John Boulding
submitted 1/18/2017

Submitter

jgbryant (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John did a re-fret on my Ode Model C banjo and he was able to widen the string spacing by modifying the binding and extending the frets to the edge of the fingerboard.  I was a little skeptical at first, but he did great job.  The banjo plays and sounds better than ever.  The fret and binding work was very well done considering the age and condition of the banjo. 

Overall Rating

10


Backyard Music Basic Banjo (Kit)
submitted 1/17/2017

Submitter

Banjerfly (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Ebay

Year Purchased

2017

Price Paid

99 ($US)

Sound


Sound is muted but very good!

Sound Rating

5

Setup


This is a basic banjo kit. Very well thought out. All parts included plus an extra string/screw/brad or two. Extremely easy to assemble. It was up and playing in two days only because I took extra time to stain and finsh otherwise it would have been done in several hours.

Setup Rating

9

Appearance


No flaws. The basic kit comes un-finished so you are able to put your own craftsmanship and personality into it. Over all length is 32 inches and head is 9.25 inches across. Ring is made from a section of cardboard concrete form tube, head is aircraft grade plywood and neck appears to be a mahogany type. Geared tuners. Nice little instruction book and youtube videos made the build easy.

Appearance Rating

8

Reliability


Suitable for a front porch jam session or hotel room solo. I plan to carry in a tennis racket bag during my travels and leave my Deering at home. Nice enough to be proud of but I won't care if it gets a little road rash.

Reliability Rating

8

Customer Service


David Cross at Backyard responded within minutes to an email I sent. I had no issues with the kit so I cannot speak to service but I would bet Backyard would be responsive to any problems or questions.

Customer Service

10

Components


This kit is for a "basic" banjo. My need was for an affordable, nice sounding travel banjo. Getting to build it myself was just a bonus. It was a birthday present for myself and I bought one for our son for his birthday so we built them together, each putting our own personality into it. I think with minimal care I could expect to hand this down to a grandson or daughter someday.

Components Rating

7

Overall Comments


I was pleasantly surprised to come across these little banjo's at Backyard.  I almost pulled the trigger on a $300 travel banjo but I did a little more surfing and found some great reviews on the offerings of Backyard Music.  They make other types of instruments also as well as already assembled.  The sound is what really got me hooked.  In my opinion it is amazing the quality of sound this little banjo puts out.   You don't have to be an advanced wood worker to build this kit.  A little hammering, a straight and cross point screw driver, some sand paper and some glue and you are in business!  Well worth a hundred bucks!  My profile pic is of the two banjo's my son and I built, mine on the left.  

Overall Rating

9


Cumberland Banjos 12" Slot Head
submitted 1/14/2017

Submitter

zac987 (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Directly

Year Purchased

2017

Price Paid

Don't Remember historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


This banjo sounds amazing for both fingerpicking and clawhammer. It has a huge sound, bassy and growly. With picks, it's loud enough to play bluegrass. It has a very dynamic tone, capable of pretty much anything I throw at it.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


Great action, I haven't had to change anything.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


Aesthetically, the banjo is perfect. No flaws whatsoever. 26 3/16" scale, Richlite fingerboard and peghead veneer from Balsam Banjo Works, three piece neck using yellow birch with a cherry center strip, Grover Sta-Tite tuners, two way adjustable truss rod accessible at the heel. The rim is maple, from Rickard Banjos. Hooks, nuts, shoes, tension hoop, and Silver Belle tonering from Rickard Banjos. Fielding tailpiece. Goat skin head. The rim and neck were treated with a vinegar steel wool solution to age the wood, then finished with tung oil.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


Without a doubt.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


This is my second banjo from Cam. He's great to work with; one of the friendliest and most helpful guys in the banjo community. If I ever wanted / needed another custom banjo, he's the first person I would think of. The custom process is always so much fun. He sends a lot of pictures, so you can really see the progression between raw materials and the beautiful end result.

Customer Service

10

Components


There's nothing cheap or weak about it!

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


10/10, exceeded my expectations (which were already high). For lack of a better analogy, my other banjos are parlor guitars and this one is a pre-war dreadnought. The quality is up there with Ome, Brooks, Jason Burns, and Seeders. Check Cumberland Banjos out on Facebook or Instagram! 

Overall Rating

10


Huber VRB-3
submitted 1/14/2017

Submitter

Judo (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Music Outlet

Year Purchased

2016

Price Paid

5,250 ($US)

Sound


The tone is amazing. I like the set up a little looser than most and I must say, it has the sweetest and fullest sound I could ask for. The tone is great for my blend of Scruggs, melodic and stingle string stye.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


The set up was perfect!

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


I have a custom VRB-3 with the Huber Deluxe pattern ingraving and gold plating and tulip amber tuning buttons. I also got the flying eagle pattern on the headstock and neck of the banjo. It looks beautiful.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


It is an awesome banjo! of course it will last!

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


there is a Lifetime warrenty. I have dealt with Steve a few times. He is alway pleasant to work with and accomidating.

Customer Service

10

Components


They are all top-notch parts!

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


Whether you are a trad player or a progressive player, I think you will love these banjos! I loved the VRB-3 so much, I sold my Deering Tenbrooks to buy another Huber (Granada).

 Only things negative I could say about it is I wish the neck was a little wider. I got the wider neck but it could be a little wider. I did get the radius fret board as well and I really like it. 

Overall, I would suggest this banjo to anyone. The tone is unbelievable. I have not played a banjo that has a better tone than my VRB-3. 

Overall Rating

10


Clancey Mullins Buccaneer Maple raised head
submitted 1/13/2017

Submitter

Ralph Stanley legend (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Clancy Mullins

Year Purchased

2016

Price Paid

2.000 ($US)

Sound


Very well built and finished. Now I have set it up, a fabulous sounding raised head banjo. Huge bass and powerful ringing highs, a great Stanley type sound and very powerful. The whole banjo vibrates when you play it... that's a good thing !

Sound Rating

9

Setup


Well set up, but any serious player wil tweak, as I have done...

Setup Rating

8

Appearance


Lovely looking Banjo, all Maple, H+F inlays. Cannot fault that. However, one resonator screw did not fit properly, I ordered a replacement.

Appearance Rating

9

Reliability


Ok, here are a couple issues, tailpiece was a cheap presto copy and useless. I changed that out immediately for a Kerschner. Also, the bridge was another cheap part. Changed that out to a Mike Smith custom at 2.16 grams. SO much better... another World literally. Really lit this banjo up, sounded fine before but sounds great now. head is at G#

Reliability Rating

9

Customer Service


Clancy was very helpful through the entire process.

Customer Service

10

Components


This banjo is all Maple. Cox rim and a Steve Ryan no hole Raised head ring. Great components and she sounds really top drawer now I have set her up a little.....

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


For the price, $2000 brand new I doubt another Banjo maker could get close. Yes I had to change the tailpiece and bridge but that is just personal preference and getting every last ounce of performance out of a Banjo. The Cox rim and Ryan ring work very well and are top components. I am very happy with this Banjo, hard to rate my previous 1927 solid archtop Mastertone above it. VERY close in tonal sound and maybe a little more powerful than the old Gibson.... This raised head has it. Ear muffs optional. 

Overall Rating

9


Bridges Kateyz McCormick "Spice"
submitted 1/10/2017

Submitter

Ralph Stanley legend (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Mike Smith

Overall Comments


This is the third bridge I have had from Mike Smith and yet again it has blown my socks off. Spice factory maple with African Blackwood top, weighs just 2.16 grams and is superb. My banjo is a solid archtop and this bridge makes the whole banjo rattle, literally. So powerful, great bass and ringing highs. Honestly, I just dont think you can better Mike's bridges. Fantastic.

Overall Rating

10


Mike's Banjo Mute Mike's Banjo Mute
submitted 1/10/2017

Submitter

BigSal5 (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

www.mikesbanjomute.com

Overall Comments


The single best thing I have done to improve my banjo playing has been to purchase Mike's Banjo Mute.  Beautifully made, easily placed/removed in less than 5 sec and works perfectly.  Simple instructions on his website.

My family loves my banjo playing...but they do not like repetition.  I only improve my skills through repetition...lots.  Until I got my mute I would play as softly as I could and try to vary what I play until my wife would say...enough.  Now, when my family is around...on with the mute and I can play as loud as I chose and Scruggs as often as I choose.  I practice MUCH more, and am improving quickly.

I use my mute in my office at work during our lunch hour, in hotels on vacation, in a Bed and Breakfast in Beaufort, SC (Cuthbert House with Civil War history!!).  So cool playing as much as I wanted in this historic B&B.  Sometimes I'm up early while everyone sleeps my mute is on and I'm having a great time.

Anyway, I have had my mute since October '16 and I am getting good...fast!!  I can play whenever, whatever, and as often as I like.  If anyone is around to be bothered my Mike's Mute is on and I am still (as my son say's) crushing it.

I love mine and it is the reason I am improving.

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 1/8/2017

Submitter

1luckysob (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I recently had john install a custom neck and new resonator on my fb-59. he did a fantastic job was with great communication and turn around. I would highly recommend. Thank you.

Overall Rating

10


Carl Arcand
submitted 1/5/2017

Submitter

darkhall (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


 

I acquired this Ludwig art standard as a brass pot and resonator only at a flea market 40 years ago for 15 dollars .......no one knew what i was [i did ]...Recently i was able to have a neck made .i tracked down Carl Arcand through this site and shipped it off to Quebec from B.C. .it took about 2 months with various updates and pictures during the process .my photo o this site has a pic of the front and in pictures i show the back .The neck is American  black walnut  with some dyed laminations .the fingerboard is Ebony as well as the headstock  veneer .there is a truss rod accessible by the  neck heel  which preserves its vintage look .he did mother of pearl inlays and was even able to find some of the hardware that was needed in his existing vintage stock .he repaired some missing wood [beautifully ] and finished with 10 coats of tru-oil 

Thank you Carl for an outstanding job .........to give an instrument such as this its voice back is nothing short of a resurrection . it sings clear ,sustaining  ,and bright    David Emerson hall 

Overall Rating

9


Carl Arcand
submitted 1/4/2017

Submitter

banjoquebec (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


The day after New Year I drove from my home in northern Vermont to the scenic little village of Ulverton Québec to take two old banjos in need of repair to Carl Arcand to see what he could do with them. While there I started looking at banjos he has restored and made.When I picked up a 12 inch Tubaphone he had made I knew the purpose of my trip had changed. It has 2 ply maple pot and curly maple neck with beautiful top of the line hardware.The inlays are lovely with a fleur de lis pattern on the peghead and another complex inlay where the neck meets the pot. The neck is scooped there but with a very pleasing serpentine shape instead of just being squared off. It has a natural thick goat skin head and a crescent shaped "moon" bridge for compensation. It chimes perfectly across all the strings. The bottom of the pot has a beautiful herringbone inlay (purfling) that really dresses it up.

When I played the banjo I got the throaty, rich sound one associates with a Tubaphone. It has excellent sustain but it also fades fast enough so you are not left with discordant sounds when you move to the next note or chord. The sound up the neck is pure all the way to the throat. With a twelve inch pot it has lots of volume which can project when playing with others but it can also sound sweet when played with a lighter touch which I like because I like to put a crescendo in songs then fade down to softer sounds. 

End of story, I traded the two old, in need of major repair, banjos to Carl for a down payment on the Tubaphone. He gave me a very fair price for them and the price on the new banjo was very reasonable especially considering the neck and pot details, the inlays, and the expensive hardware. I have never seen a new banjo of this quality for the price he charged. A banjo playing friend and I spent two hours there talking to Carl, playing banjos, and visiting his shop. He loves bringing old instruments back to life and making new ones, one at a time rather than in an assembly line fashion.

If you need a new banjo or an old one repaired, call Carl. His website is Second Life Banjos. Carl takes great pride in his work and it shows. I could not be more pleased with my new Arcand banjo.

Robert

Overall Rating

10


Pisgah 12" Walnut Possum
submitted 1/4/2017

Submitter

SteveBuvoltz (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Direct from Pisgah

Year Purchased

2016

Price Paid

1350 ($US)

Sound


My Pisgah Possum arrived setup perfectly for my style of Clawhammer playing. I have not needed to change or adjust anything. It has a rich full bodied sound but very defined when playing higher notes up the neck. It has a heavy brass No-Knot style tailpiece and what looks to be a straight maple bridge with ebony top. I like the tone so have not tried other bridges. Perhaps later on. The intonation is good the way it is. The walnut neck is quite responsive to the touch. I can feel the notes as I play them. This is a sought after feature I've learned to appreciate in some of my vintage guitars. It is easily one of the best sounding banjos I've ever had a chance to play here in West Virginia. I just happen to own it which is a big plus. A nice scoop after the 17th fret makes Clawhammer moves like drop thumb and "cluck" tones easy for me to accomplish. I love this banjo! The price I payed listed above is including shipping to West Virginia.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


Patrick and Pisgah did a very good setup on the Possum before it shipped. I have not needed nor wanted to change a thing about it. I can detect no bad overtones at all and that's without stuffing it. No need for that unless I just want to quiet it down. It's surprisingly loud.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


It is a walnut rim with a persimmon tone ring and fretboard. The rim has a cherry cap. It's appearance is a work of art in wood! Beautiful oldtime look to it that reminds me of walking in the mountains here in WV. It has a quilted star inlay on the headstock which I like a lot and early on I had asked Patrick for antiqued brass hardware which he provided by Balsam Banjoworks which sets off the already striking oldtime look. The tuners are Gotoh and work very well. It stays in tune until I change it. It has a renaissance head with the "PBCO" logo down near the No-Knot style tailpiece. The overall appearance is pure oldtime elegance. Especially with the antiqued brass hardware.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


The hardware by Balsam Banjoworks not only looks great, it's sturdy and strong. All USA made parts. It will last a very long time. Longer than my lifetime for sure. The finish on the wood is just enough to show the beautiful wood textures and patterns but not overdone. Pisgah's attention to fitup and detail is very impressive. I have nothing but good to say about it.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


I delt directly with Patrick at Pisgah on the phone and via email. He was very responsive to my every question and still is. It has a limited lifetime warranty to the original purchaser but I probably will never need it since I have no plans of breaking it. I take really good care of my instruments.

Customer Service

10

Components


It's an oldtime mountain type Clawhammer banjo. It's uncluttered and elegant which I like a lot. Overall, the authentic oldtime construction and detail to tight fit-up combined with the blending of beautiful woods stand out in a crowd. It's not very heavy but feels well built and strong. To sum up, 12" walnut rim with persimmon tone ring, cherry rim cap, 3 piece walnut neck with persimmon fretboard, Antiqued brass hardware by Balsam Banjoworks, Gotoh tuners, solid construction. I see no need to change a thing at this time.

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


I have 3 other banjos here. A Gold Tone BG250f that I converted to an open back that has a 20 hole flathead brass tone ring, a 1970 Kay, and a Recording King Madison 025 open back. All are nice and all have been improved by my setups but still not in the same league of banjo as the Pisgah Possum. I'm very happy with this banjo and the Pisgah Banjo Co. to say the least. Would I suggest a Pisgah to others looking for a banjo hand built in the USA? You bet I would! The best you most likely will ever get at this price, or perhaps at even quite a bit more of a price. I know, I gave Pisgah and this banjo all 10's, that's because it's deserved.  http://www.banjohangout.org/photo/220408

Overall Rating

10


John Boulding
submitted 1/3/2017

Submitter

cjmssmd (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


John is terrific and I can't imagine anyone going wrong with him. He really knows his stuff.  He listens to what I am trying to accomplish and then gives me just the right amount of new material each lesson. 

I was self-taught for about a year, reading tablature, and memorizing songs, but wanted to learn to play backup with a group. John introduced me to a new way of thinking about banjo music which was exactly what I needed.  He taught me chord progressions (up and down the neck, in any key, without a capo), basic licks, slides and rolls. He gave me good suggestions of recordings to practice playing along with. He got me in the practice of simply listening to what the banjo player is doing on recordings. 

Thanks fo John my playing has a new energy and excitement.

Overall Rating

10


Carl Arcand Second Life Banjo May Bell Banjo Ukulele
submitted 1/3/2017

Submitter

Banjo Lefty (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Direct from the seller

Year Purchased

2015

Price Paid

600 (Canadian) (bought USED) historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound


The ukulele has a sweet, full sound, and is a lot louder than one would think for the size. It sounds exactly as I imagined it would, with banjo-like sustain and some overtones, but not too much. Punchy, not plunky.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


The banjo was expertly set up and playable right out of the box. Carl's shop is in Quebec's Eastern Townships, and I'm in Winnipeg, so I had a friend pick up the instrument and store it for me. Six months later, when I finally got it the banjo, it was still pristine and ready to go.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


This is a vintage instrument that has been expertly restored. The restoration is so good it is impossible to tell what is original and what is a repair. The neck and rim are beautiful; the wood (walnut) is flawless.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


The banjo is close to 100 years old. It will easily last another 100 years. I would certainly use it on stage without backup, assuming that I got good enough to play solo.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


Carl Arcand is very easy to deal with. He responds to emails promptly, is willing to negotiate on the price, and I would not hesitate to buy other instruments from him, if ever he had something in which I was interested.

Customer Service

10

Components


There is nothing weak or cheap about this banjo. All of the parts, both original and replacement, are top quality.

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


I have played several ukuleles, but have always wanted a banjo uke.  The fact that this one was a vintage model from the 1920's just added to the appeal.  Carl Arcand is an expert luthier, and his work is impeccable.

Overall Rating

10


Bridges Renan Banjos bridge
submitted 1/3/2017

Submitter

dustyelmer (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

From Renan Banjos

Overall Comments


I ordered a single foot, straight bridge from Tyler Burke, owner/operator of Renan Banjos and have been very pleased with the improvements in the tone of my Bart Reiter Special. The bridge is hard maple with a thin ebony cap and really focused and sharpened the tone of my banjo. Tyler was professional and very easy to do business with, and the bridge arrived a few days after I placed the order. I highly recommend Renan Banjos and Tyler Burke. 

Overall Rating

10


Zero Glide Zero Glide
submitted 12/30/2016

Submitter

johnahunter (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Amazon

Overall Comments


I installed this to address some tone/ intonation issues with my Fender FB-58 and there has certainly been an improvement in both. Although they recommend having a luthier do the install, I did it myself without too much difficulty. Installation was very straight-forward - 2 hours or so start to finish. Watch the on-line video a couple of times, read the instructions completely and be patient with the process. There was a fair amount of bone to remove to fit the nut, so there was a lot of sanding, and a lot or checking the fit as it got close. The tang of the fret is off-set to provide correct intonation, so I'd encourage marking the top of the fret before the final install to make it easier to insure that the fret orientation is correct.

My only issue was that the frets are supposed to be color-coded as to size, and 2 of the frets were un-marked which did make selecting the fret-wire for installation a bit more tedious than it needed to be. That said, I feel the results were well worth the time and effort.

Zero glide was developed by Wayne Rogers and the folks at Gold Tone, and it's a another example of the interesting products they've been creating there. 

Overall Rating

9


Pisgah 12" Cherry Possum
submitted 12/29/2016

Submitter

MariaC (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

sent from Pisgah factory

Year Purchased

2016

Price Paid

1195 ($US)

Sound


The sound is full, crisp, reverberant and clucks especially when you play over the scoop. The strings resonate with a rich, powerful but mellow tone. I like to try different styles of clawhammer and this banjo is great for that.

Sound Rating

10

Setup


The setup was standard and well done, it arrived ready to play. I like the medium weight strings they put on and the high action. I wish I had remembered to ask for a couple of capo spikes.

Setup Rating

10

Appearance


The pared down design accentuates the beauty of the locally sourced wood grain. Unique simplicity, very fine workmanship. The inlaid star at the top made of different colored wood goes very well with the clean lines of the design. It is fairly lightweight.

Appearance Rating

10

Reliability


A lot of thought and care used in choosing the quality of the hardwear. I have no doubt about it's durability and the durability of the finish. I wouldn't think twice about bring it to a gig without a backup.

Reliability Rating

10

Customer Service


Patrick Heavner answered all of my questions by email within a day and was friendly and helpful to a fauIt. I ordered it mid October and it was done by mid December.

Customer Service

10

Components


All the parts are high quality no complaints.

Components Rating

10

Overall Comments


The Pisgah Possum exceeded my expectations in terms of sound, looks, and playability. It feels really good to  hold and play and I  give it my highest recommendations.

Overall Rating

10


Picks Yates Oval Eights
submitted 12/29/2016

Submitter

tloftis (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Direct

Overall Comments


I've tried everything over the years and until now always went back to Showcase 41s.  I was skeptical  to spend this much on picks, but it was Christmas.  These things are perfect right out of the box.  Fit perfect. Bend is perfect.  Tone is great.  No pick noise.  Beautiful finish.  Warren included a clown puke pick, a set of strings, and candy😀 If you can swing the price, you gotta try these.

Overall Rating

10


Chris Cioffi
submitted 12/28/2016

Submitter

scooke (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


My latest (and likely last) banjo project was an ill-conceived mating of a good, used Stew Mac pot assembly to a new Gold Tone H&F inlayed neck. (I had done one project a year or so earlier with a new StewMac pot and a a fine gibson copy neck with good results). With this second try I learned quickly that the Gold Tone neck was not notched at the heel for the tone rim one-piece flange.  Even so, I had worked on it and made a fit that was not acceptable to me, and knew that I needed to get some help for the proper allignment and fit. (A person really needs the right tools and work area (did I say know-how?) for such work which I no longer possess.) I had already put a about $1,250 into this effort and, even though I don't pick the banjo that much anymore, I felt that it should be properly fitted and  finished out for a keepsake probably for one of my sons or grandsons, after I pass over to leave these earthly things behind.  So, I went to BJ Hangout's luthier- listing for possible contacts. The good feedbacks I noted for Chris Cioffi caught my eye and I contacted him.  I  was also influenced by the fact that he himself is a picker.  After a few emails and telephone back-and-forth's I shipped him my "problem child". 

After receiving and examining, he replied listing his diagnosis and recommendations: The neck needed surgery at the heel to make a good and proper tight fit which involved removing and resetting the old lag screws and woodwork.  The heel cap needed re-work along with this. His resulting work on this was very good!   In connection he recommended re-fretting, trim repairs and did a neat Mastertone block inlay replacement for the plain pearl block I had installed.  After this - and allied work - he did a super clean-up and metal re-polishing of the chrome parts and full  re-assembly.  I have not adequately nor completely described all of his attention to detail but let me summarize by saying that he is a professional who is super-attentive to detail and obviously takes great pride in his work.  

I recommend Chris highly  and you will find he is a person with whom you can easily discuss your business 

Stacy Cooke

Houston, Tx

Overall Rating

10


Armrests Dr. Arm
submitted 12/27/2016

Submitter

DarrenJ (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

Banjolit

Overall Comments


Just got this today. Fantastic.  I haven't used any other custom armrests, but I am loving this one.  It is extremely smooth and is shaped perfectly for my arm.  Highly recommended!

Overall Rating

10


Banjo mutes Mike's Banjo Mute
submitted 12/26/2016

Submitter

framusbanjer (see all reviews from this person)

Where Purchased

www.mikesbanjomute.com

Overall Comments


I am very pleased with my Mike's Banjo Mute because now I can practice any time of day. Previously, I would not practice when my wife was sleeping, on the phone, or playing her mandolin. When she watched TV she would turn up the volume when I practiced. My wife is very happy with the mute. My banjo instructor recommended Mike's Banjo Mute saying that before buying the mute his wife often found his loud picking annoying. The mute is easily installed on the bridge, and its small size does not interfere with my right hand. The  brass plate that rests on the strings does not create strange harmonics like rubber or plastic on some mutes. With the mute installed my banjo has a pleasant sound. I can practice both left and right hand techniques. For me there is only one negative. As a beginner/intermediate picker practicing a memorized song with the mute, I sometimes 'forget' parts of a song because I don't hear the normal banjo tones.

Overall Rating

8


You are not logged in.
Log In


Not a member? Create an Account (FREE!)



2227 BANJO LOVERS ONLINE

HOME | FORUMS | MEMBERS | MEDIA ARCHIVE | TABS & LESSONS | CLASSIFIEDS | REVIEWS | LINKS | CALENDAR | STORE | TERMS OF USE
Viewing desktop version - switch to mobile version