All Forums
 Other Banjo-Related Topics
 Collector's Corner
 ARCHIVED TOPIC: here we go again??


Please note this is an archived topic, so it is locked and unable to be replied to. You may, however, start a new topic and refer to this topic with a link.

Mike Johnson - Posted - 12/03/2007:  22:04:09


What is your impression of the RB1 listing on Ebay? Is it fishy?

Mike Johnson


Edited by - Mike Johnson on 12/03/2007 22:28:29

banjogramp - Posted - 12/03/2007:  22:31:46


This one?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ORIGINAL-5-STRI...cmdZViewItem
Sent an email to the seller, haven't heard back.

kevin

Mike Johnson - Posted - 12/03/2007:  22:40:18


Yep.Thanks for posting the link.I don't know how to do that yet.

Mike Johnson

banjonz - Posted - 12/03/2007:  22:52:33


easy peasy! Go to the ebay site then look at the top of the screen that has the address in it. It starts with http://... Put your mouse curser/pointer on the address and right click it. It will then be highlighted and a drop down box will appear. Move the pointer to 'copy' and left click it. Then go to where ever you want to 'paste' the link, put the pointer there then right click. The drop down box will appear again then, then you select 'paste' and voila!

Wayne
New Zealand

Don't argue with an idiot; people watching may not be able to tell the
difference.

mainejohn - Posted - 12/04/2007:  07:26:15


I realize every buyer and seller has to start somewhere, but with the seller having 0 feedback, and the first bidder also having zero, it just smells fishy to me. In addition to that, there is something familiar about the description and the pics.

Cheers,
John
Scarborough, Maine

OM45GE - Posted - 12/04/2007:  07:39:33


E-mail the seller with a request for a different picture - say the back of the head so you can see the tuners. If he's got the instrument he'll be able to produce a new photo.
I've posted other descriptions about how a very expensive vintage Martin guitar I bought on eBay from a reputable dealer showed up repeatedly on new listings for several months.

"But if there were no music
Then I would not get through" - Shawn Colvin


Edited by - OM45GE on 12/04/2007 07:40:22

KLandreth - Posted - 12/04/2007:  10:53:19


I put in the first bid yesterday and asked for more information and permission to drive to see the banjo and received no response....just outbid by a '0-feedback' bidder....beware.

Ken

Barretone - Posted - 12/04/2007:  11:43:38


Needs more photos to verify -- particularly of the neck, the binding, and inside the banjo. And yes, beware of zero feedback.

Randy

Mike Johnson - Posted - 12/04/2007:  11:56:13


Just as with the attempt to sell the 6 that belongs to Jeff,and the more recent TB3 episode,the sooner we detect and expose these scams the better.To heck with Ebay and whatever they do or don't do in response.I have no interest in being being vigilantes but If we continue to quickly expose attempted scams on this forum by chiming in when we know for sure one is afoot maybe these folks will move to another type of item.In the meantime I think we need to keep doing this for ourselves and the rest of the hangout people who might otherwise fall for these things.Just my opinion,usolicited and therefore worth only what it cost.

Mike Johnson


Edited by - Mike Johnson on 12/04/2007 11:58:55

Mike Johnson - Posted - 12/04/2007:  12:12:50


Again,the issue is ownership to sell ,not authenticity.It's just amatter of time before we hear from the person who actually has this banjo,hopefully.

Mike Johnson

dhergert - Posted - 12/04/2007:  12:36:53


One of the things that we could do here that *would* help outsiders is to include the actual name and number of the eBay auction in text here. These threads are Google searchable and if a person does such a search, they could find the threads and learn what we know about the auction.

For example, for this particular auction the following text ties our thread in directly to this auction:

ORIGINAL 5 STRING BANJO GIBSON RB-1 PRE-WAR 1934 220179667887

Best,

-- Don
http://home.att.net/~dhergert
http://mysite.verizon.net/don_hergert

"If you must use your banjo as a snow shovel, do so:
only don't wonder if it sounds dull afterwards."
-- S.S. Stewart catalog, 1896.

phischer - Posted - 12/04/2007:  14:11:17


Yeah I sent him an email asking for specific pics and if he would accept a local pickup with cash in hand provided the banjo was as described. I really doubt I will hear back from this guy. Unless by some act of God everyone here is mistaken.

Fischer

"I'd ask my banjo t

Milliesjig - Posted - 12/04/2007:  18:33:22


I think this banjo is owned by a guy in N.C. The owner before this was a BHO member who lives in Missouri. I am going to call him to have him look at it to see if this was his banjo but I am pretty sure it is.

Melvin

www.commongroundbluegrass.com

wiresnwood - Posted - 12/04/2007:  21:01:38


Melvin is right....it used to belong to Brian who is a member here. The banjo did sell, and I can't remember to who as I'm typing. But...this is surely another scam.

Jeff Cantrell

"Sumthin' amatter with ya banjo baby...? Barry White

BanjoWorkman - Posted - 12/05/2007:  13:49:20


This is indeed a SCAM !!!!! I sold this banjo to a guy who doesn't even own a computer. The description and photos were from when I listed it. BEWARE and let everyone know. Thanks

Trust GOD !

Milliesjig - Posted - 12/05/2007:  15:14:53


Thanks Brian.

Melvin

www.commongroundbluegrass.com

Mike Johnson - Posted - 12/05/2007:  17:12:12


thanks to everyone.This is exactly what needs to be done whenever we smell one of these.

Mike Johnson

phischer - Posted - 12/05/2007:  18:02:48


Well we all know ebay won't do anything about it.

Fischer

"I'd ask my banjo t

BanjoWorkman - Posted - 12/05/2007:  20:04:06


I notified Ebay about this fraudulent listing. They should investigate and pull the listing. I hope nobody sends this JERK any money. Thanks to all who brought this into the light. I sure wish they could deal with these human vermin the way they should be.

Trust GOD !

bobdenver1961 - Posted - 12/05/2007:  21:18:29


This was the original listing from a different seller but same pictures etc. I emailed ebay this info.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...320150920415

Bob



phischer - Posted - 12/06/2007:  15:05:24


It is has been removed - for once a victory!

Fischer

"I'd ask my banjo t

scottgrass - Posted - 12/06/2007:  19:36:26


He just emailed me and asked for my contact info. "he was in spain and had to can the listing". I just asked him where the banjo was located and could I pick it up with cash. I will keep you guys posted, but all you that emailed him, as I did, wait for your email next :^). Fat chance of sending this guy money. david

"all of us are ignorant, just about different things" will rogers

banjogramp - Posted - 12/06/2007:  19:49:00


I got the same email and it's identical to the one he sent for the Style 6 scam a week ago. I emailed him back and said "Your busted dude,, just give up"

Kevin

scottgrass - Posted - 12/06/2007:  19:59:51


Here is the paste email I got: Hi David

My Pre-War Banjo Gibson RB-1 is not on ebay anymore but is still available for sale. My usual schedule was modified because I have to take care of some business, so I had to go to Spain and that's why I have closed the auction.
My final price for the banjo is $4,300.00 including all the shipping costs and insurance.
I must add that you'll have the opportunity to inspect the item before you actually pay for it.
I will wait for your email to let me know if you are interested in knowing more details about the purchase.
Thanks and sorry for delay,
Gary

"all of us are ignorant, just about different things" will rogers

baygawker - Posted - 12/06/2007:  20:11:26


... so you see, these scammers are not entirely concerned with the auction running to the end. They ussually are just trying to get some interested contacts and then see if they can lure them into doing the deal off of eBay. The sooner the listing is removed the better. Less bidders / questions ... the less chance of someone losing their milk money.

Mike Johnson - Posted - 12/07/2007:  01:18:44


See topic : "27TB3 - so long ,for now" if you haven't already.

Mike Johnson

carteru93 - Posted - 12/07/2007:  13:49:32


Here's a tip I learned on here for verifying a scam.

Ask the seller to email you a picture of the banjo with an odd object (fork, pencil, ball of paper, etc.). Sure way to find out!

____________________________________
Pick till yer fingers bleed!!


Uh oh they let me out too soon.....



Want to hide these Google ads? Join the Players Union!

You are not logged in.
Log In


Not a member? Create an Account (FREE!)



1236 BANJO LOVERS ONLINE

HOME | FORUMS | MEMBERS | MEDIA ARCHIVE | TABS & LESSONS | CLASSIFIEDS | REVIEWS | LINKS | CALENDAR | STORE | TERMS OF USE