appearance Rating

9

Reliability


This is where Deering banjos shine. They're made with quality materials, and they've very well constructed. It's a sturdy, well put together banjo. The guitar tuners work very well; the instrument stays in tune.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


Never had to deal with the Deering folks.

Customer Service

9

Components


I love the rock maple neck and the maple resonator, The steel tone ring gives it good punch. It's easy to take the resonator off and make adjustments (e.g., to the head tension, or the truss rod).

Components Rating

9

Overall Comments


This is a perfect banjo for someone who wants to get into bluegrass but doesn't want to spend a whole lot of money. You get the most value for your money with a Deering, I think. It's also lighter (7 lbs.) than the more expensive bluegrass banjos with their heavy tone rings. That makes a difference when you've been wearing it around your neck for a while.
I expect to get a lot of years of good playing. I would recommend this banjo for anyone who wants a great intermediate bluegrass banjo.
The overall rating of 10 isn't because this is the best banjo you can buy. It's because for what this banjo sets out to be (i.e., a good intermediate banjo), it succeeds really well.

Overall Rating

10


Deering Goodtime Special
submitted 4/22/2007

Submitter

banjo-ho (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

janet davis music co

Year Purchased

2007

Price Paid

700+/_ ($US)

Sound


excellent,bright sound,great sustain

Sound Rating

8

Setup


out of the box ready

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


different because it is blond wood, but grows on you. It's not fancy so you feel, gritty and unpretentious!

Appearance Rating

7

Reliability


plays and plays and plays! I would play this banjo anywhere. It was absolute magic when I picked it up. I had been playing a Johnson JB-100 and fairly content. I started playing the Goodtime and it was like all of a sudden, instant improvement, 100%!

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


you cannot beat JDMco, they are very helpful, personable and available! Every experience I have had with them has been positive. They had made a pricing error on their website that I found. They couldnt sell the banjo at that price but threw in a gig bag for the finding the error! Look no further than JDMco

Customer Service

10

Components


Deering is all about banjos and customer satisfaction from what I see. I do wish the tuners werent guitar style, but they are accurate and sensitive, it is all about the sound!

Components Rating

8

Overall Comments


There seems to be two camps for banjos. The under $1000 and the over $1000 buck. For an American made banjo, under $1,000 that is Sound first, appearance 2nd (although like I said it kind of grows on you), this is THE Banjo!

Overall Rating

10


Deering Goodtime Special
submitted 1/22/2007

Submitter

ssmckee (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Andy's Guitar

Year Purchased

2007

Price Paid

500 ($US)

Sound


This banjo rocks! I play Scruggs-style and it projects beautifully, loud and bright (not as much as a $$$$ banjo but..) The harmonics are great and I find that left-hand slides/pulloffs and hammer are easier and sustain longer.

Sound Rating

8

Setup


Set up was perfect right out of the box...needed to be cleaned and strings replaced.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


I love the blond wood look and the inlay is simple..I don't need a gaudy neck with inlays......
The metal of the tone ring and resonator needed to be cleaned...it was sitting around the shop a while befor I scored it.

Appearance Rating

7

Reliability


For the price I paid I feel I got a hell of a deal..It has a one year warranty and I I feel the finish will last a lifetime.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


Not too impressed with Deering..they seem to take a while to respond to my e-mails...when I finally did get a responce it was helpful.

Customer Service

3

Components


I love the maple finish it is a very beautiful and hard wood. I know the tone ring in steel, not brass, but it looks and sounds great.

Components Rating

7

Overall Comments


This is an amazing banjo and for anyone who can't spend $$$$ on a great sound and quality banjo this is the one.
I would get another if it was stolen, I dod a ton of research on banjos in this price range and this is the best.

Overall Rating

9


Deering Goodtime Special
submitted 12/4/2005

Submitter

rreconnu (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Ebay

Year Purchased

2005

Price Paid

475 ($US)

Sound


The Goodtime Special II comes with a small tone ring and has a little more pop than the standard Goodtime. That said, it is still a far cry from the bluegrass cannon sound you may be familiar with. It is a much more mellow, woody sound. In it's own way, it's a nice sound. If you are just starting out, the rest of the people in your house will appreciate the fact that you don't have a bronze tone ring knocking the walls down.

The score is based on the classic bluegrass sound which this doesn't have. But like I said, it has a pleasant sound.

Sound Rating

4

Setup


The setup on the banjo was pretty good when I got it. The head was a little lose and the strings needed replaced. Other than tightening the head, all I did was lower the tailpiece a little to try and tighten up the sound.

This is a very simple banjo to work on. Don't expect a huge amout of tone change though.

Setup Rating

6

Appearance


For a very basic banjo, the Goodtime Special is nice looking. The natural satin finish is done well and gives it a very old timey look. The Special comes with a fancier logo on the peg hed that dresses it up over the basic star on the standard model. I found the flange with the basic round holes a little on the ugly side for my liking but once again, it's a very basic banjo.

Appearance Rating

5

Reliability


You can't touch the craftsmanship of this banjo with anything in this price range. This is one very well built banjo.

Reliability Rating

8

Customer Service


Customer service has been very good. I've called twice and both times I spoke with Carolina. She was very friendly and helpfull to deal with.

Customer Service

9

Components


The components are of good quality.

The guitar type tuners are functional but are a FAR cry from the tuners you will find on the next level banjos. They tend to get moved out of tuned when you put the banjo in it's gig bag.

The arm rest is my biggest complaint about the entire banjo. Instead of giving you a standard "Gibson Style" arm rest that sits nice and close to the head, Deering went with a Vega style arm rest. As it comes to you, the arm rest sits about 3/4 of an inch above the head. Because it is very narrow, if you play for any legnth of time it tends to dig into your arm. VERY uncomfortable.

It was so uncomfortable that I took it off. This proved to be even worse as the hooks then dug into my arm. I called Deering to see if there was anything I could do and they walked me through a new setup that required using two of the hooks and turning the hook nuts upside down to bring the arm rest down to a comfortable level. It seems to work well but I'm skeptical about what basically removing two hooks so close together will do for the tension of the head. If it was a higher level banjo, it might impact the tone more. I can't really hear a difference on mine.

On the VERY positive side I have to say the neck on this banjo is great. The action is very good and the overall slim shape makes fretting very easy for a beginner. The satin finish allows your hand to glide easily up and down the neck. I have very large hands and I was concerned that the narrow neck would prove to be a problem, but it has worked out to be exactly the opposite. I've played much higher end banjos and maybe because I've learned on this Deering, but they all feel thick and slow to me.

One last thing, this Banjo is MADE IN AMERICA. In the banjo market, that still means something. Imports simply don't stack up compared to an American banjo. They may be a bit more flashy or a little cheaper, but when you look at quality and tone they can't touch good old American craftsmanship. Support your American banjo craftsmen!

Components Rating

5

Overall Comments


Overall, this is an excellent beginner banjo. Before and since I bought it, I've played dozens, maybe even a hundred different banjos and for the money I've never seen one with quality and playability off the Goodtime Special II.

That said, you have to go into it knowing it's the best of the low end banjos. If you have expectations of getting serious about the banjo, you might want to consider spending a little more money up front for something that will last you a lot longer. The next level seems to start at the $1200 range for new banjos. For around the same price there are many respectable used banjos as well all of which will provide tone and playability far superior to the Goodtime.

I got 6 months out of the Goodtime before my playing and appreciation of good tone improved to the point that I had to upgrade. I love playing the banjo and decided to skip the middle and go right for a high end Crafters of Tennessee. My skill may never catch up to this banjo, but the tone and playability is lightyears beyond what I'd gotten used to on the Goodtime. Although I love the new banjo, I'm not planning on selling my Goodtime. It is lightweight, well built and perfect for a knock around, campfire, travel banjo or as a backup to my Crafters.

Overall Rating

7


Deering Goodtime Special
submitted 6/18/2003

Submitter

Kaiser442 (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Folk of the Wood

Year Purchased

2003

Price Paid

495 ($US)

Sound


Wonderful full sound - especially compared to my old Fender. Sound is always to difficult to describe - but it has a deeper, more pleasant sound with excellent attack (with a bit of that nice popping sound that comes from the large amount of attack that banjos can produce) and much less of the annoying high pitched twaAAaaang.

Sound Rating

8

Setup


The banjo was set up well by FOTW - but one of the head tensioner nuts was so loose that it fell off while playing after I'd had the banjo a couple of weeks. I think the heads just stretch a bit when they are new and require retightening after a few weeks. I did my best to tap tune it and it's working fine.

Setup Rating

7

Appearance


For those familiar with the Goodtime, it's a very spartan instrument. I went to a jam and a lady told me

Appearance Rating

5

Reliability


This seems like a very reliable instrument - note my above concerns about the finish
The tuners are cheap - but it plays well and stays in tune well.

Reliability Rating

8

Customer Service


I have not dealt with Deering but I get the impression that they would be pleasant to deal with if there were a problem. Same with Folk of the Wood.

Customer Service

8

Components


This is the same as the regular Goodtime 2 - but it has a tone ring made from 1/16

Components Rating

8

Overall Comments


This is a wonderful banjo and the price can't be beat.

I started this adventure with a cheapie $250 Fender and then upgraded to the Goodtime Special as my middle-of-the-road banjo after about 8 months. I would like to get a nicer Deering at some point (Black Diamond!) but will probably always keep the Special as my knockaround instrument.

I HIGHLY recommend the Goodtime 2 or Special to beginners (who mostly can't and probably shouldn't spend $2000 on their first instrument - you've got to play for awile to learn what you like). It is a great sounding, great playing, quality, American instrument - and I haven't heard anything negative said about it yet.

Overall Rating

8


Deering Goodtime Special
submitted 12/27/2002

Submitter

Unknown

Where Purchased

Spruce Tree Music

Year Purchased

2002

Price Paid

500 ($US)

Sound


The sound is very bright and has quite a bit of sustain. The low-end is also much better than I would have expected for a banjo in this price range.

Sound Rating

9

Setup


All I had to do when I bought it was install a cradle strap, and that was easy.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


The Goodtime series doesn't look very fancy, but it certainly doesn't look bad. The quality craftsmenship is apparent when you look at it closely.

Appearance Rating

8

Reliability


It appears to be very well built; it seems sturdy.

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


I haven't yet talked to Deering.

Customer Service

not rated

Components


The Goodtime Special comes with a tone ring that gives it a bit more punch than the Goodtime 2. One thing that's missing is planetary tuners, but that's not really a big deal for a banjo in this price range.

Components Rating

8

Overall Comments


This is my second banjo, my first was a crappy import. The Goodtime Special is so much better than my last one I just can't get over it. It sounds better and is easier to play too. It's not fancy looking, but I think that's how Deering keeps the price down on a banjo that sounds this good. I think it was very worth the money and I'd recommend it to any beginner to bluegrass banjo.

Overall Rating

9


Deering Goodtime Special
submitted 7/30/2002

Submitter

Unknown

Where Purchased

Folk of the Wood

Year Purchased

2002

Price Paid

Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


Did lot of research on buying. Deering kept popping up in many reviews. Couldnot find Deering banjos in Miami and wanted to find out what the three Deering banjos in my price category sounded like.
Called Deering and they were great. They took the time to play all three over the phone...that impressed me as a beginner. I don't know what a $4000 banjo sound like but I am absolutely, positively delighted with the GoodTime Special.
Just a thanks to the folk at Deering and Folk of the Wood.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


Setup Rating

not rated

Appearance


Appearance Rating

not rated

Reliability


Reliability Rating

not rated

Customer Service


Customer Service

not rated

Components


Components Rating

not rated

Overall Comments


Overall Rating

not rated


Deering Goodtime Special
submitted 4/8/2002

Submitter

Unknown

Where Purchased

Homestead Pickin Parlor, Minneapolis, MN

Year Purchased

2002

Price Paid

475 ($US)

Sound


I'm new to the banjo, but I know when I like the sound of something,
and I like the sound of this banjo! The "Goodtime Special" is alot of fun to play.
I shopped around quite a bit, and played quite a few banjos,
and I liked playing this one as well as any of them (and better than most).
I haven't played it through an amp yet, but I've played it with a mic
through the P.A. and it came through fine.
I'll be trying the good old Dean Markley stick on transducer to see how that works.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


It was set up great when I got it.
I don't know if they did it at the Pickin Parlor or at the factory in CA,
but it plays very well.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


Not too flashy, that's for sure, but the appearance has really grown on me.
I like the light neck. My wife liked the looks of it right off the bat. That's good!

Appearance Rating

8

Reliability


It seems like everything is screwed on right to me.
I'd definitely use it at a gig without a backup.
It seems like a very solid, no frills banjo.

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


Deering has a great website, and they sent me the catalog I asked for.
It seems like a very easy company to work with.

Customer Service

8

Components


The guitar tuners look a bit more flimsy compared to the rest of the banjo,
but it stays in tune just fine. I just screwed on a Shubb 5th string capo,
and so far so good.

Components Rating

8

Overall Comments


I don't think this banjo can be beat in this price range. Period.
I looked at and played alot of them when shopping for this one,
and if you want a great banjo and don't want to drop $1500, I strongly
recommend that you check out the "Goodtime Special".

Overall Rating

10


Deering Goodtime Special
submitted 1/30/2002

Submitter

Unknown

Where Purchased

www.folkofthewood.com

Year Purchased

2001

Price Paid

475 ($US)

Sound


This banjo sounds great. The resonator and tone-
ring lend themselves to a good bluegrass sound.
I'm new to playing the banjo but more experienced
players that have tried mine agree it sounds great
and is a heck of a steal for the price.

Sound Rating

8

Setup


All I had to do when I received it was tune it and
play. I have since adjusted the action some to be
more tailored to my preference. It is very easy to
adjust!

Setup Rating

8

Appearance


I get a lot of compliments on this banjo. The blond
maple and nickel plating are very appealling. It
also has a rather distinctive appearance which I
have grown to really love. Deering did not waste
time and money on unnecessary varnish and inlays
to keep costs at a minimum.

Appearance Rating

9

Reliability


It is made of quality rock maple and nickel plating.
I expect to get years and years of dependible use
from it.

Reliability Rating

8

Customer Service


The folks at Deering were very helpful with all
questions and were quick to respond to my e-mails
(www.deeringbanjos.com). The same can be said
for the crew at Folk of the Wood
(www.folkofthewood.com).

Customer Service

9

Components


The wooden parts are all top quality blond rock
maple and all metal parts have nickel plating. The
head is Deering's own frosted model. I have found
only two drawbacks; I'm not real crazy about the
open gear tuners, and wish there were fret
indicators along the top edge of the neck.

Components Rating

8

Overall Comments


I love this banjo! Would recommend it to anyone
looking for a quality, inexpensive banjo. Check out
www.folkofthewood.com for great prices on
everything having to do with acoustic instruments.

Overall Rating

8


You are not logged in.
Log In


Not a member? Create an Account (FREE!)



2068 BANJO LOVERS ONLINE

HOME | FORUMS | MEMBERS | MEDIA ARCHIVE | TABS & LESSONS | CLASSIFIEDS | REVIEWS | LINKS | CALENDAR | STORE | TERMS OF USE